Banter The No Dazzlering Big Cricket Thread

Gardner.

That's the best catch I've ever seen from a female cricketer, period.
Gardner is a great player but she seems to play especially well against England.

The depth in the Aus women’s side is incredible. They bring in very good bats in McGrath and Wareham at 7 and 8, and they go through an entire innings without having to bowl Perry or McGrath.

No other women’s team in the world could pile on 250 runs after losing the 4th wicket, or afford to let very good bowlers like Perry and McGrath go unused.

I know these boundary line catches where they throw it up and catch it in play are cool, I think however they should just change the rule to say as long as you ground some part of your body inside the line while holding the ball 1st, it's out.

Nah

The spectacle of the sport especially in the white ball formats would diminish. We’ll lose alot of these insane style catches and the number of 6’s will drop too.

Both footy and cricket have bailed their boundary rules. Imagine how boring it would get if the deemed any body part over the boundary is out of bounds and we then get a bunch of stoppages

Bit of a tongue in cheek comment mate. I’m sri Lankan but SL aren’t one of the majors players in cricket and nowhere near what they used to be.
Man, for the good old days of Kumar S and Mahela J. Murali is a legend too, I don't care what people say.

But I reckon there's cause for optimism, SL's pace attack is the best it's been in years, PJ is a solid spinner, some decent bats in Kamindu, Nissanka, Chandimal, Mathews. I like the side.

Man, for the good old days of Kumar S and Mahela J. Murali is a legend too, I don't care what people say.

But I reckon there's cause for optimism, SL's pace attack is the best it's been in years, PJ is a solid spinner, some decent bats in Kamindu, Nissanka, Chandimal, Mathews. I like the side.
SL in test cricket in the last few years have actually looked a lot better than they did in the years after the big stars retired.

My op was sorta more about how weird it is to see ftv hosting a test series thats not against a super power.

I have kayo but I do think having more away series on Ftv is actually be a good idea. Especially series in Jan feb when BBL is wrapping up and there still a few more weeks till the footy leagues start up again

Funny to see guys who started off in the BBL like Noor Ahmad lighting up the SA league

Imo they should go the other way and make the BBL a no-import league, and make that its unique brand. All Australian.

Teams would probably be no worse off. And crowds seem more likely keen to see the test stars head to head, than they are some unperforming disinterested international

Funny to see guys who started off in the BBL like Noor Ahmad lighting up the SA league

Imo they should go the other way and make the BBL a no-import league, and make that its unique brand. All Australian.

Teams would probably be no worse off. And crowds seem more likely keen to see the test stars head to head, than they are some unperforming disinterested international
I like the idea but gee whiz, finding another 32 local guys to fill up the import spots would stretch things.

(Assuming the international guys are on Australia duties. If they're playing an entire BBL tournament then I'd be all for it).

I like the idea but gee whiz, finding another 32 local guys to fill up the import spots would stretch things.

(Assuming the international guys are on Australia duties. If they're playing an entire BBL tournament then I'd be all for it).
That’s what I forgot to mention - there’d need to be a mechanism for ensuring the Test players are more available.

And when you’ve got guns like Hobgod waiting around in the amateurs, who needs Internationals

Settle down Pauline.
I don’t like it when you turn my words about

Get rid of one side from Sydney and Melbourne as well as hobart. Then you’ll have a decent core of talent to spread around

Pretty harsh to not give Tasmania a BBL side.

I think the number of sides is perfect now, just need to ensure all of our internationals can play the whole tournament.

Pretty harsh to not give Tasmania a BBL side.

I think the number of sides is perfect now, just need to ensure all of our internationals can play the whole tournament.
This.
If all the national players were available you'd be taking the 1-2 worst players out of each side, which would have a bit of an impact on quality.

Banter The No Dazzlering Big Cricket Thread