NFL Favre Finished with Football

Re: Favre Finished with Football...

dunno what some of you are on. favre had the Jets on 8-3 and firing on all cylinders until his biceps began impacting on his play. he had to learn a new system, and the Jets didnt have the same personnel the vikings do.

Doesn't that show his body isn't able to hold up to a full NFL season now. at his age, his body is going to take longer to recover, I can't see him going through the season injury free. Once his arm does get saw as the season goes along, the INT's will come, we'll see.

I agree Matt. 'Sota have a winnable first month that can certainly set up
Favre to have a reasonable campaign as starting HOT will just bring lots of confidence within the team.

On the flipside tho, I wouldn't be surprised if Favre gets injured early and basically re-retires/ benched before mid-season. If Favre starts in 8 games or more AND the Vikes actually do win '80%' of those, then it may have been a OK decision to bring him back but sheesh..

Week 4 Vs Green Bay
Week 6 Vs Baltimore
Week 7 @ da 'Burgh
Week 8 @ Lambeau

will clearly be Favre's/ Minny's ACID TEST (undoing). The title of this thread will underline what many have been thinking all along after the ACID test meltdown (what I'm predicting).

perhaps matt, but the vikes and favre wont know unless they give it a go. from the articles ive read about favre and his shoulder, the biceps tendon had been surviving on threads for the last few seasons. the injury got to a stage last year which really limited his ability down the stretch. only he truly knows how it feels right now, but despite his will he or wont he return antics over the last few years, im sure he wouldnt have returned with the Vikes had there been any pain or he feels his ability will be limited.

i was quite reluctant to about the Jets signing Favre, and that was before all the shit about the tendon came to light. what concerned me was the system he was getting into and the the little time he had to learn it. it was different to what he was used to in GB. but the vikes operate the same offense system he ran in GB. it's like playing guitar, or riding a bike......once you've learnt it well you'll never forget how to do it.

furthermore, the options they have at the QB position right now are ineffective. Jackson had proven this over the last couple of seasons, and from reports, Rosenfels hasnt done much in OTA's and camps to give the Viking coaching staff any confidence that he'll be much better. how many chances did have at Houston when Schaub was injured? Minny have many of the other pieces in place right now to make a tilt at the championship. the defense is set. now, just Favre's presence will affect the way opposition defenses will approach the offense now. they can use Favre to set up the run, and he'll be able able to pinch hit too with Berrian, Harvin and Shiancoe as very good options. it'll be interesting as to how they use kleinsasser and shiancoe now, because it was guaranteed to be a run when the former was the sole TE in the formation in the past. they can really disguise this now.

favre had a less than glamorous outing yesterday. give him a few weeks to get in sync with the rest of the o - the snap, the handoffs, his receivers. and he took hits. he got up. i dont know what the impact of this week after week will have, but i do know that to win a football game, he'll be the best option available to them.

I'm not disagreeing on seeing why the Vikings picked him up, it's understandable, they don't have a lot to lose at QB, you've said it, they have the defense, with probably the best running back in the NFL, anything to get them from a playoff team to a Superbowl team.

I just don't see his body holding up esipcally with all the bicep/arm problems he has been having. I think clearly he is trying to make something happen again, keep having that last good season/game, look at the way he closed out that final season for the Packers, why didn't he retire then? Obivously he can't handle being a old retired player with these antics and it wouldn't be surprised if he still knows that he isn't 100% even though he is now playing with the Vikings.

Overall, it's up to him, the Vikes have given him an oppournity, he still wants to play, fair enough but surely he might be looking back at this in 10 years time and thinking why he ruined such a legecy at Green Bay.

I'm not disagreeing on seeing why the Vikings picked him up, it's understandable, they don't have a lot to lose at QB, you've said it, they have the defense, with probably the best running back in the NFL, anything to get them from a playoff team to a Superbowl team.

I just don't see his body holding up esipcally with all the bicep/arm problems he has been having. I think clearly he is trying to make something happen again, keep having that last good season/game, look at the way he closed out that final season for the Packers, why didn't he retire then? Obivously he can't handle being a old retired player with these antics and it wouldn't be surprised if he still knows that he isn't 100% even though he is now playing with the Vikings.

Overall, it's up to him, the Vikes have given him an oppournity, he still wants to play, fair enough but surely he might be looking back at this in 10 years time and thinking why he ruined such a legecy at Green Bay.

