Analysis Are we flying under the radar?

Jun 6, 2016
Pines Football Club
Though there's been a lot of news about our trade and draft period, and that we're all chips in for a flag tilt, however, does anyone feel that we're flying under the radar a bit?

And given we're the highest profile sporting club in the country if not the whole southern hemisphere, I'm not hearing or seeing the amount of media coverage that you'd normally associate with the trade and draft period we've just had.

Our trade period has given us the necessary pieces, we're pretty much complete and our only want is a Murphy replacement, even without, our back 50 is pretty much one of the best in the comp.

Ok we're not talent saturated like Bris or Syd, but that doesn't matter, we've proved that by winning a flag with far from the best list (imo) in that season. It was more system and use of the cattle we had that won it for us.

We pretty much want for nothing list wise (from a role perspective), apart from a Murphy replacement. If we stay healthy enough we're a serious threat imo.

This is not a 'want' but more of a wonder, in fact I like that we're not getting the saturation coverage we normally get. I mean let's face it, if Naicos sneezes or Darcy gets a hair cut, it's usually the top of news bulletin at 6.

What's not being talked about much, is our advantages heading into season 2025.
  • A longer preseason than last.
  • An easier fixture than last.
I'd like the thoughts of our resident footy brains on here like sr36 , Scodog10 , Apex36 , Jen2310 , VinnieB give us your strategic thoughts of how the club goes about flag 17. We've probably got 2 seasons to accomplish it, so go nuts on your thoughts on the strategy side and your thoughts on if you think the media coverage is somewhat less so than expected.

Apologies if I missed some of you experts, there's more than a few of you.

No.

We’re flying well within radar range.

The competition might not want us to win it, and many would be appalled if we do, but I doubt many would be surprised.

IMG_0800.gif

Though there's been a lot of news about our trade and draft period, and that we're all chips in for a flag tilt, however, does anyone feel that we're flying under the radar a bit?

And given we're the highest profile sporting club in the country if not the whole southern hemisphere, I'm not hearing or seeing the amount of media coverage that you'd normally associate with the trade and draft period we've just had.

Our trade period has given us the necessary pieces, we're pretty much complete and our only want is a Murphy replacement, even without, our back 50 is pretty much one of the best in the comp.

Ok we're not talent saturated like Bris or Syd, but that doesn't matter, we've proved that by winning a flag with far from the best list (imo) in that season. It was more system and use of the cattle we had that won it for us.

We pretty much want for nothing list wise (from a role perspective), apart from a Murphy replacement. If we stay healthy enough we're a serious threat imo.

This is not a 'want' but more of a wonder, in fact I like that we're not getting the saturation coverage we normally get. I mean let's face it, if Naicos sneezes or Darcy gets a hair cut, it's usually the top of news bulletin at 6.

I'd like the thoughts of our resident footy brains on here like sr36 , Scodog10 , Apex36 , Jen2310 , VinnieB give us your strategic thoughts of how the club goes about flag 17. We've probably got 2 seasons to accomplish it, so go nuts on your thoughts on the strategy side and your thoughts on if you think the media coverage is somewhat less so than expected.

No laughing emoji from me, I think we'll shit it in.

No, we aren't.

Most experts are tipping us to return to top 4. And after missing finals last year, and having a very old list, that is a pretty generous assessment.

Our trade / draft period was okay, not incredible. We got one big fish (for whom we paid handsomely), a bit part player, and a last chance saloon depth type. We lost a very good running half back and a promising creative small forward (as well as next year's first round pick). We entered the national draft this year at pick 49 and got a player that Sydney had rights to but decided to pass on. We redrafted onto the rookie list two players who are all but finished.

That doesn't read like 'nailing' the draft / trade period.

I don’t think we’re flying under the radar. Our club was one of if not the most talked about during trade period. Given our late picks and Richmond’s glut of picks during draft time it was to be expected that the focus would turn to them, but given that most media outlets have us pushing for top 4 and a couple have made “grand final or bust” calls on us, I’d say we’re well and truly on the radar of everyone heading in to 2025.
A better run with injury, and a return to the ball movement from defence that catapulted us to a premiership should have us right up there again.

