List Mgmt. 2025 List management

If he does go to Tassie it will be interesting what sort of compensation we get if any.

Absolutely nothing. But it might protect Fremantle from a "one free out of contract player per team" if he leaves as that and not as the free agent he will also qualify as. But, why would you deny a team mate a huge payday moving to Tasmania with you out of contract for nothing? That player the AFL will give compensation picks for.

I wonder if this deal will change the captaincy in any way. Love AP as skipper but this deal is pretty clearly him setting up to leave.
I've been wondering if the hold up on Brayshaw's contract is to coincide with the captaincy vote/announcement, a la port/rozee style? I guess we will find out.

This is why I like attending training sessions, less guessing more enjoying.

Absolutely nothing. But it might protect Fremantle from a "one free out of contract player per team" if he leaves as that and not as the free agent he will also qualify as. But, why would you deny a team mate a huge payday moving to Tasmania with you out of contract for nothing? That player the AFL will give compensation picks for.
Tbh I'd go for it if you said a 32 year old was the one player we'd lose to them. It'll suck but he wouldve barely had any of his best footy left anyway.

Freo will get the best years of Alex Pearce and Tasmania will get a 32,33 and 34 year old key back/Captain for their first few years where they will lose nearly all of their games.

It's a win for all three parties.
Should we pay him a ridiculous amount in his last season to get compo for him?

We should get nice compo too

He's unrestricted so no salary matters from us, and given his age he won't get anything unless they pay him millions but I believe there is talk of Tasmania being able to pay players outside the salary cap like a bonus to join them - that won't trigger compensation if it doesn't record them in the list of player payments - which I expect it won't.

Similar to Essendon being able to sign the likes of Cale Hooker to any figure they want to retain the free agent because they could pay an undisclosed figure in compensation for their doping scandal to the player entirely outside the cap.

He's unrestricted so no salary matters from us, and given his age he won't get anything unless they pay him millions but I believe there is talk of Tasmania being able to pay players outside the salary cap like a bonus to join them - that won't trigger compensation if it doesn't record them in the list of player payments - which I expect it won't.

Similar to Essendon being able to sign the likes of Cale Hooker to any figure they want to retain the free agent because they could pay an undisclosed figure in compensation for their doping scandal to the player entirely outside the cap.

Personally we should’ve given Matthew Lloyd as a 16 year old

They will have 1M outside of the salary cap they can pay as sign on bonuses.

Brayshaw for Pickett. Straight swap. No draft picks involved.

Happy to discuss further.
If we had Warner locked in, I would almost entertain this as we’d have the draft capital (2x1st rounders) and cap space to bring in Warner and Pickett.

Brayshaw isn’t leaving though, so no point discussing further.

Happy to discuss further. Bawhahaha.
Tom Hardy Bait GIF

800-900k a year for 5-7 years isn’t life changing? That’s more than some people earn in their whole careers. They work post footy because most players don’t earn that level and who wants to retire at 30-35, you’d get bored within a year or two. They have a lot of offers too post footy so it’s hard to turn down even more money and opportunity.
It just doesn’t work like that.
People know their value in all walks of life. We live in a capitalist society where everybody wants to earn as much money as possible.
Claims that “Andy is different he’s not driven by money” are just looking at the issue with purple tinted glasses. None of us know him personally and even if we did there’s no evidence to suggest he’s any different to any other AFL player, ever. Yeah maybe he’ll take slightly less money to stay here.
There is also a professional pride in your employer recognising your value to the team in an equivalent or at least similar manner to how they value everyone else on the team.

There seems to be a theory that Andy is a great guy and says all the right things so supporters have decided he’s gonna take 30% less than his true value on a salary and carry the can for everyone else who is paid their full worth? So that the likes of Cox, Jackson, Darcy, Bolton etc can be paid 100% or in some cases arguably even more than 100% of their true value to the team but Andy isn’t? Life doesn’t work like that. If it did salary caps in pro sport would not be as effective as they are.
The amounts of money being life changing or not has been shown to be irrelevant in other sports too.
In the NFL the worst player on the roster is on life-changing money and the top guys are on the kind of megabucks normal people can only dream of, yet still the salary cap works quite effectively and players move for more money to find their true worth.

Lol the Tassie team hasn't even got a ground to play at yet. Have they even broken ground to start building it yet? Not sure there will be a tassie team in 2028.
More and more every day that passes I’m starting to believe it will be a lot later than 2028 (if even ever) before we see this Tassie team at AFL level.

There are huge question marks over the viability of the stadium already, before a sod has even been turned, and from memory the AFL was unequivocal:
No stadium = No team

I reckon there’s a lot to play out there on that story in 2025…

More and more every day that passes I’m starting to believe it will be a lot later than 2028 (if even ever) before we see this Tassie team at AFL level.

There are huge question marks over the viability of the stadium already, before a sod has even been turned, and from memory the AFL was unequivocal:
No stadium = No team

2030 at the earliest I reckon and by then we would have the 20th franchise lined up.

It just doesn’t work like that.
People know their value in all walks of life. We live in a capitalist society where everybody wants to earn as much money as possible.
Claims that “Andy is different he’s not driven by money” are just looking at the issue with purple tinted glasses. None of us know him personally and even if we did there’s no evidence to suggest he’s any different to any other AFL player, ever. Yeah maybe he’ll take slightly less money to stay here.
There is also a professional pride in your employer recognising your value to the team in an equivalent or at least similar manner to how they value everyone else on the team.

There seems to be a theory that Andy is a great guy and says all the right things so supporters have decided he’s gonna take 30% less than his true value on a salary and carry the can for everyone else who is paid their full worth? So that the likes of Cox, Jackson, Darcy, Bolton etc can be paid 100% or in some cases arguably even more than 100% of their true value to the team but Andy isn’t? Life doesn’t work like that. If it did salary caps in pro sport would not be as effective as they are.
The amounts of money being life changing or not has been shown to be irrelevant in other sports too.
In the NFL the worst player on the roster is on life-changing money and the top guys are on the kind of megabucks normal people can only dream of, yet still the salary cap works quite effectively and players move for more money to find their true worth.

No stadium = No team

Then why do North have a huge war chest and still fail to attract any big names every season if it was just about money?

Brayshaw will still be one of the highest paid players at Freo but if he leaves for North or the Saints he can be one of the highest paid in the league. Watch him turn down those advances like nearly every other big name.

If Chad Warner comes, Brayshaw may be the only option to give. No picks, nothing else.

Won’t be a bad thing. But Andy is staying, just a matter of time
It would be a bad thing. Warner is an offensive weapon and Brayshaw is probably the best two way running mid in the comp. They are not a like for like replacement so we would improve in one area but decline in another.

I could see Ras filling that two way runner role, in all honesty, I don’t see him as an inside extractor which is the role Fyfe is exiting.

I've been wondering if the hold up on Brayshaw's contract is to coincide with the captaincy vote/announcement, a la port/rozee style? I guess we will find out.

This is why I like attending training sessions, less guessing more enjoying.
I’d be extremely surprised if Moose isn’t captain again this year. And I reckon Serong is most likely to replace him. (Reckon Brayshaw is an excellent leader btw)

List Mgmt. 2025 List management