Autopsy Autopsy Thread - Round 12 - Geelong v Hawthorn

News reports coming out today seem to shed some light on AC's tactics in the last quarter.
We appeared to run out of players, forcing us to play a more defensive style to try and hold on til the end:

-Guerra appeared cooked after the selwood hit, struggling with balance etc
-Renouf had to go to hospital post the game for internal brusing and won't be out til Tuesday
-Rough obviously did his achilles.
-Young was out of the game early, leaving us with no sub.
-Not sure if there was anyone else but burgoyne and hodge weren't right all game

So we really had no bench for most of the last quarter - after 3 quarters of hard slog doesnt give you much grounds to go the all out attack when you're up by 3 goals and have no bench.
We tried to hold on and only just failed.

News reports coming out today seem to shed some light on AC's tactics in the last quarter.
We appeared to run out of players, forcing us to play a more defensive style to try and hold on til the end:

-Guerra appeared cooked after the selwood hit, struggling with balance etc
-Renouf had to go to hospital post the game for internal brusing and won't be out til Tuesday
-Rough obviously did his achilles.
-Young was out of the game early, leaving us with no sub.
-Not sure if there was anyone else but burgoyne and hodge weren't right all game

So we really had no bench for most of the last quarter - after 3 quarters of hard slog doesnt give you much grounds to go the all out attack when you're up by 3 goals and have no bench.
We tried to hold on and only just failed.

Confirms my thoughts... That is why I was not concerned with the result.

This bullshit about geelong having a mental edge over us is completely ridiculous.

Still shattered about roughie though :(

Confirms my thoughts... That is why I was not concerned with the result.

This bullshit about geelong having a mental edge over us is completely ridiculous.

Still shattered about roughie though :(

I remember a game last year against the Cats and they lost both Scarlett and Taylor in the last term and we where up by around 4 goals and we lost..

I would say injuries did not have a huge impact, we should of won regardless....

This is my first post since the game for a number of reasons. Firstly, I had a mate over from Perth and we had MCC guest passes - on the bevvies before, during and after the game. Was in no condition to post directly after the game. :) Secondly, slept in the back of my car somewhere in South Melbourne and when I got home Sunday I was still in no condition to contemplate something as complex as turning a PC on. :) Thirdly and most importantly, I was just too damn shattered to put in to words how I have been feeling. Gutted by that loss. I said to the crew I was with at 1/4 time that if we can be within 2 goals at 1/2 time then I think we'll take them. At 3/4 time I looked a genius.....honestly lost for words for nearly 2 days that we lost that game by 5 points without even scoring a point in the last quarter.

Anyway, with a clearer head I ventured on to the AFL website today and watched the replay again to merge a clear view with the thoughts I had bouncing around in my head from Saturday night.

So, what to make of it.

