Eddie McGuire makes on-air gaffe about Adam Goodes and King Kong

Okay, I can see how that may be taken the wrong way. Really though, my point was just that skin colour doesn't matter. When I say I don't think about the colour of a person, I mean it just doesn't occur to me as it doesn't matter.

Is that better?

You're right it doesn't matter. And therefore it shouldn't be mentioned.

I don't even know why we are having this discussion (general implication in terms of this thread/issue)

Your 'examples' were judgement laden.

No. You've laden them with judgement. My examples came only from experience.

What were they meant to achieve otherwise? Of that, I've already been clear; that while one may feel righteous in labelling anyone who doesn't agree with you as ignorant, perhaps it is wise, particularly if you're claiming talents of empathy and "walking in others shoes", to stop and consider the potential range of experience all those people you label as ignorant might represent. As I said, the world is far more dynamic than "if you don't agree with me you're ignorant and your thinking is inferior".

The point is a valid one though, was I trying to offend a 5 y.o? probably not.

Was it ok for you to threaten me with violence? Definitely not, not based on what was said

This is what you posted.

''if she is as bright as your daughter, who apparently confuses people with gorillas? Possibly''

And who said i threatened you with violence? i was thinking of a severe tongue lashing, maybe you were brought up differently to me though, and for that i am truly sorry.

Haha. Right so when you said everyone was acting like a bunch of girls you meant that as a compliment?

If I were to say 'man up' to girl does that mean I want her to become a man? No, it's a saying. 'Acting like a girl' is a phrase. Like it or hate it it's just something we say.

When we say 'break a leg' does that mean we really wan't someone to go break their leg?

Maybe, just maybe, it isn't up to us white folks to dictate to Indigenous Australians and other minorities who have suffered through atrocities, when they can and when they can't be offended by something?

Listening to people compare this sort of behaviour to that of someone getting teased for having red hair or a big nose etc is extremely dumbfounding and upsetting. To suggest that it's no different to calling your white friend an ape is to completely miss the point and not understand the context here at all.

Jeez this is has been a disappointing few days.

At last
Someone who gets it

Don't think he should resign/stand down but one of the things that annoys me is the massive double standard by Vlad. He came out on TV and stated that Rendall "should start looking for another job" when Rendalls comments were made in a private conversation and the point that he was making was on what may occur in the future unless the AFL step in - they have since setup some programs for this.

Eddie comes out on radio with a ham fisted attempt at a joke, Vlad initially plays it down (first TV interview) later in the day he changes his tune some what and says Mr Maguire will go through the process. Complete BS - I am still bitter on how Rendall was treated, everyone else (dipper etc) is given the opportunity to go through the "education process".

Our pissweak football journos (AFL mouthpieces) would never pose these questions to Vlad, all too scared.

This is what you posted.

''if she is as bright as your daughter, who apparently confuses people with gorillas? Possibly''

And who said i threatened you with violence? i was thinking of a severe tongue lashing, maybe you were brought up differently to me though, and for that i am truly sorry.
I don't know what the problem is here, I question how bright people all the time, my mother often tells me I am not bright. Sometimes when I go to the footy, I yell out 'mark it you not very bright player'. Why are you offended? I didn't mean to offend anyone. If anyone is offended it is their fault for taking offens. Blah, blah, blah ad nauseum...

Do you understand the point I am getting at here????

This incident is covering up his other big f$@k up................getting rid of a premiership and proven coach.
You are a flog Eddie and your back peddling yesterday on radio was comedy gold!

Yeah Eddie likes to play the tough Broady Boy card but when he is in a fight, all be it a media backlash because of his buffoonary, he back peddles quicker than Harry O under a long high Bomb inside 50.

See, this is the problem. People who don't want there to be a line feigning ignorance about where the line is, and where it gets fuzzy.

Giving a mate crap about their weight? Fuzzy.

Shouting out 'ape' at Goodes over the fence? Line crossed. No question.

Get it yet?

Why, because you say so?

Obviously what is said among mates is usually a lot worse than one would expect to get away with when directing the same thing at strangers. And each friendship group defines their own limits.

However I don't agree your's and other's inference that being called an ape as a black person is clearly different to being teased about body shape, hair colour, and other such 'trivial' things.

Bullying has real consequences.

There have been more children suicide in the last three years than racially motivated homicides among the same demographic over the same period... but bullying isn't as sexy to beat up as racism or sexism, the aces of the PC deck.

I don't know what the problem is here, I question how bright people all the time, my mother often tells me I am not bright. Sometimes when I go to the footy, I yell out 'mark it you not very bright player'. Why are you offended? I didn't mean to offend anyone. If anyone is offended it is their fault for taking offens. Blah, blah, blah ad nauseum...

Do you understand the point I am getting at here????

This guy for real?

This is what you posted.

Yeah that makes a lot of sense, because in person you can, you know, use WORDS. Whereas on a forum you are limited to grunting.

Compare this by Rendell

Yes no difference.

In fact after reading Eddie's statement again which says:

"Every part of my being is about equality,'' McGuire said. "It burns me to the core that I would be associated with vilifying

What does this sound like?

It sounds like someone who is disappointed that someone has linked comments about him regarding vilification that he did not make.

He keeps saying he will cop his whack. His copped his whack from articles, talk back callers and forum posts posts before how is this any different?

Newsflash to Eddie: we don't need your permission if you need to cop it.

Maybe, just maybe, it isn't up to us white folks to dictate to Indigenous Australians and other minorities who have suffered through atrocities, when they can and when they can't be offended by something?

People are welcome to be offended by whatever they want.

It shouldn't be an automatic thing to condemn the offending party every time though. I don't think I need to give a ridiculous hypothetical example to illustrate my point, but can if need be.

Why, because you say so?

Obviously what is said among mates is usually a lot worse than one would expect to get away with when directing the same thing at strangers. And each friendship group defines their own limits.

However I don't agree your's and other's inference that being called an ape as a black person is clearly different to being teased about body shape, hair colour, and other such 'trivial' things.

Bullying has real consequences.

There have been more children suicide in the last three years than racially motivated homicides among the same demographic over the same period... but bullying isn't as sexy to beat up as racism or sexism, the aces of the PC deck.
How many of those children were bullied on racial grounds and where did you get the stats on racially motivated homicides?

Eddie McGuire makes on-air gaffe about Adam Goodes and King Kong