Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.

Tht's the exact type of player Hugh Bond was at the GWV Rebels for the 2 year's before the Vic Country coaches couldn't fit him into their midfield mix at the Nationals and thought his hardness, aggressiveness, combativeness and one on one strength would be suited to the defender role to put the clamps on the oppo's dangerous small/medium forwards. It's likely his outstanding lockdowns over the Nationals carnival that caught Hamish's eye as the Luke Brown heir apparent hence the trade up via the Lions to nab him..
I'm not sure if it's his role so far with us, but he doesn't seem to be a ball magnet like Matt is.
What sort of disposals was he getting in the midfield as a Jr?

I'm not sure if it's his role so far with us, but he doesn't seem to be a ball magnet like Matt is.
What sort of disposals was he getting in the midfield as a Jr?
20+ every week but playing more a defensive mid role due to the Rebels not being a very "good" team in his time there.

He was very capable of winning his own ball but he was basically a lone hand in the Rebels midfield at the time. Hence only he and Aaron Cadman were drafted from the Rebels in his draft year.

Draft Wrap: Crows swoop on midfield pair​

Adelaide secured two big-bodied onballers on night two

“Then our list management and data analysts did a brilliant job tonight of trading in to get Billy Dowling who is a 188cm midfielder who can also play wing and forward, and Hugh Bond who had a lot of interest from clubs and we didn’t think would still be available at Pick 50.
The Crows also traded up to secure Bond after completing a pick swap with Brisbane.

Adelaide received the Lions’ Pick 50 in exchange for its future third round selection which is tied to Geelong.

Bond – a former top-level rower – played 12 games for the Rebels this season and also represented Victoria Country.

“He’s a big, strong, mature kid, who loves the grind and has shown an ability to get through hard work with his rowing while playing footy all the way through,” Ogilvie said.

“He had a 16-tackle game this season so he loves the contest. He is very highly regarded by his coaches and teammates at Victoria Country and Ballarat so we are thrilled to have him.”

Ryan and Dowling aren't inside extractors, not even close. Taylor would be the most likely to get a shot at that role though not sure he has the body strength for it.
Dowling was an inside mid, and averaged over 30 possessions in the U18, including a 44 possession, 4 goal game.
He is absolutely a ball magnet, which is genetic. There are certain players who know how to get the ball, and know where to get it.

He played midfield in his Jrs and was drafted as a midfielder by us.
He is well capable of being an inside extractor, but with the ability to also score goals and move through the forward line.

"The North Adelaide prospect averaged 31 disposals, seven marks, five tackles, six inside 50s and five clearances in the SANFL under-18s. But Ogilvie was particularly bullish on his character.

“We were really keen to add more to the midfield… you can never have too many good midfielders, so the fact Billy was a bit taller was a big pick for him,” Ogilvie explained"

With Ryan I meant to say Edwards. He is a big boy went into the midfield and played well. He deserves a shot in the midfield to see if he can be a good clearance player in the midfield.
We have some options to look at.

Who’s gonna be the best small forward.. the absolute wizard type in this years draft?.. with speed and crazy good xfactor that gives opposition coaches sleepless nights.

Thats what we should be aiming for..

We have everything else.. and we need Rankine in the mid permanently with Rash in there a bit more too as he matures..

Our defense is set.. our midfield is set.. our forward line is set but another little rankine/rash like wizard would make it simply unstoppable.

Oh.. and a development ruck with a later pick unless we can trade one in cheaply..

Dowling was an inside mid, and averaged over 30 possessions in the U18, including a 44 possession, 4 goal game.
He is absolutely a ball magnet, which is genetic. There are certain players who know how to get the ball, and know where to get it.

He is well capable of being an inside extractor, but with the ability to also score goals and move through the forward line.

"The North Adelaide prospect averaged 31 disposals, seven marks, five tackles, six inside 50s and five clearances in the SANFL under-18s. But Ogilvie was particularly bullish on his character.

“We were really keen to add more to the midfield… you can never have too many good midfielders, so the fact Billy was a bit taller was a big pick for him,” Ogilvie explained"

With Ryan I meant to say Edwards. He is a big boy went into the midfield and played well. He deserves a shot in the midfield to see if he can be a good clearance player in the midfield.
I watched a lot of Dowling's U18's mate, he's more outside than inside, he's not ever going to be an inside extractor at AFL level, he's an accumulator outside the contest way moreso than inside the contest.

