• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

A Section VAFA Premier 2017

From what I have heard Salopek won't be there, neither will Gilham or Bail. So regarding points, may even come in under 2016 points level if looking at the 4 pointer+ players.

In reality, the points system has changed nothing.

I've never seen more talent come across from VFL/AFL into ammos than what has happened over the last couple of years.

Maybe it's just there to act as a ceiling so clubs don't go overboard?

Having said that, I like seeing all this talent flood in. What kid wouldn't want to play against ex-AFL/current VFL players and see how they fair?

The VFL system isn't what it use to be since the 12/8 rule or whatever it was was scrapped - Look at the Saints/Sandy alignment now. This coming season you'll be lucky to get 2 players in the seniors that aren't listed Saint's players.

Anything that draws more attention to the ammo's is a good thing in my opinion.

In reality, the points system has changed nothing.

I've never seen more talent come across from VFL/AFL into ammos than what has happened over the last couple of years.

Maybe it's just there to act as a ceiling so clubs don't go overboard?

Having said that, I like seeing all this talent flood in. What kid wouldn't want to play against ex-AFL/current VFL players and see how they fair?

The VFL system isn't what it use to be since the 12/8 rule or whatever it was was scrapped - Look at the Saints/Sandy alignment now. This coming season you'll be lucky to get 2 players in the seniors that aren't listed Saint's players.

Anything that draws more attention to the ammo's is a good thing in my opinion.

Good points & agree. If a club wants to have 4 or so ex AFL-players the 50 point cap allows that comfortably, and as you pointed out it's great for the comp and it's players to play both with & against these guys who have reached the elite level.

Let's not forget that not all of them are coming out of the system at the very end of their football careers, so they still feel they have plenty to give and want to keep playing footy. Having spoken to guys like Gilham & Salopek during their time at skob, they have said it's brought back that original love for the game without the media focus and 7 days a week contact with the club.

If they can use it to help set up some sort of professional career then good luck to them for doing so, any one of us would do the same. You can't retire from work at 30!

From what I have heard Salopek won't be there, neither will Gilham or Bail. So regarding points, may even come in under 2016 points level if looking at the 4 pointer+ players.

The word is Salopek has retired but he would only have been a 2 pointer in 2017. Not sure if Gilham has announced his intentions but reckon he would only be a 2 or 3 if he remained at SKOBs. I understand Bail is in fact playing on at SKOBs next year, as are Strauss and Gysberts but others would have a better idea. Around 25 points across those 5 players alone so might battle to find room for anymore high profile externals.

Like all clubs I expect they will lose a few to travel, retirement, $ leagues etc. Not sure who or how much room that will open up but either way it will be tight as allocation reduced from 50 to 48 next season.

Like most I look forward to seeing both in action next year and reckon it is great for the comp. History will judge whether the strategy was the correct one or not, particularly as they are currently flush with some promising young talent who will demand an opportunity.

The word is Salopek has retired but he would only have been a 2 pointer in 2017. Not sure if Gilham has announced his intentions but reckon he would only be a 2 or 3 if he remained at SKOBs. I understand Bail is in fact playing on at SKOBs next year, as are Strauss and Gysberts but others would have a better idea. Around 25 points across those 5 players alone so might battle to find room for anymore high profile externals.

Like all clubs I expect they will lose a few to travel, retirement, $ leagues etc. Not sure who or how much room that will open up but either way it will be tight as allocation reduced from 50 to 48 next season.

Like most I look forward to seeing both in action next year and reckon it is great for the comp. History will judge whether the strategy was the correct one or not, particularly as they are currently flush with some promising young talent who will demand an opportunity.

Fair enough, I'm a bit out of the loop down there when it's not the actual season. Strauss 3rd year vafa/2nd year SKOB and Gysberts 3rd year SKOB/4 years out of AFL would be getting low on points? Think if all 5 listed above played we are talking closer to 16-17 points, not 25.

Agree they will need to balance giving the young talent a genuine crack versus bringing in some imports.

Any other news coming out of any clubs? Collegians aside, recruitment rumours seem a bit quiet across the other 8 teams.

Fair enough, I'm a bit out of the loop down there when it's not the actual season. Strauss 3rd year vafa/2nd year SKOB and Gysberts 3rd year SKOB/4 years out of AFL would be getting low on points? Think if all 5 listed above played we are talking closer to 16-17 points, not 25.

Agree they will need to balance giving the young talent a genuine crack versus bringing in some imports.

Any other news coming out of any clubs? Collegians aside, recruitment rumours seem a bit quiet across the other 8 teams.

There is no guesswork about points as the player allocations can be viewed on the via 'Match Centre’ on the results page. Based on last year, in 2017 Strauss will be 5, Bail 5 and Gysberts 3. Plus 12 = 25. (That is if they all play)

They'll all be injured at some stage and SKOB will have to play guys who went to the school in their place unfortunately.

Apologies I mis-read it, thought your original calcs were based on Salopek, Gilham and those 3 mentioned.

Gilham has been spotted down at Hawthorn Ammo's training. Apparently, his house mate is playing there next year and it has sparked his interest in the joint.
Didn't realise his Mrs played footy. This obsession with SKOB is laughable, as is the points system in a non paying comp.

Surely its time for the Ammos to change their name. Honestly anyone who believes this is an amateur comp is kidding themselves. Its just a comp of teams with the best connections.

Hand over heart it might be difficult to claim the comp is absolutely lilywhite anymore. The constant noise around a few clubs and players is difficult to ignore. But the vast majority, and I mean 99.9%, don’t get a cent. It costs them money for the privilege of playing in the VAFA.

If it were open slather the VAFA, and especially clubs from A – C would not get r*ped and pillaged by paying comps every year.

Surely its time for the Ammos to change their name. Honestly anyone who believes this is an amateur comp is kidding themselves. Its just a comp of teams with the best connections.

Rubbish. Players pay to play in the great Ammos. For the love of the game. And mateship. (Sorry for starting that two work sentence with an and.)
Connections are great. The greatest of all connections is with your school if you are an old boys team.
Go Ammos!

Hand over heart it might be difficult to claim the comp is absolutely lilywhite anymore. The constant noise around a few clubs and players is difficult to ignore. But the vast majority, and I mean 99.9%, don’t get a cent. It costs them money for the privilege of playing in the VAFA.

If it were open slather the VAFA, and especially clubs from A – C would not get r*ped and pillaged by paying comps every year.
You really think 99.9 don't get a cent? Your kidding. Carey just signed what 5 ex VFL players who would have easily got $1500 a game down the road for the Privilege of playing in the VAFA haha.

Anyone who plays for money outside of the AFL is a mug. We should applaud ex AFL players who come to the competition in the hope of gaining a foothold in corporate Australia whilst their football ability allows them too do so.
How excited would a young bloke be to be playing with Luke Ball, Matt Thomas or Jay Schulz.

You really think 99.9 don't get a cent? Your kidding. Carey just signed what 5 ex VFL players who would have easily got $1500 a game down the road for the Privilege of playing in the VAFA haha.

I do. And if any club reckons those blokes are worth $1500 a game then THEY are kidding themselves.

Been around the ammos for a long time and while I no longer claim it can never happen, occurrences are rare. Still a lot of blokes out there who play footy for reasons other than making a quid.

If you read Carey's speil on the VAFA site you would have read that they came to club because they knew people and we're looking to get work from within Carey community. Beginning a potential great job for next 30 years better than a few more years of coin not playing with mates. I'm sure it read that 3 or 4 were old boys or had played there before. Love of the game.

How excited would a young bloke be to be playing with Luke Ball, Matt Thomas or Jay Schulz.

I don't have a problem with it provided the ex-AFL types don't just blow in, take the job on offer as an inducement and then dial in their footy obligations.

Recent history suggests if you plug in 5 or 6 ex-AFL at the end of their playing days, who DON'T help the kids improve, you might get short term gain, but long term pain.

Not sure young Jack from Toorak getting his jollies at playing footy with a bloke who played at the highest level is really worth it if Jack's not playing in the same (top) grade a couple of years later.

I don't have a problem with it provided the ex-AFL types don't just blow in, take the job on offer as an inducement and then dial in their footy obligations.

Recent history suggests if you plug in 5 or 6 ex-AFL at the end of their playing days, who DON'T help the kids improve, you might get short term gain, but long term pain.

Not sure young Jack from Toorak getting his jollies at playing footy with a bloke who played at the highest level is really worth it if Jack's not playing in the same (top) grade a couple of years later.

Guess you need to ask the club how much they want to win a flag. Don't think the guys who won recent flags at their respective clubs (skob/bernies for example) mind too much about former AFL level players helping them get there. Do we play for flags or just to stay in the top section for as long as we can? Having never been lucky enough to win one myself I would have given anything for that feeling.

If you read Carey's speil on the VAFA site you would have read that they came to club because they knew people and we're looking to get work from within Carey community. Beginning a potential great job for next 30 years better than a few more years of coin not playing with mates. I'm sure it read that 3 or 4 were old boys or had played there before. Love of the game.
Correct Canada, Two are former players returning( and old boys), another is an old boy, one has a cousin playing at Old Carey, and the last wants to play with his mates who he used to play with at Box Hill. Not a lot of intrigue in that.

Correct Canada, Two are former players returning, one is an old boy, one has a cousin playing at Old Carey, and the last wants to play with his mates who he used to play with at Box Hill. Not a lot of intrigue in that.

A Premier is not 100% clean. Its just not plausible. Its like saying "Billy Blogs" is a perfect footballer....... no such thing.
Having said that I believe those getting a sling of $$$ss is absolutely minimal (not referring to OC here). Its just how life works.

The thing is, Ammo clubs are better placed than other leagues to absorb ex-AFL players when specifically talking about the player points system.

If you look at last season, only one team ever had a game over 39 points (which is obviously St Kevins, who did it 9 times, with 45 points being the highest in a single game - against Collegians in R5 when Collegians points tally was only 24. A 21 point differential and Collegians won!)

Only three teams averaged over 30 points a game last season, St Kevins at 39.5, Xavs at 34.33 and Uni Blues at 31.11. Only two teams never had a game under 30 points (Xavs and St Kevins).

Amazingly, DLS had either 22 or 23 points total across every single game last season, and St Bernards had every game except two at 22 points (both teams averaged 22.56 pts across the season).

This shows that there is a lot of room to absorb other players due to the large numbers of 'old boys' that play in these teams.