According to the Underworld we are.
True Crime Laughing GIF by Fetch

No, we aren't.

Most experts are tipping us to return to top 4. And after missing finals last year, and having a very old list, that is a pretty generous assessment.

Our trade / draft period was okay, not incredible. We got one big fish (for whom we paid handsomely), a bit part player, and a last chance saloon depth type. We lost a very good running half back and a promising creative small forward (as well as next year's first round pick). We entered the national draft this year at pick 49 and got a player that Sydney had rights to but decided to pass on. We redrafted onto the rookie list two players who are all but finished.

That doesn't read like 'nailing' the draft / trade period.
A rather glass half empty assessment. Bit part player (Perryman) vs very good half back (Noble)… We added 2 players that will be in our top 10 (one arguably top 3) and another who can be best 22. If we are going for the now then we have done very well during the trade period.

I don’t think we will ever go under the radar. I feel a lot of things will have to go right for us to win the flag next year. I’m not sure our midfield is good/quick enough and I worry about that lockdown defender role that we haven’t filled with Murphy going out.

Having said that, when our pressure is high and we are taking the game on those two points are negated so that will be the factor for me.

Just to throw it out there…

It’s November

Everyone is flying under the radar because no one is talking about the sport right now

1732341893689.png

We’re currently equal 4th favourite for the 2025 Flag despite finishing 9th and being “too old”

Kingy appears to already be back on us. The trading of Houston has completely shifted how we’re thought about and being talked about industry wide

We’re far from flying under the radar

I reckon by the time Round 0 arrives, it will have become so intense that some will have Fly as “the coach under the most pressure” lol

Just to throw it out there…

It’s November

Everyone is flying under the radar because no one is talking about the sport right now

View attachment 2173685

We’re currently equal 4th favourite for the 2025 Flag despite finishing 9th and being “too old”

Kingy appears to already be back on us. The trading of Houston has completely shifted how we’re thought about and being talked about industry wide

We’re far from flying under the radar

I reckon by the time Round 0 arrives, it will have become so intense that some will have Fly as “the coach under the most pressure” lol

If Hawthorn and Carlton are the radar, we are under them.

Mate, I'm honoured to be thought of as a resident footy brain, and to be mentioned alongside some of those other posters you listed.

The fact is, I've just been bluffing my way through this, and have very little idea about anything.
I'm most likely wrong, most of the time.

So, with that being the case, we will not be winning the premiership for at least 5 years.

Write down a Sydney side and then write down our side fully fit. We have just as good a side as Sydney or anyone else
I agree. It's about the whole team more than ever. Lists like Sydney, Carlton, Melbourne get overrated because their handful of stars are so good, but they're pretty shallow with holes

Write down a Sydney side and then write down our side fully fit. We have just as good a side as Sydney or anyone else
Amartey isn’t that good

Our forwards are much better
Pap smear disappears like a ghost in big games
Admittedly their mids are strong but they’ve got holes that Brisbane exposed big time
We had them on toast in Sydney with 6-8 best 23 players out in Sydney before the scumpires swung the game
If we have close to best 23 in we are superior especially now with Houston

Amartey isn’t that good

Our forwards are much better
Pap smear disappears like a ghost in big games
Admittedly their mids are strong but they’ve got holes that Brisbane exposed big time
We had them on toast in Sydney with 6-8 best 23 players out in Sydney before the scumpires swung the game
If we have close to best 23 in we are superior especially now with Houston

It was Heeney that got them the win that game, not the umpires. Heeney's last quarter was incredible.

Better than Sydney's list? Yeah nah.
really - they have 3 stars in Warner, Gulden and Heeney, then the list drops off dramatically.
Those 3 got them to the GF with some amazing performances, but were well held in the GF and the rest of the team didnt give a yelp.
I think Swans are hugely over rated - I don't fear them.

Maybe under the radar but the media will be lined up to pot us as per usual if our ‘win now’ mantra backfires. I must admit I get a shock every time I remember we somehow got Houston in. Going to be a fascinating watch to see how we play with a new gun halfback playmaker pulling the strings at a new club.

Analysis Are we flying under the radar?