STRENGTHS:

• Accumulation
  • Consistency
  • Ground coverage
  • Scoreboard impact
  • Versatility

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Impact per possession
  • Strength

The numbers tell the story for Dowling, he's one of the best accumulators in this year's draft class. At 187cm, Dowling is a great size for a midfielder and his ability to cover the ground allows him to win a large percentage of his possessions uncontested. His ability to work between both arcs, supporting his teammates in defence, while also pushing forward to hit the scoreboard, makes him a tough cover for any opposing midfielder.

Dowling is a pretty safe user by foot. From the back half, he rarely tries to take on an aggressive kick, preferring to hit up shorter targets and maintain possession. Improving his capacity to be a more creative user would help take his game to another level. This would likely require a shift in mindset, as Dowling appears to have the talent and skill level required to be more damaging with his disposal.

Where Dowling maximises the value of his possessions is inside forward 50, where he can be a legitimate scoring threat. Sharp on the lead, capable in the air and clean below his knees, Dowling is a tough match up when stationed inside forward 50. He doesn't need to be positioned in the forward line to hit the scoreboard though, his ability to cover the ground allows him to push inside 50 from the midfield to create goalscoring opportunities.

Though certainly outside leaning, Dowling is a capable midfielder at stoppage, showing plenty of ability to read the ball off the ruck and stack up the clearances. Although he'll need to build more strength to compete on the inside at AFL level, his natural ball winning instincts at the contest suggests he could develop that inside-outside balance.

I watched a lot of Dowling's U18's mate, he's more outside than inside, he's not ever going to be an inside extractor at AFL level, he's an accumulator outside the contest way moreso than inside the contest.
The biggest thing for an i side mid like Matt is the ability to find the ball. An inside mid that gets 20 a game is rarely overly effective.
These inside ones like Crouch Mitchell, Macrea, Treloar etc is their ability to get their hands on the ball. The fact that they manage to get over 30 every game isn't a fluke, and is a genetic skill. This is where Dowling can be that inside ball winner, as he has that same ability to find the ball.

The biggest thing for an i side mid like Matt is the ability to find the ball. An inside mid that gets 20 a game is rarely overly effective.
These inside ones like Crouch Mitchell, Macrea, Treloar etc is their ability to get their hands on the ball. The fact that they manage to get over 30 every game isn't a fluke, and is a genetic skill. This is where Dowling can be that inside ball winner, as he has that same ability to find the ball.
You're hard to convince..

Dowling had 98 possessions at the Nationals playing midfield yet only 28 were contested....he gets his possessions because he has good endurance and gets on his bike...he is not an inside extractor type.

Who’s gonna be the best small forward.. the absolute wizard type in this years draft?.. with speed and crazy good xfactor that gives opposition coaches sleepless nights.

We have everything else.. and we need Rankine in the mid permanently with Rash in there a bit more too as he matures..

Our defense is set.. our midfield is set.. our forward line is set but another little rankine/rash like wizard would make it simply unstoppable.

Oh.. and a development ruck with a later pick unless we can trade one in cheaply..
At this point this doesn't look to be a particularly strong draft for small forwards.
Harley Hicks I've seen plenty of and he absolutely has plenty of tricks and elite speed and agility so one to keep a good eye on IMO though word is he might be heading for more midfield minutes in his top age year.

Shouldn't be any go home factor given he's been boarding at Ballarat Grammar since year 7.

Preseason Q&A: Harley Hicks (GWV Rebels)​

Michael Alvaro
Q&AMarch 11, 2025
Harley-Hicks-GWV-Rebels-2024-CTL.jpg

Image Credit: Lachlan Bence/The Courier
GREATER Western Victoria (GWV) Rebels speedster Harley Hicks impressed at the weekend’s Coates Talent League preseason testing event, posting the competition’s top standing vertical jump (88cm). A dynamic athlete native to Deniliquin, he’s looking to earn more midfield minutes as a top-ager in 2025. We chatted to Hicks about the year ahead, his strengths as a player, and who he moulds his game on.

PRESEASON Q&A​

Q: Harley, can you start off with some of your early footballing memories?
HH:
I started playing Auskick all throughout primary school. I didn’t actually play club footy until Year 6 and funnily enough made the Under 12 New South Wales [state] side. I’ve kind of just stuck at footy ever since then.
Q: How’d you end up in Ballarat from New South Wales?
HH:
I grew up in Deniliquin, a small town in rural New South Wales. Then at the end of Year 6 I decided to go to Ballarat Grammar… I’ve been there since Year 7.
Q: What’s it been like boarding at school, do you go back home often?
HH:
I go back a bit, but I just try to stay boarding as much as I can. I really love being around my mates and that independent side of schooling.
Q: Have you had any mentors along the way?
HH:
I’d have to say the forwards coach at the Rebels, Eammon Gill. He’s been the best fella I know because he was my line coach all throughout last year and we’ve just gotten so close. Even outside footy he’s still there for me.
Q: How has your preseason been so far?
HH:
Pretty good actually, a pretty hard summer I’d say. I’ve been lucky enough to be injury-free. I was sick one or two times, but you can’t help that.

