- Apr 17, 2007
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- hellas,liverpool,storm,au
Need to make up a few reliable sourcesGood, more money for Cadman.
Get Cadman
Need to make up a few reliable sourcesGood, more money for Cadman.
Get Cadman
plenty to choose from atm... X, CCJ, Biggy, Goad, Free, Finbar... Hughie if possibleIf we need one at any stage we just go to RucksRUs and get ourselves a Cameron, Nankervis, Hickey, Stanley type...there won't be a shortage.
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
No truer words have been posted on BigFooty. :stern lookRawlings I wouldn’t even get to negotiate with a toddler
If I was a giant ruckman with questionsble legs, whose career could nose dive with one wrong move, I would be locking in that $7M.I know not serious but I’d rather he sign a 2 year deal and then is a free agent again instead of signing a long term deal
Wasn't it reported that Clarko met with Darcy?That may be the case but I’d hope brady picked up the phone regardless and didn’t just let it play out
Got to be in it to be a chance
Let’s hope he’s on the phone to the top 20 out of contract player managers now gauging interest and flagging intent otherwise he isn’t doing his job well
Wasn't it reported that Clarko met with Darcy?
I know that everyone in the AFL has a different opinion but I really have to say that if you think Luke Jackson is a genuine number one ruck you clearly haven’t watched much of him play.Why would you rather Freo sign Darcy to a two year deal? The two rucks system didn't work well for Freo in 2023 and Jackson lifted his game after Darcy got injured. I think this will play out the same as the Gawn-Grundy situation at the Dees. I reckon Freo have shot themselves in the foot by investing an enormous amount of salary in having two rucks for the long term. When it fails as I suspect it will, Darcy is the more likely one to be cut loose to a Victorian club with Freo having to pick up the tab for about half his salary, similar to what the Pies have had to do with Grundy. One Victorian club is likely to pick Darcy up in a few years time for a cheap trade without having to pay a ridiculous salary usually associated with a free trade acquisition. I'm pleased North didn't have much if any interest in Darcy at this point in time.
Sumich hates freo. So you can’t take him seriously. Paul hazelby reckons the deal is $800k too, not $1m. Nice bit of rounding up by suma for extra effect.Sumich: Freo take unnecessary gamble on ‘back-up’ Darcy
Fremantle have taken a significantly unnecessary risk in signing big ruckman Sean Darcy to a seven-year multi-million-dollar contract, writes Peter Sumich.thewest.com.au
“Darcy, 25, will need to regularly rack up around his career average personal numbers at about 31 hit-outs, a dozen or so disposals and three or four clearances a week to justify a $1 million per year deal in similar earning region as Jackson.
But there’s no way Darcy will get anywhere near the amount of ground and on-ball time to rattle up figures of his previous standing as Fremantle’s number one ruck starter…
But his entire career has been constantly flawed with lurking leg injury woes. Such a secure seven-year deal for Darcy with lingering doubts on his sustainability in an ever-quickening AFL playing style opens the way for another eventual scenario with Dockers great Nat Fyfe.”
Jackson is more a Corey Mck type with great athleticism to be dangerous forward of centreI know that everyone in the AFL has a different opinion but I really have to say that if you think Luke Jackson is a genuine number one ruck you clearly haven’t watched much of him play.
It’s quite true he played some very good footy as the main ruck in the last 5 games of the season after Darcy got injured.
But for me it would be a criminal waste of Jackson’s talents to make him a number one ruck. He’s so much more valuable than that. He’s a genuine hybrid ruck/forward for starters. Can also play as a big bodied mid. Kicks set shots much more accurately that I could event have imagined before he came across. He’s more than capable of kicking 35 goals a season in future as a ruck/forward.
Darcy is a true ruckman and nothing else. And a very good one at that.
That’s the big difference between gawn and Grundy. Neither of those two guys can play any other position to a useful effect. They are either number one ruck dog, or nothing.
If we had traded Darcy we would have had to get another run of the mill ruck to replace him. People forget Jackson is less than 200cm. He looked great against a few dud rucks late on in the season as the number one ruck from sides like West coast, hawks, port and Brisbane (Darcy Fort played that day).
However against blokes like Nankervis, Briggs, Witts, etc - he is just too small and gets bullied. We NEED Darcy against these type of players.
There’s a valid argument as to whether freo should have gone with Darcy as a premium number one ruck, or traded him and brought in a cheap number one ruck instead and used the capital elsewhere. That remains to be seen if we made the correct call. Time will tell.
