Like I said a while back, small town syndrome
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 1
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Lol I’m from Tassie and I don’t know anyone who likes country. Tasmanians definitely love rock. I remember when AC/DC came to town in 2001 and they got a 15,000 person crowd. Tasmanians will show up for bands that maybe used to be big but aren’t so popular/are a bit unfashionable. It would be a perfect place for an aging rock band to visit, they would have a bigger pull in Tassie than the mainland as there’s less competition for big live acts. Ie. The Killers, Foo Fighters, Muse, Kings of Leon. Those sort of bands would be the sweet spot I reckon.
Like I said a while back, small town syndrome
I don’t live in Tassie anymore. When were Foo Fighters in Tassie last?If you live here, you would know such bands already tour here, no roof necessary. Want me to link the bands that have been here in the last few months? Even in Launny we get aging rock bands.
Lol I’m from Tassie and I don’t know anyone who likes country. Tasmanians definitely love rock. I remember when AC/DC came to town in 2001 and they got a 15,000 person crowd. Tasmanians will show up for bands that maybe used to be big but aren’t so popular/are a bit unfashionable. It would be a perfect place for an aging rock band to visit, they would have a bigger pull in Tassie than the mainland as there’s less competition for big live acts. Ie. The Killers, Foo Fighters, Muse, Kings of Leon. Those sort of bands would be the sweet spot I reckon.
We like it you don't care about us, if you lived here you might understand that. It's an entire state of sea change/tree change opportunities. Folks who live/stay here do so for the lifestyle, those who don't move to the mainland.
I don’t live in Tassie anymore. When were Foo Fighters in Tassie last?
[
I don’t know why you’re promoting the Tasmanian life style to me, it’s irrelevant to my point and I don’t care.
Yeah I reckon a big day out style one day festival would do very well, especially since Falls Festival ended.I feel like you would need more than that. How about a showcase/mini festival of about 7 or 8 younger smaller bands (what they do regularly these days so collectively you have a better chance of a decent crowd). How do you think that would fare?
[emoji[emoji6]
]
[emoji[emoji6
]
[emoji6
]]
" data-quote="Saucery" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Never, we can fly to the mainland you know. No matter how nice the stadium is they wouldn't spend tens of thousands of dollars and waste days on the road and on ships to play a gig here, when Newcastle has the same population in one spot. You're dreaming.
Tasmania is the absolute sweet spot for a band like Foo Fighters. Sure they could do Newcastle instead but why not do both, if Tassie has a venue that can support it? They’ve already flown all their stuff from the US, why not add another show while they’re here even if they have to pay a little extra for transportation I’m sure it would still be profitable. Do you not think it would cost more to get from Melbourne to Perth than it would from Melbourne to Hobart? Perth gets plenty of shows.Never, we can fly to the mainland you know. No matter how nice the stadium is they wouldn't spend tens of thousands of dollars and waste days on the road and on ships to play a gig here, when Newcastle has the same population in one spot. You're dreaming.
Tasmania is the absolute sweet spot for a band like Foo Fighters. Sure they could do Newcastle instead but why not do both, if Tassie has a venue that can support it? They’ve already flown all their stuff from the US, why not add another show while they’re here even if they have to pay a little extra for transportation I’m sure it would still be profitable. Do you not think it would cost more to get from Melbourne to Perth than it would from Melbourne to Hobart? Perth gets plenty of shows.
Also the the cost of building the stadium, a lot of the money spent will stay in Tasmania with jobs and local contractors etc will it not?
In a hundred years that will still be the case if everyone is thinking like you saucery
Sadly think you're talking to brick walls mate. A lot of mainlanders don't quite get it when it comes to this little state. A lot of us are still here because we like the way it is. I know I had plenty of school mates that went off to the mainland once graduated from school; some stayed, some came back.What part of 'that's how we like it' aren't you understanding?
Sadly think you're talking to brick walls mate. A lot of mainlanders don't quite get it when it comes to this little state. A lot of us are still here because we like the way it is. I know I had plenty of school mates that went off to the mainland once graduated from school; some stayed, some came back.
On the rare occasion I want to experience some part of the Melbourne hustle and bustle, it's like a 50 minute flight over.
There’s.
million Victorians who like it just the way it is and don’t live anywhere near Melbourne, but they all get the value of the economic activity that Melbourne brings.
Melbourne is a very small piece of land compared to the whole of Victoria
The point being all cargo has to be freighted on ships, if you read the previous conversation it relates to you would understand. They were suggesting flying acts in and I pointed out neither airport can take container planes.
Why is it built so small though, surely had to go to 40k? I mean if the team is popular surely there will be 20k+ locals attending each week which means there isn't room for travelling fans anyway to boost the economy. Certainly the bigger games or any finals they would just sell it out with no away fans, but the whole point to boost the economy would be to get 10k or so traveling away fans from the big clubs, but the stadium will be far too small for that.
If it's only planned for them to be getting 10-15k home fans each week, then what's really the point of a team there anyway?