Heathcote District FL 2018

Why

Why recruit spending x amount over knowing you can only use smaller amount then having to rest blokes and ask some to take cuts? Ludicrous.
Good question, hard to plan for salary cap, injuries and lack of injuries can influence it , as far as cuts it’s about what the team are prepared to sacrifice in order to maybe be in a position to have a crack at the major prize, it’s my understanding it was all up front before a ball was bounced, as l said points ,salary cap, it’s all a balancing act it’s a pretty competitive industry with strict guide lines.

Definitely wasnt up front as the story doing the rounds and then confirmed a couple of weeks ago was the players were all told where they stood in regards to this after they played Heathcote. Grinton delivered the message and was quite emotional about it.
Over spent and don't have points room to play their best team on the ground even if they can pay them.
This is poor management as it reeks. If Josh Evans was offered a payment per game ( and lets face it - he was) and then said oh by the way your not playing 3 games even if you are fit and we want you to reduce your player payment ( that was offered by the club originally) as over the cap, I do not blame him for saying that's it I'm out. This isnt a good look at all.

Definitely wasnt up front as the story doing the rounds and then confirmed a couple of weeks ago was the players were all told where they stood in regards to this after they played Heathcote. Grinton delivered the message and was quite emotional about it.
Over spent and don't have points room to play their best team on the ground even if they can pay them.
This is poor management as it reeks. If Josh Evans was offered a payment per game ( and lets face it - he was) and then said oh by the way your not playing 3 games even if you are fit and we want you to reduce your player payment ( that was offered by the club originally) as over the cap, I do not blame him for saying that's it I'm out. This isnt a good look at all.

Absolutely spot on! Will hurt them in future recruiting.

It’s the equivalent of paying blokes said amount, then once clearances close, cutting back payments.

Yep....some pretty interesting times coming up. Some big name players pretty unhappy especially those who travel from the big smoke to front up.

If they can get through this season then I expect to see big turnover next year

It’s the equivalent of paying blokes said amount, then once clearances close, cutting back payments.
Unless you know more than l do which l doubt , no player unrest at Huntly, sometimes things don’t work out with club and individuals, can absolutely guarantee no Huntly player will have there payments cut back, no story here boys , look in your own back yard.

I don't have a backyard but no many well connected people who have been in backyards...they tell me there are issues

Roota you’ve had heaps of back yards, let’s see how it plays out, but l’m pretty confident it’s a happy team at Huntly, and you have no connection there , just giving you the facts and no bullshit, mate your an old Mounts boy so talk about them.

Just telling what I've heard old mate...not just Huntly but also the dairy farmers

I am an old Mounts player but don't hear much outa there so not much to say

Just telling what I've heard old mate...not just Huntly but also the dairy farmers also.

I am an old Mounts player but don't hear much outa there so not much to say

Players partners can always do some relief milking for $250 hr to sort it out

Thought id head down to Scott st today and take a look. Have never seen a team get such a terrible run from the umps as white hills got today. Absolutely robbed mounts boys should have cheered the umps off.

Agreed - there’s no game without them and I don’t like to bag the umps but I must say the standard this year has been ordinary. Today at the White Hills/Mounts game it was farcical. Can comfortably say that’s as bad as I’ve seen a senior game of football umpired. Which does nothing for the standard of the league. It’s an issue. Can’t even get boundaries that can throw the ball in at a decent height? Not too sure where to but it’s declining in similar lines as interest in most country football matches at present.

The umpiring at the games ive seen has been pretty avrage but nothing like what I saw yesterday. It seriously cost white hills the game

I got out and watched a little BFL for the first half of the arvo, then headed out to Mounts vs White Hills. I’ll concur with the other posters. The umpiring was disgraceful. I now understand why they feel the need for umpire escorts. They were an embarrassment.

Gotta admit im surprised at the lack of mounts blokes commenting on this. Theres plenty of them on here and there paying a heap, a pack of kids should have rolled them but nothing.

I think it’s hard to put a loss down to 100% on umpiring. But each to their own. The quality was terrible which opens discussion to wether it affected the outcome of the game which certainly isn’t what you want. Checking the seasons scores not too sure Mounts were expected to romp home were they? One team based in a suburb of Bendigo and the other in a decreasing population out of town so $$ aren’t always relevant. Doesn’t guarantee wins that’s for sure.

I couldn't care either way all i saw was a really bad show from umpires that effected an outcome, reckon white hills are basically now amateurs mounts have heaps of ground to pay players.

Wouldnt have mattered yesterday that ones on the umps. Money talks mounts and north have got it, the others dont.

Didn't go to the game myself. Did hear about the umpiring. Also read reports weightman injuried in warm up and still played but couldn't run? Look serious?

Wouldnt have mattered yesterday that ones on the umps. Money talks mounts and north have got it, the others dont.

Maybe, but they are failing to pick up the basics. I realise it is difficult to even get umpires, but I am damn sure they still get paid every week for the poor job they seem to be doing. It is not even a case of missing frees, just pay the same frees all day and both teams will be happy (have some consistency). The boundaries also need to be able to throw it in at least 10m. Really young kids is ok for the thirds or juniors (u14/u16), but not senior and reserve grade footy where they have to throw it in again and again because they couldn't throw it in to the ruck contest.

The points is going to be an interesting one. Huntly and North have really struggled to attract juniors ( not 17’s) this year by all reports. So if they are severely impacted down the line because of their past struggles, will they push for maybe a points allowance. That’s why the points system may actually have a flaw or two? Thoughts.
On the umpires. Clubs in the district are paying top dollar for “administrators”. Not sure how many employees are in the Mundy st offices, but it’s rumoured there’s quite a few, and that the salaries are attractive. Do they maybe push more money to officiate, and really chase hard, former players from around here. Much the same clubs chase players, why couldn’t the umpire associations dangle a slightly better carrot?