Review Round 12, 2019 - Carlton vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Carlton?

Fantastic retelling of your chat with Kevin Murray DR, thanks heaps, puts it all into perspective for us.

Thanks Jas. It really was a great privilege to spend even a short amount of time with Bulldog. He was getting swarmed all night and to be honest I felt bad even approaching him, because I wanted him to enjoy at least some of his time with his past players and friends, instead of just signing autographs. But he really does have the time for everyone. Was one of two people that received a standing ovation last night, with the other player being Browny.

Browny’s interview was great and had the room in stitches. Said that before the 2004 GF he remembers oiling up Lynchy’s wheelchair haha. Also mentioned that the best mate he has ever made from football is Tim Notting which I had no idea about.

Also great to see one of my childhood favourites Richard Osbourne get inducted in to Hall of Fame. Said that although he played for 3 other clubs, he has and always will be a roy boy at heart.

I was so flat after yesterday’s game. Maybe I take footy too seriously, but usually something like this would ruin my weekend. Was feeling bitter, angry and disappointed. Walked into the Hall of Fame with shoulders slumped and couldn’t even force myself to crack half a smile. That is, until I ran into Kevin Murray.

As soon as I saw the great mans smile, the loss was put to the back of my mind and I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. We chatted for a good 5 mins about the game and he believes that this is a loss we will look back on in 2 years time and say “We needed to lose that to become the team we are today.” As many people did on the night, he reminded me about where we were sitting last year and how far we have really come this year. He said that the reality is that we are not a superstar team YET and made a great analogy...

Our current team is half way through Year 9 at High School. The Pies, Cats, Eagles, Tigers and the Giants are in Year 12 completing their VCE. We wouldn’t have the knowledge or experience to sit those final VCE exams, so it’s hard to expect a really good end of year result. We have some smart kids in Year 9 and they could do well in the VCE exam as individuals. But as a cohort, we wouldn’t do that great.

In Year 9, we are learning, studying and growing in maturity to get ready for when our VCE exams come. In Kevin’s words, we have a number of A+ students in our cohort at the moment. With great teachers like Fages, hopefully some of our B and C grade players can also push to become A graders.

We both talked about how off the rails we both were in Year 9 and that many mistakes were made. The key is to learn from them and try not to make the same mistakes again. Yes, a terrible loss on the day, but the future is bright.
My
We finished off with Kevin signing my commemorative jumper and a warm handshake and hug. An absolute gentleman and the word legend doesn’t even do him justice. He is more than a legend.

I first met Kevin when I was 8 years old . My mum was taking me shopping past Dustings of Preston where Kevin worked in between playing and training every week . It was around 1964 or so . We were walking down the street ,there weren't many people around in those days and from the opposite direction came the unmistakeable Kevin Murray ,my hero.

He must've recognised I was gobsmacked so he stopped ,put out his hand said hello son what's your name. So I told him and blurted out about going to the Brunswick Street Oval every week , the Gasometer , Vic Park all the grounds . He said he really appreciated the support , put his arm around my shoulder took us both inside got me soft drink and we had a chat about footy ,my school , what I wanted to do when I grew up .What it was like playing against Barass,Skilts , some of the others.

I never forgot that ever and it taught me it takes more than just playing footy well ,which he did exceptionally ,to make a champion.

Thanks Jas. It really was a great privilege to spend even a short amount of time with Bulldog. He was getting swarmed all night and to be honest I felt bad even approaching him, because I wanted him to enjoy at least some of his time with his past players and friends, instead of just signing autographs. But he really does have the time for everyone. Was one of two people that received a standing ovation last night, with the other player being Browny.

Browny’s interview was great and had the room in stitches. Said that before the 2004 GF he remembers oiling up Lynchy’s wheelchair haha. Also mentioned that the best mate he has ever made from football is Tim Notting which I had no idea about.

Also great to see one of my childhood favourites Richard Osbourne get inducted in to Hall of Fame. Said that although he played for 3 other clubs, he has and always will be a roy boy at heart.

