Official 18's GVFL Thread (part 1)

Re: Offical 18's gvfl thread

Hello gentleman,

does anyone know of any local practice matches this weekend around the district? if you could list who, where and what time that would be great. cheers

was at the match between united and tatura on friday night in the stanhope night series. not a bad standard of footy to watch but still plenty of improvement left in both sides. united ended up winning pretty comfortably by around 30 points. IMO tats best player on the night was billy lovell whilst united had a couple of standouts including hewlett and mellington

tat were pretty lucky united didnt kick straight, something like 17 points.. in the first quarter they kicked 1goal 7.. they ended up running away with the game to win by 50 points in the end 30 to 80.. funny you say billy was one of their best i didnt see him in the action to much, but maybe i just wasnt looking to hard... cant take much from the game as tat were missing 10 of their best so united were expected to win comfortably.. will be a very good game when both sides are full strength in the year!

spot on mate. us boys that got asked last year will probably play ones this year but still play a few thirds games when we play the better thirds sides because the thirds have a good chance of making finals and doing well. hopefully!!!

If you do play Ky seniors this year, the expectations will be a lot higher with Dirty coaching, but the chance to learning from IMO the best coach in country Vic will be well worth it.

think ur placing to much importance on playing senior footy. Thirds is the last chance u get to play with ur mates and senior footy will be there for next 5-10 years of ur career. 3-4 bottom age ky players got asked last year that said no and a couple of other bottom age players played seniors. Neither developed or made them any better players.

Say that is a problem with the coaching rather the level if no one developed. You should always strive to play the highest level you can, you learn more and when you do go back to thirds, you should have a lot more confidence.

also saw united play, very impressive. hard running with height all over the ground. Will definately be in the mix come late September. Report from the KY v's Kangaroo flat game was mixed. Both sides played a hard brand of footy. apparently Will jackson broke his leg which will be a huge loss for the Ky boys. Tight game till 3/4 time then ky broke loose. Oggie played his first game for for the bombers as apparently the bushies gave him a clearance for 1/2 a game. Reports are he turned the game for Ky and they ran away in the last 1/4 to win by 5 goals.Ogden kicked three in the second half. eddie didn't play though would have to think that Jackson will be a big loss for the Ky team as the season starts.

Cappy signed with Bears. Has done all pre season and will be good pickup. Gets plenty of the ball and what he lack in height makes up with good ground skills. Very similar type player to Willo from Mooroopna.

dose anyone now how shepp swans went today?

Got smashed 28 goals to 9. Golden Square, who won the flag last year according to an official I was talking to, were too tall, fast and were very well skilled in bringing the ball downb the corridor. They centred the ball on every occasion within 50 and there 27 - 8 destifies their accuracy. Most were top age players apparently .

Better players for the Swans were No 1, a left footer they called him BK or BJ or something like that, No 7 Mercs (?), No 11 Finnen (?), 13 Newbs or something (wore a headband),and a red headed kid no 33 bobby.

A lot of the players were rested for a fair amount of the game as they have to play 2nite at Stanhope. 9 players did not play at all and their were several players who are clearly not up to it. Reckon they used the game to work out who they may cut. I counted five that were not up to the standard.

Cappy signed with Bears. Has done all pre season and will be good pickup. Gets plenty of the ball and what he lack in height makes up with good ground skills. Very similar type player to Willo from Mooroopna.

Willo would give him a bath. Not in the same league as Willo.

Would more than handy for the bears
Because i have heard that they are struggling for height
u should know if they are struggling for height i would of thought kicking goals seeing you do play for bears in the under 18s. don't try and pretend you don't play for them:phaha

Got smashed 28 goals to 9. Golden Square, who won the flag last year according to an official I was talking to, were too tall, fast and were very well skilled in bringing the ball downb the corridor. They centred the ball on every occasion within 50 and there 27 - 8 destifies their accuracy. Most were top age players apparently .

Better players for the Swans were No 1, a left footer they called him BK or BJ or something like that, No 7 Mercs (?), No 11 Finnen (?), 13 Newbs or something (wore a headband),and a red headed kid no 33 bobby.

A lot of the players were rested for a fair amount of the game as they have to play 2nite at Stanhope. 9 players did not play at all and their were several players who are clearly not up to it. Reckon they used the game to work out who they may cut. I counted five that were not up to the standard.
who were the 5 not up to standard?
and its BT

yeh whos not up to it?

Say that is a problem with the coaching rather the level if no one developed. You should always strive to play the highest level you can, you learn more and when you do go back to thirds, you should have a lot more confidence.

Fair point

also saw united play, very impressive. hard running with height all over the ground. Will definately be in the mix come late September. Report from the KY v's Kangaroo flat game was mixed. Both sides played a hard brand of footy. apparently Will jackson broke his leg which will be a huge loss for the Ky boys. Tight game till 3/4 time then ky broke loose. Oggie played his first game for for the bombers as apparently the bushies gave him a clearance for 1/2 a game. Reports are he turned the game for Ky and they ran away in the last 1/4 to win by 5 goals.Ogden kicked three in the second half. eddie didn't play though would have to think that Jackson will be a big loss for the Ky team as the season starts.

Eddie only had a bad corky will be ready for season opener. Jacko big loss for sure. Can play forward or back, big strong body and a great kick of the pill. As for oggie turning the game. He played well but got a few cheap goals crumming in the goal square. the whole team just played the footy they are capable of instead of the shit they produced in the 2nd and 3rd quarters