coldog

Mar 27, 2006
you cant see me
Thank u to the guys who decided to make personal attacks at each other and close the thread that I started at the beginning of last year for talk on div 2 WRFL.

Well I will start up another thread for Div. 2 WRFL for 2008 and beyond, but please no personal attacks at each other.

So if anyone has anything productive to add please post, but the saying is "If you have nothing nice to say, dont say it at all".

how can u find something good to say about divi 2 football its the bronx of the WRFL i watch the first 5-10 or so minutes each week after my game is finished and there is always people biffing behind play and giving cheap 1's in the tackles better off not playing at all then playing this kinda footy

That's why you play u/18's, your still a kid mate (soft);), a good hard tackle dosn't mean a cheap shot:thumbsu:

bigd calhoon: from your last post on the other div2 site the answer of who wins norths B.N.F is this saturday night mate!! think ian allen or scotty .e will be the favs going into the night, will keep ya posted,

Thats a pretty fair asssesment of the wrfl div 2. And kid thats the way we like it, back in the day it was alot dirtier, cheap shots used to be apart of footy, nowadays you get sent off if you give the crowd the bird.
the way local footy is heading towards in the wrfl div 2 it'll be so watered down so that by the time you play seniors you can rest assure a spoil will simply be a fist to the footy.:thumbsu:

Thank u to the guys who decided to make personal attacks at each other and close the thread that I started at the beginning of last year for talk on div 2 WRFL.

Well I will start up another thread for Div. 2 WRFL for 2008 and beyond, but please no personal attacks at each other.

So if anyone has anything productive to add please post, but the saying is "If you have nothing nice to say, dont say it at all".

Good Stuff Colddog - as someone with no ties to a div 2 club these days, i'll start off - 1. How will Parkside fare back in div 2 and 2.Any big name recruits from other clubs - rumours of Doutta's boys from Deer Park - if they are big names (i.e a Tankard, a Docherty, a Ramsey or a Phillpot)
then you would have to think they would carve up div 2 coming from EDFL A grade standard.
Will we see Brunswick continue to rise after a much improved 2007? Will the any of Western's U/18's come through to play senior footy? Will all sides be returning or new sides coming in??

Thats a pretty fair asssesment of the wrfl div 2. And kid thats the way we like it, back in the day it was alot dirtier, cheap shots used to be apart of footy, nowadays you get sent off if you give the crowd the bird.
the way local footy is heading towards in the wrfl div 2 it'll be so watered down so that by the time you play seniors you can rest assure a spoil will simply be a fist to the footy.:thumbsu:

Bit harsh comment mate about giving crowd the bird.... If you read Rule 19.2.2(f) it will give you all the info you need on why the report was laid."Use of an obscene gesture.

Last time I checked, giving the crowd the bird is an obscene gesture.

does anyone know if the west footscray players will stay at west or will they look for new homes or chase money at other divy 2 clubs

Bit harsh comment mate about giving crowd the bird.... If you read Rule 19.2.2(f) it will give you all the info you need on why the report was laid."Use of an obscene gesture.

Can tell me where in the rule book it says, "a player having a set shot from the boundary line on has 5 sec to kick" instead of 60 sec.

Good Stuff Colddog - as someone with no ties to a div 2 club these days, i'll start off - 1. How will Parkside fare back in div 2 and 2.Any big name recruits from other clubs - rumours of Doutta's boys from Deer Park - if they are big names (i.e a Tankard, a Docherty, a Ramsey or a Phillpot)
then you would have to think they would carve up div 2 coming from EDFL A grade standard.
Will we see Brunswick continue to rise after a much improved 2007? Will the any of Western's U/18's come through to play senior footy? Will all sides be returning or new sides coming in??

If they get Ramsey he is an absolute gun. He4 will be one of the best in Div2 but I cant see him stepping down to come to WRFL Div2

i havnt herd anything about ramsay......but im sure we will get quality players cause we got the dollars.........

believe me deer park will be turned around with the new people heading the club......we are going places.........;)

Are you obliged seeing an obscene gesture to send someone off, if not could a warning have been better knowing the consequesces.