Were you able to get a feel for the mood of the playing group, it would have been deflating for them to walk into that room after a loss like that one. Hopefully they were able to enjoy the evening.

The mood of the players was upbeat. A friend had a chat to Zorks and he's still spitting chips that he had to go off because we had the momentum and he said that losing that momentum in the second quarter was crucial.

It was funny Jas, not what I expected. Most of the playing group seemed really up and about. I was expecting the opposite. Lots of the players were holding a glass of wine at some stage and body language was positive. Only player I spoke to that looked and seemed genuinely disappointed was Nick Robbo.

Had a quick chat with him and he was one of the only ones that mentioned how pissed off he was to let down the crowd and Kevin. Not saying in any way, shape or form that it didn’t matter to the other players, but Nick really took this one to heart. Seems like the club and supporters mean a lot to him.

I know he is a polarising figure and I have been guilty before of saying that some of his play hasn’t been up to standard. But I think he bleeds for this club after speaking to him last night.

Hey guys. Sorry to intrude but I don’t agree with the negativity about the list. Sure there’s a few holes to fill and all that like any rebuilding side. But when you guys are on like the first quarter and a half yesterday it shows how good the system works. Course you don’t have the cattle to play the geelong collingwood switch it gamestyle which is why noble and fages use the Clarkson model of protecting the defenders by playing a full team defence then keeping possession moving forward. I honestly love watching you guys play and can’t wait to see you play finals this year. And hopefully play finals against you guys in the coming years. Heads up and good luck for the rest of the year.

It's looks as though the Lions ran out of tickets after a couple of hard fought matches againt Freo & Hawthorn, and the bye arrived a week late.

I have you scratched down for more 6 wins, 2 losses and 3 maybes (Port away, Hawks Tassie, Richmond away), so you'll be playing finals.

The maybe's will define how far you go.

As well as the bruising game V Crows prior to Freo - guys were knackered. Add in the Blues spending the past few weeks as witches hats and hungry as heck for a win it was a recipe for disaster. Even then we could still have pinched it at the end with some luck.

Yeah I don’t think this can be underplayed. Plus the mental fatigue and stress too

We all flagged that this could happen didn't we but you're always hoping it doesn't eventuate.

We only kicked 3 goals in 2 1/2 quarters so we were done and if you look at the stats list it was a miracle they didn't blow it out.

Looks like they were right in sacking Bolts last week because if they had've waited another week the opportunity might have passed.

Yeah it is. The Lions FB page is really shocking. For all players but Nick really cops it badly. The same 4 guys for 6 years. Unbelievable really.
He doesn’t read any of it which is good.

Yeah...It's downright embarrassing...I'm not sure that a lot of them have played football or understand what roles players are given to do... It does my head in now not sure how I'd handle it in your position...
Best way I guess is to not read it. I like social media but it has it’s definite down side with giving a voice to every looney out there.

Do you need to take a posters comments to the absolute extreme every day to survive or something?

I think it's something the coaching team are working on but I don't expect any measurable improvement this year. It'll be something that comes with experience over the next couple of years and a lot of it is just natural improvement. A lot of it will be moving on some players that unfortunately are NEAFL level and replacing them with AFL quality players.

RIGHT NOW though, I can't be confident in us winning any game of footy as I know we're pretty susceptible to drop our bundle if we start conceeding a lead.

That doesn't mean I want to drop the entire 22 and that we're doomed forever. It does mean I'll never assume we've won a game until the final siren has gone and I won't go into a game for the rest of the season expecting us to win.
Let's be honest insinuating we won't win another game because we lost a game we should've won really is naive or you are that disappointed you are not thinking straight not sure which it is we'll win our 10 to12 games min for the year which will be massive improvement

I had a great sleep, made some sourdough, had a ripper lunch. Its quite cathartic really.

Hopefully the biggest take away from the game is that they can't rely on a potential very strong last 10 mins or so.
After Zorko taking a few games to fully fire into the season, its quite bittersweet to see how much we missed his pizaz after this hip? injury.
Additionally, the special guernsey looked absolutely fantastic. I think the whole year our strip has looked really good, with all the special editions.

Let's be honest insinuating we won't win another game because we lost a game we should've won really is naive or you are that disappointed you are not thinking straight not sure which it is we'll win our 10 to12 games min for the year which will be massive improvement

I'd suggest reading my post again mate.

My first game for the year live yesterday - I live overseas and flew back specifically for it. Not overly devastated as we didn't deserve to win so don't have heaps to complain about - and end of the day were 7-5 at the bye. No one can take that away from us.

I agree with the points already made - that no Berry hurts us a lot, and I have no idea why we're persisting with 2 Rucks - and why Archie is playing over Oscar. Also that Cam needs a spell.

Does anyone have a good answer to why our forward line goes from extremely high functioning to completely non functioning? When we're up and about we're impossible to stop with 3 strong talls + Rayner, and linc, Cameron and zork at their feet - but when we're bad we're reaaaly bad.

Hipwood doesn't seem to have an ability to get a cheap few touches to get in the game. Mcstay always works hard and has an impact.

Do other teams structure up so well to cut us out? Do they want it more? Are they stronger than us? I'm stumped.

https://finalsiren.com/MatchDetails.asp?GameID=235&Code=349d9833abbe32c4f941aec21545e628

Kouta killed us with 36 disposals, 3 goals. Sounds like a certain P. Cripps? Brett Ratten with 32 touches and a goal, similar to a S. Walsh?

We got flogged that day, fell to 4-4 and then 4-5 after losing to Adelaide the next week in a close loss. Our percentage was 96.32% heading into round 10 and we were 1-4 away from home and 3-1 at home. We had the 4th best scoring but just leaked at the back, sounds like our season so far. That round 10 game was the 'If it bleeds, we can kill it'. We killed it and didn't look back. We need to do the same to the Saints after the bye, prove to all that we CAN win in Melbourne. If not then, shock everyone and beat GWS away to stamp our arrival.

Now I'm not saying we'll not lose another game for the season and win the flag and I'm not saying our list is the same as that great team. But that team turned it around, pulled their finger out and got going. Who is to say after a tough loss like this, that our current boys can't do the same? It might take until 2020 but the evidence is that we are certainly building something special.

It's how we respond to adversity, rather than the adversity itself. I know our boys will feel like they let everyone down, now we hope they respond for us.

McCluggage: If I'm gonna talk him up when he plays well, then it warrants discussing his poor play too. He made some absolutely terrible clangers this game. Game was his to take a hold of too. Nothing too worrying I think, just a bad day at the office.

We aren’t going to say this to often but yeah I agree he had a stinker and in a game where a lot had poor performances he stood out a bit with some shocking turnovers when we really didn’t need them.

Except we have a whole bunch of young talent coming through together and are 3-4 years into a rebuild, have a new coach and have bottomed out for 5 years. North hadn't had a decent draft pick for 5 years and were competing for finals most years in the lead up to last season, had way older players carrying more of the load than our older guys that you highlighted, hadnt just landed a potential brownlow winner and had a stale coach of 9 years lol .. One of the worst footy analogys Ive seen. Zero comparisons between us and the Kangas last year.
Don't think he understands where your list is fully at your list this year is the same as the tigers the year before they won the flag... north are old as shit and they have been an old as shit team for 10 years which is why they only had one real crack and messed it. Lions have so much more talent than kangaroos kangaroos have far more experience and are doing worse

We clearly arn't a top 4 side on so many levels, so I dont really care to hypothesize about mythical situations where we could or should be. Its ludicrous, we are exceeding expectations.

Yeah, the way we can't stop teams momentum and the places we make turnovers is not a team that deserves to make the top 4 or even close to the top 4. It would be a remarkable achievement but we'd be a good chance of being out in straight sets.

I would love to jag a spot in the eight and be happy to be out in straight sets. Even that would be a powerful motivator for the boys. They’d be exposed to the added hype, intense crowd and have an adrenaline pumped performance. What a learning opportunity that would be; set us up for our finals assaults in 2020 and beyond.

Review Round 12, 2019 - Carlton vs. Brisbane Lions