Review Round 3, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong

Who were your five best players against Geelong?

Yeah, hugh game after the conditions last week. Wonder if was a tactic to conserve energy in the first half or least first quarter. I know Will won a Norm Smith but you just feel he is only just starting to get settled in that elite player category. Going to be a joy to watch this year.

Glad to see Fages agrees with me that we overcorrected to the conditions in the first half:

Fagan took responsibility for his team's slow start.

"Maybe it was a bit of my fault because I was pre-occupied with wet weather footy before the game and at half-time I just said "play dry weather footy, boys" and the uncontested mark game went up, the pressure went up and we got better at clearance and contested ball," he said.

One thing that is truely noticeable this year is we no longer look lost when Lachie gets tagged.

Ashcroft/Clugga picked up the slack, Lachie then broke the tag a bit in the second half as well.
yeah he got loose in the end, they stood him at full forward for the centre bounces, well most of them in the second half and that broke the tag off a bit.

FROM THE AFL WEBSITE.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/1288038

BRISBANE 2.2 3.4 7.7 10.10 (70)
GEELONG 3.4 7.6 7.6 9.7 (61)

GOALS
Brisbane:
Cameron, Rayner, W.Ashcroft, L.Ashcroft, Morris, Hipwood, Reville, Bailey, Zorko, Berry
Geelong: Dangerfield 2, O.Henry, Holmes, Dempsey, Close, Cameron, Blicavs, Clark

BEST
Brisbane:
McCluggage, W.Ashcroft, Andrews, Zorko, Dunkley, Lester
Geelong: Holmes, Smith, Dangerfield, Guthrie, Miers, Mullin

I think those best players are just about spot on, but I would have worked Payne in there.

The stats don’t always tell the full story, but here’s the return for our Key Position Defenders.

Harris Andrews
Disposals:12 (Kicks 9 H/B 3) Marks: 8 Intercept Possessions: 9 Tackles: 3 Clerances: 0 Metres Gained: 142 Spoils: A Bazillion

Ryan Lester
Disposals: 15 (Kicks 13 H/B 2) Marks:6
Intercept Possessions: 4 Tackles: 1
Clearances: 2 Metres Gained: 261
Champion Forwards Annihilated: 1

Jack Payne
Disposals: 11 (Kicks 11) Marks: 7
Intercept Possessions: 8 Tackles: 1
Clearances: 0 Metres Gained: 284
Clutch Moments Won: Heaps

Payne was massive last night, particularly in the air. His intercept marking was sensational and he is becoming super reliable at zoning off and sending the ball back into our front half. His ball use was sound and his decision making was excellent.

Looking at these three defenders, I would argue we have the best Key position defenders in the game. With Andrews at CHB and Lester or Payne at Full Back depending on the opposition and match ups, we are beautifully balanced, in the air and on the ground. Andrews, Lester and Payne have also developed strong and cohesive communication. They appear to understand each other and provide excellent switch and cover during games.

While it’s early in the season and some players are a bit rusty, these three are LOCKED IN and winning games for us. Fagan made this exact point in his presser.
All 3 KPD, along with many others were terrific, Berry, Fletcher, Bruce etc. Hope payne can stay injury free, because first 3 games his direct opponent has not scored a goal. McCartin from a Harris off ball free, and Allen when he managed to turn Harris around on the wing, and arguably Jack a touch slow trying to cover. Test will come with Ben King and Hogan who both got multiple goals yesterday, but Payne, Lester and Harris are working really well at present. Almost certain payne and lester on a lot less than many other KPDs

Hopefully he kicks a bag against Richmond.
I agree, it's probably too early to tell yet on Day but I agree on the small sample we have, yes I get he lost his father the first week then played with a wet slippery ball the next week but he didn't seem to be in the right places. Maybe against Richmond he will click into gear.

Great win to start off the season 3-0. These are the games that we just need to bank early in the season. Still have big worries over the forward line as we just don't have a good KPF with Hippy being more a flanker, Morris being inexperienced adn Day not contributing much so we are reliant on our smalls/mediums. However the conditions didn't suit them yesterday at all, we probably should have added a small rather than a tall. It would be really good if we could have a game tht wasn't impacted heavily by the weather. First 2 games we had sweltering conditions and last night we had slippery/wet weather footy. Just a normal dry 24 degree weather would be great!

• Bailey has looked really impressive this season, seems like he has shaken whatever happened last year off.
  • I reckon Levi is slowly working his way into the season, he will be a gun player like Will.
  • Zorko is very good, don't know how we fit Coleman in, but with him and Zorko playing our creative use from the backline goes to another level.
  • Wilmot is very composed with the footy, turned into a very reliable half back. Going to be a mainstay of our side for a very long time.

Fort better than Day?

I would give Day another week but he is on notice.
I'm a self-professed Day hater but I just think we give him 8 weeks in the side, theres nothing to lose. Realistically we've only got Fort to come in for him (assuming O is fit).

