Review Freo beat the Dogs by 16 points

Does anyone know if you can listen to these channel 7 commentary’s if you are not based in Western Australia?

Is it on 7plus in your state? The replay is up on their website at the moment here - but it does ask for your location and also you can't use the blocker for ads.

Need to make a free 7plus a/c to watch. I guess if it doesn't work outside of W.A. you could probably reset your location.

Is it on 7plus in your state? The replay is up on their website at the moment here - but it does ask for your location and also you can't use the blocker for ads.

Need to make a free 7plus a/c to watch. I guess if it doesn't work outside of W.A. you could probably reset your location.

Yeah cheers, I do have Seven plus and it doesn’t seem to be appearing on my account, based in Vic so I expect they are only putting it on in WA. Will have a look again tomorrow and see if it can be accessed by then though!

Last quarter was painful to watch. I know we were down a couple but geez. The boys know games go for 4 quarters don't they? Why do they just stop attacking? Should be looking to score 4 goals EVERY quarter as a basic minimum. Murphy Reid in that last minute to halve the 1 on 2 and then ice it was unreal. Amiss some nice moments late marking and halving contests.

Because they were 2 men down, without their ruck, and without any rotations left. Pretty gutsy effort I thought.

Last quarter was painful to watch. I know we were down a couple but geez. The boys know games go for 4 quarters don't they? Why do they just stop attacking?
We're down two players on the bench, including our ruck meaning we have to make massive structural changes. Players are gassed. Limited rotations. That was exactly what they had to do that quarter. Slow and controlled.

Like you can hate watching it all you want but it was absolutely what we needed to do to close out the game. Was it what we needed in the Sydney game? Absolutely not. But it was for this game and don't see much sense in complaining about it.

We're down two players on the bench, including our ruck meaning we have to make massive structural changes. Players are gassed. Limited rotations. That was exactly what they had to do that quarter. Slow and controlled.

Like you can hate watching it all you want but it was absolutely what we needed to do to close out the game. Was it what we needed in the Sydney game? Absolutely not. But it was for this game and don't see much sense in complaining about it.

I don't understand the criticism today. It was almost everything we could want in a win. Kick ahead with absolute class and then we get three key injuries and still win.

It's even beyond the marks, his touch and body work are unbelievable. How does the ball hit his hands and immediately stop dead, there's no bounce, its unreal.
I agree completely but my honourable mention for touch is Dudley. I know he's not on Reid's level but still way ahead of many more senior players.

I don't understand the criticism today. It was almost everything we could want in a win. Kick ahead with absolute class and then we get three key injuries and still win.
That's all well and good for today Posh, but I'm a bigger picture kinda guy and 3 key injuries in a win today will probably still mean 3 key injuries next week.

Granted its just the Tiges, but on their day they can be a little bit scary. Ask the Blues.

That's all well and good for today Posh, but I'm a bigger picture kinda guy and 3 key injuries in a win today will probably still mean 3 key injuries next week.

Granted its just the Tiges, but on their day they can be a little bit scary. Ask the Blues.

We should run all over them. Reidy or Darcy in. Young in. Aish comes in. Or Ras.

Jackson has been huge but we will go in favourites and should still expect a 6 goal win minimum.

We should run all over them. Reidy or Darcy in. Young in. Aish comes in. Or Ras.

Jackson has been huge but we will go in favourites and should still expect a 6 goal win minimum.
Yeah I have my doubts about both Darcy and Young coming in next week. No actual data other than a pretty quiet Peel game for both, I feel like they may spend another week in the WAFL.

I've already told some of the Supercoach boys just to keep an eye on the injury report, have the feeling Dogga and Noddy may not get up for next week.

Leaves us with no choice, if that happens, but to go with Reidy, who will be eaten alive by Nank. I reckon Raz gets another go at it, hopefully he can string a few together before Nat gets back up again.

Backline was absolutely incredible despite Darcy being the scariest player I have ever watched. I can't really single out any of them because they all had their best game - we actually won contests back there.

It was the best of Bolton, it was the worst of Bolton...

Finally I'll never agree with anyone criticising the heart of Brayshaw and Serong. How Brayshaw was getting to those contests in the last ill never know.
👏👏👏👏👏👏👏Agree. All stood up when it was their turn to go.

After watching the replay a few shoutouts to:
Johnson. Probably his best 4 Q game. Just quietly getting better every week.
Sharp. Didn’t notice from my seat how many one percenters he managed through 4Q.
Banfield. Some clever play in transition. He’s got a decent footy brain. If he was cleaner with ground ball he’d be a very solid role player.
Wagner. I was wrong about him. Knows when to leave his man & attack the contest and rebound.
All our backs. Chappy, Clark & great to see the big 3 start taking intercept marks & getting their synergy back for team defense.
The rest I covered in my previous long post written in the bus on the way home but one last shoutout to the kick Serong pulled off in the 1stQ. Running through 50, had forwards leading but spotted Bolton doubling back and kicked it to space for Shai to get to work for his first goal. People around me groaned thinking wtf then Bolts appeared. Tool real vision & composure to look past the obvious and see that as the better play.

Random thoughts while watching the game…

Love the taking advantage of dominance. That is exactly what I hoped the team would do this year. Too many times in the last few years the team has been dominant but just not kicked the goals. The second half of the second quarter, the team was dominant and put the Dogs to the sword. This is what the team needed., reward for effort.

Dudley’s a player. Just knows where he should be. If he has fitness gains to make, he could be the small forward the team needs.

Luke Ryan… splendid. And Chapman, classy touches. I would like to see him using the ball more. Just not through the opposition spending more time in their forward half 😬

Draper too. Man is a player. And Clarke 😍 and Cox. Bloody good.

Geez i hope Jackson’s ok. He is in ripping form.

Free kicks are not meant to be equal. Still, that umpiring was terrible. Old mate drops the ball cold 40m out directly in front… play on. Then next play another bloke just hangs onto it, pretends he’s being tackled when he isn’t… ok, ball up.

Lobby’s a good player sadly. Terrible, uh, hair art tho. What do you call it when someone spray paints something on the back of your head?

Just rewatching the game and listening to some commentary/talk shows.

Alot of people are criticising Draper on Darcy however - the mind of a Coach is a brilliant thing.

Did JLo have confidence in the team to win the game and also take in to consideration playing Draper on particularly the best forward in the game would be better for his development going forward?

If I was Draper - I'd have a spring in my step today thinking that the coach trusted me to do my job.

I sound like a broken record when it comes to Reid. Talking to a few neutral supporters at the game (Hawks and Geelong fans) - Think he has the potential to be a Sam Mitchell or Pendlebury.

Said fan - made a remark that Dudley was to slow on moving the ball on on the wing at one point - but I felt that I'd rather Dudley take his time and make a smart decision rather than rushing it. I also saw glipses of Cyril Rioli in Dudley when he did that absolute sell I think during the 3rd. If the kid can get an engine - clubs are going to suffer.

Good to see Luke Ryan, Jackson, Serrong, Clark, Traecy, Freddy, Bolts, Brayshaw, Pearce do positive things...

Young to come back in next week after doing well for Peel... The selection table is going to get messy - it could allow us to rest certain players if they are borderline injured (I'd hate for our club to do what North are with Luke Parker having him play with a broken rib for 3 weeks).

Sorry for the long post - Red Wine + Happiness!

Review Freo beat the Dogs by 16 points

Write your reply...