Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion

Has Ramsden trained as a ruckman or as a forward over the pre season?

Feel he still could become a key forward for us that can also ruck.

Roughie and Cyril were the 2 players I feared most about leaving.

Cyril for his explosiveness and ability to create things. Roughie for his versatility. You could play Rough in any part of the ground and he would be solid. So underrated, his ruptured Achilles in 2011 really upset the balance of the team, and it was a big relief in having him back in 2012

Agree with you about Rough, could Dear be that player this year as we were a different team when he played last season, and with him missing for part of 2025 could it really upset the balance of the team.

An article about the importance of Gunners to our forward line this season.

Would be huge for us if he does get closer back to his best. One of the hardest match ups, and he is just as effective playing in a two tall attack as he is with three talls. Sam was desperate for him not to leave and we were super quick to get him back for a reason. Yes his A grade leadership we talk about, but think the club have under-stated how much of an impact we think he can have as a player still for us. Chol, Gunston, Hardwick, Watson, Ginnivan, Moore/CMac doesn't feel like it has a lot of huge contested marking, but it is a flexible, unpredictable formation that can often be harder to combat or plan for. Especially if Sicily, Weddle, and Battle randomly push down at different times.

Our best performances 2024 had our forwards finding plenty of space. Often ridiculous amounts and opposition in total disarray

If we get the lake type confidence from Barass battle I can see us holding position closer to goal more often

Thanks for the report mate.

I reckon now that we have brought in Battle and Barrass, two really good one on one defenders, we can probably afford to be even more attacking. Last year we probably had to be a bit more mindful that if we turn the ball over we only really had Frosty down there as a genuine Key-ish defender.

I actually think Dimma is our best lead out fwd. I was amazed at how clean his leads outs were and how much space he was able to create between him and his defender.
Dimma could really play that Jamie Elliot role in my opinion, smaller forward that plays bigger.

Good comparison. Elliot is five years older but still playing decent footy. Has more of a leap than Dimma but both are strong overhead and Dimma is 5cm taller. Both are adept at finding space and are better than average set shots.

An article about the importance of Gunners to our forward line this season.
Thanks Newmo89, great to hear. I'm just curious has there been any word on how the fitness trip to the US went down with the attendees? Gunners was one of them, yes?

Gunners and Reeves both went and both are in the best condition possible. When I interviewed Jai Newcombe on the first day back of training he spoke about the benefits of the camp.

Good comparison. Elliot is five years older but still playing decent footy. Has more of a leap than Dimma but both are strong overhead and Dimma is 5cm taller. Both are adept at finding space and are better than average set shots.
Yeah but the main difference is that no backman are not that worried about Elliot defensively. When Dimma tackles you then you know you've been tackled and I'd dare there'll be a fair few backman that are dreading having him play forward for the majority of games this season.

Cody Weightman is happy to hear this

Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion