Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion

Yes, I never understood the 'pinheads' attitude and sadly we certainly seem to missing some of those folks ITK. Come back Tops, we love you.

There’s one poster in particular whose spent two off seasons now using their account to almost exclusively pile on the ITK posters. What a sad existence they must lead - and sadly our board is the lesser for it now because some good posters have plugged up.

Just a couple of things from yesterday’s training that stood out so will keep it short and sweet.

Croc is known for his his skill/class and offensive traits …… but his pressure and efforts off the ball is a bit underrated. Always looks to tackle and when he closes in/puts pressure on player with the ball his reflexes/awareness/anticipation is excellent. When players were trying to handball over the top or around him …… he would often get a finger tip or smother on it creating a turnover. Doesn’t mind body contact his maturity is blossoming

Chol is flying like he was last summer. He was carrying something during the finals and we missed the opportunities he creates by bringing the ball to ground or the chase down pressure tackles he can produce. With Lewis and Dear currently out an important player for us in the forward half. He’s looking good!

Weds was 100% playing in defence no time forward.

Watching the ball transition drill over the entire ground. Groups of 3 or 4 players would take off like a wave and move the ball quickly creating options for each other while protecting the ball until it was kicked to a leading player upfield. It’s a little kamakazi like ……. I think we have some “attack is the best form of defence” attitude in our playing style! We run hard and the small group has to maintain its line/structure at pace, no one can drop off until the ball is moved on. Fun to watch

Impey gives the most high fives. He creates so much energy such a popular teammate always creating positive vibes for those around him.

Was Day’s first real hit out and he gave it plenty not holding back. The match sim took a bit out of him at times but he hasn’t done any contact work for months! Training for body contact conditioning …. there is nothing like it unless you actually do it. He’s working hard for when the real stuff starts

In congestion Huss was clean and composed executing some very nice handballs.

Hardwick with Gunners could possibly be the Dear replacement ……. going for a more mobile forward line? Dimma moves and leads like a natural forward and tough as nails.

Reeves battled well against Meek looks like he is making more of an effort in the physical stakes.

The Wiz has been in the rehab group since mid Dec. He is ok 👍 and wouldn’t surprise seeing him involved in all the training activities in the next week or so.

During the agility race around the small poles …….. Gunners just pipped the Wiz and everyone was yelling/howling while the Wiz threw his head back couldn’t believe it 😂. The old fella got up 💪

When Siss and Barrass were coming in a supporter asked Siss what’s it like having Barrass at the club? Siss said, “don’t know yet haven’t worked with him as I’ve been injured”! Barrass and Siss both laughed 😂. Barrass a gentlemen saying g’day and talking to kids and supporters. Looks happy. Big unit.

Go Hawks!

Watching the ball transition drill over the entire ground. Groups of 3 or 4 players would take off like a wave and move the ball quickly creating options for each other while protecting the ball until it was kicked to a leading player upfield. It’s a little kamakazi like ……. I think we have some “attack is the best form of defence” attitude in our playing style! We run hard and the small group has to maintain its line/structure at pace, no one can drop off until the ball is moved on. Fun to watch

Hardwick with Gunners could possibly be the Dear replacement ……. going for a more mobile forward line? Dimma moves and leads like a natural forward and tough as nails.
Thanks for the report mate.

I reckon now that we have brought in Battle and Barrass, two really good one on one defenders, we can probably afford to be even more attacking. Last year we probably had to be a bit more mindful that if we turn the ball over we only really had Frosty down there as a genuine Key-ish defender.

I actually think Dimma is our best lead out fwd. I was amazed at how clean his leads outs were and how much space he was able to create between him and his defender.

Apart from the above mention of Watson, what is the story with him and Ginni?
Been in rehab group for an extended period now.
Both were doing a lot of goal kicking when I went on Thursday. I did see Watson doing some drills where the players lead up to a kicker coming off halfback that required full sprinting, so I can’t imagine Watson has an injury. Unfortunately my little one was cracking it so I didn’t get to watch too much other than that haha.

Yeah with Wiz and Ginni they seem to be running and doing some activities while sitting out of the high intensity/body contact type of stuff. More precautionary 🤞

I was re-watching a few of last years games and this came up as usually it is a risky move for all the defenders and mids to bolt forward and provide an option. We saw last year with Impy just taking off from half back if we won the ball.

One of the commentators mentioned that they run forward but as an option but they do it in a structured way so that actually meant that if there was a turn over, we had numbers right in the face of opposition putting pressure on preventing a rebound.

This is something we did much better in 2024 than 2023. I remember in 2023 there were so many teasing moments were we'd be out in open and have heaps of options building towards a walk in goal, but just one fumble, miss kick or handball meant we turned it over and couldn't defend.

In 2024 we executed better but we were also better prepared to defend the turn overs or win contests ahead of the ball.

Roughie and Cyril were the 2 players I feared most about leaving.

Cyril for his explosiveness and ability to create things. Roughie for his versatility. You could play Rough in any part of the ground and he would be solid. So underrated, his ruptured Achilles in 2011 really upset the balance of the team, and it was a big relief in having him back in 2012
Getting rid off Lewis also saw Roughie's form drop. Lewis would always look out for his mate.

Was an interesting listen, like a really detailed training report on a few players.

The part that interested me most was the discussion about Barrass and Battle. Clearly will bring a huge amount defensively to have player elite at killing high ball and one on one, but was also surprised to hear about how good their kicking skills look. Even us from 2012-2015 sort of had that 1 player who didn't really use the ball that well, but it was the 3-4 good kicks in the back 6 we went through. Our back 6 next season might have 6-8 legitimate ball users/running players, which is a really exciting proposition. Also the teaming up on Sicily that happened early last season will be incredibly difficult/impossible with Battle, Weddle, Scimshaw, Impey, Sicily, Barrass, and also times see Jiath and Amon running through there.

Was an interesting listen, like a really detailed training report on a few players.

The part that interested me most was the discussion about Barrass and Battle. Clearly will bring a huge amount defensively to have player elite at killing high ball and one on one, but was also surprised to hear about how good their kicking skills look. Even us from 2012-2015 sort of had that 1 player who didn't really use the ball that well, but it was the 3-4 good kicks in the back 6 we went through. Our back 6 next season might have 6-8 legitimate ball users/running players, which is a really exciting proposition. Also the teaming up on Sicily that happened early last season will be incredibly difficult/impossible with Battle, Weddle, Scimshaw, Impey, Sicily, Barrass, and also times see Jiath and Amon running through there.
Battle is a great kick. Can't wait to watch him

Yes, I never understood the 'pinheads' attitude and sadly we certainly seem to missing some of those folks ITK. Come back Tops, we love you.
Why can't the pinheads just **** off and leave the ITK's to the adults.

Call it Tall Poppy Syndrome? Maybe something like that, but would you stay on a site where your every word is attacked and you're being sniped?

My sister is seeing someone at the club atm (not a player he works in the offices) and he says he used to post here and dropped info but gave it up because his every word was questioned by the pinheads - and no, I don't know what his username was.

Nothing much happened this morning, but anyway.

Another Saturday morning at Waverley Park.
It's 8am in the morning and it's sunny but still a bit cold but also the training has started to heat up.

I have noticed that a number of players are not in the oval (probably indoors) or have went indoors early (as I have missed the first 15 minutes or so).
Gunners, Amon, McCabe, Hill, Moore are some who are in the Tent of Doom early, some of them went upstairs after that .... while a few like Moorey has stayed behind.
I am not a doctor or a specialist, but I don't think there's anything to worry about anyone of the names I've mentioned.

At the beginning, the team was divided into 3 groups.
One group was doing some goalkicking practice, most of our forwards are here(Ginni, Watson, Croc, Chol, a midfielder - Huss, a ruck -Meek), interestingly Serong, Sic and Scrimma are also in this group.
The 2nd group was doing some leading/marking sessions (1v1, 3v3 etc).
The 3rd group was doing some kicking, groundball get type of activity (or at least that is what I think they're doing).

Punky and Weddle are doing some running around the oval.

Lewis and Frosty were the only obvious players in the rehab group(I haven't seen Blancky).

Ginni and Watson are both moving well and has participated in most drills before heading off upstairs early with a few players.
I know I have asked Nick almost a couple of weeks ago, and he told me again today that he's just managing his body. There are no concerns with him being with the rehab group the last few trainings. I assume that if our Game 0 against Sydney is next week, then he'll surely plays at this state.

In the succeeding group sessions, it became harder for me to track.
There is a group where quick handballs are done and once free, they kick to the players near the goals.
Some groups are focusing on groundball gets.
In general most of the group tasks are about quick transition, fluidity and practise being cohesive.

In some of the sessions, Frenchie's movement shows that he is more involved and becoming more confident. Cross fingers, he takes the next big step this coming season.

Hardwick was pitted against Meek, then later against Ramma while pulling a manual plow(or what I think it looks like) from their back.

There's no no match sim today.

Bodie Ryan and Massimo (again) were the last players to leave the oval.
They are working with one another feeding off handballs and practising groundball gets/pickup.
Bodie Ryan got some last minute coaching from Sam at the oval.
On the chances I see Massimo left the oval this pre season, there's always a trainer(always the same trainer) who walks with him upstairs ... maybe he is working on something.

Cholly wore a red bandana during the training which he quickly removed while walking upstairs post training.

I've asked Hardwick if he's playing forward this season, and he replied "Thats the plan".
He also added (and if I heard him correctly) the camp in Torquay will start on the 27th or 28th Jan.

########################

Ginni practising goalkicking (with Serong at the background in his group).
IMG_4990.JPG

More running for Frosty and Mitch.
IMG_5012.JPG

One on one between Scaife and Bodie in one of the sessions.

1737173080641.png

IMG_5019.JPG

IMG_5030.JPG

Hardwick vs Ramma race.
IMG_5033.JPG

Hardwick vs Ramma race.(video)

Bodie and Mass still training even the Box Hill boys are already in the oval for their own session.
IMG_5044.JPG

Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion