Northern Football League Division 1 - Part II

todays umpires o'keefe and black should be banned from umpiring and games ever again it was the most disgusting umpiring i have ever seen in that last quarter its a wonder that they both got off the ground alive as it looked like supporters from both clubs wanted to kill them o'keefe has always had it in for lalor he should only be allowed to umpire junior games maybe under 10s or something so that he cant influence a game i hope the nfl get a copy of todays game and have a look at the last quarter and see just how bad these umpires were today

Perhaps they can also check your post and insert some punctuation.

todays umpires o'keefe and black should be banned from umpiring and games ever again it was the most disgusting umpiring i have ever seen in that last quarter its a wonder that they both got off the ground alive as it looked like supporters from both clubs wanted to kill them o'keefe has always had it in for lalor he should only be allowed to umpire junior games maybe under 10s or something so that he cant influence a game i hope the nfl get a copy of todays game and have a look at the last quarter and see just how bad these umpires were today

Totally Agree. I know We All Have Bad Days As Players & Umpires But In The Last Quarter It Was That Obvious It Was Cheating !!!
That Was One Of The Worst Umpiring I Have Ever Seen In 1 - Quarter.
Anyway We Move On & Hope They Are Not That Putrid Again.

Leroy you are experiencing life after football.Your air time on here is far out waying your football ability. Its becoming like how big was that fish you caught.Cheers old friend......

By the way. That question about who was the better byrne/burn at Heidelberg well who cares because every Byrne/Burns ie. Greg Byrne.Lincoln Burn and of course Dale Byrne slayed them at fishing.I wonder if the players of today who rate themselves, such as you and I do today ,me being alot better at catching fish than you and a hell of alot more brutal,will be on here after there fishing days are over wacking Off on Big Footy.I wish all the players we played against and with could spin a yarn on here but computers were scarce back then or stolen and hence its was talked about over a beer after the game.

Tradition and mateship through playing footy in the NFL is gone .There was nothing like laying you life on the line against Goliaths of the comp and then having a beer in the change rooms .The 20 mins after a game (talking sh...t with your opponent who you tried to kill of course ) was Gold and unless it can be brought back ,OUR comp and what Footy is all about will vanish

The po..fters or should I say posters on here talk 90% rubbish.The Diamond Valley used to be full of huge characters and great clubs.Things change in everyone's world but local footy is the lifeline of alot of communities and unless you have played footy or have the balls to back your sometimes outrageous comments that, well lets say are hidding behind a computer name, toughen up or are at least are direct this league will live in the shadows of all others and will never get back to its once premier position in suburban footy.We are miles behind and this bubble the league is in needs to get of its ar..se quickly

The whinging and whining is getting boring.. Bring something to the table like league officials suspending players through mates video recordings.Maybe the league officials should get to know who they represent not what they represent in job title.Its Local footy you morons..........

Anyhow see if this generates some real people.Bedtime now as I have to attempt or at least look like I can still run even if it is in a fat green T shirt

Top Rant :thumbsu:

Brucey it's time you start Posting on the Bigfish.com thread from now on or is that Bigfishinsmallpond.com.:rolleyes:

Perhaps we need to have a fishoff and/or beeroff one day soon just to decide who has truly moved on :thumbsu:

____., I wish i had been on here at 2.00am, i was awake but somehow found something more interesting to be doing. gotta love youporn.com:D

Totally Agree. I know We All Have Bad Days As Players & Umpires But In The Last Quarter It Was That Obvious It Was Cheating !!!
That Was One Of The Worst Umpiring I Have Ever Seen In 1 - Quarter.
Anyway We Move On & Hope They Are Not That Putrid Again.

Well I could not read this bulls__t without making a few comments.

1. I do not know an umpire who cheats. Umpires do not care who wins a game. It's like saying a players 'throw' a game or 'tank'

2. I was not at the game, but Black and O'Keefe are prob the 2 of the top three umpires in comp. Black did last years Div 1 GF and O'Keefe the year before.

3. Dispite what the crowd thinks, who most of the time have no idea about the rules anyway, Black and O'Keefe will not be dropped. The will be doing 'A' grade again next week. They will umpire finals and the chances are do a Grand Final of some sort.

