Game Day 2025 Round 4 Discussion

Top 3 biggest flogs in the AFL?

• This poll will close: .

They make us look like fools don’t they. Stick with Neale (in my case) and I’m losing massive points when he decides to drop a sub 80 every second round. Trade him out, and others like JHF and Cheeze and all of a sudden I’m out of trades by round 20 and my side was never a chance to be complete.
Neale lowkey amongst the worst.
First up putrid, second up beat up on the cripples, third up went to water and phoned it in.
Compare that to Dumkley, and you wouldn't have thought there would be much between them at the start of the year

At some point you need to just endure a form slump and hold your premos.

I traded Dawson last year after 3 60's and zero tons in the first 5 games.
In the next 5 games he scored 169, 127, 94, 142, 107 and and 158.

Sheez, JHF and Neale can just stay in my side all year as far as I'm concerned. Unless the current runs extend to the mid-year byes or there are injury issues it just feels like a risk going sideways, and a potential waste of multiple trades.

On the flipside, Matty Rowell started last year like he has this season, and still went on a 6 week run where his highest score was 82.

Long story short, addressing an out of form premium or two is a risk, but ultimately okay.
People (hypothetically) trading out all of Sheezel, Petracca and JHF at once are taking a massive punt.

Sheez, JHF and Neale can just stay in my side all year as far as I'm concerned. Unless the current runs extend to the mid-year byes or there are injury issues it just feels like a risk going sideways, and a potential waste of multiple trades.

On the flipside, Matty Rowell started last year like he has this season, and still went on a 6 week run where his highest score was 82.

Long story short, addressing an out of form premium or two is a risk, but ultimately okay.
People (hypothetically) trading out all of Sheezel, Petracca and JHF at once are taking a massive punt.
How do you define a premo?

I'd argue under any regular definition - other than his cost as an F1/F2 - JHF is borderline.

1743566555565.png

Not sure why all the negatives andy in here. JHF going to go 150.

Sad Kid Crying GIF
He'd be fine if he could get an intestinal fortitude transplant from someone like Libba.

Still don't know who to bring in this week kenties.

Sensible JM says -

Out -

Lindsay
FOS
Short

In -

Moraes
Bice
Sinclair

Ballsy JM says -

Out -

Sheezel
Short
JHF

In -

Zorko
Sinclair
Maric

Screenshot 2025-04-02 162406.jpg

I really want Zorko and Sinclair. LOL!

Sensible JM says -

Out -

Lindsay
FOS
Short

In -

Morales
Bice
Sinclair

Ballsy JM says -

Out -

Sheezel
Short
JHF

In -

Zorko
Sinclair
Maric

View attachment 2269714

I wouldnt chase the points to be honest. Id definitely go sensible JM but be prepared to be frustrated when Zorko goes 150+ this round. At the end of the day though, you are making the sensible moves for your team in the long run!

Yeah that's the thing I'm afraid of mate with Zorko going 150 this week. LOL!

If I did get Zorko I could always just roughie Ziebell and Horn-Francis back in if they ever get back into form.

It's such a tough decision cause I feel like this will be the last opportunity to grab Zorko for a while and Sheezel and Horn-Francis are gonna lose heaps of cash.

Sensible JM says -

Out -

Lindsay
FOS
Short

In -

Moraes
Bice
Sinclair

Ballsy JM says -

Out -

Sheezel
Short
JHF

In -

Zorko
Sinclair
Maric

View attachment 2269714

Poor Shorty, the sensible and the ballsy don't rate him.

Sensible JM says -

Out -

Lindsay
FOS
Short

In -

Moraes
Bice
Sinclair

Ballsy JM says -

Out -

Sheezel
Short
JHF

In -

Zorko
Sinclair
Maric

View attachment 2269714

Imo mate keep the guys you backed in at the start and upgrade around them, I know it’s frustrating with Jhf and other premos under performers ( I know I’ve got trac Jhf sdk etc ) but if you build around them and get the rookies off field first then you can always luxury upgrade them to these guys later.

I guess the question might be is premos losing cash worse than getting a 40 averaging rookie off field.

I started him and held him through it all, yes I was rewarded but then everyone in my league ended up with him for the low low price of $450k ish. Which set me way behind when I should have been aggressive and traded him out then back in. I also started Rozee and Libba so I couldn't trade him. There is a time to be aggressive with Premos and that is if the role has changed or they aren't passing the eye test. You have 40 trades and if a player that should be averaging 100-115 is currently at 75-80 it is probably time to move them on.

Rookie cull order:

Paton
Camporeale (if not named, Voss a congenital ****wit)
Stone (if not named, might make way this week)
Knevitt (seems on fringe)
Kako (slow burn, solid JS)
Hewett (seems like he could string a couple together at some stage)
Lindsay (seems to have the largest $ potential)
Backline rookies irrelevant, all got big scores, just leave them grazing in the back paddock
That right?

Rookie cull order:

Paton
Backline rookies irrelevant, all got big scores, just leave them grazing in the back paddock
That right?
Pretty much yep

Rookie cull order:

Paton
That right?
I'm keeping Campo for now, he's potentially my only donut for loopholes after this week

I started him and held him through it all, yes I was rewarded but then everyone in my league ended up with him for the low low price of $450k ish. Which set me way behind when I should have been aggressive and traded him out then back in. I also started Rozee and Libba so I couldn't trade him. There is a time to be aggressive with Premos and that is if the role has changed or they aren't passing the eye test. You have 40 trades and if a player that should be averaging 100-115 is currently at 75-80 it is probably time to move them on.
Agree with a lot of what you say here, only thing I’d say is if you are sideways trading under performing premos are you not also falling behind the pack because they are getting the cash generating rookies or are upgrading while you are sideways trading a under performing premos?

What are your thoughts on trac Jhf etc, trade or hold and upgrade around them?

Agree with a lot of what you say here, only thing I’d say is if you are sideways trading under performing premos are you not also falling behind the pack because they are getting the cash generating rookies or are upgrading while you are sideways trading a under performing premos?

What are your thoughts on trac Jhf etc, trade or hold and upgrade around them?
I'm holding trac but trading JHF. Gets me Baz, Maric and Hump.

Counterpoint: if everybody else will be getting on them in 3 weeks, why would you give them the arse now?
Last week's points are in the books, they're not changing, we have already copped the hit unless Bill and Ted rock up in the phone booth anytime soon

Agree, that's why I'm turfing Sheez, role has changed with Caleb Daniel in and BE is 181, just can't see him clocking up 150s every week from now and if it looks like he will, he'll get attention. Value will dwindle and its a value game. JHF is gonski aswell. Don't have Neale but it looks like Fagan doesn't care if he's tagged, Dunks and co will do the damage, he'll probably give you a 70 every 3 weeks. Replacements will have defined roles and reasonable BE's. Sounds like a bold move but really it's not, Whitfield, Sinclair, Baz, Holmes, etc - are they gonna spud it up while Sheez and JHF go to the moon, can't see it. This whole business of never trading out premos I've never liked.

Game Day 2025 Round 4 Discussion

Write your reply...