List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

From the WCE_phil post above

I reckon I could use one amputated hand to count the number of people surprised at that comment
Like this?

Counting Calculating GIF by Debby Ryan

From the WCE_phil post above

I reckon I could use one amputated hand to count the number of people surprised at that comment

Bottom line is not many have ultimate aggression and intent.

No one would say Daniher or hipwood are known for their top notch aggression but still do well.

It’s not simply a choice of being a brander or naughton. There is a healthy in between and lobb is an example.

But I don’t recruit or watch local football so nuances are not something I can comment on.

So surprised with Sanchez, liked him last year as an underage and had him pinned early this year.
To not get drafted at all means the clubs know something.
If it was the injury prone stuff mentioned then it's no wonder we gave a wide berth.
Unfortunate for the kid as he has some zip and skill.

I had a mate that got invited to the eagles Vic draft event last night, most of the recruiters including ROB and Bell were in attendance. Some good info:

-Norths best offer was 2, 15, 17

-GWS didnt want the F1 for curtin cause they are obsessed with the 2 guys they drafted, so traded with crows to stay in the draft

-The other 14 teams are livid at the Qld and NSW handouts, no surprise

- Eagles had A Reid ranked in their top 15, were very surprised he slipped to 30. Thought he was too good to pass up or accept trades for pick 30. Bris were very keen the pick after

- Hall they were also very high on, had to move up as both essendon and tigers had shown interest. Interestingly, ROB also mentioned harley gave feedback saying he was the toughest opponent he played on during the year

- Johnston they had top 30 on their board

Also my mate asked ROB if they would have strongly considered 2 and 3 if north did offer it in some way. ROB said for sure, but they probably still would have taken Reid cause he interviewed even better than expected and doesnt seem bothered at all about moving.

Thanks for sharing

The A Reid comment that we considered him a top 15 talent confirms my guess that he was too good to pass up. Just hope our rankings are on the money as along with Hall and Johnstone we will have picked up 3 players rated in our top 5 30 which is a great result

Also like the bit about Reid rating Hall

Again, nice insights so thanks for sharing

Don’t know anything about Rawlinson but I believe he’s from Sturt, the club Duane Massey came from. Hopefully Duane has the benefit of inside information on the kid.

It seems that the club played it’s cards close again this year, which is pleasing. Several of the players we were linked to, and said to have met with, most notably Archie Roberts, we left alone.

Be interested to know how Dan Curtin thinks about Clarko now after spending (what I'm sure was not awkward at all) 2 hours with him at his place just to overlook him twice.

Don’t know anything about Rawlinson but I believe he’s from Sturt, the club Duane Massey came from. Hopefully Duane has the benefit of inside information on the kid.

It seems that the club played it’s cards close again this year, which is pleasing. Several of the players we were linked to, and said to have met with, most notably Archie Roberts, we left alone.

Oh I don’t know - we basically offered our Future 1st to every club in the first 7 picks because we really really wanted Daniel Curtin and everyone knew it. Including Adelaide who gazumped us with what was a pretty mild offering.

Be interested to know how Dan Curtin thinks about Clarko now after spending (what I'm sure was not awkward at all) 2 hours with him at his place just to overlook him twice.

Not just spent time with him, but gave him a cool and unique nickname - “Curts”.

Oh I don’t know - we basically offered our Future 1st to every club in the first 7 picks because we really really wanted Daniel Curtin and everyone knew it. Including Adelaide who gazumped us with what was a pretty mild offering.

That doesn't mean we didn't keep our cards close. When you're the one calling other clubs and putting your pick up for sale word is going to get out. In some instances it's for the best to create a bidding war.

The lack of desire for anyone to trade out of the first round this year probably reflects an understanding that there are finite drafts before Tassie complicates things, and that the whole thing might get flipped on its head by next year with the academy outrage, so stick with a known quantity.

So that all means no list spots left for any SSPs?

1 spot left I think, as we only took 4 senior players. ROB was quizzed about it last night.

We’re a full book. No spots left

37 main list
5 rookie list (Culley, Maric, Trew, Baker, Rawlinson)
2 Cat B rookies ( Dewar and Livingstone)

The one spot left referred to by ROB was filled today when we drafted Rawlinson

They didn't just reject out F1, they rejected whatever deal we were offering, imagine we were offering F1 for the R1 this year, and the F1 next year, with us probably giving a second rounder back. That becomes less palatable

Scrap the Rookie list... Madness!

We need to start thinking like the AFL and work out how to commercialise it instead. Sell the naming rights to it and we could be welcoming Loch Rawlinson to the new Shandong Gold List and the AFL can collect another revenue stream to pump back into Victorian football!
Shhhh! Don't give them any ideas!

Although it's never nice losing a pick - especially for a two pick upgrade effectively - is F3 really that consequential?

Assuming we finish bottom, before academy and father/son and compensation picks that is still only pick 37. If this year was a guide, that pick 37 would be an effective pick 45ish.

Hall's price is effectively pick 40 in 2023 and pick 45ish in 2024. If he makes it as an AFL level player, it's a success given the price paid.

In terms of picking up a player in next years draft I agree that a R3 pick is relatively inconsequential as it’s not overly difficult to get back in at that point

However, our R3 pick this year was used to trade for Brockman.

Other clubs were also able to use R3 picks to trade with clubs like Gold Coast for higher picks as they collected points for academy kids. Same thing will happen next year

I like Hall. Shapes as a solid citizen that could carve out a reputable career as a complimentary mid - good height, strong body, decent pace

In the end it was probably necessary to trade up given we didn’t want to miss someone we’d targeted but I’d rather we still had the F3

In terms of picking up a player in next years draft I agree that a R3 pick is relatively inconsequential as it’s not overly difficult to get back in at that point

However, our R3 pick this year was used to trade for Brockman.

Other clubs were also able to use R3 picks to trade with clubs like Gold Coast for higher picks as they collected points for academy kids. Same thing will happen next year

I like Hall. Shapes as a solid citizen that could carve out a reputable career as a complimentary mid - good height, strong body, decent pace

In the end it was probably necessary to trade up given we didn’t want to miss someone we’d targeted but I’d rather we still had the F3
The R3 we gave for Brockman was just us being nice. We could have picked him up in the pre-season draft. If anything that just further displays how little they are worth.