As nice as romanticising Gallop playing is, he cannot play that position as he's too young to be thrown into the ruck. Gallop I see more as an in if Hipwood or Morris get injured. The only other option after Fort at this stage is Smith.

There are more than enough weeks in the season to give all of Smith, Fort and Day a decent go at it.

I thought he was very poor in the first half. Not alone but was very fumbly

Seems to have taken his game up a level overall do far this season
I have erased the first half from my mind that's why. 😃

Something that I noted about Day at the ground is that he simply doesn't stand out like Joey did... I can't explain why but he just doesn't. But he played some big moments last night linking up and out bodying his opponents in the 2nd. Like most of the boys he was far better after half time.

The smallest of the 5 has been 23 vs Sydney. It's quite the CV. And it's come out of the blue too when you think about everything that came before that Giants semi.

But yes it would be good to not make a habit of it and have a few players fall into the trap of thinking it's just going to happen.

I think it's more they know how to play to obliterate the opposition. It takes a lot of energy and focus and it takes them a while to get up to that intensity.

They managed that intensity for two quarters in the grand final, maybe two quarters is as long as they can maintain it.

I'm sure there will be games where they turn that on at the start then fade out.

My preference is like the gf - steady in the first, obliteration in the second and third and ride the wave home in the fourth.

Over the years we've banged on about the coaching group not adapting during a game. This week, and since the finals run really, they were excellent. Going back to our A-game ball movement, getting Hugh head-to-head with Bailey Smith, leaning on Will instead of Lachie through the midfield were all significant factors in our comeback and ultimately winning.

Dempsey for them was another who looked very dangerous in the first half, but only had 2 touches after halftime. Unsure if that was us putting more time into him or us generally owning territory and possession.

Agree, it's great skiing downhill, but much harder walking back up. Their wingers weren't withing 80 m when Berry kicked that goal in the last quarter.

Someone has to say it. Lester is one of the most reliable ,dynamic and exciting half backs in the game. Regularly supports his team mates going in to 2 on 1's and winning the ball or diffusing the contest. Know exactly where to kick it on the rebound.

Who knew. Well I know someone who knew but I never did.
This! 💕

#LesterArmy

#Lester300

#LesterCompulsiveDisorder

#LesterFiveYearDeal

#Lesternista

#YouveBeenTackledByLester

#LesterSpeedMachine

#LesterBacklineGeneral

#JeremyCameronIsScaredOfLester

The change in the game after half time was almost ridiculous. The first half had history repeating - it was literally a carbon copy of last year's game.

Answerth and Motty came off before half time looking like they had run marathons... Both kept us in it during the first half. They looked far better than a fumbly Payne and turn over king Lester in the first... But of course half time changed all of that.

I know I rate players differently to others but when Bailey was playing loose for a long time it produced zip. Meanwhile Hippy was doubled teamed all night. It was only when we got on top in the middle that move paid off.

Bez and Fletch ran all night, Rayner did not.

I think the forwards are still trying to work themselves out and the addition of Charlie just added a third week of confusion but they will be better for the run. Loges and Kai will learn to give each other space... Eventually.

This team has gone from being mentally sus to not having a care in the world... Whatever switch has, been flicked has turned them into a confident cohesive unit when they decide its time. The second half made Geelong look ordinary.

This is going to be a good year.

Glad to see Fages agrees with me that we overcorrected to the conditions in the first half:

Take that David King. Fagan made a coaching move that won the game. And Chris Scott didn't make a change to counter that - omg fagan out coached Scott.

Lucky guess you think?!?

Given fagan has talked about this criticismin, I'm pretty sure he will have had at least a wry smile at out coaching Scott. Though not directed at Scott himself of course.

Lloydy has put us on notice 😬😅. I'll take the 3-0 with room for improvement thank you.

Also the Swans and Geelong played well for periods of these games, who are both likely top 8 teams. Sure the Eagles kicked 5 goals in a row, most of which were high quality BTW, but we comfortably control this game after this. It's not an internal practice match.

Lloydy has put us on notice 😬😅. I'll take the 3-0 with room for improvement thank you.

Also the Swans and Geelong played well for periods of these games, who are both likely top 8 teams. Sure the Eagles kicked 5 goals in a row, most of which were high quality BTW, but we comfortably control this game after this. It's not an internal practice match.

Poor old llordo is self reporting here that he hasn’t watched any of our games

Pigs have flown and I agree with Llordo. You can't give 5 goal starts against good teams indefinitely and expect to keep winning.

The point he's missed is that the season so far is not definitive . We came into the year underdone and have played in energy sapping conditions every time. That's part of the reasons why we were behind . Skills and fitness a bit off, it doesn't take much.

We've been able to dig deep and our class has won out coupled with the self belief of 2024. When we're into the season proper I'm sure we won't be giving too many starts.

Review Round 3, 2025 - Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong

Write your reply...