List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

I don’t expect that at all. But i do expect/want him to be a lot more mature and professional than what he is.

Sounds like you're really struggling with acknowledging this:

"He's a 19 year old 3 games into his 2nd season."

Maturity and professionalism comes with age and experience. Ease up, he's not an infallible demi-god.

Sounds like you're really struggling with acknowledging this:

"He's a 19 year old 3 games into his 2nd season."

Maturity and professionalism comes with age and experience. Ease up, he's not an infallible demi-god.

Yet he's far less mature than Hough, Ginbey, Hewett, AReid (who's younger), Long. You don't see those guys taking the piss with their off-season training and on-field demeanour.

Let's face it. Harley is cruising on talent alone. Any other player would be in WAFL until they grew up a bit.

Yet he's far less mature than Hough, Ginbey, Hewett, AReid (who's younger), Long. You don't see those guys taking the piss with their off-season training and on-field demeanour.

Let's face it. Harley is cruising on talent alone. Any other player would be in WAFL until they grew up a bit.
Never met any of them so I couldn't comment

And do any of them have the scrutiny or pressure that HR has had to put up with?

What's your point here? How is that relevant in the slightest?
Seriously?

You're comparing a guy who has been on the front and back page continuously since he arrived.
Has kept being told he's out saviour.
Is, was expected to carry us up the ladder.

You don't think playing with all of that pressure has something to do with it?

Comparing him with a player like Noah Long who had had no pressure or expectation placed on him is just ridiculous.

Seriously?

You're comparing a guy who has been on the front and back page continuously since he arrived.
Has kept being told he's out saviour.
Is, was expected to carry us up the ladder.

You don't think playing with all of that pressure has something to do with it?

Comparing him with a player like Noah Long who had had no pressure or expectation placed on him is just ridiculous.
Compare him with anyone... Harry Sheezel, Nick Daicos, Sam Walsh, Finn Callaghan, Will Ashcroft and show me a player who is more insufferable on field and more unprofessional off it?

The only one I can think of is Jason Horne-Francis. If Harley was so concerned about scrutiny he is under, you'd think he'd make a different set of choices. Instead he's turned the heat on himself and the club up to 100 by his lack of conditioning and disinterest.

Compare him with anyone... Harry Sheezel, Nick Daicos, Sam Walsh, Finn Callaghan, Will Ashcroft and show me a player who is more insufferable on field and more unprofessional off it?

The only one I can think of is Jason Horne-Francis. If Harley was so concerned about scrutiny he is under, you'd think he'd make a different set of choices. Instead he's turned the heat on himself and the club up to 100 by his lack of conditioning and disinterest.
Most of those players have played double the amount of games HR has.
Apart from Sheezel, they all played in good sides.

Sheezel played his first year and a half on a HBF while HR has had to play inside mid.

I'm not for 1 minute saying he doesn't have to get better, but you're going way over the top with your criticism of an 18 year old.

You're comparing apples with oranges.

Most of those players have played double the amount of games HR has.
Apart from Sheezel, they all played in good sides.

Sheezel played his first year and a half on a HBF while HR has had to play inside mid.

I'm not for 1 minute saying he doesn't have to get better, but you're going way over the top with your criticism of an 18 year old.

You're comparing apples with oranges.

Not a single thing you're saying explains why Harley Reid turned up the size of a house with a beer gut, why he can't run, why he's a complete non-factor outside of stoppage or taking a speccy in F50, and why he continues to pick unnecessary fights rather than focus on footy.

It's not too much to ask for blokes to turn up in half decent shape, and put in decent effort during a game.

According to you, we shouldn't hold Harley to any sort of standard because there's media scrutiny around him.

Wanna know how to silence media scrutiny. Turn up in shape, put in the work, and try your guts out.

Not a single thing you're saying explains why Harley Reid turned up the size of a house with a beer gut, why he can't run, why he's a complete non-factor outside of stoppage or taking a speccy in F50, and why he continues to pick unnecessary fights rather than focus on footy.

It's not too much to ask for blokes to turn up in half decent shape, and put in decent effort during a game.

According to you, we shouldn't hold Harley to any sort of standard because there's media scrutiny around him.

Wanna know how to silence media scrutiny. Turn up in shape, put in the work, and try your guts out.
If you've actually bothered to read what I posted, I never gave him an excuse to turn up unprepared.
That is unforgiveable.

I reckon he's trying his guts out but he's just not fit enough and hasn't built up a tank yet.

I just think your expectaions on him are over the top.

Whether he plays well or not, the scrutiny is here to stay.

If you've actually bothered to read what I posted, I never gave him an excuse to turn up unprepared.
That is unforgiveable.

I reckon he's trying his guts out but he's just not fit enough and hasn't built up a tank yet.

I just think your expectaions on him are over the top.

Whether he plays well or not, the scrutiny is here to stay.

My expectations are don't have a beer gut, and don't look gassed after 10 minutes of sauntering around.

Are those expectations too high?

Fair to say this is the worst Harley should ever be, and he still is having more impact than most of the list. The weekly hysterics are a joke.

He ****ed up his preseason prep. Yep, understood. That sets you back a long way at this level, hence why he looks so far off the pace.

I can’t run a marathon. If you went on telly and lambasted me for it, you’d be right. But I won’t be able to run one tomorrow either. No sense getting on telly again and going nuts like it’s new information. Won’t be able to run one the next day either. Or the day after that. But these things take time to build, so make the comment then give them time to respond, instead of needing the daily update about how I still can’t run one.

