List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Petty gets bathed time and time again as a KPD, anyone thinking he can rule the roost down back when May retires is kidding themself. Norths forwards made a mockery of him.

And King should have kicked a bag on May. Might have something to do with the midfield letting teams walk it out of stoppage.

Everyone is so afraid of Tassie coming in but I reckon it's more likely than unlikely it's going to get pushed back.

That’s going to cause mayhem on future trading. Fancy bringing in 2 years of draft pick trading when they don’t even know if a mid first rounder is pick 9 or pick 29 in 2027

That's the AFL for you. But the requirement for Tassie is the stadium which isn't even close to being approved. Who knows what spanners are thrown in the works from the election.

Funny for me to say this , but I'd move Viney (for pennies on the dollar, pay some of the contract if need be) and Trac and actually keep Oliver.

Trac clearly the better player but he will get us some good picks back, I doubt Oliver will, the time to trade him was after 2023. Hope a new coach can turn him around instead of selling at an all time low.

If Koz goes he goes. Preferably for picks only.

Lever would also be on the way out the door for me if we can get anything half decent back. (early second)

Don't want to trade our only decent forward in Slick (particularly for a second round pick) until a new coach has had a chance to use him correctly.
I agree on Viney but the club surely just wouldn’t do it. Same with Max.

I think by suggesting we put both of Trac and Oliver up, I’m presuming we would only get tempting offers for Trac. But I’d be open to moving Oliver too if we could weasel a top 10 and later first rounder (we’d have to pay some of the contract).

I reckon Oliver is looking not bad again from a competitive sense but he’s a dump kick, and I’d rather give Langford the extra minutes.

I watched a bit of preseason and I have a feeling Koz might be our new best player by the end of this year. And he’s far more suited to the modern game with his speed and ability to move laterally. He hits the scoreboard too so is the prototype of what we need more of. I’d rather we try and retain him if possible - but I’m also expecting his trade value to be fairly extreme by the end of the year so we’d need to lock him away past free agency.

I’m turning off Fritsch. He’s soft and a front runner. If we had a strong side again I’d be happy to carry him as a finisher, but that’s not where we are now so if we hit the draft then I see no need for Fritsch over the next 3-4 years and I could see a good side offering a late first (throw in some late swaps).

Again, can’t see us getting anything for May and can’t see it for lever either unfortunately. If we are going to regress for a few years I’d rather keep the best defenders we have - even if they are past it.

I’d play Petty at CHB or FB at Casey for a month or so too, then see what happens.

Everyone here loves the term ” trade for first round pick” and automatically thinks they are going to be guns and play 200 games but that is fair from the truth. There are first round picks and low first round picks where you can get access to players that have real impact on the competition.

Understanding the new footy trends and style of success that we need trade in and draft is the key to the off season.
Skill and speed and ball moving with a less focus of numbers at contest and time in forward half .
Agree that our game style is the most important thing, but we clearly need a change of core cattle to adjust. Our list is built on stoppage and frontal press.

On draft picks, 3 late firsts will generally tempt at least 1 or 2 clubs to cough up pick 6 or 7. We’ve been the pioneer of that strategy so I’d be ok if we want and got a bunch of late teens with a view to moving up.

JVR has had a couple of rough weeks but he’s a gem. He’s going to be one of the comps better tall(ish) forwards.

I would have been open to it 2 seasons ago for his development, but no interest in moving him around now - especially while we have no other forward targets.

I’m turning off Fritsch. He’s soft and a front runner. If we had a strong side again I’d be happy to carry him as a finisher, but that’s not where we are now so if we hit the draft then I see no need for Fritsch over the next 3-4 years and I could see a good side offering a late first (throw in some late swaps).
Hes a square peg in a round hole playing Goody ball. You'd be selling low on him with a very good chance you're made to look stupid if you trade him. Hes the most obvious sign of a player who has completely lost interest and I don't blame him.

On draft picks, 3 late firsts will generally tempt at least 1 or 2 clubs to cough up pick 6 or 7. We’ve been the pioneer of that strategy so I’d be ok if we want and got a bunch of late teens with a view to moving up.
With the list in the state it is I'd be keen for us to trade back if we had our own first round pick this year. We need multiple picks in the top 20. We are no longer a team one or two top draft picks away from competing by trading up.

Hes a square peg in a round hole playing Goody ball. You'd be selling low on him with a very good chance you're made to look stupid if you trade him. Hes the most obvious sign of a player who has completely lost interest and I don't blame him.

