Play Nice 47th President of the United States: Donald Trump - Part 21: Insert Title Here (suggestions welcome)

Mod Notice
* Thread monitored actively. User who drag it down will be removed

Specifically: reference to TDS (Trump Derangement Syndrome) and its counterpart 'Trumpanzee' or anything similar will no longer be allowed.

Personal attacks are also to be kept to a minimum.

Just a reminder, even if it hasn't come up for a few pages and y'all should know this stuff by now:

This thread is not about Covid, lockdowns, or vaccines. It is about Donald Trump. While Trump was in office during the pandemic and his response to Covid is relevant, there are pertinent threads for you to post your opinions on those things in.

It might also do with reminding a few that when you post on the SRP, you are responsible for backing up/verifying your claims to fact. What this means is that you will be asked time to time to support your claims with evidence, to ensure that this forum is as free of misinfomation as we can make it.

Do not post conspiracy theories on this forum. We have an entire other forum for that.

Thanks all.

As always, please submit ideas for the thread title by tagging Gethelred! We're looking for something new to match the new thread!

< - Part 20 can be found here

Last edited by a moderator:
Not blanket defunding. DEI programs, Green New Deal, trans programs. $50 million on condoms for Gaza, if you can believe it.
No, it was blanket, that's why the Dems are pointing out all the good things that were cut while the GOP point out all the "bad" things they cut.

I don't have a problem with the GOP cutting things. That's what conservatives do. I also don't know why anyone would get upset at a hat. I doubt that's all it was. I'm guessing the guy was being a complete flog too. If you're representing the nastiest parts of the MAGA movement, like being racist, then asking to have a hat which reinforces the point removed is reasonable. If he was sitting there doing nothing other than wearing a hat, that's fine.

Unfortunately a lot in the MAGA movement have taken Trump's victory as an excuse to be bigoted in their anti-immigration and racist platforms. If you're wearing a MAGA hat in Australia, there's a very good chance that's the kind of person you are.

So the government federal funding pause is going to affect a whole wide range of the population :

Farming subsidies…gone (resulting in food shortages)

Police training …gone (affecting the law)

Medicaid …gone ( affecting the most vulnerable..espically in nursing homes who will be thrown to the streets without Medical support or food or shelter)

Food stamps …gone ( affecting the most vulnerable who relies on them to survive )

Homeless support especially for VA …gone

I’m pretty floored at the cruelty of it all really and can only see this resulting in major civil unrest which will result in martial law

To be honest, this sort of whataboutism is insane, these two scenarios are barely comparable, but it's a perfect example of the victim complex rife amongst right wingers.

Gay people (and by extent the wider LGBTQ+ community) have historically suffered prejudice and inequality. So when a bakery decides to not serve them on the basis of their sexuality, they are literally discriminating them and the community as a whole. Hence why there was such a furore when that went down.

By comparison, some w***er wearing a MAGA hat at the pub (in Australia of all places), is wearing a symbol that is synonymous with hateful rhetoric against many different communities. Even then, he wasn't refused service or asked to leave, just asked to take it off.

But right wingers will see this and say "look how we're being discriminated against!" Which ironically enough is an absolute snowflake reaction in this scenario.

Surely that's a reasonable action by the pub isn't it? And you mention "Australia of all places", sure that's relating to US politics, we can't vote etc etc, so why would it be offensive here then?

MAGA represents some pretty specific political views. By Australian standards some fairly extreme ones.

Many of the MAGA policies are racist. And I don't mean removing DEI, I mean Trump is a court-proven racist and his policies reflect that. They're Jim Crow on a national scale. Intended to hurt coloured and marginalised people without explicitly stating it all the time. But sometimes they explicitly state it accidentally.

I mean, yeah that's a completely reasonable action by the pub, and it's a completely nothing story. The only reason we're talking about it is because this man-baby called the papers to have a sook about it.

And just because it's based in US politics doesn't mean it's not a symbol of hateful rhetoric in Aus.

But right wingers will see this and say "look how we're being discriminated against!" Which ironically enough is an absolute snowflake reaction in this scenario.
MAGA modus operandi is entirely about arseholes taking the various anti-being-an-arseh*le measures that society has adopted, and weaponising them back against non-arseholes.

Now if I can just condense that into a catchy slogan.

So the government federal funding pause is going to affect a whole wide range of the population :

Medicaid …gone ( affecting the most vulnerable..espically in nursing homes who will be thrown to the streets without Medical support or food or shelter)

Food stamps …gone ( affecting the most vulnerable who relies on them to survive )

I’m pretty floored at the cruelty of it all really and can only see this resulting in major civil unrest which will result in martial law
Trump has never struck me as a kind person at all. It’s always been about benefiting him.

Welcome to the SRP where outrage goes one way and excuses go the other.
I've been in a pub in Sydney where I have been asked to remove my (non-political) cap. I presume because it was part of their dress regulations.

I just complied with the request and got on with things (I was playing the pokies at the time). It didn't actually affect my day or stay at the pub one little bit.

Maybe this dude should have done the same.

I'm not, it's one of the main drivers of MAGA and Trumpism.

MAGA or Maggie Thatcher? Smells like scorched earth or disruptive as they call it today

Play Nice 47th President of the United States: Donald Trump - Part 21: Insert Title Here (suggestions welcome)