What Will Minson said to Kane Cornes

Poor form from Will Minson to cross the line in such a way with his on-field sledging.

Poor form from Mike Sheahan to pay ex-footballers for crappy interviews and go muck-raking in this manner. What's the point? Is this really how he wishes to "celebrate" the careers of past players and "tell their stories" ? Is there any particular reason to drag this one up? Did it have further ramifications e.g. Was Kane Cornes suspended for 8 weeks for kicking Minson in the head in retaliation? No…

If Big Will has apologised previously to Kane Cornes then it's unnecessary from Cornes to give this further oxygen and not let sleeping dogs lie. If Minson never gave a personal apology, then f**k him… But it just seems wrong to me that Cornes would take money for an interview and then allow Sheahan to exploit this incident.

Pretty poor form from outraged citizens on Big Footy not to recognise that Minson was a professional footballer who was simply trying to put Cornes off his game. This sledge cannot be equated to a person making the same remark at the pub, or a crazed fan shouting it from over the fence.

Not that I'm saying it's acceptable in any shape or form for footballers to act like sociopathic campaigners, but footy is a bit like war and people say and do things in the heat of battle they might later regret. It's wrong to judge Minson harshly over this sledging. He was a dick and he would regret he ever said it.

Do we all think Adam Selwood is a pedophile because of what he said about Des Headland's daughter?
No. It was just an ignorant, dumbarse, moronic sledge which was said in the heat of battle.

Forget about it...

Steve Waugh said nothing of the sort to Chris cairns, cairns family along with Chris have corrected this 'myth' over the years. Dunno where it come from.

What Will Minson said was seven years ago argument doesn't work! On Open Mike, there 20 to 30 year old news/wounds that get opened up so this is relatively recent in comparison and absolutely pathetic! It shows weak character and downright hatred towards the opposition.

Reading more comments, WTF do people expect Cornes to say in the interview?

Lie? Say it was nothing personal?

He was asked the question, he gave the answer.

Again, why should Cornes give a moment's thought about Minson?
This is the third time Minson has been dragged through the mud over this. Kane Cornes had the chance to be above bringing this back up again especially in that detail.

What he allegedly said is the worst I have heard about during an AFL match.

For the record I reckon Pearce was pretty soft with his reaction to Minson.

That's why it's sad he stooped to this level. Not just once on the field, but twice. A man with a supposed intellect should know better. Unless he's fooled us all and is just the run of the mill bogan who can play a musical instrument?

Haha, he's definitely not just a run of the mill bogan. Aside from the musical instruments, engineering degree, languages etc. there's real substance to the whole smart guy meme. You only have to speak to him to know it. He absolutely gets a bit of white line fever though.

Poor form from Will Minson to cross the line in such a way with his on-field sledging.

Poor form from Mike Sheahan to pay ex-footballers for crappy interviews and go muck-raking in this manner. What's the point? Is this really how he wishes to "celebrate" the careers of past players and "tell their stories" ? Is there any particular reason to drag this one up? Did it have further ramifications e.g. Was Kane Cornes suspended for 8 weeks for kicking Minson in the head in retaliation? No…

If Big Will has apologised previously to Kane Cornes then it's unnecessary from Cornes to give this further oxygen and not let sleeping dogs lie. If Minson never gave a personal apology, then f**k him… But it just seems wrong to me that Cornes would take money for an interview and then allow Sheahan to exploit this incident.

Pretty poor form from outraged citizens on Big Footy not to recognise that Minson was a professional footballer who was simply trying to put Cornes off his game and this comment cannot be equated to a person making the same remark at the pub, or a fan leaning over the fence. Not saying it's acceptable in any shape or form for footballers to act like sociopathic campaigners, but footy is a bit like war and people say and do things in the heat of battle they might later regret. It's wrong to judge Minson harshly over this sledging. He was dick and he probably regrets ever said it.

Do we all think Adam Selwood is a pedophile because of what he said about Des Headland's daughter?
No. It was just an ignorant, dumbarse, moronic sledge which was said in the heat of battle.

Forget about it...
You make a valid point about whether Minson has apologised or not. Has it been established whether he has or hasn't?

He rang after the game but Cornes didn't take his call (fair enough). He publically apologised in the days after, which is now 7 years ago

Its not that offensive imho, certainly not as bad as Adam Selwood's comments to Des Headland. If i was Cornes i'd just take it on the chin and move on instead of bringing it up on television half a decade later.

Must be another slow news day in Adelaide i guess.

Prob also doesn't need oxygen so no one has to answer but what happened between selwood and headland that is worse than Minson to Cornes?

Headland has a tatt of his young daughter on his shoulder, and from memory (from the media reports of the tribunal hearing):

Selwood: Who's that on your shoulder? I f**ked her...

Headland: What? That's my daughter!

Selwood: Yeah I f**ked her...

Headland: *whack*

Headland was subsequently cleared of striking under the unusual clause of the tribunal believing he was sufficiently provoked.

Cornes chasing a buck going on Open Mike and dredging the whole thing up again is also ordinary.

I'll ask Kane. Shouldn't you be putting out fires?
How do you know Cornes was paid for it?

I'm sure it wasn't him "dredging the whole thing up again", but rather responding to a line of questioning from Mike.

Regardless of the time it happened did Cornes actually belt him when he said it.
There is a line and this is it.
If Cornes didn't absolutely smash him (I can't remember) then he really has voided his ability to speak about it 7 years later. If someone said that about his son he absolutely had the right to cave the guy.

Just to give this issue some proper context.
At the time of the sledge Cornes was busy mouthing off about Wil's brother Hugh (formerly Port listed) having no heart and being too soft for AFL football.
After the game, Wil sought out Cornes to apologise once after the siren and again the next day. Cornes had not complained and Wil had brought this up off his own bat.

The Danyle Pearce sledge overreaction is still hilarious to this day. Seriously, your mum jokes were basically the only way the mates and I used to communicate through most of highschool.

Just to give this issue some proper context.
At the time of the sledge Cornes was busy mouthing off about Wil's brother Hugh (formerly Port listed) having no heart and being too soft for AFL football.

That's simply not good enough.

Mouthing off about someone's brother being shit at football is not personal, football is the game they're playing and football is what Cornes' related the sledge too.

Speaking about someone's sick child? ****ing crosses the line and is incomprehensible. I hope you weren't trying to justify the sledge. It was a shit thing to say.

What Will Minson said to Kane Cornes