Preview Changes and Preview Thread v Hawthorn Saturday 1:15pm at AO.

Who are these 8 names... I bet a few Port players are going to get introduced to the Irishman.

Hi Connor, Say Hello to Mr.Nash, Connor Nash

Blanck
Mitchell
Weddle - I think I've seen before
MacDonald
Moore
Meek
Reeves
Bramble
Brockman
Butler

Might've been 9 actually. No judgement on the individuals, but obviously being a cellar dweller for a while, and expected to be down there for a while still, I haven't really watched the Hawks games, and you guys appear to have churned through a lot of new players.

I'd expect you guys could say the same about Lord, Williams, McEntee though.

Blanck
Mitchell
MacDonald
Moore
Meek
Reeves
Bramble
Brockman
Butler

Might've been 9 actually. No judgement on the individuals, but obviously being a cellar dweller for a while, and expected to be down there for a while still, I haven't really watched the Hawks games, and you guys appear to have churned through a lot of new players.

Dylan Moore is legit. Would walk into any side in the league.

I like Reeves too, fantastic tap ruck and good contested mark. He's what Sam Hayes could be if we'd actually backed him in rather than abandoning him forever after his first bad game.

There's a reason our injuries are virtually always met with a meme about when the funeral is on this forum.

Dixon's the old, "oh he's a bit tight in the quad, but should be alright to play".... Then proceeds to miss 4 games.

Club loves to hide injuries and avoid any criticism over player management.
Honestly don't mind this. Yes it sucks for us as fans but prefer we keep the oppo guessing and take every advantage we can. I want their defenders not knowing if they're playing on Lord, Dixon, Marshall or a small for as long as possible.

Was going to be real clever and do a photoshop and paste Kens face over Akermanis as a response. But I can't be fecked. You get the idea...

afl-grand-final-port-adelaide-v-brisbane.jpg

This what you were after?

1685628991552.png

These are my matchups that could give an idea for you guys!

Hardwick - Blanck - Impey
SPP - Marshall - Rioli

Seamus - Frost - Scrimshaw
Butters - Finlayson - Lord

Amon - Newcombe - Weddle
Bergman - Horne-Francis - Bonner

Moore - Koschitzke - Butler
Williams - Aliir - Farrell

Breust - Lewis - Brockman
Houston - McKenzie - Byrne-Jones

Reeves - Day - Nash (he’ll run with)
Lycett - Wines - Rozee

Meek - MacDonald - Worpel - Bramble
Jones - McEntee - Drew - Burton

Blanck
Mitchell
MacDonald
Moore
Meek
Reeves
Bramble
Brockman
Butler

Maybe I’m a footy nerd. Nvm I def am.

Lord is good, love his presence and he’s holding out Charlie for a reason. McEntee is solid, I like his pressure but I prefer him around the ball, small but he’s creative and quick by hand, clean. Williams been very good, a mate of mine got him in SC and he’s been a revelation.

SPP - Marshall - Rioli

Amon - Newcombe - Weddle

Lycett - Wines - Rozee

Byrne-Jones generally plays forward now. The coaches finally realised he was a poor defender and clanger king and suddenly after a rotation forward his issues seemed negated, performing so well so he's remained there as a key part of our turnaround.

Both of those outs are good - Evans and Mead have been underwhelming.

I'm a Josh Sinn fan and he supposedly played well last week but Hugh Jackson has played well for a month. You have to reward that. Hugh Jackson to sub?

SPP - Marshall - Rioli

Amon - Newcombe - Weddle

Lycett - Wines - Rozee

Wait no Sicily this week?

Without him you guys don’t have a backline. You’re lucky our forward line has been decimated otherwise it would likely be very ugly

Lord is good, love his presence and he’s holding out Charlie for a reason. McEntee is solid, I like his pressure but I prefer him around the ball, small but he’s creative and quick by hand, clean. Williams been very good, a mate of mine got him in SC and he’s been a revelation.

Lord isn’t holding out Dixon, Dixon is injured. Lord has come in and done a job though.

Sicily’s moody and been hit or miss in 23..

Can usually tell if he’s on within first couple mins

Sicily’s moody and been hit or miss in 23..

Can usually tell if he’s on within first couple mins
I'm pretty confident he won't be 'on' this week ...

For me this game comes down to how much we let hawks get a hold of it on stoppages.

They’ve got a few guys there and reeves tapping down to worpel day nash and Newcombe could bother us for small periods.

Their backline without Sicily is woeful. Also no jiath I see. Besides the fact they’ll struggle to stop our forwards, they’re going to have a heck of a time moving the ball past midway.

As I always say, kens plan is to push players between the arcs and make it hard for teams to move the ball against us and this hawks team with those names just aren’t going to be able to move the ball into attack from halfback unless it’s from stoppages.

Their forward line is alright, reckon Lewis probably kicks a couple but he’s just one man. Those smalls and mediums are dangerous but we’ve got the defenders and they’re just not going to get enough ball down there.

In the end how much we let hawks get a run in stoppages will decide whether this is the 60-80 point win it should be or the 20-40 point win we will probably eek out after letting hawks get a run on while we’re stagnant.

SPP - Marshall - Rioli

Amon - Newcombe - Weddle

Lycett - Wines - Rozee

“Nash (he’ll run with)”

Who? Rozee … 🤣

Think that was Duursma?
Dixon's first injury was to his knee. Reported as a PCL issue that he was working through (not as bad as Duursma's). Then he hurt the quad. I am pretty sure they are giving him these extra weeks to see him come up as close to 100% as possible.

I presume they'll be pretty fleet of foot, with a stack of attacking run and feisty in the contest. So I actually would say this game comes down to how we defend their ball movement. That's an area we've certainly improved, but fast movement teams and quick players can get outside us and open us up, so will be interesting to see how we handle that. Shut down their movement and we should be too good across the ground for them. Certainly hoping that this is a comfortable win, but any win is a good win.

We've gotten to the 8 win streak a few times in our history only to lose an unexpected one, so hoping this week we break through that barrier. 10-2 at the break can be classed as nothing other than a fantastic result. In any other year it means we're probably sitting top or equal top too, had it not been for Collingwoods amazing run.

Ollie Lord is not yet good, he is kid feeling his way. The only reason he would be holding Dixon out is if the latter is injured. McEntee does not get enough of the ball to warrant pushing those we have on the ball out. McEntee is at best a gap filler.