Hobart stadium business case

Lol I’m from Tassie and I don’t know anyone who likes country. Tasmanians definitely love rock. I remember when AC/DC came to town in 2001 and they got a 15,000 person crowd. Tasmanians will show up for bands that maybe used to be big but aren’t so popular/are a bit unfashionable. It would be a perfect place for an aging rock band to visit, they would have a bigger pull in Tassie than the mainland as there’s less competition for big live acts. Ie. The Killers, Foo Fighters, Muse, Kings of Leon. Those sort of bands would be the sweet spot I reckon.

If you live here, you would know such bands already tour here, no roof necessary. And you don't know anyone who likes country music, in a predominantly agricultural society. Don't get out of Hobart CBD much do ya? Want me to link the bands that have been here in the last few months? Even in Launny we get aging rock bands.

If you live here, you would know such bands already tour here, no roof necessary. Want me to link the bands that have been here in the last few months? Even in Launny we get aging rock bands.
I don’t live in Tassie anymore. When were Foo Fighters in Tassie last?

Lol I’m from Tassie and I don’t know anyone who likes country. Tasmanians definitely love rock. I remember when AC/DC came to town in 2001 and they got a 15,000 person crowd. Tasmanians will show up for bands that maybe used to be big but aren’t so popular/are a bit unfashionable. It would be a perfect place for an aging rock band to visit, they would have a bigger pull in Tassie than the mainland as there’s less competition for big live acts. Ie. The Killers, Foo Fighters, Muse, Kings of Leon. Those sort of bands would be the sweet spot I reckon.

I feel like you would need more than that. How about a showcase/mini festival of about 7 or 8 younger smaller bands (what they do regularly these days so collectively you have a better chance of a decent crowd). How do you think that would fare?

[
We like it you don't care about us, if you lived here you might understand that. It's an entire state of sea change/tree change opportunities. Folks who live/stay here do so for the lifestyle, those who don't move to the mainland.

I don’t know why you’re promoting the Tasmanian life style to me, it’s irrelevant to my point and I don’t care.

I don’t live in Tassie anymore. When were Foo Fighters in Tassie last?

Never, we can fly to the mainland you know. No matter how nice the stadium is they wouldn't spend tens of thousands of dollars and waste days on the road and on ships to play a gig here, when Newcastle has the same population in one spot. You're dreaming.

I feel like you would need more than that. How about a showcase/mini festival of about 7 or 8 younger smaller bands (what they do regularly these days so collectively you have a better chance of a decent crowd). How do you think that would fare?
Yeah I reckon a big day out style one day festival would do very well, especially since Falls Festival ended.

[emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="Saucery" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Never, we can fly to the mainland you know. No matter how nice the stadium is they wouldn't spend tens of thousands of dollars and waste days on the road and on ships to play a gig here, when Newcastle has the same population in one spot. You're dreaming.

That’s the point that’s flying well over your head because it’s stuck well in the sand…

They would if you actually had real population growth in one single small part of the whole state

Tasmania is the absolute sweet spot for a band like Foo Fighters. Sure they could do Newcastle instead but why not do both, if Tassie has a venue that can support it? They’ve already flown all their stuff from the US, why not add another show while they’re here even if they have to pay a little extra for transportation I’m sure it would still be profitable. Do you not think it would cost more to get from Melbourne to Perth than it would from Melbourne to Hobart? Perth gets plenty of shows.

Also the the cost of building the stadium, a lot of the money spent will stay in Tasmania with jobs and local contractors etc will it not?

Tasmania is the absolute sweet spot for a band like Foo Fighters. Sure they could do Newcastle instead but why not do both, if Tassie has a venue that can support it? They’ve already flown all their stuff from the US, why not add another show while they’re here even if they have to pay a little extra for transportation I’m sure it would still be profitable. Do you not think it would cost more to get from Melbourne to Perth than it would from Melbourne to Hobart? Perth gets plenty of shows.

