Opinion Effectiveness of the Board and Executive Leadership

96, 97 and part of 98.

Mrs Seara was the best teacher I had in my lifetime. She could walk into a room full of hypo badly behaved kids and the room would silence at her hello. Diminutive woman that she was, she was like a tower. Actually had nice grounds and good ovals, swimming pool etc. Way too many fights though.

After my time…

Errant Bounce , I disagree re Dimon Garlic. It was media from Melbourne that werd playing spin the wheel and rubber arrow stopped on Garlics name.
I am pretty sure he refuted the suggestion very quickly.
Is there any one that has been involved, ever, that has been any good?
Easy to sit back and take pot shots.
Someone earlier mentioned Eddie Everywhere in all honesty, in my opinion that is a person, or a person like him to
Get us noticed.
This post is very similar to the one after the Derby loss.
People in these situations talk and leak like a bad sharehouse's valve.

He was open to it.

I wasn't on here for the derby loss but that was an utter disgrace but fair play to the Eagles, they trounced us everywhere.

What a pathetic post, no content just BS and belittling other people. Thumbs down 👎

Interesting that it was the other poster who was mocking people with a different opinion and who had said they know people at the club or did know figures there who the poster was personally attacking. I agree there can and should be discussion, but if someone does that to someone they disagree with then shouldn't you also challenge them?

Good to see some Hami Hill kids on here.

My dad still has multiple records for high and long jump at Hami, Richmond, and Kwinana Primary and highs.

We generally have a passionate connection to the club and see it as part of our identity.

As in, many of my family grew up in intense shame from being Fremantle because it was essentially a ghetto.

So what if I see a sense of pride in the club that bears its name?

I've been to areas across the world where their team is their identity and they care a lot for it.

Regarding the move, it was during a stupid time where clubs were obsessed with massive new builds in dud suburbs that promised resources and facilities. Essendon have an MCG-sized ground in a giant shed they can train in when it rains. they've done nothing since leaving Windy Hill in 2013; St Kilda are back at Moorabbin; Hawthorn are clearly torn on Dingley. it's a dumb and clunky cliche but like North Melbourne said when they won all those flags: 'our weights are just as heavy as West Coast's.'

Fremantle Council wanted the ground to remain in line with the South Terrace streetscape and to have the new facilities look aligned with the old pavilion which has always been part of every single draw up of the Freo Oval redevelopment which has centred around the ground realigning to that old pavilion.

Freo was hellbent – sorry, the 'Dockers' (we wasted time talking to Levi's about all of that, too to regain the shitey name) – on moving and used those heritage 'restrictions' as an excuse to leave.

I can provide information and sources on all of this.

Clubs have realised massive facilities don't do much and both players and staff like working in inner city areas jut like they want to live in them, too.

Nothing I'm saying is outlandish.

Fremantle just needed a single oval to kick on, we would have had the Stan Reilly Centre carpark for a bigger pool (not sure why 50 metre pools were so important back then for footballers but anyway), and we could've been at least vibrant.

You're not telling me it was a beautiful thing to get a coffee and sit under the figs and watch the boys have a kick.

Sorry that I care about my home.

This has nothing to do with you caring or not caring about your home.

I don't know what years you grew up in Freo but when I grew up there it wasn't seen as a ghetto. A little underdog to Perth maybe, but East Freo, North Freo and increasingly South Freo were seen as very nice places to live. And now they are very expensive. Coogee developed down the road, just past the pub and the A frame caravan place my grandparents stayed at for three months when they moved before getting a place.

Further on you had coogee beach and then woodmans point. Where I had my first and last ever cigarette to impress a stunning girl.

We wasted a full decade of some greats career while playing at Freo oval. And are now positioned for a sustained run of success as a club. If we have that success I think you will still want to move the club back to freo. And that is fine, I would like that too. I just don't think it has anything to do with if we will be successful or not.

Interesting that it was the other poster who was mocking people with a different opinion and who had said they know people at the club or did know figures there who the poster was personally attacking. I agree there can and should be discussion, but if someone does that to someone they disagree with then shouldn't you also challenge them?

