parano1a

Melbourne Storm
Huge task for the Storm this weekend travelling to NZ minus nine of their best players... Sportsbet have them as $2.35 underdogs to the Warriors' $1.55 which is strange to see for the top side on the ladder that has lost only two games for the season. Even the Herald Sun rugby league writer has tipped the Storm to lose, which is quite a rarity.

Going in with nothing to lose, they might still be able to pull this one off if quality players like Turner, Geyer, Cronk and Israel can step up. Also it will be good to see young gun Will Chambers get a run not to mention new recruit Clint Newton from the Knights.

NZ must win this game. Their season is slipping away rapidly. Never better time to get the Storm than this weekend. I expect the Warriors to win 22-16.
For the Storm, Aubusson has been very good in his game time this season as well. I love trhe enthusiasm he injects into the team. A real energetic type who seems to ignite others around him.
I won't mind dropping this game, providing we beat the Cowboys next weekend as I will be there in person and knocking them off at Dairy Farmers would be swet music.:D

Melbourne to win. The Warriors always play at 90% of the their opposition to come up just short and I believe this will be the case again this week.

Melbourne 22 bt Warriors 14

Doubt we will win this one, we will have a virtual no name bench and just too much quality overall missing. The Warriors play well against us too and playing at home will obviously help.

Looking forward to seeing the likes of Chambers, Manu, Blair, Rua and Newton though. They all need to step up.

Very ordinary weather in Auckland this morning.

Winter has arrived.

Was thinking of heading in and having a look, but I'll probably head out next weekend to the Penriff game.

Shihad are playing a free gig after the game in the Supertop next door.

Very ordinary weather in Auckland this morning.

Winter has arrived.

Was thinking of heading in and having a look, but I'll probably head out next weekend to the Penriff game.

Shihad are playing a free gig after the game in the Supertop next door.

The Warriors have a better chance this week against the understrength Storm then the mighty Penrith Panthers. :D

Bring back Tony Kemp. At least his teams weren't as boring as Cleary's mob of average Aussie plodders.

New Zealand Warriors my arse.
Funny you say that. When I attended the Storm vs Warriors match at olympic Park earlier ij the season, there was a very big, tall Maori guy standing behind me shouting abuse at the Warriors all day that they had 'Too many Aussies in our team bro'. Well all well and good. But after the 40 thousandth time I turned around and said to him, 'There aren't any Kiwis left in NZ 'bro' coz they're all over here bludging on our welfare system'.

What an awful game. Delighted to get the points though considering all the players we had out. Hopefully we put up a better performance against the Cowgirls next week, we'll need to.

tugga said:
Funny you say that. When I attended the Storm vs Warriors match at olympic Park earlier ij the season, there was a very big, tall Maori guy standing behind me shouting abuse at the Warriors all day that they had 'Too many Aussies in our team bro'.

There's Aussies and there's Aussies, bro. This team is chock full of dull, boring plodders who simply have no idea how to score a try. Send them home I say.

tugga said:
Well all well and good. But after the 40 thousandth time I turned around and said to him, 'There aren't any Kiwis left in NZ 'bro' coz they're all over here bludging on our welfare system'.

"All" bro? That's a pretty bold statement to make. Do you have any proof of this, or is it just more Ocker BS?

There's Aussies and there's Aussies, bro. This team is chock full of dull, boring plodders who simply have no idea how to score a try. Send them home I say.

"All" bro? That's a pretty bold statement to make. Do you have any proof of this, or is it just more Ocker BS?
I actually agree with you. Perhaps it's time the Warriors got back to their roots so to speak. I honestly can't see too many Aussies being passionate about playing for a team that represents another country.
It's different for a Kiwi playing for, say, Paramatta or Penrith, because they are representin a club, not another country. If the situation was reversed and NZ had 15 teams and Aust 1, I wouldn't think there'd be many Kiwis being too passionate about playing for a team that represented Australia.
i realise it's not representitive football and they're not really playing for NZ, but they ae playing for a team that represents New Zealand nonetheless.
I think the Warriors should bite the bullet and start blooding young Kiwis who are passionate about respresenting the Warriors even if it means taking a slide right down the ladder for a few years. Build a passionate base full of energetic young 'locals' and go from there.
PS: Mate, if you had've heard this clown, he deserved it. I'll stand there and cop opposition supporters being loud and supporting their team (that's what it's all about), but when it gets laced with profanities and stupidly repetitive, then it's time to pipe up and say something. Strange that he had no comeback.