Perth has 2.3 million people, Hobart has 250,000, incomparable. The cost to send a container from Tasmania to Melbourne can vary based on several factors, including the size of the container, the distance, and the method of transport. Generally, you can expect to pay around $2,000 to $4,000 AUD for a 20-foot container, and $3,000 to $6,000 AUD for a 40-foot container.

So, the containers get loaded at Web dock in Melbourne, sail to Devonport. Loaded onto trucks and driven to Hobart unloaded, set up, play, loaded back into containers and loaded onto trucks, driven back to Devonport and reloaded on to ships, sails back to Webb dock, and driven to their next destination. How many container loads of gear do you think the foo fighters tour with? So say a day to arrive, a day set up, a day to play, a day to load, and a day to sail back. So that's at least 72 hrs of travel (baring issues) and a very large oncost for sea freight, and a lot of organization. When they can just play an extra date in Melbourne and we can fly up to watch it.

Also the the cost of building the stadium, a lot of the money spent will stay in Tasmania with jobs and local contractors etc will it not?

Probably not, the specialist kind of kind of workers required to build such a significant piece of infrastructure will require FIFO workers also, there's just not enough of the right kind of tradesmen here to build it.

You maybe, I doubt it’s the majority though

But don’t get all upset if the stadium is kyboshed and the license is revoked when the Presidents get another vote ok

So UTAS stadium is having a substantial renovation at the moment. Will be a pretty decent stadium when fully renovated.

What's the genuine reason the Devils cant be based there in Launceston, when the stadium build issue in Hobart appears to be crippling the whole venture?

What part of 'that's how we like it' aren't you understanding?
Sadly think you're talking to brick walls mate. A lot of mainlanders don't quite get it when it comes to this little state. A lot of us are still here because we like the way it is. I know I had plenty of school mates that went off to the mainland once graduated from school; some stayed, some came back.

On the rare occasion I want to experience some part of the Melbourne hustle and bustle, it's like a 50 minute flight over.

Sadly think you're talking to brick walls mate. A lot of mainlanders don't quite get it when it comes to this little state. A lot of us are still here because we like the way it is. I know I had plenty of school mates that went off to the mainland once graduated from school; some stayed, some came back.

On the rare occasion I want to experience some part of the Melbourne hustle and bustle, it's like a 50 minute flight over.

Exactly, they come here to unwind, we go there for events. I know which I'd rather have 24/7.

There’s . million Victorians who like it just the way it is and don’t live anywhere near Melbourne, but they all get the value of the economic activity that Melbourne brings.
Melbourne is a very small piece of land compared to the whole of Victoria

There’s . million Victorians who like it just the way it is and don’t live anywhere near Melbourne, but they all get the value of the economic activity that Melbourne brings.
Melbourne is a very small piece of land compared to the whole of Victoria

This thread is about Victoria now? I think you got lost on the way to the........ exit?

The point being all cargo has to be freighted on ships, if you read the previous conversation it relates to you would understand. They were suggesting flying acts in and I pointed out neither airport can take container planes.

Why is it built so small though, surely had to go to 40k? I mean if the team is popular surely there will be 20k+ locals attending each week which means there isn't room for travelling fans anyway to boost the economy. Certainly the bigger games or any finals they would just sell it out with no away fans, but the whole point to boost the economy would be to get 10k or so traveling away fans from the big clubs, but the stadium will be far too small for that.

If it's only planned for them to be getting 10-15k home fans each week, then what's really the point of a team there anyway?

Why is it built so small though, surely had to go to 40k? I mean if the team is popular surely there will be 20k+ locals attending each week which means there isn't room for travelling fans anyway to boost the economy. Certainly the bigger games or any finals they would just sell it out with no away fans, but the whole point to boost the economy would be to get 10k or so traveling away fans from the big clubs, but the stadium will be far too small for that.

If it's only planned for them to be getting 10-15k home fans each week, then what's really the point of a team there anyway?

Exactly.

Hobart stadium business case

Write your reply...