Challenge away. Just go after content of posts and the subject at hand. If you have to resort to insulting other members of the forum then not only have you lost the thread of the discussion you are also lowering the bar of the broader discussion and should be called out for it. The problem here currently is an open desire to critique other posters but no desire to hold the club to account.

Yes and it was the one poster who got personal and mocking first. I am saying it is strange you haven't addressed that when you were keen to address the response to it.

I am more than happy to interact on the details/substance.

I do not think success as a club is linked to being at Freo or in Cockburn.

And as a club we had the most success when we had the Steve's as much as some had such strong views on them.

Mate I grew up in Spearwood, went to Hamilton high, played for the cougars and souths before playing my second colts season at peel and transferring to the flames. Went to newton primary. And grew up playing at south beach on weekends on the courts there and swimming for a cool down before catching the bus back. My dad worked on south terrace for 29 years and I spent my afternoons there four times a week. But sure no one knows footy like you.

Others know from my other posts that I have the old green away strip and went with my dad and brothers to the footy for the first 8 years we were a club. Then got my own membership. But that’s me.

I met Steve at a fundraiser for work in third world. And after I ran into him at a breakfast with a couple of business friends. These were over a decade apart. So yes I know him a bit from business. And you get a read on people and he seemed consistent character wise.
I stand corrected.

Fair enough mate.

I just give a shit and outlay it in a different way.

I stand corrected.

Fair enough mate.

I just give a s**t and outlay it in a different way.

I can't claim those times, but my nana grew up in WGV when it was a ghetto. don't want to dox myself but they had tent communities there then. it was rough. I know families know from then and these people are in their 50s and 70s with serious mental health issues. you'd know their surnames, too.

My family worked on the port and in the wool industry for a long time. I've bumped into people my age at the pub who know my surname and stuff.

Their recollections of Fremantle are rough. it wasn't nice. 40s to 70s. I recall them saying of East Fremantle, it getting slightly pricey but even then they'd just decide to go to South Fremantle where they mostly all worked. I had family paying about a hundred bucks a week in the area until the 2000s. just long-term.

I miss that Fremantle and the smell. I reckon I could remember the way each dodgy paver paved along Marine Terrace.

Thing is, at the end of this, all I want is 10,000 people down South Terrace saying 'we're gonna take Monday off.'

It was definitely rougher then than when I was there. Born 83 so I wasn't really aware of what it was like until 90, 91 and on. It was all happy memories and growing fast. Dad did mention it was rougher the previous decade or two.

It was still violent at times. We went to a soccer game at spearwood dalmatinac (is that how you spell it?) and there was the Croat team playing the Yugoslav team and someone ran onto the ground burning the Croatian flag. Brawl on the field and on the side lines and people running from the crowd onto the field. Madness. We never went again.

We generally have a passionate connection to the club and see it as part of our identity.

As in, many of my family grew up in intense shame from being Fremantle because it was essentially a ghetto.

I've been to areas across the world where their team is their identity and they care a lot for it.

Regarding the move, it was during a stupid time where clubs were obsessed with massive new builds in dud suburbs that promised resources and facilities. Essendon have an MCG-sized ground in a giant shed they can train in when it rains. they've done nothing since leaving Windy Hill in 2013; St Kilda are back at Moorabbin; Hawthorn are clearly torn on Dingley. it's a dumb and clunky cliche but like North Melbourne said when they won all those flags: 'our weights are just as heavy as West Coast's.'

Fremantle Council wanted the ground to remain in line with the South Terrace streetscape and to have the new facilities look aligned with the old pavilion which has always been part of every single draw up of the Freo Oval redevelopment which has centred around the ground realigning to that old pavilion.

Freo was hellbent – sorry, the 'Dockers' (we wasted time talking to Levi's about all of that, too to regain the shitey name) – on moving and used those heritage 'restrictions' as an excuse to leave.

Clubs have realised massive facilities don't do much and both players and staff like working in inner city areas jut like they want to live in them, too.

Fremantle just needed a single oval to kick on, we would have had the Stan Reilly Centre carpark for a bigger pool (not sure why 50 metre pools were so important back then for footballers but anyway), and we could've been at least vibrant.

You're not telling me it was a beautiful thing to get a coffee and sit under the figs and watch the boys have a kick.

