Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 29

Keeping the ex coach on in a different role, didn’t work for Mick Malthouse. Sure, Longmire isn’t a narcissistic sociopath but it is a ploy fraught with difficulties. What if Sydney slide out of the 8?
Is that you Matthew?

wHaT iF sYdNeY fAlL oUt Of ThE 8

Port used to only accept success.
Making a grand Final and losing was a shame.
Times have changed unfortunately.
mate we lost nearly as many as we had won in our history which is an amazing concept if you think. As I hazily remember when we entered we roughly sat at around 50/50 on premierships and runners up titles. Now that might seem unremarkable but when you are looking at 36 premierships the math don’t lie. We very roughly played in 2 granny’s every four years and lost one of them since the day we started. So, as Timmy said mate…

If Sydney and Geelong don't make the 8 we should have a parade.
Yep

Last 25 seasons
Sydney - played finals in 21 of them 3 coaches
Geelong - played in 19 of them, 2 coaches
Collingwood - played in 15 of them, 3 coaches
West Coast - played in 14 of them, 3 coaches
Hawthorn - played in 13 of them, 3 coaches
Port ........ - played in 13 of them, 3 coaches
Brisbane - played in 12 of them, 4 coaches

One of these isnt like the other.

mate we lost nearly as many as we had won in our history which is an amazing concept if you think. As I hazily remember when we entered we roughly sat at around 50/50 on premierships and runners up titles. Now that might seem unremarkable but when you are looking at 36 premierships the math don’t lie. We very roughly played in 2 granny’s every four years and lost one of them since the day we started. So, as Timmy said mate…
Sydney have played a lot of finals footy in the last 12 years and lost 4 GF.

The last two were shocking defeats, it’s time for a change and a smart move all round.
Cox walks into a very good side and Longmire gets a nice job while he waits for Tassie to enter the comp or rides off into the sunset a happy man.
The only real reference to Port Adelaide out of this is an example of two footy clubs that are run totally different.

Terry Wallace was supposed to replace Eade, but the Sydney fans actually became hostile and pushed management and the board hard to appoint Roos, after his 10 games as interim coach was pretty successful.

Richard Colless will not publicly admit they had given the job to Wallace, but when he talks about how Wallace was close to being appointed, before the groundswell by fans for Roos, he is very sheepish about it.

Eade was never Barassi's assistant. He was coaching North Melbourne's reserve team and won the 1995 flag after coaching the Bears' reserves team to the 1991 flag.

According to the recent Paul Roos episode of the ‘Sacked’ podcast, Wallace got a payout.

Tom Harley would have to be in the top 5 of Ports what ifs.

It’s wild how blessed the club was for backmen in those first so many years.

• Didn’t pick Nathan Bassett for the inaugural squad

• Traded Tom Harley for magic beans

• Let Joel Patfull (then considered very much a forward) wither on the vine

• Gave a trial to Nick Maxwell, “we’ll call you m8”

• Didn’t really rate Stephen Gilham, “play in a flag at Hawthorn”

Wow, didn't know we trialled Maxwell

Longmire is probably a two time premiership coach without #freekickdogs lets face it.

Makes me sick even thinking about that finals series especially the GF. The moment VicBias went full r-word. Imagine watching that as Sydney supporter you’d be so filthy.

Have a gander at the Dan Gorringe thread on the DT Board. Gorringe has admitted he was the poster henjo on there pumping up his own draft stocks. Classic

Makes me sick even thinking about that finals series especially the GF. The moment VicBias went full r-word. Imagine watching that as Sydney supporter you’d be so filthy.
That was the day I realised this wasn't a serious competition and I never recovered my love for the game since.

Didn’t pick Nathan Bassett for the inaugural squad

N. Bassett and Stephen Daniels both played in that Norwood defence that choked the 1996 prelim, both 20-21. Daniels probably preferred as being slightly taller.

Meanwhile his younger brother Scott somehow survived 6 years on the list as an inaugural squad member.

But look at what the majority alive remember.

Choco 1-1
Stephen 3-1
Jack 10-1
Russell 0-1
That's 14-4

Yep we have lost 3 since Reunification in September 2013 SANFL, but that's the B's playing. How many remember and count our B grade premierships and grand finals. Yep Stephen was affectively coaching the B grade, but there were a lot of players playing who won us all those flags to justify we got into the AFL and could have been playing in the A grade if we had not planned for longer term AFL success rather than instant strength.

Go back further there are people alive who saw some or nearly all of these GF's.
Fos non playing 3-6
Fos the player 6-1
Motley 1-0
That's 10-7

6 of our 2nd's weren't lost GF's but finishing 2nd prior to 1898 when the league system was used. Also for 3 or 4 years in the 1920's the SANFL had some Mickey Mouse system that if you finished second and didn't make the GF you were still given 2nd place. We got 2 of these in 1925 and 1926, so there is 8 x 2nds that didn't involve losing a GF.

Maxwell we assessed he had OP so thats why we didnt rookie him.

Have a gander at the Dan Gorringe thread on the DT Board. Gorringe has admitted he was the poster henjo on there pumping up his own draft stocks. Classic
Was pretty clear it was someone close to him. I thought family member. Remember his dad going full postal on here because the club didn't pick him up in a trade?

The logic that thinking shit-posting on BF is gonna help out his AFL career says it all. The one spud we didn't add to our pantry.

Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 29