Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who will be our first selection on night 2 of the Draft?

I found that video very contrived.
Of course we rated Smith at 1 after we knew O’Sullivan would be picked by North.
The one I saw had them saying how keen they were on Jagga before Lalor was taken. Hardly contrived.

Edit - just went back and re-watched. Austin clearly states that we have Jagga rated as pick 1 at the start of the night and says it sounds like he is going to get through to pick 3. Did you watch the 5 minute clip on carltonfc.com.au?

Yeah beware of those who are willing to study the draft and form and opinion without having the context of what list managers know inside the four walls of 18 clubs.

Pommy had an opinion on Jagga, as did Dylan.

You seemed to be okay with it when you were consuming the content, which mind you, was FREE for you to watch.

I've worked with Pommy for 5+ years now and I can tell you, the work he puts in with the draft is second to none.

Have a think about that next time you hide behind your faceless profile on a forum taking a pot shot.

Go Blues
Imagine getting this worked up over someone calling out someone else who was demonstrably wrong. It’s why I avoid AFL content creators like the plague.

I've heard him mentioned a few times. Looks a good player and has some mongrel in him. Why was he passed up?

Other names mentioned to me was Floyd Burmeister & Michael Sellwood

I like Xavier Ivisic as well
Injury interrupted season, started in pre season and missed the afl academy pre season sessions and never really got to full fitness, imo is a burst / impact player, can be hot and cold but when he is "on" has real impact

Gc5_Vy1aAAMvFx2
Gc5_Vy0aQAA_BX6

I actually don't blame Scott Camporeale for leaving. He wanted a 3-year contract. We only offered 2. We were rubbish. He was older but one of our only decent players. Made him go through the preseason draft. We should have just given him the extra year. Same with Waite. We have picked some odd times to be stubborn and play tough in our recent history and this was one of them.

Luckily with Adelaide dumping him and his sons now being Carlton players, I would guess he is well and truly a blue again.

Day-Wicks gives me the impression of a left-footed Robbie Gray.

Have to laugh that Dylan Williams and Pommy the YouTube ‘gurus’ who said we definitely wouldn’t take Jagga because we need a point of difference, were completely wrong - yet again.

Beware of content creators.
Let’s be honest I don’t think any of the so called experts (Twomey, ESPN, sen etc…) had a clue what player was going to which team until the last couple of days with any certainty.

For the past few weeks we were told FOS was most likely coming to Carlton (btw did you know he’s Sammy’s second cousin :)) and that North wanted Tauru.

It was only in the last day or so that Twomey swung to North picking up FOS leaving us to choose between Jagga and Draper. Even with intel from LMs Twomey still hedged his bets saying it was between Smith and Draper to Carlton IF North picked FOS.

I find this whole Twomey is a draft guru a bit of joke actually, his expertise is only as good as the information he gets from List Managers and not any deeper understanding of players talent. I like Shifter’s opinions on draft talent.

I actually don't blame Scott Camporeale for leaving. He wanted a 3-year contract. We only offered 2. We were rubbish. He was older but one of our only decent players. Made him go through the preseason draft. We should have just given him the extra year. Same with Waite. We have picked some odd times to be stubborn and play tough in our recent history and this was one of them.

Luckily with Adelaide dumping him and his sons now being Carlton players, I would guess he is well and truly a blue again.

Same, have no problem players going elsewhere for a better pay deal. It’s a full time job and they’re only a bad knee injury away from it all ending.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I've heard him mentioned a few times. Looks a good player and has some mongrel in him. Why was he passed up?

Other names mentioned to me was Floyd Burmeister & Michael Sellwood

I like Xavier Ivisic as well

Michael Selwood doesn't qualify for the rookie draft.

I'm guessing whoever mentioned this to you read the West Australian newspaper where he was originally linked, but then had to change the article to reflect that he hadn't nominated for the draft.