With the list in the state it is I'd be keen for us to trade back if we had our own first round pick this year. We need multiple picks in the top 20. We are no longer a team one or two top draft picks away from competing by trading up.
Trading Fritsch would be insanely stupid. Been one of the best forwards in the league for about 5 years while playing in the most dysfunctional and worst entered forward 50 in the league. You sell the guys who look ok in this and will look terrible if we change style, Viney, Sparrow, Lever etc

He turns 28 at the end of the year and I just think it’s the last chance to get any value for him.

Particularly if we spend the next few years rebuilding.

We aren’t going to get ourselves a couple of decent picks by trading Turner and Spargo. We will need to move a few on that hurt a bit like Richmond have done.

He turns 28 at the end of the year and I just think it’s the last chance to get any value for him.

Particularly if we spend the next few years rebuilding.

We aren’t going to get ourselves a couple of decent picks by trading Turner and Spargo. We will need to move a few on that hurt a bit like Richmond have done.
He's still not the guy, you're not getting value for him at all right now.

Lever, Sparrow, Salem, Oliver even Langdon.
Trade out guys who are the cause of our inside contest bullshit not players who would thrive with a change like Fritsch

He's still not the guy, you're not getting value for him at all right now.

Lever, Sparrow, Salem, Oliver even Langdon.
Trade out guys who are the cause of our inside contest bullshit not players who would thrive with a change like Fritsch
Agree to disagree. I think he’s been poor for a while now.

Not sure why you think we’d get anything for the guys youve listed either - only exception being Oliver if we pay a chunk of his contract.

Langdon hasn’t been part of our static game either. In fact without fact checking myself, I’d guess he’s probably our best metres gained? Hes also probably our furthest runner?

If we decide that we need to hit the draft, we’re going to need a couple more top 5 (or thereabouts) picks to build around I reckon and without a first round pick this year, it’ll cost us a lot to get high up a draft that everyone knows will be the last chance before Tassie comes in.

Agree to disagree. I think he’s been poor for a while now.

Not sure why you think we’d get anything for the guys youve listed either - only exception being Oliver if we pay a chunk of his contract.

Langdon hasn’t been part of our static game either. In fact without fact checking myself, I’d guess he’s probably our best metres gained? Hes also probably our furthest runner?

If we decide that we need to hit the draft, we’re going to need a couple more top 5 (or thereabouts) picks to build around I reckon and without a first round pick this year, it’ll cost us a lot to get high up a draft that everyone knows will be the last chance before Tassie comes in.
I mean he kicked 41 goals last year, without checking I'm gonna guess he's been the club leading goalkicker 4 seasons in a row and we kick the ball like absolute shit to him and stack it with donkeys. You don't trade someone who you can easily see improving at another club.
What value do you think you're getting for Fritsch you couldn't get close to elsewhere
Lever and Langdon would get a pick 15-30
Salem probably could trick someone into aswell.
Langdons a huge metres gained player, with putrid kicking. He's a quite loner type, he's a decent enough player but we aren't losing anything in the next few years moving him on.
Oliver is about the money freedom and the fact that I want him out of the way for Langdon, Windsor and anyone else who can play midfield.

I mean he kicked 41 goals last year, without checking I'm gonna guess he's been the club leading goalkicker 4 seasons in a row and we kick the ball like absolute shit to him and stack it with donkeys. You don't trade someone who you can easily see improving at another club.
What value do you think you're getting for Fritsch you couldn't get close to elsewhere
Lever and Langdon would get a pick 15-30
Salem probably could trick someone into aswell.
Langdons a huge metres gained player, with putrid kicking. He's a quite loner type, he's a decent enough player but we aren't losing anything in the next few years moving him on.
Oliver is about the money freedom and the fact that I want him out of the way for Langdon, Windsor and anyone else who can play midfield.
Fair first point. Again though, he’s a finisher and even if we do a mini reset as opposed to full rebuild, he’s not the type of player to build around and he’ll be 31 by then too.

I reckon a side near the top who is looking to hit the scoreboard more could offer up a pick in the late teens if we got lucky?

Fair first point. Again though, he’s a finisher and even if we do a mini reset as opposed to full rebuild, he’s not the type of player to build around and he’ll be 31 by then too.

I reckon a side near the top who is looking to hit the scoreboard more could offer up a pick in the late teens if we got lucky?
For the talent yeah I reckon he's worth a first rounder at the back end of the round. He goes to hawthorn he's kicking 200 goals for them guaranteed

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

Write your reply...