• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

EDFL moves

Heartbreak Kid said:
nothing wrong with being washed up and gettin a kick with your mates on a saturday afternoon. Does anybody remember those days ?????? Thats how it was before all this money came into the equasion. Unfortunately, the EDFL is looking more like a retirement village for the AFL. But l guess it makes ours a better comp than most other leagues. Dont get me wrong guys, lm one of the washed up players still going round in twos working with the young guys, but l hope all this money dosnt turn our players into ********s. Only my opinion so dont bite my head off boys

At the end of he day if clubs want to pay big money out to players the club/clubs have to take a good hard look at themselfs, not the player or the person that is getting it!

rossfunke said:
you think i want to get in one with you.. i was stating my OPINION about money in B GRADE FOOTBALL in a FORUM... thats why they have forums set up.. so people can have their say.

But some of use like to take it one step further by calling people you don't know "idiots" or "have been, or still are one of those players who rely on their smart mouth coz they lack football ability" or "********er"... oh by the way if i was "one of those players" id like to pick on you cause you seem very easily intimidated.

there has to be one in every crowd.. however i will take one thing on board that you have said and that is itll be a pleasure to ignore you..
Fair enough mate we had our say and lets leave it at that.
Does anyone know if the EDFL will host any Sunday games or Night games. Someone posted that the marby / west match might be on a sunday. That would be a great game for all to see

Allears said:
At the end of he day if clubs want to pay big money out to players the club/clubs have to take a good hard look at themselfs, not the player or the person that is getting it!
l agree allears. l just wonder how clubs like Sydenham,NCS,Jacana,Hadfield and maybe a few more, are ever going to be able to keep their good players.

Allears said:
I think your last statement said it all aussie dude! "You only have to do as much as you have to do". Im glad lm not your coach and to me and many others out there that says alot about you as a person!
Only my opinion tho, l just dont understand if your not going to give 100% then why bother or play..!
As for some of those marby blokes that just cruise during the season, thats what marby did last year with Nash, Zerfa etc and when come to finals they went missing! Greenvale nearly had the same side in 2000 except(Bicer, Bakoulas and Hassell) in which west coburg beat them by 0ver 14 goals in the finals that year. If you want to compare sides atleast add them to account.

I think he might of meant that maybe against the easier sides quality players tend to rest up. There would be no use maybe a APW playing Barclay or Gentile for a Full match against a Hadfield or Syd a week or two before the finals. I understand what you mean though.
I think G'Vale never had Weston, Tortora, Willoughby, Bloomfield, Tate, etc.

Zerafa last year only never played last year because of work and Nash was injured in the finals and his fitness was lower than other years as he returned from a long overseas trip a few days before Rnd 5.

I was just talking with a coach about 15 mins ago about how good Strathmore;s list is! It is just ridiculous. It isn't far from a lower VFL side on paper.

Matthew Pillios said:
I think he might of meant that maybe against the easier sides quality players tend to rest up. There would be no use maybe a APW playing Barclay or Gentile for a Full match against a Hadfield or Syd a week or two before the finals. I understand what you mean though.
I think G'Vale never had Weston, Tortora, Willoughby, Bloomfield, Tate, etc.

Zerafa last year only never played last year because of work and Nash was injured in the finals and his fitness was lower than other years as he returned from a long overseas trip a few days before Rnd 5.

I was just talking with a coach about 15 mins ago about how good Strathmore;s list is! It is just ridiculous. It isn't far from a lower VFL side on paper.

Matty l wasnt sure if these players like Weston, Tortora, Willoughby, Bloomfield, Tate played in the greenvale B grade flag?
I think if you went through both teams and you knew all the players from both sides it would be different l assume matty.
In the west coburg 2001 team that went up to A grade 11 players lefted and went and played in other comps or other clubs.

Heartbreak Kid said:
l agree allears. l just wonder how clubs like Sydenham,NCS,Jacana,Hadfield and maybe a few more, are ever going to be able to keep their good players.

