List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links

Players out of Contract 2025 (16)
  • Tim Kelly (26/7/94) - Signed a 6 year contract (2020-25) in October 2019
  • Dom Sheed (10/4/95) - Signed a 4 year extension (2022-25) in April 2021*
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Jack Hutchinson (10/11/01) - Automatic 18 month contract (2024-25) when drafted in May 2024
  • (R) Tyrell Dewar (27/3/04) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in June 2024
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Sandy Brock (14/12/02) - Signed a 1 year contract (2025) when recruited as a SSP signing in February 2025

The meeting between Allen and Mitchell could have been handled much better.

To preface, my preference is still for him to leave via free agency—provided we finish in the bottom two & get a pick directly after our first.

My first thought is that the leak of this story has all the hallmarks of Colin Young’s standard playbook (likely via proxy, Andrew McDougall his direct agent).

While his management may have hoped this would push the Eagles to increase their offer, the real consequence has been a rapid decline in support from fans—many of whom had not yet turned on Allen despite his form and leadership struggles.

Over his last 25 games, Allen has only recorded three performances with a player rating above 9.5. For context, a 9.5 rating wouldn’t have placed him in the top 16 players from the Derby last weekend. His average across those 25 games sits at 6.74—by comparison, Mason Cox averaged 6.39 last year, and Jack Petruccelle 6.65.

1743472344511.png

It has undoubtedly been a tough period for a key forward at the Eagles. Looking at inside-50 numbers as a reference:
  • 2025: 18th (39.7 per game)
  • 2024: 17th (46.1 per game)
  • 2023: 18th (43.4 per game)
  • 2022: 18th (40.6 per game)

However, despite these challenges, his performance has still been below par. A few more contested marks—or even just breaking even in a contest from our kicks rebounding out of the defensive 50—would go a long way in reducing opposition inside-50s and improving our territory game.

It may be more difficult for Oscar to stay now, there sounds like there has been some serious damage done listening to SEN this morning.

To preface, my preference is still for him to leave via free agency—provided we finish in the bottom two & get a pick directly after our first.

My first thought is that the leak of this story has all the hallmarks of Colin Young’s standard playbook (likely via proxy, Andrew McDougall his direct agent).

While his management may have hoped this would push the Eagles to increase their offer, the real consequence has been a rapid decline in support from fans—many of whom had not yet turned on Allen despite his form and leadership struggles.

Over his last 25 games, Allen has only recorded three performances with a player rating above 9.5. For context, a 9.5 rating wouldn’t have placed him in the top 16 players from the Derby last weekend. His average across those 25 games sits at 6.74—by comparison, Mason Cox averaged 6.39 last year, and Jack Petruccelle 6.65.

View attachment 2268590

It has undoubtedly been a tough period for a key forward at the Eagles. Looking at inside-50 numbers as a reference:

However, despite these challenges, his performance has still been below par. A few more contested marks—or even just breaking even in a contest from our kicks rebounding out of the defensive 50—would go a long way in reducing opposition inside-50s and improving our territory game.

It may be more difficult for Oscar to stay now, there sounds like there has been some serious damage done listening to SEN this morning.
thanks for our analysis

Ideally Oscar walk's for Band 1 compo we net pick 2 or 3

Extra currency to chase Warner while keeping a top 3 pick

If Warner re-signs we draft two of Duursma/Sharp/Rodriguez

Oscar leaving is mutually beneficial for both club and player.

I'm good with Oscar walking AND Chad re-signing. We need to assemble the bones of this team through the draft THEN attract Warner in a couple years time when all we're giving up for him is salary cap space. This team needs a full blood transfusion of young jets and splitting picks for vanilla West Aussies doesn't cut it for me any more.

Yep. This is a very rare opportunity for us to play the game everyone else has been playing for years. We're a better side with Oscar now but are we a better side with Oscar when we're competing for a flag? I love Oscar but I'm taking a free pick 2 or pick 3 every day of the week.
I think we are.

If he leaves and everyone benefits, I'm not holding it against him. But I'd prefer he stay. The fact he may be able to swing back while we are having injuries down there shows the value he has.

View attachment 2268590

Colin Young is incredibly savvy. I'll never forget Oscar kicking 5 against Collingwood and basically leading the Coleman with 16 goals in 4 games in 2021 and the back page of the paper the next day was a story about million dollar offers from clubs.

We jumped the shark and signed Oscar for 3 years on more than what we were originally offering.

