Banter Who will be better in 2024? Carlton or Collingwood?

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2024?

Let’s be realistic, either team could have won that game. Carlton certainly had their chances to win it. And Carlton did dominate in patches.

But Collingwood were the better team across the four quarters.

Probably best for Carlton that they did lose it to provide them with a fair indication of where they’re at.

It’s a long season. For perspective Carlton are still tracking ahead of where they were this time last year.

Fair enough but I think that's all very subjective and I don't believe that there is a 'best', there are quite a few extremely good players but putting them up against each other isn't easy. These days when deciding a 'best' people invariably pick midfielders, I don't necessarily agree with that, it's why I no longer take much interest in the Brownlow, it's too midfielder-centric.

I find it easier to name a GOAT and that for me is Ablett Senior, IMO streets ahead of anybody past or present.
Your comment was “he may very well turn into one of the competitions best”. You don’t watch much football if you don’t think he is already one of the competitions best.

as much as I hate Carlton, they at least have some cred in this competition. they may have been putrid for the majority of the past 28 years, but I lived through their golden era, and I'm quite happy to say, I'm sh!t scared of it happening again. I'll give them grief in this thread about the past 28 years, because I copped it big time during our 32 year drought.
You have no business having a go at either of these clubs in this thread, you have achieved nothing, and the way its looking probably never will.
The Suns, GWS and even the new Tassie team, will all land their first flags before the poor Dockers do!:laughv1:

Yes, I am in a banter thread.

Yes, my team did lose on Friday night much to my disappointment and frustration.

Yes, I hate Collingwood's guts (though I am both smart and willing enough to admit they have the edge at the moment, though that like everything in footy will eventually change. None of us know when nor for how long, all of us with common sense just know it will).

These kind of threads are just pointless. Because there is no end to them. There never will be. Not only that, it will always see-saw.

But I remain here because I reserve the right to defend and stand by my team. I stick around, hopeful to see my club win a flag (and they will, but like I just said, none of us know when).

I too remain here because I am going to reply to stupid posts and correct them. Sure, we all are different and think differently. But some of the nonsense spewed up here deserves to be criticised and ridiculed (e.g. Sam Walsh is weak/****). This isn't banter, this is rubbish.

Sure I can banter, but I will stick with the general banter rather than that around the clubs and their current performances because the truth is I myself don't act as if I along with however I support my team, is the reason for my team's success or failure.
I've seen worse places than this thread with regards to online abuse mate.

In fact the Collingwood contingent here have been diplomatic enough with me, despite the fact that i like to try and get them riled up a lot of the time!

Hate the club but not the person is the creed i abide by mate.

In fact the Collingwood contingent here have been diplomatic enough with me, despite the fact that i like to try and get them riled up a lot of the time!

Ah, so that’s what you’re trying to do!

I guess it must be disappointing that your footy club doesn’t provide you with any material to work with?

:)

Ah, so that’s what you’re trying to do!

I guess it must be disappointing that your footy club doesn’t provide you with any material to work with?

:)
We're getting there we have assembled our strongest list since the David Parkin era.

We're gradually coming to terms and getting to grips with how modern footy works!

Irish Rail used to use the slogan a lot done but a lot more to do in their adverts.

That kind of sums up where the Blues are at this current moment in time.

Yes, I am in a banter thread.

Yes, my team did lose on Friday night much to my disappointment and frustration.

Yes, I hate Collingwood's guts (though I am both smart and willing enough to admit they have the edge at the moment, though that like everything in footy will eventually change. None of us know when nor for how long, all of us with common sense just know it will).

These kind of threads are just pointless. Because there is no end to them. There never will be. Not only that, it will always see-saw.

But I remain here because I reserve the right to defend and stand by my team. I stick around, hopeful to see my club win a flag (and they will, but like I just said, none of us know when).

I too remain here because I am going to reply to stupid posts and correct them. Sure, we all are different and think differently. But some of the nonsense spewed up here deserves to be criticised and ridiculed (e.g. Sam Walsh is weak/****). This isn't banter, this is rubbish.

Sure I can banter, but I will stick with the general banter rather than that around the clubs and their current performances because the truth is I myself don't act as if I along with however I support my team, is the reason for my team's success or failure.
It is a banter thread, but you can’t cry poor when a few Collingwood have a crack at Walsh.

Read through the last 3 years worth of Carlton/Collingwood threads, and see what Carlton folk have said about Daicos. We are merely amateurs compared to you blokes.

It is a banter thread, but you can’t cry poor when a few Collingwood have a crack at Walsh.

Read through the last 3 years worth of Carlton/Collingwood threads, and see what Carlton folk have said about Daicos. We are merely amateurs compared to you blokes.
you're not allowed to insult walsh because...

you just can't okay!!!!

Your comment was “he may very well turn into one of the competitions best”. You don’t watch much football if you don’t think he is already one of the competitions best.
I watch plenty of football and have done so over many years, I don't declare anybody 'one of the best' a couple of years into their careers .

