Official Team Thread Roys FFC S38 Community Rooms - Gorillas gonna grill

I would probably count out everyone else but the top 2 at this point, though even 3KZ is Football would be on 101 if he got 3 twelves.
Ill Be Back Jim Carrey GIF

R16_banner.png

Roys FFC 17.16 (118) def Gold City Royals 13.10 (88)​

( Summary by Mooch )
Up and down, up and down, up and down. Seems like our season is something of the proverbial roller coaster at this point. But we can still make the eight and need to grab some 4-pointers in the last few games. The Royals can still snag the minor premiership.

Roys got off to a flyer with DERRINALPHIL (15 hitouts, 21 disposals, 2.1 goals), royboy2 (13 dispposals, 6 tackles, 1 goal), and Phar Ace (19 disposals, 1 goal) all bagging majors before the Royals had laced up their boots. Not even a bad miss from 7m out by TheGoatBaron could dampen the Roys 1st quarter exuberance. The Als tried to make a comeback in the 2nd but fitzroybowiedog (21 disposals, 9 tackles, and a goal) was having none of that. JackNah_8 (2.4 goals) kicked her second and The TheGoatBaron finally got one on target.

It was mostly one way traffic from there.The midfield trio(?) of 3KZ is Football (23 disposals), Ed_Gein (18 disposals), Dicky Fitzwell (19 disposals), and Phar Ace (19 disposals) just played their own game feeding off the great ruck work of DERRINALPHIL and delivering the ball the TheGoatBaron with precision. We had to put the fire extinguishers to good use at the end of the game to douse TheGoatBaron, who kicked 6 in the 3rd quarter to tally a staggering 8.4 overall. A career-best haul to date.

r16.png r16top.gif

R17_banner.png

Gumbies 12.6 (78) def by Roys 16.10 (106)​

( Summary by Mooch )
After last week’s stunning win over the Royals, we were still looking upwards at the eight, just two points behind the old boys. The Gumbies were one of 6 teams challenging for top spot and a big win today and lots of good fortune from around the league could take them there today. Not that we were going to let that happen.

We didn’t let that happen. Gumbies drew first blood through Dory_77 in the 4th minute but Mooch (2 goals) and TheGoatBaron (3.1 goals) snagged a pair each to make sure we led at the first change. The second quarter was more of the same. JackNah_8 (15 disposals, 1 goal) goaled on 30-odd seconds, then _Mike_ (17 disposals, 2 goals) kicked a pair of his own and judge judy extended his unfeasibly long arms to make sure the ball never went over his head (13 disposals, 5 marks).

The game was almost done at half time but we kicked on through DERRINALPHIL (15 hitouts, 18 disposals and a goal - geez does this guy get a mention every game?), 3KZ is Football (17 disposals, 1 goal), SpecialBruce (15 disposals, 1 goal), and Phar Ace (16 disposals) again bossing the midfield and keeping the ball on a string. Elmer_Hauser had a day out with 3 goals but in true Roy fashion, we still weren’t in the eight at the end of the game but we were still in with a shout in round 18. Because of course it would all go to the last day.

r17.png r17top.gif

R18_banner.png

Roys FFC 18.7 (115) def by Baghdad Bombers 19.8 (122)​

( Summary by Mooch )
So with it all to play for in the last game of the home and away season, we’re at home against cellar dwellers the Bombers. We’ve had an up and down season while theirs was mostly down but today they had nothing to play for but pride. What could possibly go wrong?

Well I hesitate to say “everything” because we went in front in the second minute thanks to Mooch who was back in the spearhead role (5.1 goals for the day), and the lead was extended by fitzroybowiedog who had 19 touches, 2 goals and a not-quite-world-record-but-still-spectacular 15 (that’s F-I-F-T-E-E-N) tackles. TheGoatBaron failed to score today as he was inexplicably moved down the field but showed his versatility with 21 handy disposals.

DERRINALPHIL once again was outstanding in the ruck (16 hitouts, 19 disposals), and in the middle HinkleysHeroes (16 disposals, 2.1 goals) and Phar Ace (18 disposals, 1 goal) showed the Bombers how it’s done. Goals came from SpecialBruce - who kicked a couple of crackers in the third but then somehow lost his accuracy, kicking 3 behinds in a row later - and Chezzalenko Reborn (3 goals). When Chezza kicked his third with 8 minutes to go, we were leading the bottom club by 11 points and finals were assured. YES!! Get in there! Finals here we come baby. Cancel the Mad Monday, we’re going all the way to the granny. Viva la Royvolution. Then absolutely nothing else happened after that. The game just kind of ended and we all went out to celebrate a great victory.

r18.png r18top.gif

Let's all stand as one and congratulate DERRINALPHIL on an immense onfield season, thoroughly deserving of the Broken Medal for Season 38!