But regardless, Luke Jackson will never be a number one ruckman in the afl long term. And freo don’t want him to be. He’s far far more valuable than that elsewhere on the ground.
Sumich hates freo. So you can’t take him seriously. Paul hazelby reckons the deal is $800k too, not $1m. Nice bit of rounding up by suma for extra effect.
Sumich would have had two articles drafted for this decision by Darcy.
1. The one he put out saying we shouldn’t have signed him, too risky etc etc.
2. An alternative article if we traded him saying “Fremantle need to sort out the cultural problems leading to their massive player exodus, huge blow that a star ruck walks out on them etc etc.”
Cornes is the same. You can’t win with tossers like that. They can say what they like and be completely unaccountable when a few months later the opposite happens.
Anyway best of luck of the season ahead you guys. You have heaps of talent just need to put it together now.
I never saw Corey McKernan play.Jackson is more a Corey Mck type with great athleticism to be dangerous forward of centre
Sumich never took the chip off his shoulder when Freo didn’t make him the main manI know that everyone in the AFL has a different opinion but I really have to say that if you think Luke Jackson is a genuine number one ruck you clearly haven’t watched much of him play.
It’s quite true he played some very good footy as the main ruck in the last 5 games of the season after Darcy got injured.
But for me it would be a criminal waste of Jackson’s talents to make him a number one ruck. He’s so much more valuable than that. He’s a genuine hybrid ruck/forward for starters. Can also play as a big bodied mid. Kicks set shots much more accurately that I could event have imagined before he came across. He’s more than capable of kicking 35 goals a season in future as a ruck/forward.
Darcy is a true ruckman and nothing else. And a very good one at that.
That’s the big difference between gawn and Grundy. Neither of those two guys can play any other position to a useful effect. They are either number one ruck dog, or nothing.
If we had traded Darcy we would have had to get another run of the mill ruck to replace him. People forget Jackson is less than 200cm. He looked great against a few dud rucks late on in the season as the number one ruck from sides like West coast, hawks, port and Brisbane (Darcy Fort played that day).
However against blokes like Nankervis, Briggs, Witts, etc - he is just too small and gets bullied. We NEED Darcy against these type of players.
There’s a valid argument as to whether freo should have gone with Darcy as a premium number one ruck, or traded him and brought in a cheap number one ruck instead and used the capital elsewhere. That remains to be seen if we made the correct call. Time will tell.
But regardless, Luke Jackson will never be a number one ruckman in the afl long term. And freo don’t want him to be. He’s far far more valuable than that elsewhere on the ground.
Sumich hates freo. So you can’t take him seriously. Paul hazelby reckons the deal is $800k too, not $1m. Nice bit of rounding up by suma for extra effect.
Sumich would have had two articles drafted for this decision by Darcy.
1. The one he put out saying we shouldn’t have signed him, too risky etc etc.
2. An alternative article if we traded him saying “Fremantle need to sort out the cultural problems leading to their massive player exodus, huge blow that a star ruck walks out on them etc etc.”
Cornes is the same. You can’t win with tossers like that. They can say what they like and be completely unaccountable when a few months later the opposite happens.
Anyway best of luck of the season ahead you guys. You have heaps of talent just need to put it together now.
Which sumich we taking about - he’s got a spilt personalitySumich never took the chip off his shoulder when Freo didn’t make him the main man
The other one…Which sumich we taking about - he’s got a spilt personality
Picked up the phone?That may be the case but I’d hope brady picked up the phone regardless and didn’t just let it play out
Got to be in it to be a chance
Let’s hope he’s on the phone to the top 20 out of contract player managers now gauging interest and flagging intent otherwise he isn’t doing his job well
Probably came on here and read the Lmac threadPicked up the phone?
You really have NFI at all...... if someone told you he visited Darcy at least 2 or 3 times in person, would that satisfy you?
Here's something for you to ponder on, "If said player isn't interested in coming to our club, no matter how much you pay or whatever sweeteners you can throw at them..... no is no, they just won't come!
It's hard to believe for some, but even if we tell them North Melbourne Big Footy is 100% behind them and really want them, they STILL won't come.
He’s a giant keg with legs.. very dodgy ones too.If I was a giant ruckman with questionsble legs, whose career could nose dive with one wrong move, I would be locking in that $7M.
You know, Sean Darcy puzzles me, it seems at 25, he's hardly played much football, has a lot of potential, but he is nearly always injured, he just can't get on the ground for a period of time. I pretty much agree with what Shermanator posted, 7 years for a ruck, that's entering the realms of Brody Grundy territory.He’s a giant keg with legs.. very dodgy ones too.
