Past #23 Buddy Franklin - Thanks Buddy

How long will Buddy play for Sydney?

Buddy-Franklin-has-hit-300-games.-Photo-via-Fox-Footys-Facebook-page..jpg

Lance Franklin
Lance Franklin is a giant of the game. The star Sydney Swans forward has played 300 AFL games, won two premierships with Hawthorn, is the seventh-greatest goal-kicker in VFL/AFL history, is one of just five men with eight All Australian blazers and is the most recent player to have kicked 100 goals in a season. The Western Australian is also one of just two players in the game’s history, along with former Swan and Saint Tony Lockett, to have booted 300 goals for two clubs. Franklin was added to a leadership group for the first time in his career ahead of season 2020, joining co-captains Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker and Dane Rampe, as well as Callum Mills. But the 33-year-old, who was named captain of the 2018 All Australian team, has long been considered an exceptional unofficial leader, so great is his impact on Will Hayward, Nick Blakey, Ben Ronke and the rest of Sydney’s young forwards.

Lance Franklin
DOB: 30 January 1987
DEBUT: 2005
DRAFT: #5, 2004 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Dowerin (WA)/Perth (WAFL)/Hawthorn

Last edited by a moderator:

Not sure if people read the last paragraph on the Buddy farewell

View attachment 1777581
That's why I don't understand what the argument is about on here .
Opinions are fine though but the fact is they'll both do the farewell.
Couldn't care if it's pre game for Paddy & half time for Buddy but they'll both do on this last game.
No argument on who is the greatest player of the two.

No doubt Buddy because he has 2 premierships with the Hawks.

That's why I don't understand what the argument is about on here .
Opinions are fine though but the fact is they'll both do the farewell.
Couldn't care if it's pre game for Paddy & half time for Buddy but they'll both do on this last game.
No argument on who is the greatest player of the two.

No doubt Buddy because he has 2 premierships with the Hawks.
You really are weak as piss. Just another cheap snipe. Really shit form. What is it ? Enlighten fair dinkum supporters on here what your problem is with Franklin ? Is it because his price tag never netted a flag ? Potting players because of form or lack of ability when sides are not going well can be a natural emotion by supporters and most truly realise it without lacking loyalty to their club but cheap continuous sarcastic sniping of a Legend of the code on a club forum is not. As I said weak as piss.

* Footnote.

I will be there next Sunday Standing an applauding a man who's contribution to this sport and this football club can't be quantified. I will also be there applauding a bloke who it is sad to see the circumstances he is finishing his career and in his brief time at this club was commendable.

End Communication.

You really are weak as piss. Just another cheap snipe. Really s**t form. What is it ? Enlighten fair dinkum supporters on here what your problem is with Franklin ? Is it because his price tag never netted a flag ? Potting players because of form or lack of ability when sides are not going well can be a natural emotion by supporters and most truly realise it without lacking loyalty to their club but cheap continuous sarcastic sniping of a Legend of the code on a club forum is not. As I said weak as piss.

* Footnote.

I will be there next Sunday Standing an applauding a man who's contribution to this sport and this football club can't be quantified. I will also be there applauding a bloke who it is sad to see the circumstances he is finishing his career and in his brief time at this club was commendable.

End Communication.
You are too emotional about him Wolfy.
I respect that. Couldn’t give a shit though to be honest.
Times up for Buddy & I’m allowed to have my own thoughts.
I’ve enjoyed him up until his last game even though he was restricted in movement.
Ok.
Let he go around on his own.

Buddy-Retires-Phil-Hillyard-pics280.jpg

“We haven’t had specifics and pointed discussions around anything tangible around that,” Swans chief Tom Harley told this masthead. “I’m sure after he’s had a chance to exhale we’ll pick those up.
“He’s clearly an elite football mind. He’s been a great contributor to developing our younger players. He’s got a really keen eye for talent. He’s a genuine footy head. If Lance sought out a career in football or a role with our club going forward we’d be all ears for sure.”
“He absolutely loves the game,” Harley said. “He loves analysing the game, loves talented players, the environment of a footy club. The reality is all players when they retire they generally take time to reflect and work out what’s next, and he’ll be no different to anyone else from that point of view.”
All the indications so far are that Franklin, having spent his entire adult life in the limelight, will now happily fade into the background with his wife Jesinta and children Tallulah and Rocky.
“He’s been totally consistent with that,” Harley said. “If anyone’s deserved the opportunity to do that, he has.”

Just checking if Paddy is sitting in the same car as Buddy or if he has to be separated into a different class of car.
Asking for my son who is up there cheering on.

he is on a trike

Not quite sure how to feel about Bud's decision to skip the GF motorcade, but erring on the side of disappointed.

Obviously entitled to do whatever he wants, but the game has made him very very comfortable and don't necessarily think it's too much to ask to give the broader AFL community the chance to pay tribute.

Not quite sure how to feel about Bud's decision to skip the GF motorcade, but erring on the side of disappointed.

Obviously entitled to do whatever he wants, but the game has made him very very comfortable and don't necessarily think it's too much to ask to give the broader AFL community the chance to pay tribute.

He is an intensely private person. Him saying farewell to the Swans fans is more than enough. Shows he wanted to say goodbye to Swans fans more than he did AFL fans in general which in a way is kind of nice.

I'll preface this by saying he's been by far my favourite player to watch over the past decade and by all accounts is a ripper bloke.

He plied his trade for the better part of 20 years in front of 30, 40, 50 thousand people every week and put on the greatest show any of us have ever seen. The "he's shy" reasoning doesn't hold much water for me.

Keeps his private life under wraps? Absolutely. May not be comfortable grabbing the mike in front of the crowd but sitting in the back of a ute as one of many to do a lap doesn't seem too much to ask. Other players do it every year and they'd feel just as emotional about their own retirement as Buddy.

It's far from the crime of the century but I reckon it's pretty sad.

I'll preface this by saying he's been by far my favourite player to watch over the past decade and by all accounts is a ripper bloke.

He plied his trade for the better part of 20 years in front of 30, 40, 50 thousand people every week and put on the greatest show any of us have ever seen. The "he's shy" reasoning doesn't hold much water for me.

Keeps his private life under wraps? Absolutely. May not be comfortable grabbing the mike in front of the crowd but sitting in the back of a ute as one of many to do a lap doesn't seem too much to ask. Other players do it every year and they'd feel just as emotional about their own retirement as Buddy.

Agree with what you say. Don't think that lap around the MCG on Saturday would've been too much to ask; would've been his final committment as an AFL player. I know it'll be easy for a lot of people on the Swans board to defend his decision since he played for us for a decade, but still, the broader AFL fan would've loved watching him play week-in week-out given how good he was, and the lap around the MCG would've been a good opportunity to acknowledge it. Anyway, it's his choice in the end, and not the worst thing in the world to not participate.

Maybe he doesn't want to give the VFL their fairytale PR moment after they ****ed over and weakened our club just because he got traded to us.

Yeah that's probably it.

We can all only speculate his reasons, but it is kinda sad that the AFL doesn't foster the kind of environment that a 300+ game 1000 goal champ of his era wouldnt want to have a send off in front of 100k fans.

That being said, he did leave the biggest footy city at the peak of his powers so it's also not super surprising that he kinda just wants to dip

Past #23 Buddy Franklin - Thanks Buddy