A very strong count performance, taking control with a round to spare.

Best ruckperson in the league, one of our best clubpeople, and a master of Fuji 9!

BrokenMedal.png

00header.jpg

Again congratulations to DERRINALPHIL on the Broken Award Medal for Season 38!

Congrats runner-up SpecialBruce , and also to fitzroybowiedog, royboy2 and 3KZ is Football on your strong results!

Also congratulations to all the winners of awards:
Itsmyshow Award - Mobbs
Yippyio Award - TheGoatBaron
royboy2 Award - DERRINALPHIL
flea29 Award - SpecialBruce and Elmer_Hauser
PTizzle Award - HinkleysHeroes
Grand Ol' Roy - Mobbs

Well done everybody! And thanks all for taking the ride last season.

We have a new season starting soon, so feel free to hop on board for another go-round!

Ok that's it. Drinks are off. Get out.

BrokenMedal.png

View attachment 2207776

Again congratulations to DERRINALPHIL on the Broken Award Medal for Season 38!

Congrats runner-up SpecialBruce , and also to fitzroybowiedog, royboy2 and 3KZ is Football on your strong results!

Also congratulations to all the winners of awards:
Itsmyshow Award - Mobbs
Yippyio Award - TheGoatBaron
royboy2 Award - DERRINALPHIL
flea29 Award - SpecialBruce and Elmer_Hauser
PTizzle Award - HinkleysHeroes
Grand Ol' Roy - Mobbs

Well done everybody! And thanks all for taking the ride last season.

We have a new season starting soon, so feel free to hop on board for another go-round!

Ok that's it. Drinks are off. Get out.

View attachment 2207777
You killed the bar tab already? Sheesh.

Thank you Mooch for all your help with the Broken Medal count! He wrote half the round summaries and half the other awards too. The only thing I needed to do was badger him to get online tonight in time for the count :D

You took a heap of the load off dude, thank you! Please everyone do give Moochy a thumbs up. I had a million things go wrong around Christmas and he just kept picking more of the pieces up for me!

And look at that, I've done a vote count twice now, and first season finished to schedule, and second season only finished late by about 15 minutes! :D

Thanks everyone for visiting the thread tonight! I know we're PM heavy these days (due to phone use mainly) and the Community Rooms is kind of a second option, but its great to see us still fill the hall here when there's an event on! Onya Roys! (and visitors)

What you reckon DERRINALPHIL ? Talk to us buddy! I know you're watching :D
Thanks for the season and the award. Last year was a very tough year as I had a life threatening health problem requiring many operations, but only cold steel can heal, and heal it did .I am determined to enjoy this year.

I once won a batting award in a team that finished last because we had no batsmen at all. My last game in the One's (we were very short) I got a bowl as the opposition were heaps for very few. Got two blokes caught but at training during teh week every said that if I was bowling we must be in trouble.

Looking forward to season 39

Thanks for the season and the award. Last year was a very tough year as I had a life threatening health problem requiring many operations, but only cold steel can heal, and heal it did .I am determined to enjoy this year.

I once won a batting award in a team that finished last because we had no batsmen at all. My last game in the One's (we were very short) I got a bowl as the opposition were heaps for very few. Got two blokes caught but at training during teh week every said that if I was bowling we must be in trouble.

Yep aware of your medical difficulties for both this season and last. Very glad to see you conquer your challenges! And can't wait to put you back on the field next season!

Ahaha yeah my cricket was much worse than my footy, and my footy was bad too! Only thing I could play any good was indoor beach volleyball :D

The only thing I needed to do was badger him to get online tonight in time for the count :D
To be fair I'm on my deathbed with man flu right now but apparently the drugs DO work.

I was opening batsman in our indoor cricket team when we won the league title. I am absolutely hopeless at cricket and my role was to make sure the other opener faced as many balls as possible. He was smashing 6s and 7s all over and I just had to not let the ball hit the wicket and then run :D

Official Team Thread Roys FFC S38 Community Rooms - Gorillas gonna grill