dining options in Freo

DMan 11

Apr 3, 2012
Freo
After moving from Freo 10 years ago its been a while since I've dined out in the area.
taking the wife and tin lids along to the AFLW and wanted the general consensus on better dining options around the strip.

From a purely food perspective, what ranks highest for you guys ?
- The Sail and Anchor
- The Monk
- The Mexican Kitchen
- Sala thai

Other suggestions ?

After moving from Freo 10 years ago its been a while since I've dined out in the area.
taking the wife and tin lids along to the AFLW and wanted the general consensus on better dining options around the strip.

- The Sail and Anchor
- The Monk
- The Mexican Kitchen
- Sala thai

Other suggestions ?
With kids? Moore and Moore has a couple of play areas and is next to Paperbird bookshop (which is a kid's bookshop). Bread in Common. Or if you want the harbour side of the train tracks... Little Creatures. Bathers Beach House. Kailis.

- The Sail and Anchor
- The Monk
- The Mexican Kitchen
- Sala thai

Other suggestions ?
None of these.

The Sail and Anchor is a Woolworths pub. Their hiring process is no different to that of shelf-stackers so the staff are pretty bad. Quite common to get rude arseholes in there too, on previous occasions have had to shut up and leave because bogan 'wits were taking the piss. Probably best sumemd up by how many tables are full of people drinking pints at 10am during the week... avoid...

The Monk has always been pretty crappy to me. Just go to Little Creatures. Better beers, much better food. It's a bit of a weekender/tourist trap. Food there's good for sharing with a family.

The Federal Hotel is alright, if you have kids they quite often do two-for-one deals. Not the greatest pub in the world and the outdoor area is a bit naff, but it was pretty well made-over and better than basically any other proper pub in Freo (tho the Norfolk was recently re-done apparently and much better). Bit of a bogan scene in the dart-area at times but the food's decent and their drink specials are good – it's not mid-strength like the Natio nor Swan Draught, or er 'Swanny D' as they call it, like the Sail & Anchor.

Honestly the best options are in South Fremantle. The Local is a great pub, Percy Flint's is a bit of a w***er fest but I'd rather that than bogans. It's got a nice beer garden. Ruocco's is the best food in Freo really – pretty affordable, heaps of options to cater to all sorts, 7 bucks for a liberally poured glass of red. Staff are really attentive and onto it too and it's a good atmosphere.

Tbh why not just go to Old Shanghai? All sorts of Asian. There's a burger place there now too for kids. Pretty affordable all around, I go to the Japanese and it's like 11 bucks for a large dish and some spring rolls. The bar there is good, the woman who works it is really nice, and $10.50 for a pint of Coopers red is pretty impressive... good luck getting a pint of regular Coopers for that much in town. Nice ambience (though there's this annoying *head who always plays steel guitar there), plenty of room in and out. Unfortunately you will have to cross paths with the ******* scmbag busker who noise-pollutes...

Thanks guys, appreciate the feedback.
yeh old Shanghai was always my go-to, I figured it would be too busy to spot 4 seats together after the game .
It’s relatively early in the night so the pub scene is ok, looks like we’ll wander over to little creatures.

Thanks crew !!

Ruocco's is good.
Sala is good but **** me it's expensive these days.

Shanghai for the cheapies.

For Indian I really like The Copper Chimney in South Freo
I was reading this post and thought of the ol' Chimney. It's pretty much standard pricing but the meals are awesome. No stingey all-sauce dishes, plenty of substance and meat in em, and full of flavour. I'm a bit of a curry fiend so ducking down after a few pints and retiring home with sambal chicken with a few ales and watching the footy is pretty much a peak Friday.

Yeah. Tandoori Salmon is amazing, and I like that you can get a dosa and some idli. Not all standard Masala and Jalfrezi

Capri. Classic. Get a couple of fancy beers from from Sail & anchor, free soup, free bread, get veal, fish or the steak depending on what you feel like, Sticky date, panacotta, burnt brown sugar pudding or pavlovas for desert. Seriously I would put their deserts against any place in Perth easily. Simple comfort food made by real pros, its been there like 50 years.