Colin is known for planting stories, it's how he gets his clients good deals. But leaking an actual meeting with Sam after a horrendous derby performance for Oscar and the club isn't his style. He's too aware of the repercussions and the poor optics.

If it was Colin, he'd leak that they had a coffee catch up during gather round, not that Sam flew across the country on the weekend.

He's too smart.

The original story came from Vlahos, and who Sam was meeting wasn't known. Vlahos went with Sam is probably meeting Harley.

That tells me, someone associated with West Coast got word Sam was coming over and leaked it to smoke him out and let the media do their thing and dig away.

Goss, Simmo and someone else were talking on radio yesterday about how Ch10 have very good gets for breaking stories around airports. They didn't even hide the fact that they have a source there who tips them off to the comings and goings of particular people.

Chad Warner
Sam Mitchell

This is also the third time Sams made a trip to WA to meet with someone? Fairly sure one was a draftee. Reckon there's some loose lips within the Hawks ranks that don't mind being spoken about in the media.

Goss, Simmo and someone else were talking on radio yesterday about how Ch10 have very good gets for breaking stories around airports. They didn't even hide the fact that they have a source there who tips them off to the comings and goings of particular people.

Chad Warner
Sam Mitchell

This is also the third time Sams made a trip to WA to meet with someone? Fairly sure one was a draftee. Reckon there's some loose lips within the Hawks ranks that don't mind being spoken about in the media.
Draftee was Ginbey.

No, it doesn't.

What do you think would garner more compo?

$200k per year over 10 years, or $4m per year over 2?
The AFL compo rules say, 1. Contract, 2. Age. I would assume "contract" means amount and length. I doubt it means just amount. The amount and time will take into consideration age (and other factors).

We should use more realistic figures

Player A
$400k for 3 years

Player B
$600k for 2 years

Player C
$700k for 4 years

Player D
$1.2m for 6 years

Players want long contracts, right? The only players who can demand long contracts are the $900k+ players. They can get these because there is competition for their signature. No one if offering 6 years for a $500k per year contract.

Player A: decent soldier. Could be 26. Could be 29. R3 Compo
Player B: elite player. 30+. Twilight years. R3 compo.
Player C: solid soldier. Approx 26. In his prime. Can fill a super important role. R2 compo.
Player D: elite player. Approx. 26. In his prime. R1 compo.

I don't know how accurate that is, but my assumption is it works something like that.

I don't see why age is important (except for a pub test) in determining compo. The age has already been a factor in determining the contract amount and length.

But you know what should be important? Ladder position of the OG club.

Mackay got R1 compo when North had pick 2. Surely, you tie is to R2 because it's approx. pick 25. Cumming and Pez got R1 compo. I would peg them ordinarily at R2, but since the Giants first pick was 15ish and second was 40ish, I don't mind them going R1.

And of course, you need the pub test to make sure they aren't rorting the system.

I'd prefer the AFL provide an exact value. For Mackay, you're getting pick 20. For Oscar, you're getting pick 6. Top 5 compo should be off limits. Throw in a 2nd rounder if you have to.

I'm good with Oscar walking AND Chad re-signing. We need to assemble the bones of this team through the draft THEN attract Warner in a couple years time when all we're giving up for him is salary cap space. This team needs a full blood transfusion of young jets and splitting picks for vanilla West Aussies doesn't cut it for me any more.

Better to get Warner now and take a top 3 pick to the draft if Oscar leaves

We have promising young mids
  • Harley
  • Hewett
  • Gross
  • Allan
  • Dewar
  • Hall

With a few more that could become midfielders
  • Ginbey
  • Hough
  • Long
  • Johnston
  • Grego

Add one of Sharp/Duursma/Rodriguez and we're stacked with talent.

We've also got Hawthorn's picks, potentially a priority pick and Charlie Banfield another mid/winger.

Who know's what Warner will be thinking two years from now? If you can get him now, you do it. There's no guarantee a top 3 pick will make it AFL level let alone become a top 10 mid.

The AFL compo rules say, 1. Contract, 2. Age. I would assume "contract" means amount and length. I doubt it means just amount. The amount and time will take into consideration age (and other factors).

We should use more realistic figures

Player A
$400k for 3 years

Player B
$600k for 2 years

Player C
$700k for 4 years

Player D
$1.2m for 6 years

Players want long contracts, right? The only players who can demand long contracts are the $900k+ players. They can get these because there is competition for their signature. No one if offering 6 years for a $500k per year contract.

