List Mgmt. 2023 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals

Key Trade & Draft Dates
Key Dates:

Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm
Draft Period, November 20–22
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Monday, November 20, time and venue TBA
  • Trade Period (3), picks only: Tuesday, November 21, 5.45pm–6.30pm
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Tuesday, November 21, 7pm until completion
  • Rookie Promotions: Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Wednesday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3.20pm
  • Final List Lodgement*: Thursday, November 23, 4pm
* List lodgement dates are yet to be made public, so are approximate based on past history and the requirements of the AFL Rules. When lists are lodged, the number of players on the list must not exceed maximum list sizes. At the same time, clubs must provide the AFL with estimates of total player payments in the current and following year, which must prove the club is not and will not exceed the salary cap. (AFL Rules 5.3, 6.1, 6.8, 7.2, 7.9)

Brodie Grundy. SO GOOD

Exactly what was required

I reckon 4 proper rucks is ideal.
An AFL first ruck Grundy.
An AFL first ruck back up Ladhams OR McAndrew who might be playing as a forward/ruck in AFL (Ladhams) or as first ruck in VFL (Ladhams and/or McAndrew).
A project ruck who will play limited minutes in VFL as a forward or back and back up ruck if there is an injury.
You might be able to get away with 3 if they stay healthy but you will recall that we started rucking McLean because both Hick and Ladhams were injured and obviously felt McAndrew wasn't ready.
Forward/rucks are another discussion.
I do recall that was the apparent reason we went with Mclean. And I'm comfortable with that.

That's why I'm happy to have 3 rucks. If we have 2 out injured, we can have one of our forward / rucks do the job, leave the development one in the VFL. Many clubs will do this. A good example of this is my second team, the Lions. They have the Big O and Fort as their recognised rucks. Next in line is Tom Fullerton, who is more forward than ruck but for structural reasons, would be in as number 1 ruck if the other 2 are injured instead of Daniher or Hipwood. Finally they have Henry Smith, 206cm, as their developing ruck. Lions are no mugs when it comes to sorting out their list, which is demonstrated by both AFL and VFL teams still in the hunt for their respective flags.

Its very fascinating the reasons Port decided to withdraw their interest.

Unlikely to be ever known but Tom Morris has gone with "different life perspectives"

What does that mean?
It’s reported that their presentation to Grundy was 100% football, a complete football presentation.

Whereas the Swans included football but also provided detail on away from football lifestyle and how his partner/family might also enjoy the move.

That’s my understanding.

Only troubling thing: a decision being made based upon “work-life balance”.

That could mean a few different things.
It doesn't sound good with Grundy's form drop off after his big deal was signed. Hopefully it means that the fishbowl made it harder to live up to it, and being less visible in Sydney just means he can get on with the job, but also enjoy life outside of it.

Only troubling thing: a decision being made based upon “work-life balance”.

That could mean a few different things.
Reading that Port emphasized that he would be in the bubble and Sydney emphasized that he wouldn't and Sydney emphasized opportunities for Rachael his partner in her field through our connections I get the feeling that it was more about quality of life for both than anything else.
I doubt that Sydney didn't point out the footy stuff, just didn't labour it. I can imagine Hinkley going on and on. Harley would be a lot smarter.

Is Stretch ready to ruck full time, for a large part of the season if Grundy went down? I don't think we can be confident of that, hence why we need Ladhams or some other mature ager brought in (as well as May).
He will have had another preseason and his improvement has been rapid. Plus he has the luxury in good back up from Mclean and Amartey.

The more pertinent question is is Ladhams ready to ruck full time for a big chunk of a season. His temperament, form and body has never really allowed him to do this in the past. What makes you think he could do it now? I'd trust Stretch before Pete.

Reading that Port emphasized that he would be in the bubble and Sydney emphasized that he wouldn't and Sydney emphasized opportunities for Rachael his partner in her field through our connections I get the feeling that it was more about quality of life for both than anything else.
I doubt that Sydney didn't point out the footy stuff, just didn't labour it. I can imagine Hinkley going on and on. Harley would be a lot smarter.
Hinkley could also have said "someone's got to lose and that might be us" as part of his inspirational pitch (he's said similar things in pressers, part of the list the Sack Hinkley camp has).