• When we play our best footy, we are a better team than Geelong. Geelong have been better because they are more consistent contributors but we can play football at a level they can't. Unfortunately, we can also play dumb footy and switch between the two extremes during the course of any one game.
  • Geelong needed absolutely everything to go right to JUST beat us. I mean everything. We've already experienced our share of key injuries this year while they went into the game with no major losses that I can think of. We lost Young early and Rough and Goo late. Hodge is struggling with his injury too. No doubt about it. Add to this Renouf's condition that just came to light and we were heavily hamstrung in the last. They also didn't kick a goal for the last 20 minutes of the game. It was an arm wrestle but that 3 minute burst killed us. What else went right for them? Hardly a surprise but the love affair with the umpires continues unabated for the GFC. Must be great going into a match knowing that you're team is already ahead due to an absolute certainty to finish well ahead of 50/50 in the 50/50 calls. Essentially, they get umpired to a different set of rules. Chapman and Selwood in particular....and Lance...:rolleyes: Anything else? Podsiadly kicked 6 in a half. Never looked like it again after half time and probably never will again. So then, we have umpires against us, injuries against us and this bloke playing the half of his life and yet by 3/4 time we are 3 goals up and are all over them.
  • That last sentence being made, what did we do that contributed to the loss? Most certainly, we allowed them back in when we had control of the game. We had kicked 5 straight in the second quarter and looked great. 11 points up and then big Renouf tries a deft tap on rather than grabbing the ball and we give up possession in a dangerous area and the ball goes straight to Pod to kick the first of his 4 goal burst. Just too damn cute. Not the % play and it hurt. Within a minute a long ball is pumped to the Cats goal square and Shoe is placed perfectly to come over Gibbo and Pod and kill the ball. He fluffed it. Ball lands with Pod, goal....then goal, goal, goal. Back to 19 down. 2 crucial and basic errors cost us goals and momentum when we had them on the ropes. Add this to Punky's miss early in the last and we had our chances to lock this game away despite all the other factors that were conspiring against us.
  • Likewise, we just looked to play safe in the last quarter. In essence it worked. They kicked no goals for 5 minutes and then 3 in 3 minutes and then went goalless again for the next 20+ minutes. Defensively, we did a pretty damn good job. We only conceded 3 goals in the quarter after leading by 3 goals at 3/4 time. Therein lies a massive issue. We led by 3 goals and only conceded 3 goals and yet we LOST. Maybe it was the injuries but by god we stopped attacking. 1 goal. I reckon if Punky kicks his we actually win going away but he didn't and it shouldn't have mattered. If you lead by 3 goals at 3/4 time after having kicked 11 in the previous 2 quarters then you kick some more. We should have aimed for a solid 3 goal quarter. Just 3 goals and no silly errors. % football but not defensive football. Basic footy, if you lead by 3 and kick 3 the other team needs 6 to draw level. As it turned out 1 would have been enough. As to why we played like that I don't know. I don't think Geelong suddenly started playing better than us. Other than the 3 goal burst the quarter was basically a grind for both sides. We just never at any stage looked like we were urgent to kick goals in the last quarter. I'm honestly perplexed, shattered, lost for words......
It was there. We had it. We faced umpires, injuries and Pod playing out of his arse for a half and yet went to 3/4 time well on top both on the scoreboard and in play. Did the players lose their focus and in turn play against the gameplan or were we instructed to set up like that? Geelong defenders panic and hate being held accountable. They are nervous when quality like Buddy, Cyril, Burgers, Bruest and Ossie and in the forward 50 and hassling them. Yet we left their backline basically unmanned in the last.

On Burgers, don't think he was as bad as many suggested. Not great by any means. Certainly too quiet but the things he did do were all good.

Cliff notes - get stuffed Selwood, Chapman and Umpires. Bad luck Rough - you're a gun who was having a great season. Shattered for you. Get stuffed umpires for not treating Buddy like Selwood. Well done Hawks for showing our best is better than Geelong's best. Unfortunately, our worst is worse too - both in playing execution and set-up.

Not all doom and gloom. If we maintain our hunger, intensity and quality of what we dished up for most of that game we will well and truly cover the vast majority of the competition. Need a lot of luck with injuries (or no more bad luck) from here on in though because we can't take too many more I wouldn't have thought.

Parting gift - C'mon Hawks. Let's rise above every single one of these f***in challenges and shove it right up every tool that has given us crap for the past 3 years. Our side has hit back f***ing hard this year and the gods are conspiring against but f*** me if I don't reckon we can play better footy than any other mob running around. I'm worried we can't do it without Rough but f*** it - let's do it for him!

A few after thoughts.

• Shiels - great game. That's all. Just a great game. Awesome.
  • Shoe - aside from that error I posted about, happy with his game too and his return to the side in general. He will be a player for us.
  • Renouf - once again, aside from the error I mentioned, played a solid enough game. Wasn't bad. Did a few good things and Ottens and Vardy had no impact on the result. No need for some of the hate in this thread. I'll concede I would prefer Bailey every day but no need to bag on a player who doesn't deserve it.
  • Sewell - live at the game (consuming heavily) didn't appreciate how good he was. Was huge. Dominated Selwood. Kept him completely out of the game and also dominated clearances. Well done.

His disposal was absolutely shocking.

