Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2025

Could 💯 see this happening with port this year .
- Absolutely tanking it

Apart from arsing so many close finishes last year to inflate their position. , reckon the coaching handover decision has basically.seen port concede this a treading water year and reduced Ken to a basically a lap of honour coaching gig for the year .

And in the cut throat arena of AFL footy if you have no real dedication to a single focus (eg winning/ or rebuilding)but more a bet each way then as port have things can get ugly real quick - just see freo today for example of team unsure of its actual identity and aims

You can want JL sacked, but I can't reconcile thinking anything Port is doing to being a good idea.
To be fair their next coach is the bloke that was pivotal to us making finals in 2022. He left and we haven’t made finals since… coincidence?
People say the only reason WCE won a flag under Simmo was Mitchell - well I think the same applies to us. Maybe Carr was the reason we made finals in 22, not JLo.

To be fair their next coach is the bloke that was pivotal to us making finals in 2022. He left and we haven’t made finals since… coincidence?
People say the only reason WCE won a flag under Simmo was Mitchell - well I think the same applies to us. Maybe Carr was the reason we made finals in 22, not JLo.
How the **** can you verify any of that from here? I can certainly believe Mitchell was a big help but to just give him 100% credit for 2018 is dumb. Assigning all of 2022 to Carr is even worse. Especially when we were by far the best stoppage team last year.

I don’t give Mitchell 100% credit for 2018, but a lot of people do. I also don’t give Carr 100% credit for 22, but since Carr left, we haven’t made finals and Port Adelaide have, clearly he had a big impact.
Being a great stoppage team isn’t the be all and end all, yesterday we were utterly garbage in the stoppages too.
Longmuir is out of his depth.

I don’t give Mitchell 100% credit for 2018, but a lot of people do. I also don’t give Carr 100% credit for 22, but since Carr left, we haven’t made finals and Port Adelaide have, clearly he had a big impact.
Being a great stoppage team isn’t the be all and end all, yesterday we were utterly garbage in the stoppages too.
Longmuir is out of his depth.
You're trying to connect dots that aren't there with big leaps in logic. I mean, did you see the Carr led midfield yesterday?

It's fine to just say we were terrible yesterday and leave it at that.

You're trying to connect dots that aren't there with big leaps in logic. I mean, did you see the Carr led midfield yesterday?

It's fine to just say we were terrible yesterday and leave it at that.
They were garbage yesterday too, no doubt, but 22 has been our only good season since 2015 - it’s logical to look at what worked in that season and then to consider who isn’t there now. I can’t understand why Brodie has been cast aside, Acres was good and was lowballed, Carr left….. clearly all those aspects have played a part in us not being competitive since.
Port under Hinkley and Carr came second last year - yes choked in finals, but they still came second. They did something right that Longmuir didn’t.

They were garbage yesterday too, no doubt, but 22 has been our only good season since 2015 - it’s logical to look at what worked in that season and then to consider who isn’t there now. I can’t understand why Brodie has been cast aside, Acres was good and was lowballed, Carr left….. clearly all those aspects have played a part in us not being competitive since.
Port under Hinkley and Carr came second last year - yes choked in finals, but they still came second. They did something right that Longmuir didn’t.
It's fine to just say you don't know why. You can make a number of compelling arguments to explain all of those things but ultimately we don't know.

I don't, however, think you can make a compelling argument that Port's methods are superior unless you goal is to simply make up the numbers in finals. They have a long track record of precisely that.

Conspiracy Theory Glasses GIF by nounish ⌐◨-◨

Acres, Brodie, Carr - I don’t buy it. Surely there is a reason starting with D as well.

It's fine to just say you don't know why. You can make a number of compelling arguments to explain all of those things but ultimately we don't know.

I don't, however, think you can make a compelling argument that Port's methods are superior unless you goal is to simply make up the numbers in finals. They have a long track record of precisely that.
Port finishing second last season suggests their methods were superior. It hasn’t stacked up in September, and clearly that’s a major issue for them and I absolutely understand why their fans are furious about it, but we barely even get there - 31 seasons and we’ve made finals what, 7 times? Port have been in the comp one year less than us, have a flag and have made finals on significantly more occasions.

My aim is not to make finals, it is to win flags. Port under the current regime have not done that.

So how it compares to JL is irrelevant, we have other options.

My aim is not to make finals, it is to win flags. Port under the current regime have not done that.

So how it compares to JL is irrelevant, we have other options.
I get that, and so is mine, but if you give me the choice between seeing my team play finals year in, year out, or never make them as per Longmuir, it’s an easy choice

Well obviously, but its a trivially true thing and it certainly doesn't follow from that Port are the standard to strive for.

If only Sam Mitchell had heard of waiting a long time, enough so that all the outlets were blocked, then bombing pointlessly to a pack on the right flank.

What. A. Dickhead 😳

Gotta say that the 3rd and 4th handpass into trouble , that we can clearly see on Tv , is mostly on the players
There is usually a downfield option

If they don’t have the vision to see their team mate is hot then they need to get better than that
Similarly the guy calling for the ball .

Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2025

Write your reply...