Preview Round 13, 2024: Hawthorn v GWS Giants, 8 June 2024, 1.45pm @ UTAS

Hope we find a way to play Watson. GWS have a strong backline, we need maximum chaos down there so hope to see us play some small ball at stages.

Expect O’Halloran will play a similar role as he did on Stewart last week on Sicily, interesting to see if we try swing him forward at any stage and flip him with Hardwick

Who kicked a bag on Mitchell? He’s a defence first player, why would he be dropped?

If it was Rachele he played on, who didn’t kick a goal, why are so many so keen to drop him? I can’t recall him costing us any goals, maybe I missed something?

If a defender keeps his player goalless then they should stay in the team. He had 13 at 92%.

Watson and Meek in.

Reeves and anyone sore out.
Quite fumbly, some iffy decisions and played on cook a bit, aswell as Rachele. Not horrible and won’t be an out and out drop. But in the axe.

CJ needs to stay in. Yes he hasn’t set the world on fire but I think he is a big asset in the zone we set up when defending the exit from an our forward 50. His athleticism in combination with Weddle is troubling teams moving the ball long out of defence.
Listening to Mitch in his presser, he spoke about how important he is, he ain’t getting dropped.
Pressure for spots, I love it.
Does Wingard and Watson offer more than C Mac and Breust?
C Mac would be stiff but you could easily state a case.
What was the point in giving Wingard another year if we won’t play him when he is ready?
Interesting times.

Quite fumbly, some iffy decisions and played on cook a bit, aswell as Rachele. Not horrible and won’t be an out and out drop. But in the axe.
Hardwick replaces him and does it better, I noticed the fumbles also.
Opens a spot for The Wiz or Chad.

I’m going The Wiz, the kid is taking the piss at VFL, let him gel with his team mates at senior level.

Launceston forecast for Saturday is plenty of cold beer and a Hawks win! :D

I’m looking forward to getting to this game!

IMG_6315.jpeg

Pretty good weather really for winter.
Bring on the Giants upset!

Post game beers at the ‘Jack Gunners Arms!?

Our forward line have been complimenting each other well. Hardwick is adding alot to this. Both structurally and experience wise. We look better with him there. Please don't shift him back for the sake of it. He stays forward. He's playing well there.

Mitchell stays back. One down game doesn't negate a good month. CJ needs continuity and stays in.

Meek should come in for Reeves. Potentially Watson for Breust the only other change as a changing of the guard here will eventually become inevitable.

Our forward line have been complimenting each other well. Hardwick is adding alot to this. Both structurally and experience wise. We look better with him there. Please don't shift him back for the sake of it. He stays forward. He's playing well there.

Mitchell stays back. One down game doesn't negate a good month. CJ needs continuity and stays in.

Meek should come in for Reeves. Potentially Watson for Breust the only other change as a changing of the guard here will eventually become inevitable.
Mitchell hasn't had a good month. We have had a good month, as in Hawthorn have, Mitchell hasn't.

Against Port, he was matched up against Rioli who pretty much dragged Port over the line. Against Brisbane, Cameron had a patch of footy where he was massive with 3 GAs despite letting us off through his own inaccuracy of 1.3 (Mitchell had 4 handballs) and in the last match against Adelaide he was fumbly, and got lost in transition and through opponent switches despite us locking Adelaide down to just 41 of the most intensely pressured I50s I've ever seen.

His player rating this weekend was 0.1 and against Brisbane it was 0.6, both times comfortably our worst performed player. Even the eye test, he's just not been performing that well.

What was the point in giving Wingard another year if we won’t play him when he is ready?

1/ We didn’t know what improvement we would see from where within the rest of the squad, and 2/ we weren’t going to delist someone who has done the type of injury Chad had done.

Do we rest both jack and punk this week and just replace them with Chad and wizard? Smaller more mobile frwd line may work in our favour as medium size frwds did do well against them when they played scum and bluuz! Pressure in between the arcs and they go to water. No cogs and Kelly helps us a lot.

Danger game....?

Has to be winnable if we get Meek back and bring in Chad and Watson should they fit somewhere.

Dear's ability to spoil to advantage in the forward line important against Taylor and their other strong backs. The pressure he and Chol bring as talls isn't something they have seen much of before.

Our mix of smalls is suddenly looking damaging with bags from Moore and Hardwick (would likely play back if both Chad and Watson come in). Both those guys are such competitors, and compliment the others really well.

Its nice to have choices and a bit of depth.

