Preview Rd 6 Geelong V Hawthorn - THE Rivalry - Monday Apr 21 2025 3:20pm @ MCG

One thing I do like about Kolo in is that he's versatile. We went in against the crows with 3x 2m blokes in the backline but Hawks don't have anything like the aerial presence to justify that. Their 1wood is loose athletic smalls and Kolo has shown ability to defend small and tall.

SDK actually did alright against Meek so I would send him to the ruck and bring Kolo back.

Stewart in with Clohesy to the vfl for a full game and MOC to sub pending injury update for Mullin.

I would also consider Henry out for Wiltshire though Henry wasn't as bad as I had remembered on second viewing. We need to give Wiltshire a game though
I get what you are saying but I want Clohesy to get a taste of the Easter Monday heat.. I reckon he’ll rise to it …

Go Catters

Not to mention Dusty Martin had an equally brilliant individual season.
Martin's season had people reaching for the record books IIRC. Yes, Dangerfield was exceptional and would have won it in almost any other year (barring suspension), but Martin won almost every media award under the sun and went into the count at $1.10 (with PFD out of the field of course).

Forecast is looking grim – wet weather almost certain, which sadly plays right into Hawthorn’s hands. Their contested brand and mosquito fleet forward line will thrive in the slop, especially with how they scrap at ground level. Our outside game lead by Holmes & Smith could struggle if it turns into a slog.
As much as I don't think there will be that much rain, torrential rain tends to suit us. We were on top of Brisbane in the bucketing rain both this year and last; it was only when it dried out that Brisbane's better foot skills started to really chop us up.

To a certain degree the same happened against Adelaide - when it was on the outside, Adelaide cut us open. When it was a bit more of a street fight, we got on top.

I think you'll find a few of us are simply taking the piss now and having a laugh with it
too long again between games- still struggling with my lack of 70's footy scheduling- games every Saturday- God forbid when there were Sunday games.
Now, 5 day breaks, 11 day breaks- too much changeability.

Can’t see how Kolo comes straight in no vfl or afl in 8 weeks.

Match fitness matters

Go Catters
I think if Kolo doesn't come straight back in it will be more to do with rewarding someone for last weeks effort more than Jake not being ready to go.

This is the ultimate game for bragging rights at this stage of the season between Cats & Hawks supporters. The team that wins will be the one that brings its best on the day. I think this game is evenly matched. And if both teams bring their best, then it will be a cracking game of footy.

I think if Kolo doesn't come straight back in it will be more to do with rewarding someone for last weeks effort more than Jake not being ready to go.
No mate.
It's been 8 weeks. I could count on one hand the number of ppl I would have ever played after 8 weeks out.
Struth, Gazza was made to play reserves in 91. I remember it as I was at princes park. He was crap.

And besides that, O'Sullivan has filled the gap. And, the hawks have a small fleet operating in the forward 50.
He's just not needed.

Huge game!

Forecast is looking grim – wet weather almost certain, which sadly plays right into Hawthorn’s hands. Their contested brand and mosquito fleet forward line will thrive in the slop, especially with how they scrap at ground level. Our outside game lead by Holmes & Smith could struggle if it turns into a slog.

Massive watch on the ruck battle. Lloyd Meek is in ripping form and will be a handful in these conditions. He’s a proper contested beast and will relish the mud. Could be the perfect storm for him, especially if we persist with our mobile ruck options.

Stanley's been great so far this year, but maybe this is the one to rest him. Conditions probably don’t suit his style and it could be smarter to roll the dice with Blicavs and/or SDK in the ruck to keep the ground-level pressure and mobility up.

Changes:
  • IN: Stewart, Kolo (much-needed stability and experience down back)
  • OUT: Clohesy, O’Connor, Stanley (rested/injury management)

Stewart’s return is huge, especially if it gets slippery down back.

Should be a cracking game regardless – always is on Easter Monday. Just hoping we bring the heat from the first bounce and don’t get sucked into their scrap-fest.

Go Catters! 🐱
O'Connor had a good game against Adelaide. You need his mobility against Hawthorn's smalls. I can't see him being dropped.

That's kinda hard to say for 2025 until we've seen some form.

Who would he be ahead of out of our tall-medium backs: Henry, Stewart, Z.Guthrie, O'Sullivan, SDK..?

I'd say if everyone's fit, it's gonna depend on ideal match-ups
Kolo could come in for SDK who can be a bit flakey but SDK can share the ruck if needed. So versatility is actually SDK's advantage not Kolo's. I do not see Kolo displacing Henry (if fit), Stewart, Zuthrie or O'Sullivan.
On another note, I do not see Bews (if fit) getting a game unless we have a bunch of injuries down back.