Um no! I don't think I will.

I will only go by what it is I see.

And what I have seen is 'Sam Walsh is weak' and all that.
Are we talking about the same Sam Walsh that won Mark of the year a few years back for running straight into a pack? That Sam Walsh? Okay then.

When have I myself ever talked crap about Nick Daicos? Sure I had questions about him early last year but midway through the season, I will admit he did convince me he was a serious player. Already a star, there is no denying that.

But maybe... just maybe... the reason why Nick Daicos has copped all this criticism for his weaknesses elsewhere is because the media and fans are ****-riding him. There's the fact his name is Daicos and plays for Collingwood (would he be getting this much talk-up if his last name was Rodgers or Jones). He was picked up very early in the draft (rightly so).
Then you have fellow people on here coming out in just his third year claiming how he can be the all-time AFL goat. It's as if he is absolutely flawless in the game. Almost as absurd as the unprecedented Clayton Oliver stuff.

Newsflash. He is an A-grade star but he isn't perfect. No player is. Not even Lockett, nor Matthews, nor GAS were. Heck even Franklin.

Carlton fans have never considered Walsh to be a potential GOAT. We know his weaknesses. We have only been comparing him to Daicos based on certain aspects like other fans with Gulden, Green, Serong, etc.

And yes. Walsh had a poor few seconds on Daicos. But are we seriously making it out like he couldn't potentially have the same blemish from Walsh or any other player in the future? You don't remember the moment last year when he hesitated to tackle a rampaging Cripps who would start a play that led to a Jesse Motlop goal? Daicos didn't lose his superstar status because of that, nor should he. All players make several mistakes at some points throughout their careers.

This isn't about copping anything. It is about knowing what 'banter' is. Besides, if you read something stupid, don't try to match it. Prove you are better than that.

Are we talking about the same Sam Walsh that won Mark of the year a few years back for running straight into a pack? That Sam Walsh? Okay then.

When have I myself ever talked crap about Nick Daicos? Sure I had questions about him early last year but midway through the season, I will admit he did convince me he was a serious player. Already a star, there is no denying that.

But maybe... just maybe... the reason why Nick Daicos has copped all this criticism for his weaknesses elsewhere is because the media and fans are ****-riding him. There's the fact his name is Daicos and plays for Collingwood (would he be getting this much talk-up if his last name was Rodgers or Jones). He was picked up very early in the draft (rightly so).
Then you have fellow people on here coming out in just his third year claiming how he can be the all-time AFL goat. It's as if he is absolutely flawless in the game. Almost as absurd as the unprecedented Clayton Oliver stuff.

Newsflash. He is an A-grade star but he isn't perfect. No player is. Not even Lockett, nor Matthews, nor GAS were. Heck even Franklin.

Carlton fans have never considered Walsh to be a potential GOAT. We know his weaknesses. We have only been comparing him to Daicos based on certain aspects like Gulden, Green, etc. have.

And yes. Walsh had a poor few seconds on Daicos. But are we seriously making it out like he couldn't potentially have the same blemish from Walsh or any other player in the future? You don't remember the moment last year when he hesitated to tackle a rampaging Cripps who would start a play that led to a Jesse Motlop goal? Daicos didn't lose his superstar status because of that, nor should he. All players make several mistakes at some points throughout their careers.

This isn't about copping anything. It is about knowing what 'banter' is. Besides, if you read something stupid, don't try to match it. Prove you are better than that.
Sometimes , they just aren't better though :p

Still hard to say. Carlton have a fair injury list while Collingwood will only get DeGoey back.

Tactics in the middle clearances won’t be tolerated by umpires in finals.

Carlton fans have never considered Walsh to be a potential GOAT. We know his weaknesses. We have only been comparing him to Daicos based on certain aspects like other fans with Gulden, Green, Serong, etc.

The hype?

What the fact that he scored perfect votes in his first season winning the Rising Star.

Second Season - AA rover and leading Brownlow medal before he cracked his knee. Comes back and is instrumental in PF and GF.

Not sure if that’s ‘hype’.

But again all your doing is condoning the slander of Daicos and then crying when a few take a few shots at Walsh’s blemishes.

Well worth a read

View attachment 1981194

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app
You know as well as i do Walsh wasn't on Daicos the whole game so why bother with the crap? Take note i didn't say Daicos isn't a great player, i don't want to hurt all you blokes feelings.

Let’s be realistic, either team could have won that game. Carlton certainly had their chances to win it. And Carlton did dominate in patches.

But Collingwood were the better team across the four quarters.

Probably best for Carlton that they did lose it to provide them with a fair indication of where they’re at.

It’s a long season. For perspective Carlton are still tracking ahead of where they were this time last year.
Pies should have won by 5+ goals.
Blues lucky to still be in it in the last quarter.

On that last line. They are 2 points better than this time last season.

I think there is a Carlton poster whose name is literally WalshistheGOAT