What an awful game. Delighted to get the points though considering all the players we had out. Hopefully we put up a better performance against the Cowgirls next week, we'll need to.
The N.QLD Cowboys (minus Thurston) vs last placed Roosters: LOST 64-30
Melbourne Storm (minus 9 starters) vs NZ Warriors in Auckland: WIN 4-2

For the young Melbourne Storm fellas to come anywhere within 30 points of the Warriors would be an acheivement, let alone win the game. If they don't win the premiership this year then I'll run to Melbourne in a purple G-String. :eek:

I actually agree with you. Perhaps it's time the Warriors got back to their roots so to speak. I honestly can't see too many Aussies being passionate about playing for a team that represents another country.
It's different for a Kiwi playing for, say, Paramatta or Penrith, because they are representin a club, not another country. If the situation was reversed and NZ had 15 teams and Aust 1, I wouldn't think there'd be many Kiwis being too passionate about playing for a team that represented Australia.
i realise it's not representitive football and they're not really playing for NZ, but they ae playing for a team that represents New Zealand nonetheless.
I think the Warriors should bite the bullet and start blooding young Kiwis who are passionate about respresenting the Warriors even if it means taking a slide right down the ladder for a few years. Build a passionate base full of energetic young 'locals' and go from there.
PS: Mate, if you had've heard this clown, he deserved it. I'll stand there and cop opposition supporters being loud and supporting their team (that's what it's all about), but when it gets laced with profanities and stupidly repetitive, then it's time to pipe up and say something. Strange that he had no comeback.
Well the Warriors have already missed out on SBW, Benji, Dene Halatau, Bronson Harrison, Fa'alogo, Eastwood, Moi Moi etc etc. Maybe if they concentrated on keeping Kiwi players 5-10 years ago then they would be up there with Manly and Melbourne. Good point, tugga

How the hell could any real League fan say the game was a "awful game":confused:.
It was magic the way the Backup Baby Storm boys dug in against a pretty big pack.
Newton sure put in a good display for first Storm game. He seems real secure on the carry which is encouraging and takes no steps backwards. No doubt we wrestled them down @ PTB but hell thats tactics. Plenty of great signs for Storm depth. Full credit to "Bellyache" and Storm recruiters. Looks like Storm will continue to feed the NRL with performer's lookin at the approach's to Aubusson at the moment. Hope Cross slips past the tribunal on that tackle but one camera angle give the impression arm was swinging in.

surprised to see the Storm get up, I thought the Kiwis would handle this weather better than the Storm, who mostly consist of Queenslanders

Well the Warriors have already missed out on SBW, Benji, Dene Halatau, Bronson Harrison, Fa'alogo, Eastwood, Moi Moi etc etc. Maybe if they concentrated on keeping Kiwi players 5-10 years ago then they would be up there with Manly and Melbourne. Good point, tugga

The team doesn't have to be filled with Kiwi players. The best Warriors team ever had a 10/7 split of Kiwis and Aussies, and they were popular in New Zealand.

Look at the Storm for example. A team from Melbourne, but where's the Victorian players?

At the end of the day, the current bunch of Australians pulling on the Warriors jumper just aren't up to it. Hell, even some of the Kiwi guys aren't. Most of us are just getting sick and tired of the Warriors getting it so wrong.

I'd rather watch these guys throw it around a lose by 50 than dish up the crap they're giving us right now.

tugga said:

As I said to Tutaki, I don't think you need a team full of Kiwis to have a successful Warriors team. The 02 GF side had a 10/7 split. The Warriors just don't have the mix right and I think it's because they've gone too far towards the conservative side of things and just don't know how to fix it.

Brent Tate's a step in the right direction, but they really need more. A ball playing 2nd rower would be a good start.

tugga said:

Trust me, as a Kiwi living in Australia I know exactly what you mean.

As I said to Tutaki, I don't think you need a team full of Kiwis to have a successful Warriors team. The 02 GF side had a 10/7 split. The Warriors just don't have the mix right and I think it's because they've gone too far towards the conservative side of things and just don't know how to fix it.

Brent Tate's a step in the right direction, but they really need more. A ball playing 2nd rower would be a good start.

Trust me, as a Kiwi living in Australia I know exactly what you mean.

Mate, a quality hooker and five-eighth is what New Zealand needs.

With the 400k they supposedly paid Tate, I reckon they should have dished that off to Peter Wallace and maybe even James Aubusson.

Mate, a quality hooker and five-eighth is what New Zealand needs.

With the 400k they supposedly paid Tate, I reckon they should have dished that off to Peter Wallace and maybe even James Aubusson.

Aubusson's a fantastic player and would be a great buy. Fein's ok, we need another Stacey Jones.

Players based on country of origan WTF???....World played top proffessional sport..any one team in any top sports league most read like the United Nations.
Kiwis/Arabs/Eskimo's/ Russsians/Abasynian's mate they are all in there.
NRL is no different. Getting back to the root's (and we can engineer/design this root) is a team daydream. Its a $ driven base and if you perform we will find a relative in there some where.