2nds vs Port Melbourne, Whitten Oval Saturday 12pm (televised)

Ok, finally, after all these years, I get to put my user name to good use

The surface at the Whitten Oval is a couch grass variety called 'Princess'

It, like all other couch grasses are known as warm season grasses, as opposed to ryegrass and winter grass etc which are known as, you guessed it, cool season grasses

The reason that the ground looks so bad at the moment is that the couch grass is dormant, or in laymans terms, has gone to sleep for the winter. It has recently been top dressed with sand or similar to even up the surface and divots as part of the ongoing maintenance I would say. It looks shit because the colour has mostly gone out of it

Now, as I am sure you are all dying to know why a football ground would have a surface that goes dormant in winter when it is getting its most use, then you may rest easy, as I am about to tell you.

Couch grass is an extremely drought tolerant grass, which requires very little water during the summer months as opposed to the cool season grasses. When Melbourne had the extended drought a few years back, many ovals were converted to couch to save on water use (particularly council maintained ovals such as VUWO) the couch grass forms a very tight mat and grows really thick during summer, which makes it perfect for sport, this thick mat takes a lot of traffic to wear down, hence is perfect for a footy ground. If the ground was cool season, you would find that it would be tough to keep alive during summer, which translates to poor coverage going in to winter, which with extra traffic over it will cause it to be a substandard surface for play during the peak season.

I hope today's lesson was informative and not too boring

If you have any more questions, please ask and I will do my best to answer them
We had the same couch grass growing up .
It looks magnificent in summer and is extremely spongey ( obviously not as much as Tullamarine Cooney)Soaks up water very well .
We were told it originated in South Africa

Gee, did the dogs lose by 10 goals?
Thought Roughy and Fletcher looked underdone
Minson did try, but he looks like the games gone past him, and is frustrated . The seas have parted for Tom C to take poll position in the ruck.
Young super was quiet, but is roar
Dale did some classy things, but needs to find it more.
Hamilton does some nice things, but is very raw . Thought Fuller had a decent game, and Prudden was pretty quiet.Ayce was his usual self, and that brain fade nearly cost us the game . Goodes was excellent late, and Kelly was pretty good . Hrovat had a good outing, but his second and third option taking hurts him, as does his execution. The Badger's decision making and execution needs to improve to be a capable AFL player. Z Cordy was excellent, and his taking the game on will thrill the coach, as is his defensive work.
Tom Boyd was excellent, and should have had a few more frees as well. Roarke Smith looks like he will be upgraded, and had a decent game. Dogs were way to top heavy and it should have cost us the game, but development of our list is paramount

As an outsider with a particular interest in the Footscray team (have a mate that plays), I think your assessment is spot on.

The team put out on the park had no right winning but did.
Boyd kicked 5 and took some really strong marks.
Roughead and Roberts got through.
Zaine Cordy was excellent again.
Dale, Webb, Hamilton and Smith all showed glimpses.

Only Doggies fans could be so negative in spite of such a positive outcome :D

As an outsider with a particular interest in the Footscray team (have a mate that plays), I think your assessment is spot on.

The team put out on the park had no right winning but did.
Boyd kicked 5 and took some really strong marks.
Roughead and Roberts got through.
Zaine Cordy was excellent again.
Dale, Webb, Hamilton and Smith all showed glimpses.

Only Doggies fans could be so negative in spite of such a positive outcome :D

Haha don't be so quick to judge, pessimism is the state language of Big Footy

Hey Grassman75 there's a certain type of grass next door to my place which stands about a metre tall with elongated dark green fronds and little seeds near the frond ends. Could you share your expertise and tell me what type you reckon it is?

Can you take a picture of it?

Two games left for the season; friday night game away against Essendon and a Sunday afternoon match against Werribee away. We're a game behind Williamstown & Sandringham and are behind Williamstown on percentage but are a game ahead of Essendon, Werribee and Collingwood along with having a ton of percentage on them.

Williamstown plays Werribee next week and Box Hill the week after while Sandringham have Geelong & Casey.

Just on the two guys you mention , Kelly and Fuller , neither of them are going to make it.
Fuller again was pretty ordinary .
Probably one of Fuller's better Footscray games.. Not that it's saying much, and he got the encouragement award (aka mentioned in the bests) for his improved performance.

2nds vs Port Melbourne, Whitten Oval Saturday 12pm (televised)