Mate you're acting like you're the only one around here that has deep family connections to Fremantle. If you pull your head out of it, and ask people instead of flailing around accusing everyone of being freshly minted plastic supporters, you might have a better time of it. Just a suggestion. I'm not doxxing myself by elaborating but I reckon there's a few around here with some very famous surnames in Fremantle history.

Who were those senior figures? I know some of the senior figures and one mid level management person at the club and all he talks about is how much they love the facilities and the flexibility it gives them. So much so they are expanding and looking at a plan to further expand when the current expansion is under way.

So it is nothing like St Kilda who went a long way away compared to Freo who went into a suburb within its historical district. If you grew up south of Cockburn in Spearwood you played footy at south Fremantle for example. My understanding is that the Saints didn't invest heavily in expansion either.

Some of the people I know who work at wce say they miss some things about Subi but absolutely love the new HQ.

Do you know these corporate a-holes? Or is that just your opinion of them?

I wouldn't mind a high profile president who went for bat for us like Eddie. I also don't mind a quieter but equally determined approach.

I don't think Bell was or is a bad person. I don't know him personally so I wouldn't make that judgement. I do think he was not experienced enough for the role. His experience was captain of the club and a radio gig. I said it didn't make sense at the time and it still does't.

Interesting discussion on the colours. I wish we had kept the full green and red training jumpers from the early 2000's in our away and clash rotations. let's be the club with a range of strips.
Appreciate the genuine reply even though we have differences in opinion. genuinely.

I'm not going to say, obviously, who were they were you but I think you can understand what and where I'm coming from....

The drive from Moorabbin to Frankston isn't much of a detour down the highway, either. the players hated it, it caused lots of issues. it's well documented.

I do know plenty of corporate arseholes but I've also had some genuinely decent humans with varied backgrounds who were normal, good fellas. they could sell sand to the overpouring Albany port. most of them came from a past that wasn't just handed to them and they had to do shit factory work, shit intern stuff to get by.

I don't know Belly personally but every single person I know who has interacted with him – and that goes from hellos at the Leopold to a girl I was with who worked with him at the ABC to family members who had work with him – said he was genuinely decent and up for a chat. as an example, Pav was not the same. rude bugger. 'yeah you know who I am' vibe.

Mate you're acting like you're the only one around here that has deep family connections to Fremantle. If you pull your head out of it, and ask people instead of flailing around accusing everyone of being freshly minted plastic supporters, you might have a better time of it. Just a suggestion. I'm not doxxing myself by elaborating but I reckon there's a few around here with some very famous surnames in Fremantle history.
I'd agree. but a lot of the discussion on here comes from people who denigrate the idea that yknow, our history is important. the simple idea of 'oh maybe we should've consulted Souths / Old Easts during the creation' is always shot down and seen as snobby. it's not snobby. it's the home of West Australian football and the club forgets that too much.

It was definitely rougher then than when I was there. Born 83 so I wasn't really aware of what it was like until 90, 91 and on. It was all happy memories and growing fast. Dad did mention it was rougher the previous decade or two.

It was still violent at times. We went to a soccer game at spearwood dalmatinac (is that how you spell it?) and there was the Croat team playing the Yugoslav team and someone ran onto the ground burning the Croatian flag. Brawl on the field and on the side lines and people running from the crowd onto the field. Madness. We never went again.
Spearwood Dalmatinic are now Cockburn City. for a while I was trying to work out all the old local clubs. I used to have a girlfriend from Melville and her mum would still call the Melville Hawks' ground 'Tricalore.'

There's also obviously a huge Portuguese community and it was sick to see their consulate pop up on South Terrace. they had some great soccer clubs with some interesting names. most of them came from Madeira weirdly enough. Cristiano Ronaldo's grandparents live Yangepub.

Mate I grew up in Spearwood, went to Hamilton high, played for the cougars and souths before playing my second colts season at peel and transferring to the flames. Went to newton primary. And grew up playing at south beach on weekends on the courts there and swimming for a cool down before catching the bus back. My dad worked on south terrace for 29 years and I spent my afternoons there four times a week. But sure no one knows footy like you.