Young was woeful, again. I know he got injured but he was absolutely terrible before that. We need him in form for finals.

I'm beginning to think a sewell, mitch and lewis combination through the middle is asking for trouble in big games - yes they can win the hard ball but the turnovers kill us. Lewis' skills under no pressure were appalling at times.

With hodge out of form and burgoyne not right the disposal skills of our inside mids is really holding us back from going to another level.

Do we get lewis to tag more? He's a similar size to ling and similarly paced.

Also why don't we at times use sewell as a backline tagger where he first made his name? He toweleed up selwood in the first half but then we let selwood off the leash in the forward line - why didnt sewell follow him back? We have enough inside mids to cover the load.

On young, he just is a terrible short to medium kick. To me he's also a pretty poor long kick, but it gets lost a bit when he just bombs it as always looks good aesthetically on tv.

This is my first post since the game for a number of reasons. Firstly, I had a mate over from Perth and we had MCC guest passes - on the bevvies before, during and after the game. Was in no condition to post directly after the game. :) Secondly, slept in the back of my car somewhere in South Melbourne and when I got home Sunday I was still in no condition to contemplate something as complex as turning a PC on. :) Thirdly and most importantly, I was just too damn shattered to put in to words how I have been feeling. Gutted by that loss. I said to the crew I was with at 1/4 time that if we can be within 2 goals at 1/2 time then I think we'll take them. At 3/4 time I looked a genius.....honestly lost for words for nearly 2 days that we lost that game by 5 points without even scoring a point in the last quarter.

Anyway, with a clearer head I ventured on to the AFL website today and watched the replay again to merge a clear view with the thoughts I had bouncing around in my head from Saturday night.

So, what to make of it.

• When we play our best footy, we are a better team than Geelong. Geelong have been better because they are more consistent contributors but we can play football at a level they can't. Unfortunately, we can also play dumb footy and switch between the two extremes during the course of any one game.
  • Geelong needed absolutely everything to go right to JUST beat us. I mean everything. We've already experienced our share of key injuries this year while they went into the game with no major losses that I can think of. We lost Young early and Rough and Goo late. Hodge is struggling with his injury too. No doubt about it. Add to this Renouf's condition that just came to light and we were heavily hamstrung in the last. They also didn't kick a goal for the last 20 minutes of the game. It was an arm wrestle but that 3 minute burst killed us. What else went right for them? Hardly a surprise but the love affair with the umpires continues unabated for the GFC. Must be great going into a match knowing that you're team is already ahead due to an absolute certainty to finish well ahead of 50/50 in the 50/50 calls. Essentially, they get umpired to a different set of rules. Chapman and Selwood in particular....and Lance...:rolleyes: Anything else? Podsiadly kicked 6 in a half. Never looked like it again after half time and probably never will again. So then, we have umpires against us, injuries against us and this bloke playing the half of his life and yet by 3/4 time we are 3 goals up and are all over them.
  • That last sentence being made, what did we do that contributed to the loss? Most certainly, we allowed them back in when we had control of the game. We had kicked 5 straight in the second quarter and looked great. 11 points up and then big Renouf tries a deft tap on rather than grabbing the ball and we give up possession in a dangerous area and the ball goes straight to Pod to kick the first of his 4 goal burst. Just too damn cute. Not the % play and it hurt. Within a minute a long ball is pumped to the Cats goal square and Shoe is placed perfectly to come over Gibbo and Pod and kill the ball. He fluffed it. Ball lands with Pod, goal....then goal, goal, goal. Back to 19 down. 2 crucial and basic errors cost us goals and momentum when we had them on the ropes. Add this to Punky's miss early in the last and we had our chances to lock this game away despite all the other factors that were conspiring against us.
  • Likewise, we just looked to play safe in the last quarter. In essence it worked. They kicked no goals for 5 minutes and then 3 in 3 minutes and then went goalless again for the next 20+ minutes. Defensively, we did a pretty damn good job. We only conceded 3 goals in the quarter after leading by 3 goals at 3/4 time. Therein lies a massive issue. We led by 3 goals and only conceded 3 goals and yet we LOST. Maybe it was the injuries but by god we stopped attacking. 1 goal. I reckon if Punky kicks his we actually win going away but he didn't and it shouldn't have mattered. If you lead by 3 goals at 3/4 time after having kicked 11 in the previous 2 quarters then you kick some more. We should have aimed for a solid 3 goal quarter. Just 3 goals and no silly errors. % football but not defensive football. Basic footy, if you lead by 3 and kick 3 the other team needs 6 to draw level. As it turned out 1 would have been enough. As to why we played like that I don't know. I don't think Geelong suddenly started playing better than us. Other than the 3 goal burst the quarter was basically a grind for both sides. We just never at any stage looked like we were urgent to kick goals in the last quarter. I'm honestly perplexed, shattered, lost for words......
It was there. We had it. We faced umpires, injuries and Pod playing out of his arse for a half and yet went to 3/4 time well on top both on the scoreboard and in play. Did the players lose their focus and in turn play against the gameplan or were we instructed to set up like that? Geelong defenders panic and hate being held accountable. They are nervous when quality like Buddy, Cyril, Burgers, Bruest and Ossie and in the forward 50 and hassling them. Yet we left their backline basically unmanned in the last.