The dictionary says obscene is 'dealing with sexual matters in an offensive or disgusting way'. What is sexual about giving the bird. Maybe grabbing the groin or something. Is 2 fingers obscene? Have you sent off everyone you have ever seen give the bird? If you have to send someone off for giving the bird which is in no way offensive these days could you have been a bit mature about it and perhaps not seen it or is every rule ever written there to be adhered to and enforced.

If I am not mistaken, you're an under 18? So the game after yours are the reserves? Totally different game to the seniors and probably not the best to judge on.

However, your point does have merit, occasionally there is a bit too much of players going the man instead of the ball or unnecessary carrying on, but I am pretty sure it has been getting better over the last few years.

As for not playing at all, it's football. People play it for different reasons, not everyone is good enough to play division 1, or wants to leave their local club.

Are you obliged seeing an obscene gesture to send someone off, if not could a warning have been better knowing the consequesces.

The dictionary says obscene is 'dealing with sexual matters in an offensive or disgusting way'. What is sexual about giving the bird. Maybe grabbing the groin or something. Is 2 fingers obscene? Have you sent off everyone you have ever seen give the bird? If you have to send someone off for giving the bird which is in no way offensive these days could you have been a bit mature about it and perhaps not seen it or is every rule ever written there to be adhered to and enforced.

You have to admit it was a stupid thing to do, especially in a grand final.

Grand Finals are high pressure situations - people respond differently to it. I know as a u/14 basketballer i flipped the bird off in a G/F to the crowd - something i would never do in a normal match, and just a month ago I saw a women's Big V Basketball game where one of the girls did it. G/F's also have bigger and more vocal crowds so some players wouldn't be used to that sort of situation either. I'm not saying it's right to do, but the umpire should have had a quiet word in the ear first as opposed to a send off.

Yeah, I don't see the harm in a warning, but perhaps the fact it was Division 2's big day of exposure and having that happen had something to do with it. My personal opinion is that it's not very harmful, but at the same time, not the best thing to do.

As for the "stupid thing to do" comment, I don't mean the player himself is stupid, but the act is. I can relate with you in regards to frustrations as everyone can respond differently to pressure or heckling etc. But yeah, wasn't the smartest thing to do.

If I am not mistaken, you're an under 18? So the game after yours are the reserves? Totally different game to the seniors and probably not the best to judge on.

However, your point does have merit, occasionally there is a bit too much of players going the man instead of the ball or unnecessary carrying on, but I am pretty sure it has been getting better over the last few years.

As for not playing at all, it's football. People play it for different reasons, not everyone is good enough to play division 1, or wants to leave their local club.

His game after under 18's is straight to seniors mate :thumbsu:

it doesnt have to be completely clean a spoil should be a fist to the hand/ footy w/e its just bad when ur watching someone get tackled and then a jab in the guts or see there face being put in the dirt then he gets up and the all in is on in the first 10min like dont get me wrong its excellent to watch from the sidelines but that isnt something id wanna play in every week

thats a fair call as i have only seen a bit of 1 seniors game where i only saw the halftime fight because our training was on the other oval

but i can see where ur coming from as rezzies would be alot more dirtier then seniors and thats what im judging from

does anyone know if the west footscray players will stay at west or will they look for new homes or chase money at other divy 2 clubs

Most likely the guys for parkside, will head back and rip them a new, apart from them, We$t will keep every1, even laney is coming back to play on one leg b/c we$t are $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ up! What do you reckon H & B?

i think a few will stay in divy 2 or retire becuse alot of them arnt worth $$$$ in divy 1 and will struggle to get a kick and probly be in and out of the seniors team

like who?
if the team was to make the finals next year i would think only saliba, ziggy, chicky,henry and evans would play in the seniors all year and a few others would be in and out, how many players and who would u think would get a game evry week with spotty, hoppers n colts

just focus on staying up next year let alone playing finals