4. As we always say if you can do better we train on Monday and Wednesday's. Come and join us. Aa trainer from Whittlesea did that a few years ago, and is still struggling to get into A grade. It's not as easy as you think.

Slime had great win yesterday,played very well,was a great game to watch from a slime point of view,knocking off a top 4 side.
The slime pit was rocking last night with the past players reunion and supporters celebrating.
Ge on board the slime train..:D:p.

Nothing to say boro boy but walk away with my tail between my legs.Totally out played by a more committed outfit today.The slime were first to the footy all day and the bulls need to have a good look at themselves.The consistency by them this year is a worry having pushed mont twice,but struggled in other games that they would normally control and even losing to a depleted west half way through the year.Anyhow I'm off to drown my sorrows well done slime enjoy the green ones tonight:thumbsu:.While you can anyway!:D

5 from 5 in the tips and all margins about right!!!

Cheers Stringa. Unfortunaltey you win some, you lose some! Hope the cans went down ok anyway!:D

I did get lambasted a week or so ago (by several people from various clubs) for hoping for a Boro top 4 finish. As i said then- there were surprises to come and the gap between 4th and the rest wasn't that great. Hate to say it but........... i told you so.

Boro are only 2 points out and aside from Heidelberg and Monty, The Slime are capable of matching and beating every other team they have left to play.

All those who were predicting a boring finish to the year must eat their words..... Heidelberg and Monty one a piece in what will be an absorbing contest in the finals. Bundy, Lalor, Boro, Eltham and Northcote all alive and fighting for that 4th spot.

With only 3 or 4 players over the age of 26, there's plenty to smile about in the future at Boroland.:thumbsu:

As for Nathan's post about the umpiring at Lalor- don't take offence, everyone hates lalor so why should the umpires be any different:D!

Stopping all stations to Heidelberg or express to Clifton Hill?

Stopping all stations to High Street, Epping!!!::p:D

Might go smash down a few more green ones now- cheers lads.

1. I do not know an umpire who cheats. Umpires do not care who wins a game. It's like saying a players 'throw' a game or 'tank'

2. I was not at the game, but Black and O'Keefe are prob the 2 of the top three umpires in comp. Black did last years Div 1 GF and O'Keefe the year before.

3. Dispite what the crowd thinks, who most of the time have no idea about the rules anyway, Black and O'Keefe will not be dropped. The will be doing 'A' grade again next week. They will umpire finals and the chances are do a Grand Final of some sort.

4. As we always say if you can do better we train on Monday and Wednesday's. Come and join us. Aa trainer from Whittlesea did that a few years ago, and is still struggling to get into A grade. It's not as easy as you think.

I had dinner with a mate of mine last night who is current Carlton player. He was at that game yesterday watching his former captain have a kick, and said it was without doubt the worst display of umpiring he had ever seen at any level of footy.

I personally couldnt care less, but I dont think its wise to just dismiss feedback when its not exactly what you want to hear. Its YOUR OPINION only that these two umpires are of a high standard and if that is indeed the case, then your problem is worse than what you think. Trying to hose down these comments with rambling retorical questions and your opinions will only drive the clubs further away from the umpires. Start giving clubs solutions not excuses.

Didnt get to see the game down at Westgarth St yesterday but it seems the build up to September is well underway. Any highlights/ lowlights of any other games?

... I dont think its wise to just dismiss feedback when its not exactly what you want to hear. Its YOUR OPINION only that these two umpires are of a high standard and if that is indeed the case, then your problem is worse than what you think. Trying to hose down these comments with rambling retorical questions and your opinions will only drive the clubs further away from the umpires. ...

Fair comment from X. Yella & Whistle?

Regards

How are creek holding up ?
Its a long season and even playing the young fellas getting smacked like yesterday has to hurt.
Whitcroft got good results at northcote park and it seems it wouldn't have mattered who coached creek this year they were always in for tough times - anyone know if whitcroft is hanging around next year

o'keefe hates lalor always has always will. his brother andy was dropped before our 2s grand final last year i reckon he still holds a grudge.