On Burgers, don't think he was as bad as many suggested. Not great by any means. Certainly too quiet but the things he did do were all good.

Cliff notes - get stuffed Selwood, Chapman and Umpires. Bad luck Rough - you're a gun who was having a great season. Shattered for you. Get stuffed umpires for not treating Buddy like Selwood. Well done Hawks for showing our best is better than Geelong's best. Unfortunately, our worst is worse too - both in playing execution and set-up.

Not all doom and gloom. If we maintain our hunger, intensity and quality of what we dished up for most of that game we will well and truly cover the vast majority of the competition. Need a lot of luck with injuries (or no more bad luck) from here on in though because we can't take too many more I wouldn't have thought.

Parting gift - C'mon Hawks. Let's rise above every single one of these f***in challenges and shove it right up every tool that has given us crap for the past 3 years. Our side has hit back f***ing hard this year and the gods are conspiring against but f*** me if I don't reckon we can play better footy than any other mob running around. I'm worried we can't do it without Rough but f*** it - let's do it for him!

Glad you took the time to sober up mate cause this is a top post and I couldn't agree more! We have lost soldiers along the journey this year, we will keep replacing them, this season is not done by any means!!

Come on Hawkers strap yourself in there's a few more twists and turns on this rollercoaster track yet hopefully leading to a pot of GOLD!

Glad you took the time to sober up mate cause this is a top post and I couldn't agree more! We have lost soldiers along the journey this year, we will keep replacing them, this season is not done by any means!!

Come on Hawkers strap yourself in there's a few more twists and turns on this rollercoaster track yet hopefully leading to a pot of GOLD!

Cheers mate. Should be rid of the shakes soon. :D

So, what to make of it.

MinerBoy..great post... inspiration and realism. Even after being at the game on Saturday. I have also settled my thoughts and onto the next game. There are more twists and turns in the Hawthorn story yet to come. I hope the players use the pain of these successive losses to finally break this cycle at some point. It's now we turn our focus to Gold Coast and settling with a win down at Tassie and then come our old foe the Bombers which is a must win for confidence.

Geelong have the edge over us mentally.

Every time we play them we get screwed over by the umpires in the first quarter, lose 2 or more players to injury, and then they over-run us in the last.

Doesn't matter that fully fit we're 4-5 goals better than them, so long as we keep losing multiple players to injury during the game, (and the expected umpire bias) means it isn't enough.

This is your board, so I'll show due deference.

There was a game in 2009 when we lost both Taylor and Scarlett, so the injuries don't go all one-way. We lost Taylor Hunt very early on in round 5 this year.

Through nothing but grit and willpower, we've managed to find a way to win the last few, but I take it as part of the cyclical nature of sport. There would be plenty of fans here who'd remember Geelong not winning a single game against Hawthorn from 1985-1991. Right now it's turned our way, but it won't last.

