• St Kilda

Votes: 17 2.6%
  • West Coast

Votes: 126 19.1%
  • One of the rest

Votes: 17 2.6%

2 in the last 34 years, so we’ve actually won less than our fair share over that time…

That’s some pretty ancient history you’re going by there!
Who has won the most spoons in the AFL era?

EDIT just had a look it's the Blues with four. Add them to the poll?

I'll go with history.

CLUBSPOONSYEARSAVE.
1​
33​
33.0​
5​
151​
30.2​
GWS
2​
14​
7.0​
11​
122​
11.1​
North
15​
154​
10.3​
27​
150​
5.6​
1​
37​
37.0​
Other
51​
1147​
22.5​

St Kilda averages 1 spoon evey 6 years or so.
Last wooden spoon 2014 so they are due.

Despite their wretched history, reckon the saints are locked in no man’s land atm.
They’ll probably drop right off in time to coincide with Tassie’s entry into the competition.
Such is life …

I'll go with history.

CLUBSPOONSYEARSAVE.
1​
33​
33.0​
5​
151​
30.2​
GWS
2​
14​
7.0​
11​
122​
11.1​
North
15​
154​
10.3​
27​
150​
5.6​
1​
37​
37.0​
Other
51​
1147​
22.5​

St Kilda averages 1 spoon evey 6 years or so.
Last wooden spoon 2014 so they are due.
27 in over 150 years... That’s impressive! At an average of 5.6 to say they’re over due is a massive understatement. And here me thinking them being in no mans land over the past few years was a bad thing! Surprised I haven’t seen the Saintsational 10th place finish commemorative DVD on sale this Christmas.

Hey mate you might want to check your login, looks like your seven year old is posting on your account again.

50/50 against Saints when they've won the past 5, Hawthorns midfield is decidedly worse, and playing Saints at their home ground?
Good points but I think the Saints will struggle (in the short term, they have picked up some good recently) especially while King is out. Our midfield is young but better balanced than it was and will be improving.

On SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Good points but I think the Saints will struggle (in the short term, they have picked up some good recently) especially while King is out. Our midfield is young but better balanced than it was and will be improving.

On SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app
You just lost two of your best three mids, your midfield is going to be a lot worse next year. If we were to play you tomorrow even without King we'd be hot favourite, there's no way it would be a 50/50 game as you make out. Not saying you can't or won't beat us, but the idea that we are just going to drop down the ladder into wooden spoon territory is fairly baseless.

Maybe, maybe not. If not I'll happily keep the two firsts, however it's win win from my perspective given the strength of the top 1 & top 10 next year.
Depends. WCE only do that trade if they value other players fairly evenly with Reid. They'll go who they consider best available f there's a clear standout otherwise, they always do.

Think it's worth keeping an eye on. Rawlings & Eagles list management team have a great relationship & will find a mutually beneficial landing (if Eagles do spoon).

You just lost two of your best three mids, your midfield is going to be a lot worse next year. If we were to play you tomorrow even without King we'd be hot favourite, there's no way it would be a 50/50 game as you make out. Not saying you can't or won't beat us, but the idea that we are just going to drop down the ladder into wooden spoon territory is fairly baseless.
Yeah they were reportedly rated the worst midfield in the comp last year and as you say, they’ve just lost two of their best 3 in there.

Their midfield will legitimately be akin to those of Gold Coast and GWS in their inaugural seasons. When GC had Ablett Jnr and a bunch of kids and GWS had Ward and a bunch of kids.

Their midfield will presumably be led by 29 game Newcomb and James Worpel.

Whilst I think Hawks by a mile, I personally hope it's the Eagles. North then trade their two firsts for Pick 1 - Netting NM Harley Reid & WCE Curtin & Tholstrup.

North getting Harley Reid would be incredible for them, especially if Clarkson can work his magic over the next 3-5 seasons.. their list has serious potential..

A forward line with a mix of Reid, larkey, sheezel and zurrhar is potentially elite.

Their midfield build has been impressive as well. LDU is all going to get better and can become an elite midfielder. Simpkin is an excellent player. Wardlaw will be a star. If and it’s a big if, the likes of Tarryn Thomas, will Phillips and Tom Powell come on under Clarkson and George can return from his acl, north are building something impressive. That midfield unit has potential to push north into a top 4 team in 3 years time.

Ben McKay is a seriously good key defender. He would be elite at a top team. Griffen Logue coming in will be important.

Watching North Melbourne, Hawthorn and Adelaide over the next 3-4 seasons is going to be fascinating as they are all currently in a similar position on-field.

Yeah they were reportedly rated the worst midfield in the comp last year and as you say, they’ve just lost two of their best 3 in there.

Their midfield will legitimately be akin to those of Gold Coast and GWS in their inaugural seasons. When GC had Ablett Jnr and a bunch of kids and GWS had Ward and a bunch of kids.

Their midfield will presumably be led by 29 game Newcomb and James Worpel.
Plus we’ve got Amon who take some centre bounces, and the fact we are unlikely to need to play Nash as a ruck bringing him back to his strength as an inside mid, along with the addition of Meek and Stephens with Ward and MacDonald in their second year, and MacKenzie and Weddle to be pushed through there with Maginness and Day and it’s almost a completely new midfield group with plenty of upside at our disposal.

Most Hawks are excited to watch the growth, win, lose or draw.

Plus we’ve got Amon who take some centre bounces, and the fact we are unlikely to need to play Nash as a ruck bringing him back to his strength as an inside mid, along with the addition of Meek and Stephens with Ward and MacDonald in their second year, and MacKenzie and Weddle to be pushed through there with Maginness and Day and it’s almost a completely new midfield group with plenty of upside at our disposal.

Amon is an outside midfielder.

I can't recall him taking any centre bounces for Port.

Yes can understand that though it has a time limit

Amon is an outside midfielder.

I can't recall him taking any centre bounces for Port.

He has. If I recall correctly, he destroyed us out of the middle in round 2 despite the fact we won by 10 goals.

Also a Port fan may be able to correct me, but I believe he attended multiple centre bounces and ended up laying 10 tackles coming on early as the sub the week after he was omitted.

He had CBA's in 17 games in 2022.
Fair enough... but that is less than 1 per game... so confirms my point he is hardly an inside midfielder as more suited on the outside.

Think you read that wrong, he attend CBA's in 17 games this year.

Don't worry, I read it at 17 attended also.

Dunno how many he actually attended though.

Fixture Who finishes last in 2023?