Video game catchall

The sequel didn't make its kickstarter goal did it?

Not even close. Due in no small part to Denis Dyack being one of the most loathed gaming industry personalities by the gamer community.

His meltdowns on NeoGAF are legendary.

A real pity, Eternal Darkness and the original Legacy of Kain were special and unique games.

Great thread idea. I mostly play sport, 3rd person shooter or simulation games these days, love to play multiplayer games with a mate or two when ever possible. But then again I'll buy any game that looks decent.

Anyone ever up for a game of Fifa or COD on PS3 just give me a bump:thumbsu: My bro and I will get PS4 eventually this year, just waiting for some more games to come out on it.

Still plugging away at Watch Dogs and picked up Warlock 2 in the Steam sale. Enjoyable hexy based fantasy shenanigans.

Picked up Rogue Legacy in the steam sales, It's pretty fun although I am terrible at it.
Agreed on both points. When I was into it though I didn't seem to mind. A lot of fun.

This thread has made me realise that I haven't played a game in a long long time... :(
There is a part of me that thinks you must be doing something very productive with your life, and another that thinks that you have been missing a lot of fun.

I have no problems in spending my free time playing games. Whilst many people i know have somewhat 'outgrown' them, it is a huge part of me. I've always loved video games, for as long as i can remember. And these days, we are lucky enough to experience some simply awesome games that are just pure joy to play. Not just fun to play, but story line and experiences, some of which have out done any movie i've ever watched. I'll always be pro gaming as well. I can't understand the attitude of some people who won't let their kids play video games, but it is perfectly ok to just watch tv. At least a game is interactive and involves thought process!

The family is away this weekend up at the in-laws, so it is a weekend of footy watching, video gaming and board gaming. I will also some how engineer a way to leave work early this afternoon to fit more Dave time in.
On the agenda is Wildstar which I've bought as I firmly have the MMO bug. Again.
Also, a bit more Watch Dogs although I'm losing patience with it, especially as the Ubisoft servers were a bit flaky last night and I had trouble connecting to online games.
Trying to get a bunch of mates over to play some Hearthstone on our iPads because Blizzard are giving away a special card back and we are all apparently stupid.
A boardgame of something I think sometime with with Chief and who ever else we can organise.
And of course the game Saturday night.

Picked up the dlc for bioshock infinite which was the first single player Fps that I've played all the way through for a long, long time. I enjoy shooters that attempt to tell a story and create a new world. Pity people don't really rate the dlc because of the way it treats the canon of the original bioshock.

As an aside, I ended up watching a full play through of the original bioshock after I finished infinite because I was that interested in the story but wasn't up for doing the hard work of finishing it myself.

Burial at Sea was a nice piece of work, and capped off the arc of the Bioshock games beautifully. Given Ken Levine has given AAA away now we probably won't see another 'core' Bioshock game although I can't see 2K giving the franchise away to rot.
I have to admit I didn't have the absolute wig out moment of pure nerd storytelling joy I got from the original game's story but it fulfills Elizabeth's arc well.

Another video game kickstarter has delivered and in spades. The ridiculously content rich Divinity: Original Sin. Isometric overland travel in the style of Diablo, but turn based combat, a rich if somewhat inscrutable crafting system and a deep character system. Been really good thus far.

This thread has made me realise that I haven't played a game in a long long time... :(

I was the same (apart from sport games) until semi-recently. Got back into it with some shorter, slower paced stuff. The Walking Dead, Gone Home, Journey, The Stanley Parable etc I really enjoyed.

I don't know much about soccer but I picked up Football Manager during a sale and I'm deadset addicted.

Get out while you still can! I've only weaned myself off playing it daily in the last week or so.

Thinking of getting a serious game of fallout new vegas going. Tried to play it after completing every single quest and thing to do in fallout 3 and found I was just too burnt out.

Get out while you still can! I've only weaned myself off playing it daily in the last week or so.

Thinking of getting a serious game of fallout new vegas going. Tried to play it after completing every single quest and thing to do in fallout 3 and found I was just too burnt out.
I was the same on New Vegas. I always want to go back but worried I never will. Whatever you do, avoid the realism mods. they seem like a good idea but just take the fun away.

Haha, I started a journeyman career and I'm enjoying it significantly less. I think it's a smart move for my spare time.

Definitely do the latter. Bloody incredible game. I got on it late and it was also fresh off a playthrough of Fallout 3 - I felt pretty burnt out. But give it a bit and it'll reward you. Can't say enough good things about it.