Others know from my other posts that I have the old green away strip and went with my dad and brothers to the footy for the first 8 years we were a club. Then got my own membership. But that’s me.

I met Steve at a fundraiser for work in third world. And after I ran into him at a breakfast with a couple of business friends. These were over a decade apart. So yes I know him a bit from business. And you get a read on people and he seemed consistent character wise.
I stand corrected.

Fair enough mate.

I just give a shit and outlay it in a different way.

That's actually a very well worded reply and not at all how the rant about corporatism came across.

I largely agree with most of it, except that the vast majority of supporters don't get the chance to get down to training wherever it is, and dismissing the impact of decent facilities is flawed.

I think the close link to (geographical) identity is particularly true of the VFL clubs who were so closely linked to a specific area at a time the world was less connected and more tribal.
The Dockers are a more modern creation, I was a child member and very little of my personal connection came from the "Fremantle" aspect (unless you want to count "soth of the river").
These days most of what I see out of Fremantle town itself is a different type of elitism, which probably skews my view further.

Having said all that if we could come up with a viable plan to get the team back to Fremantle centre I'd be a passionate supporter of it, just for different reasons than some others.

All the talk about where you came from etc etc etc, means not much.
I am born and bred Goldfielder. Born In KRH, raised in South Boulder.Ever since I can remember I have been a South Fremantle fan. Adding to that a brother that payed there welded on the love.
I moved to Fremantle in 1967. For the first time in my life I was able to actually watch my idols play.
The move to Fremantle FC was a natural progression.
I thik what must be remembered is that Jandakot, Cockburn was once part of Fremantle.It is now an expansion.
I remember that Souths were offered land where Adventure World is now days.This area could have been our home from day one had Souths moved.
The love of a club does not mean that you have to hae lived there or live there now.
I have always been of the impression that a football club choses you, you do not chose a club.
These is a draw from the club that grabs you.
I have followed football again, since I can remember in my eighty years.Always has been in my blood, in my bones, in my genes. A Mines Rover fanatic back in my young years.
But now Fremantle is in my blood.
Foot clubs are a draw card for people from far and wide. Your place of residence or former place , is not necessarily the place where the team you follow is.

All the talk about where you came from etc etc etc, means not much.
I am born and bred Goldfielder. Born In KRH, raised in South Boulder.Ever since I can remember I have been a South Fremantle fan. Adding to that a brother that payed there welded on the love.
I moved to Fremantle in 1967. For the first time in my life I was able to actually watch my idols play.
The move to Fremantle FC was a natural progression.
I thik what must be remembered is that Jandakot, Cockburn was once part of Fremantle.It is now an expansion.
I remember that Souths were offered land where Adventure World is now days.This area could have been our home from day one had Souths moved.
The love of a club does not mean that you have to hae lived there or live there now.
I have always been of the impression that a football club choses you, you do not chose a club.
These is a draw from the club that grabs you.
I have followed football again, since I can remember in my eighty years.Always has been in my blood, in my bones, in my genes. A Mines Rover fanatic back in my young years.
But now Fremantle is in my blood.
Foot clubs are a draw card for people from far and wide. Your place of residence or former place , is not necessarily the place where the team you follow is.

I agree and especially with the statement about Jandakot and Cockburn being a part of Freo. If you played basketball for Cockburn the stadium was 7 mins away from south terrace. Growing up in spearwood we always considered ourselves to be part of freo.

Anyway, the next years as a freo supporter are going to be amazing. I can't wait!

I agree and especially with the statement about Jandakot and Cockburn being a part of Freo. If you played basketball for Cockburn the stadium was 7 mins away from south terrace. Growing up in spearwood we always considered ourselves to be part of freo.

Anyway, the next years as a freo supporter are going to be amazing. I can't wait!
Me neither.

...where they can actively defend themselves as opposed to clips about someone that's not even here. Nice try though, Rudolph.
Pfft, you're regularly having a crack at players you don't like, then when someone has a go at one of your pet players or someone you may know you get all riled up about it. It's a forum where people give their opinions. Probably fair to expect that some shit gets thrown around.

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

As another Spearwood boy, I agree

Opinion Effectiveness of the Board and Executive Leadership