BOOF , D NOLAN KICKING 11 IN THE 2'S. WHICH ONE IS THAT. I KNOW THERE NAMES DALE AND DANNY. BUT WHICH ONE IS HE, THE TALLER ONE.?WHY WAS HE IN THE 2'S. WAY TO GOOD TO BE IN THE 2'S. IF HE CANT GET A GAME HE CAN COME DOWN TO WHITT. HE WOULD FIT IN NICELY.:p:D

Yellow, can you please give me a rundown on the rules regarding yellow/red cards. I was under the impression that a yellow card was for a send off and a 15 minute spell on the sidelines and a red card was a reportable offence. If this is true then why would a yellow card cop a 2 week penalty after the game? Answer to your part 4 question i couldn't do a better job but it is frustrating standing on the sidelines when an umpire makes an incorrect decision and instead of thinking about it and maybe saying to himself that it could have been an incorrect decision when questioned by a player(not with any abuse)he automatically gets on his high horse and pays 25metre penalties. So rather than explaining his decision he actually makes two mistakes and at the same time frustrates players and supporters alike.Give us some feedback

I had dinner with a mate of mine last night who is current Carlton player. He was at that game yesterday watching his former captain have a kick, and said it was without doubt the worst display of umpiring he had ever seen at any level of footy.

I personally couldnt care less, but I dont think its wise to just dismiss feedback when its not exactly what you want to hear. Its YOUR OPINION only that these two umpires are of a high standard and if that is indeed the case, then your problem is worse than what you think. Trying to hose down these comments with rambling retorical questions and your opinions will only drive the clubs further away from the umpires. Start giving clubs solutions not excuses.

As I said I was not at the game, and maybe the umpires had a bad day. However it is in the opinion of the NFL that these umpires are in the top few. You may not agree with that, and at times I don't agree with it (for starters they are taking good games away from me) but what ever the NFL are looking for, O'keefe, Black amoungst a few others (Holland, McPherson, Walker) these umpires are it.

As for giving clubs solutions rather than excuses here are some:

1. Tell your coaches to turn up to the umpires meeting at the start of the year so they know the new rules. The turn out to these meetings are a discrace. I think this year out of the 60 odd coaches in A, B AND C in both divisions, just over half turned up.

2. When playing at home, make sure everything in your control is done. Line markings, umpires rooms are clean, paperwork is done, officials and players are in the correct uniform e.t.c. This will alow the umpires to concentrate on the ball and not these other things.

3. Don't abuse umpires. Particulary young umpires who once abused don't come back.

4. When you have a real issue with umpires do somthing positive about it. If you have filmed the game, send it in. Go and speak to the umpires after the game in a polite manner. Most umpires will answer questions. So far on big footy I have yet to read one post that asks a question about a particular free kick. It's all .... THOSE UMPIRES WERE BAD. In what way?

I hope this helps.

Yellow, can you please give me a rundown on the rules regarding yellow/red cards. I was under the impression that a yellow card was for a send off and a 15 minute spell on the sidelines and a red card was a reportable offence. If this is true then why would a yellow card cop a 2 week penalty after the game? Answer to your part 4 question i couldn't do a better job but it is frustrating standing on the sidelines when an umpire makes an incorrect decision and instead of thinking about it and maybe saying to himself that it could have been an incorrect decision when questioned by a player(not with any abuse)he automatically gets on his high horse and pays 25metre penalties. So rather than explaining his decision he actually makes two mistakes and at the same time frustrates players and supporters alike.Give us some feedback

Thank you for a great post.

Ok.... some changes this year with cards.

1. Yellow. 15 mins off the ground. Can be reportable. I personally would only report on a yellow for things like: Shaking the goal post, low level abusive language, time wasting, wearing incorrect uniform. Most of the time it's just a cool off.

2. Red: MUST BE REPORTED. Off for the rest of the game and can be replaced.

Now as for an incorrect decision that an umpire pays, and we do a pay a few each game, they of course think about it. However an umpire making a mistake does not give a player the right to abuse umpires. Umpires make less mistakes than players in a game.

On the other hand umpires should not be paying 25m for someone questioning a decision with no abuse.

Yellow card is 15 mins on the sidelines.
Second yellow in a match become a red and off for the day.
Can be reported on a yellow card, that is a minor offence.

A red is a report, off for the day.

Only officials were reported in this game, a runner threatened an umpire and was removed from the ground on a yellow card. A yellow card for a runner is a day finished. THE RUNNER was offered two weeks for threatening language and then another two for more abuse after the siren.

