angry steve

Boston Celtics
This is something that has been bugging me for quite a while and I feel something needs to be said. What the hell is the problem with some of our “supporters” who constantly and consistently bag Adam Cooney?

This came to a head this morning on SEN1116 when Andy Maher placed him as one of his top 5 performers for round one and went as far as to say that Cooney was his tip for the Brownlow and he had actually put quite a bit of money on him to win. This was almost immediately followed up by a call from some moronic and extremely un-articulate supporter named ‘Fred’ who questioned whether Maher had even been at the weekend’s game as Fred advised us all that Cooney was “slow and disinterested” the eintire match and was generally not good enough. I read this board very often (although admittedly rarely post on it) and this is a view that is unfortunately very common around these parts.

WHAT THE HELL DO YOU EXPECT FROM THIS GUY? He gets 31 possessions (81% are effective), 4 crucial clearances (one blistering clearance out of the center with 3mins to go which put us in front), 6 inside 50s, 7 contested possessions, is pretty much universally acknowledged to the BOG and yet some numbskull Western Bulldog supporters still feel the kid wasn’t good enough.

“Slow and disinterested?” - Did you stop and think that he has probably run around the 15km mark over the course of the game chasing the ball and setting up others? He is probably stuffed. I guarantee you that no one will play 75% of an AFL game in the center and look lightning fast and as alert as a tiger the entire time. Anyone that has watched the Bulldogs and Cooney over the last few years will know that he appears casual at times as he has fairly ordinary posture, which is exaggerated a bit when he’s buggered. It still doesn’t change the fact that if he didn’t play like he did on Sunday we would have almost certainly lost – and yet some people still feel he is under-performing…

I agree that in the past he has been quite off and on, but the fact that he has played through a fairly bad (and VERY painful) case of OP explains a lot as does the fact that he is still only 22 years old.

I am 25 y/o and in my time I can only remember 4 other Doggies players who were this good and this capable of dominating matches at the age of roughly 21-22 y/o. They are Chris Grant, Scott West, Brad Johnson and Nathan Brown - I think that says a lot about the Coon.

The fact that ‘experts’ out there are tipping this guy to win the Brownlow is evidence enough .
If you are going to continue to make negative comments about his play I will put it to you that you know a lot less about this game that you follow than you think you do.

Get off Adam Cooney’s back and enjoy him for what he is – a brilliant young player and one of the very best young players in the entire league.
We should be ecstatic we have him – I bet the Crows wish he would return home after the way he played on Sunday........

I agree he played a fantastic game on the weekend and most of the points you have raised are spot on. Consistnency is the key from now on.

A. S. there is nothing easier than bagging a bloke on an internet forum or talkback show and someone like Cooney will be a target due to the expectation on him. Don't let it get you down :thumbsu:.

Great post Angry Steve. I also read this board on a regular basis but am not a regular contributor, and I must say that this is one of most intelligent posts that I have seen on this board for a long, long time.

Love your work:thumbsu:

Great post Angry Steve. I also read this board on a regular basis but am not a regular contributor, and I must say that this is one of most intelligent posts that I have seen on this board for a long, long time.

Love your work:thumbsu:

Thanks mate - appreciate it

I have never bagged the guy and think he has a great future

My only negative point Im a bit over him playing great games against the crows then followed by a crap game the week after

That happens alot with him

Hope its not the case this week

I'm loving that I backed the Coondog at 100-1 for the brownlow a few weeks back. I reckon he should have a stellar year now that he's actually had a pre-season.

You are spot on Angry Steve - everything you said was spot on - the fact that he is 22 yrs old makes me excited that he might be in the kennell for another 10 years...

Consistency is the key to Cooney becoming one of the truely great current players.

I love the bloke and can see that he is ready to explode. He will be our topline midfielder for years to come.

I have never understood when people have used the words "trade" and "Cooney" in the same sentence on this board.

Brilliant post Angry Steve.

Good post Angry Steve. He is something special. Let's hope that this year he can produce this on a weekly basis.

Nice rant Steve.

Agree that we have been harsh on him in the past with the injury problems he has had to deal with.