Franklin could easily have received a free kick, but quite often they aren't paid either. No one has mentioned the free Renouf got just on half time which resulted in a goal. If anyone has a clue why that was paid you'd be doing well. It's all subjective and we're all biased.

We're still pinching ourselves that we're 11-0. Collingwood to me are still comfortably ahead of us, and until they lose finals and we win them, that won't change.

Bad luck to Roughead, and good luck for the remainder of the season.

I don't get this thread.

It was a good game of footy and both teams went in hard. The crap being bandied about here is pretty disrespectful to a good rivalry. Some points:

- There were controversial frees both ways (the 50m for the first of Buddy's "loss of balance" incidents when he ran straight at Bartel for no reason other than being a bit of a tool, and the reversal of the advantage rule where the Hawks f&&&ed up their kick out of our forward 50 being obvious ones against Geelong).
- The umps aren't against you. The frees went our way in the first but that might have something to do with the fact that we had the ball for the entire quarter. For the record, the frees for the three quarters other than the first were 17-13 in your favour (including the only 50 given for the game). Yeah, you got dudded ...
- If Selwood did what he's said to have done, I don't think that any thinking Geelong supporter would begrudge 3 weeks - it's a pretty rotten act. That said, it is out of character and I do wonder exactly what happened.
- On Selwood, those people who are saying he's a coward and gutless have no clue. He's one of the most courageous players in the AFL. I don't like the ducking thing but it gets overplayed but a lot of people who'd be pretty happy if he did it playing in their team's jersey. I also seem to recall Hawthorn getting to and winning a grand final with a pretty unsporting use of the rushed behind rule.
- As to the unchallenged consensus that Hawthorn is clearly the superior team, I refer you to the home and away ladders for the last 5 years. You're a good team and it was a good game but c'mon, all this stuff about Hawthorn being 5 goals the better team and being denied by a conspiracy of Geelong cheating and umpire favouratism - get your head read. I'm not saying that Geelong's a significantly better team, or even clearly a better team, but the stats are in our favour.
- For the record, Geelong has the worst record for frees in the league in 2011.

Finally, this "Hawthorn had them on the ropes and let them go" thing doesn't really match the game I was at. It was a seesawing game. I'm not sure either team ever had the upper hand - who won was always going to be determined by the time at which the bell rang. We had you in the first quarter, you came back, then we surged ahead, then you got a few, then we pegged it back. End of story.

It was a fantastic contest. I'm just sorry that you guys didn't enjoy it and aren't taking positives other than your apparent moral superiority over the"cry-baby cheating cats". Having said that, I hope your players view it the way you do - it'll make the seventh win on the trot all the easier (and better).

More a "mirror post" for the "Geelong have the mental edge" partridge.

The Renouf one he nearly had his arm ripped out of it's socket by Ottens. Had happened quite a few times before without being penalised.

Three of Podsiadly's goals came about when he was holding his opponent, but what can you do?

and DnWa.... the comment "4-5 goals better" is at our best. We have a level beyond what Geelong can match, but we can't do it, and maintain it whilst losing players to injuries, or having significant umpire invovlement. Every time the umpires rise to prominance, Hawthorn falls away. When the umpires go quiet, we tend to get on top.

It's not specifically a Hawthorn v Geelong thing, it's just a Hawthorn thing.

What can you say? Had our chances to win that game, lost it. Missed the chances. Bartel took his too, last year, but he only needed to kick a point. It's just luck. One or two minutes either way, different result. All the time.

I'll take the luck in a grand final. Just trying to understand why we get serious injuries vs Geelong... allways happens.

Just always such marvellous games. I adore Hawks v Cats for the last few years. Could always gone one way or the other. ****ing umpires. Furious competition, like nothing else. Just glad we got the big one.

Always so close. Hawks just haven't been on the right side of the bell. Another couple of minutes one way or the other...