VC16-Harley-Hicks-1024x683.jpg
Hicks represented Vic Country at Under 16 level in 2023 | Image Credit: Rookie Me Central
Q: What are some of your strengths as a player?
HH:
My strengths would definitely be evasiveness, my speed and my ability to pick the ball up below my knees.
Q: Are there any things you’re still looking to improve on?
HH:
Definitely endurance, because I’m planning to play more midfield time this year. Just covering the ground and being able to push to contests, and probably just contest work relating to the midfield.
Q: Do you look up to and try mould your game on any AFL players?
HH:
I mould my game a bit off Isaac Kako. I’m a Bombers man myself, so I was pretty pleased he went there. Just his scoreboard impact and just his craftiness and how dangerous of a forward he is. That’s who I try and model my game off.
Q: Did you get to play against him last year?
HH:
Nah, I was concussed during that game.
Q: Which teammates do you think we should look out for to have a big season?
HH:
Definitely Archie Taylor, kid’s a weapon. He put his name out there last year. Also Sinclair Burmeister, he’s been training the house down and ran a six [minute] flat 2km, so he’ll be inn for a good season I reckon.
Q: Lastly, are there any goals you want to tick off this year?
HH:
To put my name out there more, obviously. Make the Vic [Country] side and just really enjoy this last year of junior footy. That’s about it.

Mitch Stevens gets a mention here:

Summary: impressed as a rebounding defender last season, good one on one, has trained more in the midfield this pre-season, disposal is a strength.

I don't thinko we have a draft pick of any note to take to the draft this year as I think we are going to make a big play for Nathan Wanganeen-Milera. We are now about adding in the finishing pieces to our side. Having said that, IF it looks like Dan Curtin is not going to sign a contract extension (and my absolute preference is that he does and is with us for his career), I'd be trying for that WCE 1st even if we had to top up any trade with our own to try and get Dyson Sharp. THAT would round out our midfield for years to come

If there is an opportunity to draft Sharp you would be crazy not to. However, it's unlikely so I would use our first on NWM. I also think Pickett will be getable this year.

To be a genuine contender we also need a second quality tall defender to complement Murray and a ruckman who can hold a contested mark. We are close but our list still needs abit of tweaking. I'm not sold on Keane and O'Brien.

Probably the first draft in awhile we aren't crying out for a midfielder, we need a ruck more than anything and probably a tall forward. I assume we trade our first for a player

It's getting to the stage where we can say that the only urgent addition needed to the list in terms of midfielders is a Crouch replacement (e.g. a first extractor type) – especially if the club doesn't believe Berry is at the required level. The chat is that Sharp is that type, but Pick 1 seems like a very expensive price to pay for that archetype. I'd hold on Curtin and look at a mid slightly lower down the order (and also look to draft at least one small and one tall – each).
Draper is the Crouch replacement. Different strengths but still generally the same role.

What's Phillipou's brother like Mutineer? And how far up the order is Cody going?
Jevan isn't as good as Mattaes talent wise, not as big and not as impactful but I would think a certainty to get drafted though at this point probably mid-later in the draft but as we know some go forward some go backwards from their underage year. He has certainly started well in 2025 and whilst he played mostly forward last year he's getting more midfield minutes thus far.

Haven't really seen enough of Curtin Jr at this point to establish where he sits in the talls pecking order.
Local lad Aiden Schubert is the tall that interests me most regards the Crows, athletic, versatile forward/ruck also another talented basketballer which seems to be becoming a regular theme with a lot of talls coming into the AFL of late.

A very early look at a young man that seems destined to be a star of the future. The 16 year old Dougie Cochrane isn't draft eligible until 2026 but is already putting in elite performances at U18 level and building a very early case to be pick 1 in 18 months time. He's a unique blend of key forward and inside midfielder, possessing the size, athleticism and clean hands to dominate in the air combined with contested ball winning and classy skills.

Looks a ripper. Any update on his dad’s efforts to get him tied to Port?

As I understand it, kids need to have been in an NGA program prior to their 15th birthday for the club to be able to match a bid on them. So even if Dougie is successfully added to the port NGA this year it shouldn't matter.

But he's already in ours so if he stays he'll be draft eligible for us.... Right?

Resource 2025 AFL Draft prospects and discussion.

Write your reply...