Undoubtably he is talented, but the 2 things he needs to do better are:

1. Deal with a close tag - Which will happen to him more and more as the season goes on.

2. Curb the influence/ Pay more respect to your direct opponent.

I thought he was very good on Sunday and hope he can continue to play at this level or close to it for the entire season.

Well I have Cooney in my Dreram Team and Super coach sides and as Captain of both and he returned over 200 points for my teams. So I am a big supporter of his and hope he can keep it up all season. :thumbsu:

It needs to be remembered that it is a scientific fact that 98% of people who ring in to SEN are hipster dufuses. The Coondog is a gun, the best player from his draft who now fully fit will rip it up big time this year.

In relation to his inconsistant performances, you have to remember he has spent the last two seasons battling OP. I can imagine that after an intense game he will pull up pretty sore and have to take it easy for a while. This is nto an ideal way to struggle through the demands of an AFL season.

Im just guessing, but if he is pretty much over his OP now, as his preseason form suggests, we might see some consistantly excellent footy out of the Dawg.

I hate holier than thou posts.

I love Cooney, if you have a problem with some bagging Cooney then tell them. Don't tell us.

I'm still trying to figure out how a caller on SEN has anything to do with bigfooty. But anyway, i think you'll find everyone or nearly everyone that voted for the bigfooty Bulldogs ching medal gave Cooney votes.

Get off my back.

Ching voting here.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=424762&page=2

Why didn't you ring SEN and put your view forward?

Easy to write something here isn't it.

So me thinks you don't really think that strongly about that person coments

Why didn't you ring SEN and put your view forward?

Easy to write something here isn't it.

I didn't call SEN as I was at work and have better things to do.

Yes, it is easier to write things here on bigfooty when I am at work - hence the reason I did it, genius...

I find it puzzling that someone can be criticized on an internet forum for simply offering a few observations and an opinion.

As for so called "Holier than thou posts": I wasn't intimating that the negative views of Cooney's play was rife amongst Bulldogs supporters and that I was the only one who could "see the light". I was simply expressing my frustration that some supporters continue to bag Cooney regardless of whether he's plays extremely well(ie. on Sunday) or poorly.
Did you stop and realise that the original post was possibly directed at supporters with a different view to yourself Butane? When you say "us" who are you representing exactly? And don't give me a cheesy line such as the "broader Western Bulldogs supporter group". My views are as valid as your's are....

If you think the original post sounded self righteous - it wasn't intentional.

I think overall this board is pretty positive regarding Cooney. We just get frustrated when he seemingly doesn't want to push himself to beat a tag, because we all know that if he pushes that little bit more (and has a full pre-season under his belt) he could really dominate games.

Nice rant Steve.

Agree that we have been harsh on him in the past with the injury problems he has had to deal with.

Undoubtably he is talented, but the 2 things he needs to do better are:

1. Deal with a close tag - Which will happen to him more and more as the season goes on.

2. Curb the influence/ Pay more respect to your direct opponent.

I thought he was very good on Sunday and hope he can continue to play at this level or close to it for the entire season.

Not that I don't agree but why is it that Judd is never asked to pay more respect to his opponent? Maybe because when he played for the Eagles others covered for him. I think that may be the real problem.

On Sunday Adam pretty much went head to head with Reilly. Up until he hurt his wrist Reilly along with a couple other's (Burton, Porplyzia) were Adelaide's most influential player's. I understand Cooney needs to be our 'attacking' midfielder, but he also needs to find the balance between atatck and defence.

Judd is a good defensive player in that rather than defending one player he defends space and is very good at closing down the space of players in possession.

WHAT THE HELL DO YOU EXPECT FROM THIS GUY? He gets 31 possessions (81% are effective), 4 crucial clearances (one blistering clearance out of the center with 3mins to go which put us in front), 6 inside 50s, 7 contested possessions, is pretty much universally acknowledged to the BOG and yet some numbskull Western Bulldog supporters still feel the kid wasn’t good enough.

42 touches at 91%efficiency 8 clearances 9 inside 50's 14 constested posessions 10 tackles and 5 goals:rolleyes:;)

well said a.s. btw were is all the gia haters. no one is knocking him this week either after such a great performance.
And those Boyd haters of a couple of years ago seem to have vanished completly ;)