The weekly theatrics are performative. ‘I’m madder than other fans therefore I care more than other fans’ areas.

His ‘liability’ game last week was still #1 centre clearances and #2 tackles. His ‘liability’ game this week was still #2 score involvements and #4 metres gained.

He will never be worse than this. He’s self imposed a long way back, so give him the bloody time to get back.

PS I will never run a marathon because I’m a lazy ****er so feel free to redirect it my way, I can guarantee you will never ever be wrong about that.

On a lighter note, found your solution Badge
FB_IMG_1743405437271.jpg

I rewatched the derby, this time on Kayo.
When it comes to Harley pushing Serong over and Pav gets all sanctimonious and prattles on. Simmo said he plays on the edge, he's a competitive beast, suggesting he likes the argy-bargy, it gets him fired up. But then Simmo said 'he was a bully in junior footy' (presumably because of his size and talent). He got away with a lot. (surprised me Simmo said that)

But the wavy arms out all the time, standing up or laying on the deck, or as soon as he's tackled. And he is always mouthing off/conversing with umpires, he seems to argue every point. He's brought some bad habits from junior footy perhaps. It's hard to know who this guy really is? He has a truckload of confidence, you can see that in his sponsorship ads.

Inmho, all he needs to do is get himself up to match fitness levels asap, focus on the ball not the man, and let his footy do the talking. He's fully aware of all this and has said as much in his (promo) interview. He wants to get fit, play out games, play team footy, and play to his natural ability.

Turn up in shape is a December 2024 concern that he can’t fix today. You’re 100% right, but there’s nothing Harley can do today/tomorrow/by this week to solve this for you, so do we need the daily rake over coals?

But suggesting he’s not trying his guts out is laughable. The results aren’t there because he didn’t set himself up for success in his first AFL offseason, but nobody can look at this bloke and say he’s not trying his guts out. He’s acknowledged that he’s trying to get better off field, and build his tank.

He can’t get a full preseason of fitness behind him between now and next week, and that’s capping what he can do in a serious way. Not trying…**** me.

show me a player who is more insufferable on field and more unprofessional off it?
Lol.

Freo troll areas now. Pull up mate.

Not sure if mentioned before. I rewatched the derby, this time on Kayo.
When it comes to Harley pushing Serong over and Pav gets all sanctimonious and prattles on. Simmo said he plays on the edge, he's a competitive beast, suggesting he likes the argy-bargy, it gets him fired up. But then Simmo said 'he was a bully in junior footy' (presumably because of his size and talent). He got away with a lot.

But the wavy arms out all the time, standing up or laying on the deck, or as soon as he's tackled. And he is always mouthing off/conversing with umpires, he seems to argue every point. He's brought some bad habits from junior footy perhaps. It's hard to know who this guy really is? He has a truckload of confidence, you can see that in his sponsorship ads.

Inmho, all he needs to do is get himself up to match fitness levels asap, focus on the ball not the man, and let his footy do the talking. He's fully aware of all this and has said as much in his (promo) interview. He wants to get fit, play out games, play team footy, and play to his natural ability.
Hated the push at the time and still do, could’ve cost Archer his 2nd and he deserved that.

Pav said Serong did nothing to provoke it but on the longer clip it appears he had a crack at Harley for going for goal and would’ve said some shit.

Harley clearly puts his hands in the air when Archer marks it to say see then pushes him. Serong tried ti milk it did and flopped because most times umps will turn that over. (Nick Martin Cripps last year)

Harley has to be a lot better, Pav and Simmo both have to be less biased.

Turn up in shape is a December 2024 concern that he can’t fix today. You’re 100% right, but there’s nothing Harley can do today/tomorrow/by this week to solve this for you, so do we need the daily rake over coals?

But suggesting he’s not trying his guts out is laughable. The results aren’t there because he didn’t set himself up for success in his first AFL offseason, but nobody can look at this bloke and say he’s not trying his guts out.

He can’t get a full preseason of fitness behind him between now and next week, and that’s capping what he can do in a serious way. Not trying…**** me.

Lol.

Freo troll areas now. Pull up mate.
The only reason this continues to go on and on is because people keep it going, so I'll respond and then leave it for now.

This is what completely pisses me off. He's completely shot himself in the foot. You can't build a fitness base in season. You just can't. It makes this year a complete write off for him, and puts us under pressure we do not want, nor need.

What you want from your young players is for them to be better than they were the year before. Not only is Harley not better, but he is substantially worse is almost every statistical category.

There's trying, and then there's really trying. Harley tries as long as the ball is within a 10 metre radius. He tries in and around the contest. After that, there's a lot of jogging, and half efforts.

Anyway... This has been an eventful back and forth, but there's not a whole lot more to be said.

Watching Reid play against a midfield next week that is truly elite in both offence and defence will be super interesting.

He’s been underwhelming but I really can’t stand our own fans giving it to him online and etc. it’s the exact reason I joined this platform +10 years ago when our own fans (facebook) started turning on the likes of Shuey,Darling and Gaff in 2013/14.

The media fuels this and tbh they would have loved that he’s having a slump as they can now generate more headline and more importantly have new sources material to print now that he’s not doing great.

List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

Write your reply...