News Cam McCarthy to the Pies?

We're Collingwood mate, haven't been beggars since the SWW....don't accept the media BS. We're CHOOSERS!
Umm well maybe we should go back to being beggars then.

You know success & shit pre WW2.

Go on, tell us one of your "so many examples" of a bloke who's failed at two clubs and then goes and "flourishes" at his third. I can't wait....
V good question. Bennell the obvious litmus test, but funnily enough... He’s at a v similar age and with a record (relatively speaking) that Scott Cummings had before moving to West coast and kicking 150 goals. Different circumstances, but similar players, and I also don’t think Cam has been a complete failure at previous clubs.
Would still only rookie him, as the club needs to get v clever at landing a King, Taberner, Brown, Daniher, McDonald type instead. Obv not easy, but plenty of dead wood still there to free up cap space, and it’s what a list manager at the countries biggest football club should be paid to do...

Cam needs to show a lot more commitment (and that probably begins with hitting the gym and the training track harder than he appears to have done up to this point in his career), if he's going to make it anywhere at AFL level.

I can't see any harm in throwing him a rookie lifeline to see if any of that spark he had back in 2015 is still there.

I was totally opposed to the idea of getting Tex Walker until I saw this thread...................

Hey with Tex at least we'd have a key forward who can kick for goal from 40m+ out and not have it fall 10m short or miss by 10m+, or more often than not both.

A friend who teachers in WA had Cam McCarthy come to his school I think around 2 years ago, said he was a nice guy but also that he was pretty sure he was stoned at the time. Wouldn't touch him.

Wasnt aware. But still not a fan of a spot being spent on a guy thats quit 2 clubs?

Give it to a prospect KPF that doesnt get drafted. Someone that has a hunger to play football at its highest level. As im sick of disinterested/long shot list cloggers. It is still a rookie spot , but we need to be realistic with those that take those spots

Find us another Mihocek, a pure footballer

Unfortunately Mihoceks don't grow on trees, agree with the rest of your post.

Maybe it’s not a nice thing to mention but players who have come out with mental health problems and switched clubs have all underperformed as far as I’m aware. Hogan, Beams, Mitch Clark, Fasolo and recently Jack Steven.. so it does need to be considered in my opinion

Goes all the way back to the Hawks trading Nathan Thompson to Roos another highly talented player who struggled with depression left joined another club in the hopes it would fix it but ended up no change in his mental state and poorly looked trade for Kangaroos.

As i stated if you want a cheap KPF (with mental health issues) that is proven performer then Hogan is a better player then McCarthy, hopefully Hogan can process his grief (and the alleged off field habits) and turn it around.

McCarthy is basically Ruscoe up fwd, might as well just keep developing him. We don't really have a Hogan at his best.

Are they not playing for mental or physical reasons?

Mental issues right? or are we to pretend it's some other issue?

Might be a crass way of putting it but it is the truth both are forwards with mental health issues.
It’s like saying every other player in the AFL player is a “physical” player because they’ve suffered a physically manifest injury. “Mental health problems” is an umbrella term for an entire range of differing conditions, and to lump them all together and tar every one of them with the same brush, based on vague media reports, is frankly embarrassing and offensive.

Under the current system it is very hard to get access to talent. Being able to work with perceived "difficult" talent is actually one of the few advantages you can take as a club to get closer to a premiership. If we can't be better than other clubs in player support and development then we arent the best club and wont win the flag.

Besides, how many of us have been listless at one workplace and changed jobs or role to really flourish? There are so many examples of such players as well.

For little in trade and cap price im ok with either of Hogan or McCarthy, if they try to squeeze us ala brisbane > Beams I will have a problem with it.

McCarthy has quit on 2 clubs now even willingly sat out a year of footy to get to freo!

For little in trade and cap price im ok with either of Hogan or McCarthy, if they try to squeeze us ala brisbane > Beams I will have a problem with it.

McCarthy has quit on 2 clubs now even willingly sat out a year of footy to get to freo!

I’d avoid both. We can’t afford to have any more players at risk of making themselves unavailable because they don’t feel up to it.

To say it’s ok if we get them cheap is not the point. It’s still a list spot and you want to ensure list spots are allocated to players who want to play.

It’s like saying every other player in the AFL player is a “physical” player because they’ve suffered a physically manifest injury. “Mental health problems” is an umbrella term for an entire range of differing conditions, and to lump them all together and tar every one of them with the same brush, based on vague media reports, is frankly embarrassing and offensive.

We do say players are shot "physically", people been saying it about Ben Reid for over 5 years. Even Physically rooted/f**ked/done.

I know mental health is an umbrella term hence why i used it, as I don't know the ins and outs of what their mental issues are. But both are changing clubs more then once and not been playing good footy due to mental health issues. So yes they are forwards with mental health problems and I am not embarrassed at all to say or call it.

You are trying to make it a taboo to mention, I just meant they are mentally not capable of performing consistently at AFL level and have 2 separate teams looking to move on from them.
They arent struggling due to a physical impairment but a mental one, I didn't want to have to write an essay explaining each individual players mental state the side effects and the chances of them becoming fully functioning AFL players moving forward. Kept it short hence Mental fwds.

To say it’s ok if we get them cheap is not the point. It’s still a list spot and you want to ensure list spots are allocated to players who want to play.
It’s a philosophical debate. You also want to ensure list spots are allocated to players with talent.

Do you want to take fliers on talents who don’t try?
Or triers with no talent?

The answer lies somewhere in the middle and will be based on our list profile, and doing the due diligence in talking to the player and likely Justin Longmuir.

I’d avoid both. We can’t afford to have any more players at risk of making themselves unavailable because they don’t feel up to it.

Yep do agree with you, I was commenting on IF we did go that route imo it has to be for little cost.

Ruscoe imo will eventually play a similar role to McCarthy anyway.

News Cam McCarthy to the Pies?