Also having spoken to the umps on the day, I believe Lalor were up 12 goals at 3/4 time. Lance told Lalor to have some fun in the last quarter, West told to play for the jumper.

West kicked the first 2 or 3. Lalor start to play the man. The game turned on its head. Trouble is only three or four players for Lalor stood up and got stuck into their team mates about late contact, abusing umpires, allow coaching box to abuse umpires (cost two free kicks), runner giving away free kicks.

Ring the NFL and complain, but umpires are sick of being bashed for doing a job that none of you offer to do. Black and O'Keeffe will be running around at 2.10pm next week, and will continue to give it their best. Call the NFL and ask to come down to training Monday and Wednesday, be constructive rather than claim everyone hates Lalor, umpires cheat blah blah blah, its boring! Lucky Black & O'Keeffe are senior umpires and wont quit over what they put up with from Lalor.

Yellowman/boy

Well done :thumbsu: Those are the kind of responses players, supporters, coaches ect are after. I think what most clubs are after is consistancy, which seems to be a common link in these threads.

One suggestion I do have is that maybe do like the EDFL does with it's players, and go and target quality umpires to recruit from other leagues. I am not sure what the umpires are paid, but I am sure that most clubs wouldnt mind them being given a little bit more than the average umpire IF it meant the quality and consistancy was increased. Has a "poaching" approach ever been considered?

I, like many others who would post on here, watch footy from other leagues as well and I have to say it is obvious at times just how far behind we always seem to be in this department.

That's the way Yella. Chop in with something we can chew on. Remember, show them you are helpless and, you'll get no mercy.

Regards

Give the umpires topic a rest guys. Every week some m0ron gets on here and complains. Football is a game of perception. Perceptions are different from one team to the other, from one supporter to the other and the way our game is, perceptions will differ from one umpire to another.
It is the nature of the game. No amount of bashing you do here will change that.

We all know the NFL is struggling for umpire numbers- believe it or not your abuse does not help. As someone mentioned- have a crack at the NFL for not paying enough to attract / retain the best umpires if you want to complain about something.

Lalor won. Be happy with it and move on. Umpires didn't / don't change the result of games. Enough of the dribble please............

was at the game yesturday at greensborough what away 2 finish the first quater they had no power so no siren timekeepers had 2 yellout too slime supports how alerted boundry umpire that the quater had fiished how had 2 atert the feild umpire that the quater had finished they then got out the old bell 2 start second quater 2 start before the power came back on

BOOF , D NOLAN KICKING 11 IN THE 2'S. WHICH ONE IS THAT. I KNOW THERE NAMES DALE AND DANNY. BUT WHICH ONE IS HE, THE TALLER ONE.?WHY WAS HE IN THE 2'S. WAY TO GOOD TO BE IN THE 2'S. IF HE CANT GET A GAME HE CAN COME DOWN TO WHITT. HE WOULD FIT IN NICELY.:p:D

Danny hasn't played since May due to various reasons and is in the process of being eased back into it.

Yellowman/boy

Well done :thumbsu: Those are the kind of responses players, supporters, coaches ect are after. I think what most clubs are after is consistancy, which seems to be a common link in these threads.

One suggestion I do have is that maybe do like the EDFL does with it's players, and go and target quality umpires to recruit from other leagues. I am not sure what the umpires are paid, but I am sure that most clubs wouldnt mind them being given a little bit more than the average umpire IF it meant the quality and consistancy was increased. Has a "poaching" approach ever been considered?

I, like many others who would post on here, watch footy from other leagues as well and I have to say it is obvious at times just how far behind we always seem to be in this department.

Another great post. The only good umpire we have picked up in the last 10 years from another league is Holland, who has done 2 A1 GF's. We have lost so many umpires, most becuase our last umpires coach was a tool 'luckman'. We should be looking to get EDFL and EFL umpires over. Money is an issue. The pay is ok, but not enough to atract other umpires. A1 get $110.

Some positive moves are an umpires acadamey was set up at Parade which has atracted 15 umpires, one which has made he way as high as B grade (by the way umpire Black is the coach). There is also a link now b/t the YJFL and us as they don't have seniors.

However we won't see this help our numbers for a few years. In the short term, hold on. Be thankful that A1 get the best of what we have. Think about poor A2 and below. I would hate to see the poor umpiring in C2