They cant its simple! Its the old saying the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

Allears said:
They cant its simple! Its the old saying the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.
yes they can marby are doing it. it takes a lot of hard work but you need to organise a great administration with an excellent business and football background. very hard to do but can be done. thats the only way these sides can become a contender.

kingfooty said:
yes they can marby are doing it. it takes a lot of hard work but you need to organise a great administration with an excellent business and football background. very hard to do but can be done. thats the only way these sides can become a contender.
Curious to know your thoughts on how Sydenham and roxi will go in the next few years. Roxi are spending big (around 60k last year) and had some good results and will be better this year. Sharks are trying to build a list with kids and maybe spend some money in a couple of years. Which club do u think will be more sucsessfull in 10 years?

Allears said:
Greenvale nearly had the same side in 2000 except(Bicer, Bakoulas and Hassell) in which west coburg beat them by 0ver 14 goals in the finals that year. If you want to compare sides atleast add them to account.

Stop talking through your ring mate. If you don't know don't post.

Greenvale had an ordinary side that year. First finals appearence and lost the semi. They did have close to the same side I guess, No Bakoulas, Bicer, Hassel, Paxman, Bloomfield, Rohan, Lenne, the 2 willo's, Budge, Tate, Nunziato, O'Conner, Wes Thompson, Sam Keenan, Weston, Tatora, Ben Canning, Stefanac, Paul Wynd etc etc

Athos got reported and sent off in the first 5 mins that game for whacking somebody and Zerafa and McClennan got injured and could even play the week after. In those days it meant game set sausage for the Jets.

Players do slacken off when the are flogging teams by 20 goals. Will see if guys like Rabee, Zoo, and Rosios don't start "cruising" when West Coburg are belting the living daylights out of teams this years. It's human nature and it's Football!!

Jett said:
Stop talking through your ring mate. If you don't know don't post.

Greenvale had an ordinary side that year. First finals appearence and lost the semi. They did have close to the same side I guess, No Bakoulas, Bicer, Hassel, Paxman, Bloomfield, Rohan, Lenne, the 2 willo's, Budge, Tate, Nunziato, O'Conner, Wes Thompson, Sam Keenan, Weston, Tatora, Ben Canning, Stefanac, Paul Wynd etc etc

Athos got reported and sent off in the first 5 mins that game for whacking somebody and Zerafa and McClennan got injured and could even play the week after. In those days it meant game set sausage for the Jets.

Players do slacken off when the are flogging teams by 20 goals. Will see if guys like Rabee, Zoo, and Rosios don't start "cruising" when West Coburg are belting the living daylights out of teams this years. It's human nature and it's Football!!

I said l wasnt sure jett, Im talking about there B grade side that one the flag....as for athos smacking a bloke, didnt he grab his bag and go straight home after it still in his footy gear.....!!! He must be a good clubman considering he would have been on atleast $1000 a game back then and walked out on his mates during there first year in the finals!

As for not knowing what your posting **************** Rosios has even been spoken to by the club(west coburg). Posted what you know ****************!

Allears said:
I said l wasnt sure jett, Im talking about there B grade side that one the flag....as for athos smacking a bloke, didnt he grab his bag and go straight home after it still in his footy gear.....!!! He must be a good clubman considering he would have been on atleast $1000 a game back then and walked out on his mates during there first year in the finals!

As for not knowing what your posting **************** Rosios has even been spoken to by the club(west coburg). Posted what you know ****************!

Good work mate. Are you 3. You get showed up talking up W/C then make up that ridiculous story about Athos. Yep he grabbed his bag and went home. Then went on to play another 4 yrs. Oh and I think he was getting 2 Grand a game. Whilst we're speaking fairytales. I heard he was on 4 at Marby :eek:

kingfooty said:

Where will marby be in 5 years kingfooty, it seems to me its a quick fix and short term only, you cant simply go from having nothing to everything it doesnt work that way, it takes time to get success as you should know.
Teams like strathmore, keilor etc all have very strong juniors with 3 or teams per age group and great backing from there councils and so on and
thats what every club should be aiming for to be like them.
Teams like roxy and sydneham will be good teams in the future with the population growth around the area and with them being new estates.