Aside from those mentioned in articles as being in the mix, I would consider giving Luke Parks a return gig. B&F at his VFL club. A mainstay among tall defenders in the competition. If we want depth, we could do much worse.

What is the latest on Charlie McCartin?

Three SA boys I really like are Phoenix Hargrave and Kade Herbert, midfielders who probably aren’t a need, but the third Jacob Newton mid/forward caught my eye. Similar to little Durds a mid first cobbled into a small forward at the championships. Plenty to work with. Like him a lot and pencilled him in as a rookie months ago.

WA offers my mate Clancy Dennis who may have worse injury than clubs want to gamble on. Love the kid and happy to add as a rookie to develop in tandem with O’Farrell. The other WA player I have plenty of time for is small defender / wing Jaxon Artemis who is one of the better kicks in the draft.

Names like Burmeister, Warburton, Toner and maybe Stumpf come to mind from the VIC contingent. I haven’t given up on overage KPD Christian Mardini who was VFL listed by us. Missed plenty of footy, but did well at club and CTL level (overager) late in the season. Still think back to a rumour we were looking at Tassie ruck Oliver Dean, my thoughts were would be a ps trade collateral when Tassie enter the comp.

Haven’t heard any leaked info this time around, so we are in for a surprise it would seem. Rookie draft has really changed in recent times, so many re-signings by clubs and mature and recycled pick ups.

Very much hoping McMahon gets a spot rookie draft or SSP, and would be happy if we called out Will White from our VFL.

Aside from those mentioned in articles as being in the mix, I would consider giving Luke Parks a return gig. B&F at his VFL club. A mainstay among tall defenders in the competition. If we want depth, we could do much worse.

What is the latest on Charlie McCartin?

Three SA boys I really like are Phoenix Hargrave and Kade Herbert, midfielders who probably aren’t a need, but the third Jacob Newton mid/forward caught my eye. Similar to little Durds a mid first cobbled into a small forward at the championships. Plenty to work with. Like him a lot and pencilled him in as a rookie months ago.

WA offers my mate Clancy Dennis who may have worse injury than clubs want to gamble on. Love the kid and happy to add as a rookie to develop in tandem with O’Farrell. The other WA player I have plenty of time for is small defender / wing Jaxon Artemis who is one of the better kicks in the draft.

Names like Burmeister, Warburton, Toner and maybe Stumpf come to mind from the VIC contingent. I haven’t given up on overage KPD Christian Mardini who was VFL listed by us. Missed plenty of footy, but did well at club and CTL level (overager) late in the season. Still think back to a rumour we were looking at Tassie ruck Oliver Dean, my thoughts were would be a ps trade collateral when Tassie enter the comp.

Haven’t heard any leaked info this time around, so we are in for a surprise it would seem. Rookie draft has really changed in recent times, so many re-signings by clubs and mature and recycled pick ups.

Very much hoping McMahon gets a spot rookie draft or SSP, and would be happy if we called out Will White from our VFL.
Good call out. I totally had forgotten about Charlie McCartin who was all the rage around here one 😂

Does some eye catching stuff, then goes missing for lengthy periods. Pencilled in as one to watch a couple of times and crossed him off for not having a sufficient body of work.

Sounds perfect for a rookie spot - free throw at the stumps, if it pays off we come out miles ahead, if not then we go back to the well in a couple of years.

I think this is the ideal spot to be grabbing the "talented but inconsistent" types, rather than the "consistently ordinary" ones.

Sorry. Poorly worded by me. We currently have 4 with the opportunity. If we get 2 rookies then 2 would drop off straight away. Tough business and a couple of nervous players today
Yep there definitely will be. Will be interesting to see if we go for a KPP today. Wouldn't mind a small forward if we go smaller

He’s had 20 years to get rid of the stench, my wife always had the hots for him….i dirtied up for 20 years on him leaving at the worst hour the club has ever had when we needed him to help lead us back to the light….ill never forget but I’ve forgiven now his boys are at the club

Analysis 2024 National Draft