Some suggestions (noting I am more a fine-dinery sort of fellow but I like a good cheap eat as well) noting that I am taking the greater Fremantle area:

• Manuka Woodfire Kitchen - http://www.manukawoodfire.com.au/ - I am pleased to say I didn't know that (central) Freo could have such a good restaurant. Everything (including dessert) is based around the Woodfire. Note you do need to book but something close to a special night out.
  • Bread in Common - https://www.breadincommon.com.au/ - Dining any time of the day in the Notre Dame part of the City - it's good without being great, the exception being the bread which is more in the very good area. Food types are generally tapas/shared plate format.
  • Moore and Moore - https://mooreandmoorecafe.com.au/ - Good place for breakfast - I love their tomato relish with scrambled eggs! You can sit outside as well as in. Also parking is not bad if you go early.
  • Run Amuk Hotdogs Unleashed - http://runamuk.com.au/ A great hotdog place in South Fremantle; obviously a bit different but also very good and fun and cheap. Come prepared to try something new but not fancy and you won't be disappointed.
  • Port City Roasters - https://www.portcityroasters.com.au/ - An old service station in South Fremantle turned into a roasting warehouse which serves good coffee and food for breakfast.
  • Propeller - https://www.propellernorthfreo.com.au/ - all day dining in a cool looking newish building located in North Fremantle. Lunch - dinner like bread in common is sort of tapas / shared dishes style, whilst breakfast is also good.
  • The Modern Eatery - https://themoderneatery.com.au/ - Japanese restaurant in central Freo specialising in aburi sushi / sashimi - it is a good level with some fun options (Not top shelf sushi though). One of the owners was a graduate engineer that did work for me in the past so a shout out to him.
  • Young George - https://www.younggeorge.com.au/ - (Recommended to me by others I trust) - East Fremantle in George Street. I gather this is sort of like the Must Winebar but perhaps broader selection of food with both western and eastern influences.
  • May Street Larder - https://www.facebook.com/maystreetlarder/ - East Freo brunch place, it has gone a bit "raw / organic" for my liking but the coffee is very good, some really good breakfast options.
  • Gypsy Tapas House - http://gypsytapashouse.com.au/ - haven't been there myself but had some great reviews by friends who I trust - again Central Freo option.

Some suggestions (noting I am more a fine-dinery sort of fellow but I like a good cheap eat as well) noting that I am taking the greater Fremantle area:

• Manuka Woodfire Kitchen - http://www.manukawoodfire.com.au/ - I am pleased to say I didn't know that (central) Freo could have such a good restaurant. Everything (including dessert) is based around the Woodfire. Note you do need to book but something close to a special night out.
  • Bread in Common - https://www.breadincommon.com.au/ - Dining any time of the day in the Notre Dame part of the City - it's good without being great, the exception being the bread which is more in the very good area. Food types are generally tapas/shared plate format.
  • Moore and Moore - https://mooreandmoorecafe.com.au/ - Good place for breakfast - I love their tomato relish with scrambled eggs! You can sit outside as well as in. Also parking is not bad if you go early.
  • Run Amuk Hotdogs Unleashed - http://runamuk.com.au/ A great hotdog place in South Fremantle; obviously a bit different but also very good and fun and cheap. Come prepared to try something new but not fancy and you won't be disappointed.
  • Port City Roasters - https://www.portcityroasters.com.au/ - An old service station in South Fremantle turned into a roasting warehouse which serves good coffee and food for breakfast.
  • Propeller - https://www.propellernorthfreo.com.au/ - all day dining in a cool looking newish building located in North Fremantle. Lunch - dinner like bread in common is sort of tapas / shared dishes style, whilst breakfast is also good.
  • The Modern Eatery - https://themoderneatery.com.au/ - Japanese restaurant in central Freo specialising in aburi sushi / sashimi - it is a good level with some fun options (Not top shelf sushi though). One of the owners was a graduate engineer that did work for me in the past so a shout out to him.
  • Young George - https://www.younggeorge.com.au/ - (Recommended to me by others I trust) - East Fremantle in George Street. I gather this is sort of like the Must Winebar but perhaps broader selection of food with both western and eastern influences.
  • May Street Larder - https://www.facebook.com/maystreetlarder/ - East Freo brunch place, it has gone a bit "raw / organic" for my liking but the coffee is very good, some really good breakfast options.
  • Gypsy Tapas House - http://gypsytapashouse.com.au/ - haven't been there myself but had some great reviews by friends who I trust - again Central Freo option.
Nice call on Bread in Common, me and my girl the other day some how ate enough bread and italian sausage we didnt need dinner there, was like a $15 dinner. I wish Run Amuk had a non Bratwurst sausage, best french fries in Freo.