Jett said:
Good work mate. Are you 3. You get showed up talking up W/C then make up that ridiculous story about Athos. Yep he grabbed his bag and went home. Then went on to play another 4 yrs. Oh and I think he was getting 2 Grand a game. Whilst we're speaking fairytales. I heard he was on 4 at Marby :eek:

Im not talking up W.C at all they to have there problems and everyones knows that, but it was good to see you answered my question on the greenvale b grade team that won the flag.
By the way that come from athos mouth about him leaving and the amount of money he was on there that year.......lol

Heartbreak Kid said:
Does anyone know if the EDFL will host any Sunday games or Night games. Someone posted that the marby / west match might be on a sunday. That would be a great game for all to see
According to the EDFL fixture, at this stage only Sunday Games are Abers v Oakers @Abers on April 9th, with the reverse on 25th June. Nothing rostered for Sunday in the B grade fixture.

Matthew Pillios said:
Yeah, fair call. It is pretty close. For interest sake who would be the top 10 from that 2002 team. I will try and do the best for Hts 2004 who were very strong and prediction for Marby's & W.Cob 06.

ok matty my memory is not great but i have a team sheet, so ill have a go.

Bicer, budge, Hassell, Athas, Bakoulas, Keenan, Garbutt, Tortora, Thompson, Canning

Allears said:
I think your last statement said it all aussie dude! "You only have to do as much as you have to do". Im glad lm not your coach and to me and many others out there that says alot about you as a person!
Only my opinion tho, l just dont understand if your not going to give 100% then why bother or play..!
As for some of those marby blokes that just cruise during the season, thats what marby did last year with Nash, Zerfa etc and when come to finals they went missing! Greenvale nearly had the same side in 2000 except(Bicer, Bakoulas and Hassell) in which west coburg beat them by 0ver 14 goals in the finals that year. If you want to compare sides atleast add them to account.

Yep i spose it was the same team, only had 15 different players from the side that lost to west coburg. 6 out of 21 is basically the same, and out of those 6 Athas was reported and a few were injured.

I think you mis-interpreted what i said about lifting a gear. Im sure that when marby are beating hadfield by 300 points at half time and Murphy feels a twing in the hammie, GA will turn to him and say "just run it out mate". Im pretty sure its the same reasoning that saw Lynch left in Brisbane for Perth games. But what would Brisbane know you have all the answers.

Aussie_dude said:
Yep i spose it was the same team, only had 15 different players from the side that lost to west coburg. 6 out of 21 is basically the same, and out of those 6 Athas was reported and a few were injured.

I think you mis-interpreted what i said about lifting a gear. Im sure that when marby are beating hadfield by 300 points at half time and Murphy feels a twing in the hammie, GA will turn to him and say "just run it out mate". Im pretty sure its the same reasoning that saw Lynch left in Brisbane for Perth games. But what would Brisbane know you have all the answers.

Cronic fatigue syndrome and the fact that Lynch could not fly the long distance may have had a small bit to do with the fact he didnt play those games.

Hard Ball Get said:
Cronic fatigue syndrome and the fact that Lynch could not fly the long distance may have had a small bit to do with the fact he didnt play those games.

I think if the grand final was in perth Lynch may have gone over for a kick. CFS is a prime example of people peaking for the more important games and limiting output for less important weeks. Exactly why Athas will miss games this year due to his bad knees, not cause he is a bludger.

Aussie_dude said:

No aussie dude far from it! l dont have all the answers as you put it and claim to, but just remember your playing local football, if your trying to compare AFL with local backyard footy go ahead but its not a good example.
If l recall athos was about 20kilos heaver than now, he wasnt at his peak performance that year so it didnt matter. As for injuries, thats a joke if people want to use them as excuses thats a load of S H I T!
You put your fittest team on the field no matter what, as you can see and have seen in the past there is no room for passengers. Greenvale paid the price last year and so did marby.

