Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XI - McKay. Goldstein. Gresham. Duursma!

Don't mind it if
  • we don't spend too much $$$ (sounds like at least 2 of those 3 are coming with big $ attached)
  • those players aren't taking game opportunities away from young developing players (we're not winning a flag next year so the focus should be on development, not pinching another game or 2)
  • those players aren't taking up list spots in a draft with more depth because they're signed to contracts for too long
McKay will cost 💲 but haven’t heard anything on Gresham. We have a shit ton of capspace though so we’d massively front end the contracts.

I don’t think any of those guys will be standing in the way of any outstanding talent either.

My opinion would be very different if we were giving up draft capital for any of these guys.

That's the issue, he's not a winger. Seems like Carlton are keen
If he’s so good, shouldn’t he be at the centre bounces? Why isn’t he? Why isn’t there a queue forming for his services?

There’s just a little too much stink around him imo. I wouldn’t scream if we gave up a third rounder. But at this stage, I reckon fans are keen because of his reputation from 2019/2020. Not his current performances or conduct.

McKay will cost 💲 but haven’t heard anything on Gresham. We have a s**t ton of capspace though so we’d massively front end the contracts.

I don’t think any of those guys will be standing in the way of any outstanding talent either.

My opinion would be very different if we were giving up draft capital for any of these guys.
Don't mind McKay. Not a champion KPD but fills a need.

This is what i'm basing the $$$ for with Gresham. He's the one that I'm disappointed with. Expect him to push for midfield minutes, and he's exactly the type of player we don't need in there.

Goldstein is an upgrade on Phillips and could be a real positive, provided he can swallow his ego and play a mentoring role to Draper and Bryan along with stints in the VFL

We should expect to hear a mckay decision this week I think.
North BnF tonight, I have no doubt he would have been waiting until at least after that
Although it would be a awkward night
One of the north posters whose there said that he asked Ben what was he doing and bens response was “I have to do what’s best for myself” he thinks he’s gone to the bombers, also hearing goldy to Essendon on a 2 year deal

Could just be Chinese whispers at the bnf night haha would be mightly awkward for those 2 potentially joining a team who the norfies absolutely despise

If he’s so good, shouldn’t he be at the centre bounces? Why isn’t he? Why isn’t there a queue forming for his services?

There’s just a little too much stink around him imo. I wouldn’t scream if we gave up a third rounder. But at this stage, I reckon fans are keen because of his reputation from 2019/2020. Not his current performances or conduct.
Not sure anyone is saying he's "so good" 80% of players that move in trade week are underperforming at their current club. Sometimes you need to take a chance, we are considering Lohmann for the same reasons.

I inferred you thought he was good because you’re pretty keen on him. I imagine Lohmann will come pretty cheap. If Holland was coming for pick 45 he’d be worth the gamble too imo.

Surely we make a play for Hollands? I'd tell him he's 1st rotation inside mid if he has a good pre season.
Hollands won't help our cause. Can see why Gold Coast tried to turn him into a winger, all of his best attributes are suited to an outside role.

I inferred you thought he was good because you’re pretty keen on him. I imagine Lohmann will come pretty cheap. If Holland was coming for pick 45 he’d be worth the gamble too imo.
Fair, not sure what he's worth tbh, future 2nd is the most I'd consider offering, that's if we want him, and I have no evidence of that.

Anyone thinking we should be after Boak should watch this game closely. He is well off AFL standard these days.
Was one of Ports better players IMO :)

Four clubs showing a little interest for James Harmes, essendon and 3 others. No idea his worth or if he the type of player we need.

He is a hard at it professional and a bigger body so he would fit. Hard to get into the Melbourne midfield.

James Harmes is leaving Melbourne,” McClure said on Tradies Podcast.

“He’s basically been frozen out from the team. He won’t play for Melbourne again and hasn’t been in consideration for the senior squad for several weeks (and has now injured his hamstring).

“He’s got four clubs that have enquired about him through his management – Richmond, Carlton, Sydney and Essendon.

“He can’t go to Essendon, how many small midfielders do they want? What are they doing … he doesn’t fit their need. I couldn’t imagine him going to Essendon.

“He can’t go to Carlton. How is he going to get a game? This is no disrespect to James Harmes, I think he’s going to be a good AFL player wherever he goes. But who is he pushing out of Carlton’s midfield?

“Richmond makes sense I reckon. He’d play every week for Richmond, he’s an experienced mid who can play inside and outside alongside (Jacob) Hopper and (Tim) Taranto and let them go to work.

“He makes sense at Sydney, for 12 weeks they’ve been 18th in contested footy … they just need help in the midfield.

“For me, he’s Richmond or Sydney bound"

Not posting because McClure has any idea where harmes Is going but he's bang on when it comes to us here...

James Harmes is leaving Melbourne,” McClure said on Tradies Podcast.

“He’s basically been frozen out from the team. He won’t play for Melbourne again and hasn’t been in consideration for the senior squad for several weeks (and has now injured his hamstring).

“He’s got four clubs that have enquired about him through his management – Richmond, Carlton, Sydney and Essendon.

“He can’t go to Essendon, how many small midfielders do they want? What are they doing … he doesn’t fit their need. I couldn’t imagine him going to Essendon.

“He can’t go to Carlton. How is he going to get a game? This is no disrespect to James Harmes, I think he’s going to be a good AFL player wherever he goes. But who is he pushing out of Carlton’s midfield?

“Richmond makes sense I reckon. He’d play every week for Richmond, he’s an experienced mid who can play inside and outside alongside (Jacob) Hopper and (Tim) Taranto and let them go to work.

“He makes sense at Sydney, for 12 weeks they’ve been 18th in contested footy … they just need help in the midfield.

“For me, he’s Richmond or Sydney bound"

Not posting because McClure has any idea where harmes Is going but he's bang on when it comes to us here...
He is 186cm and 86kg . Not sure how it is bang on for us to not be in the mix because he is small . My view is he is the type of midfielder we would want . Hard running. Good contested player. Can play a forward role. Real competitor . Bigger than most of our midfielders. :)

I dont think Harmes is best 22 for us either

Parish, Zerrett, Setterfield, Shiel, Hobbs, Caldwell are all better and thats before we talk Stringer, Perkins ect. Tsatas a top 5 pick 12 months on and a likely position of picking another mid at 9

I dont think Harmes is best 22 for us either

Parish, Zerrett, Setterfield, Shiel, Hobbs, Caldwell are all better and thats before we talk Stringer, Perkins ect
Because our best 22 have been magnificent contested ball winners that put fear into other sides .