I suspect (and hope) you’re right.

I’d just hate to think we were getting a player at the back end of a career not 100% committed to peak on-field performance.

I’m a glass half empty kinda guy, so always leap to the downside scenario!

James Harmes - Richmond, Carlton, Sydney, Essendon "have enquired about him through his management" (McClure)
I don't understand this at all if true. Seems like a flog and isn't particularly good IMO.

Be very happy with just Grundy and McKay. Not sure we need to do much else outside of the draft.

I suspect (and hope) you’re right.

I’d just hate to think we were getting a player at the back end of a career not 100% committed to peak on-field performance.

I’m a glass half empty kinda guy, so always leap to the downside scenario!i
I like over the years how we've developed 2nd choice rucks in to key rucks all the way back to the Whale Roberts , Steve Taubert and in the modern era Hickey , that's why i'd prefer Sweet as less to give up and he's young .

He will have had another preseason and his improvement has been rapid. Plus he has the luxury in good back up from Mclean and Amartey.

The more pertinent question is is Ladhams ready to ruck full time for a big chunk of a season. His temperament, form and body has never really allowed him to do this in the past. What makes you think he could do it now? I'd trust Stretch before Pete.

I think Stretch will be the better ruck, but at least next year I think we'd get similar number of games out of him as with Ladhams. Further into the future it could change in Stretch's favour.

What I'm saying is I don't have confidence in Stretch physically (development rather than injury) to ruck more than at best 5-10 games as the main ruck, maybe 10-15 if he's 2nd ruck in some. Though our problem is that neither he or Pete look like viable 2nd ruck options currently (they are no.1 or in the VFL).

So if Grundy goes down, and Ladhams is gone, then what?

Rucking McLean as No.1 isn't a long term solution. He's definitely taken the 2nd ruck mantle from Amartey for now, but we don't want him leading the line for more than a couple of games if we're desperate.

Grundy is 29 and has had a couple of easy years

He'll be absolutely solid for the next couple of years and capable of dominating big finals

Delightful
I reckon he will have a big chip on his shoulder from the way Dees and Pies have treated him and will nothing more than to stick their noses in it by helping us win a flag.

Plus he will enjoy his intellectual discussions in a trendy marrickville Cafe sipping on a soy latte 😉

Going to Port if they can swing the deal.

Is the whole comp going to Port? How in the blue moon have they got the capital for these after the JHF deal

I do recall that was the apparent reason we went with Mclean. And I'm comfortable with that.

That's why I'm happy to have 3 rucks. If we have 2 out injured, we can have one of our forward / rucks do the job, leave the development one in the VFL. Many clubs will do this. A good example of this is my second team, the Lions. They have the Big O and Fort as their recognised rucks. Next in line is Tom Fullerton, who is more forward than ruck but for structural reasons, would be in as number 1 ruck if the other 2 are injured instead of Daniher or Hipwood. Finally they have Henry Smith, 206cm, as their developing ruck. Lions are no mugs when it comes to sorting out their list, which is demonstrated by both AFL and VFL teams still in the hunt for their respective flags.

If you have FWD rucks being rucks you are losing, they aren't ruckmen they may just be a big body in the FWD line that can stand there.

Grundy could be huge for our contested ball issues at stoppages. Follow up with like blocking for others and clearing ball himself is his biggest strength, he should give us enough in the contests to address this weakness (without having to run a pure inside midfielder even if they have limited pace or foot skills). Big get.

I reckon he will have a big chip on his shoulder from the way Dees and Pies have treated him and will nothing more than to stick their noses in it by helping us win a flag.

Plus he will enjoy his intellectual discussions in a trendy marrickville Cafe sipping on a soy latte 😉
So many places to enjoy a cafe!