I've been trying to tame the gamer, but I am a very much still one.

Watch Dogs was good, but I traded it in shortly afterwards, love the concept but a few issues. Generic character, driving was shocking. A sound concept.

Safest game for me for pure joy and addictive playability remains Skyrim. Loving my new Nord character.

That said, the only game I am truely devoted too (And blame TheBrownDog ) is the Mass Effect Saga. Its a game I am purely addicted too, I have the games, I have a model of the Normandy, I have the comics, I have the novels. Come at me, ladies!

I am looking forward to Battlefield Hardline though. Me and my PS3 buddies will tear that shit up! And I will rage hard!

I've been trying to tame the gamer, but I am a very much still one.

Watch Dogs was good, but I traded it in shortly afterwards, love the concept but a few issues. Generic character, driving was shocking. A sound concept.

Safest game for me for pure joy and addictive playability remains Skyrim. Loving my new Nord character.

That said, the only game I am truely devoted too (And blame TheBrownDog ) is the Mass Effect Saga. Its a game I am purely addicted too, I have the games, I have a model of the Normandy, I have the comics, I have the novels. Come at me, ladies!

I am looking forward to Battlefield Hardline though. Me and my PS3 buddies will tear that shit up! And I will rage hard!

Started a Femshep to take through as renegade the whole way just the other week after I had only played my paragon male through otherwise. Story is still one of the most important things for me to get addicted. I've really been enjoying the new tomb raider after picking it up cheap during the steam sales.

Been giving Wildstar a go with karix, hasn't fully absorbed me yet. Have a nagging doubt that mmorpgs have done their dash with me, especially after Wow and SWTOR.

Started a Femshep to take through as renegade the whole way just the other week after I had only played my paragon male through otherwise. Story is still one of the most important things for me to get addicted. I've really been enjoying the new tomb raider after picking it up cheap during the steam sales.

Been giving Wildstar a go with karix, hasn't fully absorbed me yet. Have a nagging doubt that mmorpgs have done their dash with me, especially after Wow and SWTOR.

Yeah, I just tried to finish off with MMO's. Was a big player of uh..... Star Trek Online :p NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERD!

Story for me is one of my first criteria, I need games that capture me right away. Mass Effect always held an advantage as it was by Bioware and I know that their work with SW:KOTOR, and they were marvellous games (1st one by far one of my favourite games of all time)

SWTOR I want to get back into, but I can't afford teh download :(

Yeah, I just tried to finish off with MMO's. Was a big player of uh..... Star Trek Online :p NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERD!

Story for me is one of my first criteria, I need games that capture me right away. Mass Effect always held an advantage as it was by Bioware and I know that their work with SW:KOTOR, and they were marvellous games (1st one by far one of my favourite games of all time)

SWTOR I want to get back into, but I can't afford teh download :(

I keep going back to SWTOR because I really like its PVP. It's worth a go as the f2p isn't too restrictive. Doesn't help much if you can't afford the download, shame origin isn't unmetered by any providers like steam is.

What they really should is bring back the hard copies to be available in store! That would solve it.

I'm currently only a 15 gig a month deal with Telstra Wireless (Works alright, as for another $15 I get all the AFL games unmetered LIVE)

Cancelled my WoW subscription last month (had been going permanently since 2005) because I hadn't played it in ages - pausing is a killer feature with a kid under one. I would be overseas for a month or more. I fully intended to re-subscribe when the next expansion came out... two weeks into the holiday after the cancellation, *bam* beta invite for the next expansion.

Curse you Blizzard!

Cancelled my WoW subscription last month (had been going permanently since 2005) because I hadn't played it in ages - pausing is a killer feature with a kid under one. I would be overseas for a month or more. I fully intended to re-subscribe when the next expansion came out... two weeks into the holiday after the cancellation, *bam* beta invite for the next expansion.

Curse you Blizzard!
It's amazing the amount of WoW playing friends I have that will tell me that they had quit playing but were dragged back into it for one reason or another.

It's lucky I'm more of a gamer who plays things in bursts. Couldn't see myself playing WoW consistently enough from month to month to make it a cost effective way of spending my time.

Started playing new vegas a little over the last few days. Have to remember how to play like a scavenging, little mouse instead of the God you end up being by the later stages of fallout 3. I notice they also try and direct you in certain areas in the early game much more so than fallout 3. Nothing says "do not go in this direction until you've leveled heaps" than deathclaw packs.

Video game catchall