Aussie_dude said:
I think if the grand final was in perth Lynch may have gone over for a kick. CFS is a prime example of people peaking for the more important games and limiting output for less important weeks. Exactly why Athas will miss games this year due to his bad knees, not cause he is a bludger.
I know in 2000 when Douttas were playing Greenvale last round the coach left out 7 of his guns and played the blokes who werent getting a game in the 2's (and the 2's were playing a semi that weekend some of these blokes who played 1's got to play in the 2's premiership that year but that was the competition and i think douttas still won by 20 goals. The bottom 4 would be the case and to take it easy can be an option especially if the team has 50-70 players on there list

Allears said:
If l recall athos was about 20kilos heaver than now, he wasnt at his peak performance that year so it didnt matter. As for injuries, thats a joke if people want to use them as excuses thats a load of S H I T!
You put your fittest team on the field no matter what, as you can see and have seen in the past there is no room for passengers. Greenvale paid the price last year and so did marby.

You really don't have a clue. 20 kilos over weight!! You are joking. We are speaking about the same Athos aren't we? Your only embarrassing yourself with all this made up stuff. Laughable

You know nothing about football if you think injury's don't play a part in it. This is not the sixties. Ask Kevin Sheedy or Leigh Matthews. Oh sorry I forgot this is only local football.

Jett said:
You really don't have a clue. 20 kilos over weight!! You are joking. We are speaking about the same Athos aren't we? Your only embarrassing yourself with all this made up stuff. Laughable

You know nothing about football if you think injury's don't play a part in it. This is not the sixties. Ask Kevin Sheedy or Leigh Matthews. Oh sorry I forgot this is only local football.

Excuses excuses thats all lm hearing from you jett! Yes athos is a gun, there is no doubt about that. lm not questioning his ability as a footballer but if you know the bloke that well and his football, whats was his playing weight then and now. Lets hope you can answer this question! l dont make excuses if your not good enough your not good enough thats the bottom line. Yes it isnt league football training once a week like alot of these blokes do, it shows.

Allears said:
No aussie dude far from it! l dont have all the answers as you put it and claim to, but just remember your playing local football, if your trying to compare AFL with local backyard footy go ahead but its not a good example.

Yep your right Allears, run em all into the ground. 100 hundreds at training every night, only 110% intensity from round one. Any slackers will be put in a circle and given the shane stremple treatment. Dont worry about september, its only rd one vs Hadfield that matters. All or nothing, no passengers.

Maybe thats the reason keilor get off to such good starts then seem to fade out late. In the finals this year there were many player injured. What about Rarbee and his ribs. The bloke was wearing a bloody bullet proof vest under there. But by your reasoning drop him, and get in a fit player. Clinnick couldnt even go up in the ruck come semi final day his stomach was so tender, zarahs knee was gone and i reakon micka was sick.

And in the grand final Thomas was wearing a mattress on his shoulder.

As for athas, yep your right again, he did weight 105 kgs. And it was a different player that lifted a gear come grand final day 2002 kicking seven on one leg.

Allears said:
Excuses excuses thats all lm hearing from you jett! Yes athos is a gun, there is no doubt about that. lm not questioning his ability as a footballer but if you know the bloke that well and his football, whats was his playing weight then and now. Lets hope you can answer this question! l dont make excuses if your not good enough your not good enough thats the bottom line. Yes it isnt league football training once a week like alot of these blokes do, it shows.

It was 86.3 and I think now it's 84.2. U sir are a moron. Who cares. You made the ridiculous claim. You've been the one talking it up.

I'm not good enough?? What the hell are you talking about. This started by you sprooking to the board that West Coburg smashed a full strength Greenvale team which was a lie. What are you on about now??

Yes West Coburg won that final. They were clearly the best team that year but they didn't have to beat much which was my point. Was an ordinary comp back then. They demolished us but I'm tipping by nowhere near as much as we would demolish you now. That's your bottom line

Just a reply for you jock555, Cameron Hare is definitely not playing for wallan in 2006, and hasnt even had a formal talk with them....

He is in fact unsure as to where he is going to play,with no real offers on the table from any clubs,with strathmore and therry penola the only clubs to have approached him, and i know this being a long term friend of his.....

And also, as to the best player in the u/18's competition, james watts,jack pascu, chris burns, dean capewell and harey are up there with the best....