I think 9.6/10 folk fully agree with you Matt. The .4 folk are the ones who make $$$ from Favre's gypsy gigs.

Sword. Favre. Fall. Still after all it's said n' done, await 6-9 years, HOF awaits Favre to enter as a 'disgrunted?' Packer... wonder what 'stunt' he'll pull off by then if he hasn't got over his Packer forced retirement spite?

Since the Favre signing:

The odds in Vegas for the Vikings to win the Super Bowl has decreased from 24-1 to 12-1

3200 additional season tickets were sold.

11,000 single game tickets were sold.

Seats for the game against Green Bay on Oct. 5 are only available through a season ticket. There are roughly 6,000 season tickets remaining.

200,000 people bought Favre’s Jets jersey last year, and the demand for the Vikings version figures to be even higher.
People like to see a train wreck

jaredallen.jpg

favredeer2.jpg

Now Brett on a team where everyone's on the same page. Whether successful or failing, this is going to be fun to watch. Now let the hunting of Bears, Lions and - whatever the hell a Packer is - begin in earnest.

Just love the protection of the Mallard's identity

Brett Favre told ESPN's Ed Werder that it's "highly unlikely" he'll play again.
We all know this doesn't mean that much, especially hours after a brutal NFC Championship Game loss in which he took numerous big hits. Favre put together the best statistical season of his career in 2009 and the Vikings will remain largely intact next year. He'll almost certainly get the itch to play again at some point down the line.
Source: Adam Schefter on Twitter

What Vick<Footy, the Superbowl and Conference Titles aren't the most important championships in the American Football Calendar? He won a piddling Division title with the Vikes, that's all.
I think you'll find that EVERY player in the NFL wants to play in a Superbowl, and win the Superbowl title, and to do that you have to win a Conference title.

We'll see if he's back next year. At least the Vikes will have to go through the will I, won't I crap next off season and it's already started!

What Vick<Footy, the Superbowl and Conference Titles aren't the most important championships in the American Football Calendar? He won a piddling Division title with the Vikes, that's all.
I think you'll find that EVERY player in the NFL wants to play in a Superbowl, and win the Superbowl title, and to do that you have to win a Conference title.

We'll see if he's back next year. At least the Vikes will have to go through the will I, won't I crap next off season and it's already started!

Those were some great paragraphs and it looks like you put a lot of thought and passion into writing them.

It appears you're also new around here so I won't beat you too bad. If you were a regular you would know that Brett Favre captained my 12-4 2009 Big Footy Fantasy Football League title team. Which is obviously the most important championship of the season. Thanks for dropping by.

champ.jpg

I hope that whatever his decision is, he makes it and sticks with it. The whole "will he or won't he" saga of the last couple of years was worse than watching paint dry.

I think this time he is more likely to go around again, purely because he would hate for his last play in his career to be an intercept. He knows how close the Vikings were, so I have a feeling he will play again.

Vick<Footy, good for you, but I don't care about the Fantasy stuff, I just follow the NFL. So there is really no need for the snide comments about "thanks for dropping by". I very rarely visit the NFL forum as I find it all over the place and maybe I never will again. Thanks for your patronising message!!!!!!

It's all light hearted mate, we're just very protective on this board of blow-ins. We'd love to have you stick around, and maybe get involved in Fantasy Football, as it's what a lot of what's written and the banter on this board revolves around.

You can say what you want about Favre, but the fact is we won't know if he is finished or not until about the 3rd or even 4th week of pre season games next year.

The Vikings will leave a roster spot open for him, and probably use Jackson or someone else as their no.1 QB over the whole pre season.

Favre showed he can walk straight into a side and "make it work", he did it at the Jets (until injured) and did it this year with the Vikings.

I hope he comes back, just so he can throw some more INT's in January.

Was embarrassing watching him break 2 of Joe Montana's playoff records yesterday though, you simply can't compare the 2, although if you tried, the one standout would be 1 Superbowl ring vs 4.

if he does come back, im sure Childress & the Vikes will allow him the flexibility to stay down in Mississippi for the Spring & bulk of Summer, and also, allow him to report to training camp late. Favre's a 40yo and doesnt need to go through all the workouts and BS that younger/improving players need to go through. he knows every nook & cranny of this offense. And he manages to keep himself fit and sharp at home. And it doesnt take long to re-establish the raport he has with the offense. I guess what Minnesota dont want is another will he/wont he saga going into next season. It's just a waste of energy for the Vikes to deal with (internally and externally) when effort can be directed elsewhere within the organisation. A decision prior to the draft would be ideal.

