Preview Round 5, 2025: Port Adelaide v Hawthorn, 13 April 2025, 7.20pm @ Adelaide Oval

I'm with SYL on this one, whether or not it was the intention, it came across like there's been a void in training reports since Axe's retirement. It kinda did feel like a slap in the face to the others.

It's the same with people trying to tag in RnL for trade news when we have a number of others providing good info.

Obviously, we're all going to see this differently, but I reckon if I just provided a training report and someone wrote "I miss Axeman", I'd be a bit "WTF, mate!". And I don't think SYL being a mod has anything to do with it either.
To be fair Axeman's training reports would read like they're narrated by Morgan Freeman or Matthew McConaughey. That's a pretty hard damn bar to surpass.

An Axeman notification would give any BF Hawthorn fan one serious dopamine hit 😂

I know you're the mod, so essentially in a position of leadership as it were, but I'm honestly not sure why you posted this comment.

The original comment wasn't even coming close to disrespecting the efforts of those other training watchers.
Axeman had a particular style and was the OG for many on here. Absolutely nothing wrong with pointing out that his training sessions specifically are missed.

You can appreciate the work of all the aforementioned posters while still missing somebody else.
Whenever I think about Axeman's training reports :D

Attachments

• WCqwPCKewmC5.gif
    WCqwPCKewmC5.gif
    1.1 MB · Views: 13

I'm with SYL on this one, whether or not it was the intention, it came across like there's been a void in training reports since Axe's retirement. It kinda did feel like a slap in the face to the others.

It's the same with people trying to tag in RnL for trade news when we have a number of others providing good info.

Obviously, we're all going to see this differently, but I reckon if I just provided a training report and someone wrote "I miss Axeman", I'd be a bit "WTF, mate!". And I don't think SYL being a mod has anything to do with it either.
I read all the training reports and love each and every one. Thank you all.
The only next step up would be live coverage with several cameras and a Denis Cometti commentary.
That would be centimetre perfect!

To be fair Axeman's training reports would read like they're narrated by Morgan Freeman or Matthew McConaughey. That's a pretty hard damn bar to surpass.

An Axeman notification would give any BF Hawthorn fan one serious dopamine hit 😂
Can’t walk down the garden tool aisle at Bunnings anymore. The nostalgia is to much.

Is there many BF posters heading over for Gather Round?
I'm heading over was wondering if there was a pregame pub/bar in Adelaide where fans were meeting beforehand?

I acknowledged his status as MOD, because generally (all of them) within the Hawks board do a great job of maintaining civility. Unlike other clubs!

Considering I felt it was a little sensitive to be bothered by something so trivial, I was just a bit surprised that it came from one of the moderators. It felt like a post that could ignite a debate over absolutely nothing, which isn't really the way we all like things to do around here.

I don't have an issue if others viewed the situation a bit differently though.

Let's be honest here. We loved the training report because it was super exciting with Dear and Lewis. We've been so patient.... My first reaction was gee what a great training update....finally we can see light at the end of the tunnel for our Key Fwds.
It was also a good report, but no better than the other selfless supporters giving us updates.
The fuss over it is over the top IMO. All of us undoubtedly love all the training reports, it's just that this one had some extra exciting news. Carry on fellow Hok ballers.

Driving 9 hours on Friday. Hence my nervousness at the result, because this is also the only game we could get tickets to haha.

I'm a brewery fiend, so I have plenty of those types of recommendations if that's up your alley.

Also depending on your tastes/interests, but the best Pizza I've had was at Sunny's in Solomon St. They had a baked gnocchi that literally changed my life. I now make my own version every Friday night before a game.

We're also planning on hitting up the Norwood Food and Wine festival on the Sunday which always gets great reviews
I just got a message from Ticktek saying they are doing 2 for 1 tickets to the Saturday games if you wanted to get to a couple more matches in

Just will be happy to get the win.

But I wouldn't be against Ginnivan kicking 5 and pretending to be a plane as he puts us 80 up and putting the final nail in Ken's coffin as he is sacked on Monday

Just will be happy to get the win.

But I wouldn't be against Ginnivan kicking 5 and pretending to be a plane as he puts us 80 up and putting the final nail in Ken's coffin as he is sacked on Monday
We would all like that but if Worps and CMac were both available and going on form seen so far this year, Ginni would be one that could make way for them.

Shades of 31 & 2 vs Collingwood last year
He tends to excel against teams whose traditional colours are black and white vertical bars.

It would be nice to hand them a rich flogging. I'm not sure I could survive another close game that goes down to the wire.
I hope he means "Ginnivan to kick the sealer at the 27-minute mark of the 1st quarter."

Port aren't playing that well this season so far.

Their half-back line is really struggling. Houston is gone and the disposal of others has regressed. Players like Evans, Sinn, Burgoyne, Jones etc. who played outstanding games against us in the Semi have been fumbly and devoid of run.

Port mids still win the ball at contest (Rozee, JHF, Wines, Butters, Drew is very good) but aside from Drew they position extremely offensively. This leaves them wide open on turnover.

Their forward line is...OK? Aside from Georgiades and Rioli their options are very pedestrian. Players like DBJ, Powell-Pepper and Richards will compete but aren't very skilful or damaging.

We should really win. Our mids are much more disciplined and they lack tools to stop our rebound. We have improved our defensive structures and are constricting potent teams like Sydney and GWS.

But I feel uneasy. These campaigners always lift against us, and I think they'll be playing with an energy they haven't displayed all season. Still, I also think we're a mature enough team to handle it now.