Player A: decent soldier. Could be 26. Could be 29. R3 Compo
Player B: elite player. 30+. Twilight years. R3 compo.
Player C: solid soldier. Approx 26. In his prime. Can fill a super important role. R2 compo.
Player D: elite player. Approx. 26. In his prime. R1 compo.

I don't know how accurate that is, but my assumption is it works something like that.

I don't see why age is important (except for a pub test) in determining compo. The age has already been a factor in determining the contract amount and length.

But you know what should be important? Ladder position of the OG club.

Mackay got R1 compo when North had pick 2. Surely, you tie is to R2 because it's approx. pick 25. Cumming and Pez got R1 compo. I would peg them ordinarily at R2, but since the Giants first pick was 15ish and second was 40ish, I don't mind them going R1.

And of course, you need the pub test to make sure they aren't rorting the system.

I'd prefer the AFL provide an exact value. For Mackay, you're getting pick 20. For Oscar, you're getting pick 6. Top 5 compo should be off limits. Throw in a 2nd rounder if you have to.

Contract is money, it has to be over a threshold combined with age to determine FA compo. The length is irrelevant, only the value of the contract matters, provided it's at least 2 years.

Remember when Daniher got traded to Brisbane?

Looking forward to the melts on here when Oscar re-signs

I'm most looking forward to the melts from his accountant when he does. Going to have to cut down on the avo on toast is poor Oscar. Damn that Dom Puke and his miserly ways!

“Oscar wants to be here, and we’d love Oscar to be here,” he said.

“It’s really just down to those terms, and we’ve been in communication with Oscar and his management for a while on that."

My person favourite bit.

“I’ll probably leave it for others to opinionate their views on whether from a captaincy viewpoint there’s a higher burden of responsibility,”

Is Don actually just quietly even more of a psychopath than Sam Mitchell? Has he not basically said "look we know Oscar is desperate to stay, but he ain't getting a pay day from us and we've made that pretty clear. He's our captain, if people want to criticise him for not doing the right thing and committing to the club then ok." Talk about next level negotiation tactics, brutal 🤣

Interested to see what kind of reception Oscar gets when the Eagles play at home next. Im sure there is going to be a few bronx cheers or jeers or two.
As long as they don't take it too far. The optics are terrible and ideally this stuff happens in the off-season but Oscar is also entitled to look after himself.

I think we are.

If he leaves and everyone benefits, I'm not holding it against him. But I'd prefer he stay. The fact he may be able to swing back while we are having injuries down there shows the value he has.
No evidence he will actually be effective as a key back. He is slow and soft.

Ah but the best part of him being fullback is as a captain if its him getting bags kicked on him every week then he's going to be pretty vocal about the need for better team defence. You could see it building just in that one quarter, Oscar going from depressed mode from not getting any supply, to angry mode at the amount of balls coming his way. It'll be good theatre for a few weeks at least, might turn a corner might not.

Contract is money, it has to be over a threshold combined with age to determine FA compo. The length is irrelevant, only the value of the contract matters, provided it's at least 2 years.

Remember when Daniher got traded to Brisbane?
I don't recall Daniher. What happened?

Consider Mackay. He's a bit shit, isn't he? Got band 1. $4.8m, 25 years of age. $800k per season shouldn't be band 1. Or more to the point, shouldn't be a top 2 pick.

People are talking about Harley being offered 17m. What if we made the 8? North get pick 2 for Mackay, Eagles get pick 12 for Harley.

There has to be a better system.

I wonder if the rumour of our 6 year contract offer was on the back of Oscar and the club coming to an agreement he was on the way out. 6 years sets a benchmark for other clubs to meet or better, which essentially locks up a band 1 compo for us.

At least it's been universally accepted in the media that he is worth band 1. Now he needs to pull his finger out and get into some form before those on the East start to say he isn't worth as much as McKay and Essendon stuffed that up.

Part of me wonders if it's not just fitness but knowing he's having these talks and thinking about leaving that's affecting his performance.

As long as they don't take it too far. The optics are terrible and ideally this stuff happens in the off-season but Oscar is also entitled to look after himself.
Do understand in 2025 its a business. Bartel was saying on Footy Classified last night or his point was 'its a different era now'.

Im also thinking Oscar wants to be part of team success. Genuinely think to be having these conversations with opposition coaches and given where the team are- he wants to do a Barrass and be part of premiership success, something even the honest Eagle fans will admit is probably at least 3 years away, realistically probably 5 years away now.

List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Write your reply...