Except for that one. Which wasn't really close. Should have won by 40+

There were controversial frees both ways (the 50m for the first of Buddy's "loss of balance" incidents when he ran straight at Bartel for no reason other than being a bit of a tool

Loss of balance? C'mon mate. Ran straight at Bartel? C'mon mate.

Post freely here if you want to post sensibly but this here is just crap. Buddy was running hard into the forward 50, clearly wide of Bartel and without even a thought about him. It was plainly obvious that as Buddy was charging 'past him', that Bartel stepped well off his line and sunk the bump into a player not expecting contact.

Shame I can't find video to show this comment up for the partisan rubbish it is. Buddy ran at Bartel. Bartel squared up. Buddy dived. Simple as that. According to your post Bartel would have needed to have run (rather than move 30cms) at Buddy who was doing everything he could to avoid contact. That's just not true.

Unwise by Bartel but Buddy was aiming for and got the free. That the umpire realised he got played was probably a factor in the denial of a free kick in the dying moments.

Shame I can't find video to show this comment up for the partisan rubbish it is. Buddy ran at Bartel. Bartel squared up. Buddy dived. Simple as that. According to your post Bartel would have needed to have run (rather than move 30cms) at Buddy who was doing everything he could to avoid contact. That's just not true.

Unwise by Bartel but Buddy was aiming for and got the free. That the umpire realised he got played was probably a factor in the denial of a free kick in the dying moments.

What partisan rubbish you wrote. Buddy was running into the forward line to make an option for the pass. Bartel deviated off the mark - went out of his way, if you will - to bump Buddy who wasn't expecting the contact. Buddy went to ground and the umpire, rightly, gave the 50 metre penalty against Bartel.

You can rationalise it all you like, but it was, is and always will be the correct decision.

Have to look at it again but thought Bartel did deviate off his line. It certainly wasn't a bump that was going to cause bruises but he just shouldn't have done it. Franklin milked it for what it was worth (as any player would) and a 50 resulted. I was more angry at the lack of discipline than the decision.

No milking involved for mine. He was running at top pace without any expectation of contact. Taking a decent bump unexpectedly while moving at pace it going to put you on your arse every time.

I honestly can't understand how Cat's fans can even question this.

Shame I can't find video to show this comment up for the partisan rubbish it is. .

It's lucky you can't because you would be made to look an idiot. Only partisan rubbish is you suggesting Bartel didn't initiate a bump on a player running past him.

What partisan rubbish you wrote. Buddy was running into the forward line to make an option for the pass. Bartel deviated off the mark - went out of his way, if you will - to bump Buddy who wasn't expecting the contact. Buddy went to ground and the umpire, rightly, gave the 50 metre penalty against Bartel.

You can rationalise it all you like, but it was, is and always will be the correct decision.
In reality "both" players deviated.
Buddy was expecting the bump and played it up for everything he could milk it for. He ran at Bartel as much as Bartel stepped across toward Buddy.

That said, this happens dozens of time a game, Buddy did what any player with a brain would and benefited as many other players do often in matches every weekend. Bartel infringed. Free was paid.

In reality "both" players deviated.
Buddy was expecting the bump and played it up for everything he could milk it for. He ran at Bartel as much as Bartel stepped across toward Buddy.

That said, this happens dozens of time a game, Buddy did what any player with a brain would and benefited as many other players do often in matches every weekend. Bartel infringed. Free was paid.

He made no attempt to run at Bartel at all. This is just plain wrong. Why would he have for god sake? We had the ball. Buddy was running hard to get back into the forward line. Bartel simply stepped off the mark and bumped a player running past him who wasn't expecting contact.

I saw many times Geelong players blocking runs and shepherding contests which was a "Hawthorn rule". Admittedly I am biased and I think it was generally even in the umpiring and I don't think it wasn't the umpires fault we lost. They may have contributed a small amount but we still could have won it off our own boots.

Was a great game, the theatre of Hawks vs Geelong rivalry just gets bigger and bigger and can only add to the competition and both our clubs profiles.

Let's accept the result and move on just like our teams will be.

Autopsy Autopsy Thread - Round 12 - Geelong v Hawthorn