I've got nothing bad to say about the Favre after watching yesterday's match. He was beaten pretty badly by the Saints D and continued to get back up and managed to level the scores in the 4th qtr in probably one of the most draining environments he has had to play in. The interception was Favre being Favre. He goes out there to make plays. The scenario wouldve been different had the 12-man in the huddle penalty not been a factor. This incident led to a reaction of the playcall........to get into FG range. Should he have kept running the ball over the LOS? Probably. The injury may have been a factor, and the Saints were banging him up each time they got to him (as I mentioned earlier) so he couldve been rattled. But there's no doubt that Minnesota would not have been in that position prior to that play with the other options available to them.

and frankly, Favre is a competitor. He improves a team. That cant be bad for the league at all.

Who bl@@dy cares. It's only the vikings.

He's just proved one thing, if everyone else in the team is screwing up with fumbles, he's allowed to throw an AWFUL interception. Longwell may not have the longest leg in the league, but at least give him the opportunity to kick the game winning FG.

Is all about BRETT BRETT BRETT!

Where was Gus Gould when you needed him on commentary. NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

He'll be back.

He wants that second ring, and this team could easily win it.

That interception was crap though McGarnacle. Injury or no, he could have crawled five yards on that coverage and put them back into range.

it was crap because of the end result. he threw it from around the 41yds on the run IIRC (which would have been a 59yder from there - and beyond Longwell's best) and got absolutely smashed by McCray once he released it. i guess the throw wouldve rubbed off some speed, but unless he duked or dived, he might have struggled to even make the 5yds.

the mechanics of that throw was always risky........on the run, across the body, and into midfield coverage..........a hard pass to control simply because it puts the QB off balance.........but Favre's pulled it off so many times before. his instinct just took over.

i tell you what tho.....the Vikings are going to have to start practicing handoffs and carrys with newborn babies over the summer. Phenomenal athlete or not, ADP puts way too many down and there's a case to argue that fumble on the exchange at the end of the 1st half may have cost them the game. in their offensive redzone, they wouldve punched it in from there. that was all on ADP, not Favre (although the latter is credited with the fumble).

this is really the thing that's going to **** Favre up over the spring/summer......all the what-ifs from this game. if the Vikes got smashed, i reckon he would decide to call it a day. but he's had arguably his best year (definately stats wise), and as you say, this team can win it all.

does he want to get smashed over another long season for it tho? that shit and the physical ache is probably fresh in his mind when he's made his decision to retire in the winter. by the time the heat of june has rolled around in the deep south, the battle scars have healed and the punshment is prolly a bit of a vague memory.

i hope he continues. the division battle against GB next year will be great to watch too.

Who bl@@dy cares. It's only the vikings.

He's just proved one thing, if everyone else in the team is screwing up with fumbles, he's allowed to throw an AWFUL interception. Longwell may not have the longest leg in the league, but at least give him the opportunity to kick the game winning FG.

Is all about BRETT BRETT BRETT!

Where was Gus Gould when you needed him on commentary. NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

Gus would know a bit about that.........it's usually all about him too.

Farve is god: He giveth life, and he taketh away.

I think he will go round once more. If this had of happened at Miami I would say maybe not. The pain of loosing XLIV might have been too much. But without even getting a chance at obtaining that second ring might spur him on one more time.

I wouldn't mind to see him return. He adds something to the game that just gives it more punch. Truly admire him. I like/ agree what McGarnacle & Balmainforever just stated about Favre not deserving to being blamed for the loss. The Vikings took a risk with his body holding up and really Favre responded the way he does. Can't ask for any better. I expected him to break down, to be banged up more than he was.. the Viking O-line did one heck of a job for much of the season but the Saints D got LUCKY if anything. Ball bouncing in their favour when the fumbles were there to be scooped up in the redZone.

I'd like to see him come back if for no other reason that so many first-string QBs aren't good. He is a good QB and while he continues to play well and put up numbers, he should play.

You could argue that he is stopping the talent coming through, and Aaron Rogers has been good, but there are plenty of rubbish QBs taking spots from kids too.

It is better for the league to have the best guys around on the field.

Whether staying is a good move for his legacy (which has been well and truly restored IMO), is a matter for him. For the fans though, he should come back.

NFL Favre Finished with Football