Personally, I would like to see Ward find his way back into the team. I am a believer, I just feel he still plays out of position which doesn't help.
Wiz to come back to (gotta get as many games into the kids as possible)
Rucks: Thought Ned did enough to keep his spot (if not injured)
and well.. Lewis one day..

Wingard for me is the interesting one, has had a bit of time at Box hill and has seemed to play pretty well. I guess the only question is, who's spot does it take?

Our season is still alive, but it doesn't change the fact that it's a development year.

Watson has to come in before Wingard.

I'd personally like to see Seamus given a spell, with Hardwick moved back and Ward injected back in to get involved in this strong cultural shift we're enjoying.

In: Ward, Meek, Watson
Out: Reeves, Mitchell, Breust (rested).

Don't ask me to name a sub though, because it's too difficult.

Its nice to have choices and a bit of depth.

Personally, I would like to see Ward find his way back into the team. I am a believer, I just feel he still plays out of position which doesn't help.
Wiz to come back to (gotta get as many games into the kids as possible)
Rucks: Thought Ned did enough to keep his spot (if not injured)
and well.. Lewis one day..

Wingard for me is the interesting one, has had a bit of time at Box hill and has seemed to play pretty well. I guess the only question is, who's spot does it take?

I would love to seem him also - unfortunately I think his best position is currently being filled by Worps and Newk who are ahead of him. I get a feeling he will be one of those guys who gets a shot due to injury / suspension and never leaves the team.

Dear's ability to spoil to advantage in the forward line important against Taylor and their other strong backs. The pressure he and Chol bring as talls isn't something they have seen much of before.
This is so underrated. Usually it’s mainly the small forwards under the microscope in terms of applying pressure without the ball but when your big forwards make it hard for the opposition backs to easily clear it out …… you’ve got the entire forward line as a group locking it in creating more opportunities out of nothing. As much as I love Lewis he may need to fight for his spot and at least there’s no pressure to rush him back allowing him to get fully fit.

Giants have Greene, Daniels, and Bedford and everyone wants to drop Mitchell. Bold.

Forward line finally looking dangerous with Hardwick in it, everyone wants to move him back.

If Hardwick was back on the weekend there’s no way Moore or Ginni get the results they did.

Wouldn't be surprised to see Weddle given the job on Toby Greene, then Dimma to stays forward and goes back if necessary. Mitch likes to give Weddle some of the big jobs and I reckon he has the attributes to go with him.

Shammy going nowhere. He will lock down Daniels this week. Backline is humming, be mad to change it. Only person I see going out in form in CJ.
If Meeks fit then he comes in for Reeves. Reckon we will unleash Chad after the bye. Plenty of match winning games left in Wingard yet.

CJ needs to stay in. Yes he hasn’t set the world on fire but I think he is a big asset in the zone we set up when defending the exit from a our forward 50. His athleticism in combination with Weddle is troubling teams moving the ball long out of defence.

100%. Just covers so much ground and he isn't even 100% cherry ripe yet in terms of match fitness.

Will be better for the run. Still learning a lot on the wing as well. Very specialist role and he's still a baby in terms of his experience.

I would go unchanged if all fit. Shammy has been a bit fumbly but I also think he's been pretty harshly adjudicated against in both games. Seems to always draw a shitty free against.

Does anyone know how many games Chad has played in the magoos? If that was his 3rd+ reckon bring him in, looks like hes raring to go. His commitment to rehab has been fantastic. Wiz is part out next cup, get him in.

I think that was Chad's first full VFL game. I wonder if the club will be a bit more conservative given his injury history wait to unleash him after the bye. I'm sure they will be monitoring to see how he pulls up after a full 4 quarter performance.

I like Wiz and Chad for Breust and Seamus. Just have to get that talent in the side. Ward next up for injuries or a bad CJ game.

I don't think Seamus is playing too poorly, I just think Dimma back and Wingard forward is a clear upgrade on the current setup.

Wingard will surprise a few when he plays again.

Just the two changes this week, Meek back in for Reeves if he's fit, and Wiz for Breust (groin management/newborn duties)

As others have said, even if Seamus was on the chopping block (which I don't think he is) GWS is not the team to do that against.

No Cogs, Kelly, Ash, or Perryman for them, and at the moment our midfield and half forwards are humming along nicely, could be another big game for Moore and Ginni.

They're coming off a bye, don't tend to travel well, and it's in Tassie. I think we win this.

Sam singled him out with praise in the presser last week, don't think he's in the firing line.