Add to that he’s an old school lumbering type in a quickly evolving game that requires repeat efforts and athleticism.
Thank faark we didn’t put a 7 year deal on the table. Great work Brady & co!
Good post as always Scout but i think there is more to it than just the 7 years. Like you say you don't necessarily need a great ruck but having one is an advantage in saying that in my opinion ruckmen or at least the really top shelf ones are a little underated on here I think they had to stop the exudes of players leaving and did what they had to do. I also think now Darcey signed up long term it gives a good vibe around the club and gives their younger players confidence in the cub and the direction it is going yes 7 years is a VERY big contract for a ruck but the benefits in the long run to the team as a whole may be worth it but most importantly it releases Jackson to kill it in the forward line and else were a bit like Bont in my opinion The other thing i think its a bit of a myth that he is injured all the time in the last 4 years he has played 70 odd games he is was in the same boat as our own Ben with posters always saying he was injured but his last 4 years would probably be similar to Darcey's. Only my opinion but keep up the good posts Scout enjoy reading them especially now you are using paragraphs ha haYou know, Sean Darcy puzzles me, it seems at 25, he's hardly played much football, has a lot of potential, but he is nearly always injured, he just can't get on the ground for a period of time. I pretty much agree with what Shermanator posted, 7 years for a ruck, that's entering the realms of Brody Grundy territory.
Just my opinion, I really don't think you need a top ruck these days, as I posted on another thread, look at West Coast Eagles winning the cup without Nick Nat, Geelong having Rhys Stanley rucking while having Mark Blicavs helping at times, now those two are good footballers but no superstars. Collingwood this year, Brody Grundy left them to go to Melbourne, that failed now he's at Sydney and by the way who was the champion ruck for them in their premiership win?
Yes, if you have a great ruck its an advantage, but so many teams win the premiership without a great/champion ruck that times have changed and so has the game, that is why Collingwood won the premiership, yes they had a top team with some serious talent but there was more to it, that's why losing one of the top 3/4 rucks in the league didn't phase Craig McRae, it wasn't a big deal, they adjusted their setup and became stronger for it.
In todays times if you can't or won't change your way of thinking you'll get left behind very quickly, that's why the top coaches are always on the move for different ideas hence "Clarko" not to long ago going to the good old U.S.A. and picking the brains of the top coaches, the man has a thirst for knowledge and is always looking to better his coaching strategy. Fremantle I guess know what they are doing but they have some other holes on that list and I just don't think they are going to play finals just yet, 7 years for a ruck who can't get on the ground is quite unbelievable.
A full stop wouldn't hurt from time to time.Good post as always Scout but i think there is more to it than just the 7 years. Like you say you don't necessarily need a great ruck but having one is an advantage in saying that in my opinion ruckmen or at least the really top shelf ones are a little underated on here I think they had to stop the exudes of players leaving and did what they had to do. I also think now Darcey signed up long term it gives a good vibe around the club and gives their younger players confidence in the cub and the direction it is going yes 7 years is a VERY big contract for a ruck but the benefits in the long run to the team as a whole may be worth it but most importantly it releases Jackson to kill it in the forward line and else were a bit like Bont in my opinion The other thing i think its a bit of a myth that he is injured all the time in the last 4 years he has played 70 odd games he is was in the same boat as our own Ben with posters always saying he was injured but his last 4 years would probably be similar to Darcey's. Only my opinion but keep up the good posts Scout enjoy reading them especially now you are using paragraphs ha ha
Yeah i suppose with all the floods up here in Cairns at the moment full stops are the last thing on my mind.A full stop wouldn't hurt from time to time.
Picked up the phone?
You really have NFI at all...... if someone told you he visited Darcy at least 2 or 3 times in person, would that satisfy you?
Here's something for you to ponder on, "If said player isn't interested in coming to our club, no matter how much you pay or whatever sweeteners you can throw at them..... no is no, they just won't come!
It's hard to believe for some, but even if we tell them North Melbourne Big Footy is 100% behind them and really want them, they STILL won't come.
You all good?Yeah i suppose with all the floods up here in Cairns at the moment full stops are the last thing on my mind.
Yeah all good thank ferball roofs got a few leaks so not ideal but have power back now lost it for 4 days but we are lucky compared to some in cairns and the surrounds. I have been up here for 20 odd years not seen floods up here like it Once again ferbs really appreciate you checking in thank you.You all good?