Player Watch #8: Bailey Scott - signs until end 2026

dumb and dumber harry GIF

Geeze some of you blokes pile on quick. Bailey was good against Richmond, poor against Hawthorn and now he's for the scrapheap?
in my defence - if i can make this about me - it wasn't a reaction to his game against hawthorn.

I was just thinking about what eilte attributes he brings and if/how he is using them. I think his strongest trait is gut running - i don't feel like he is using it to get himself into dangerous positions to make us more potent going forward - given his role , i believe he needs to do more.

I still do however need to go back and watch his highlights from the last 3 games.

There was a kick that Bailey kicked into the forward line - if he kicked it out in front the defender would of cut it off.
He kicked it to where the defender has loved from - so the forward (think Zurhaar) could run onto it. Was a great bit of thinking but the forward fumbled it.
This kid will cut teams apart when he gets a decent side around him - not from sublime skills but from his footy IQ

in my defence - if i can make this about me - it wasn't a reaction to his game against hawthorn.

I was just thinking about what eilte attributes he brings and if/how he is using them. I think his strongest trait is gut running - i don't feel like he is using it to get himself into dangerous positions to make us more potent going forward - given his role , i believe he needs to do more.

I still do however need to go back and watch his highlights from the last 3 games.
Mate he was awesome against Richmond, and his gut running affected multiple 50/50s in our favour in the closing stages of the game. Over 500m gained, kicked a goal too. Only 22, quite literally improving year on year

To his credit, TZ has been very consistent on this issue.

And tZ copped heaps of heat for maintaining Polec weas no good, and was absolutely proven right (yet of course no one remembers that).

I think Scott is a battler, he may stay longer but I don't see this great footballer people are claiming he is.

One thing he does do is run hard, Gibbo did too.

Gibbo was delisted.

Some people want every player in the side to be of AA calibre

I certainly don't. Our premiership sides had battlers in them too, all Premiership sides do too.

Maybe I am biased because he I didn't rate him that highly before Sat, and he had an absolute shocking game which maybe is confirmation bias on my behalf.

I also would have though he would have been extended by now if he was as good as some of you claim he is.

If he gets extended it doesn't worry me either.

I certainly don't. Our premiership sides had battlers in them too, all Premiership sides do too.

Maybe I am biased because he I didn't rate him that highly before Sat, and he had an absolute shocking game which maybe is confirmation bias on my behalf.

I also would have though he would have been extended by now if he was as good as some of you claim he is.

If he gets extended it doesn't worry me either.
He’s one of our only gut runners that creates options and opens play up.
Like Sam Gibson did
He stays in the side till there’s a better alternative

He’s one of our only gut runners that creates options and opens play up.
Like Sam Gibson did
He stays in the side till there’s a better alternative

But he doesn't. His disposal is horrendous.

I will agree his runs his tail off though, and yes that is important.

Either way it will be interesting and i'm fine if he is extended or delisted (I would do the latter but that's because I believe modern footy needs good ball users)

But he doesn't. His disposal is horrendous.

I will agree his runs his tail off though, and yes that is important.

Either way it will be interesting and i'm fine if he is extended or delisted (I would do the latter but that's because I believe modern footy needs good ball users)
Delist lol - have you seen our list.

There’s an easy 10 players to be delisted before this guy.
You want Jy , Taylor delayed to as they turn the ball over frequently

Walker x 2 - I'd consider keeping Josh Walker before Scott considering our KPP stocks. The other Walker yes delisted
Atu - Agreed
Turner - Agreed.
Hayden - Agreed.
Mahony - Contracted. He is not up to it but he won't be delisted.
Ziebs - Zero chance he will be delisted as Captain.

Polec - No chance, he has a year left and we won't pay him out.
McGuinness - Agree
Hall - In our best 5 players. He definitely stays.

Not going back n forth with you- like you usually do with others

My comments in bold.

I don't care if you want to go back and forth with me or not, i'm simply pointing out you are wrong and how you deal with that is up to you.

Player Watch #8: Bailey Scott - signs until end 2026