Opinion VICBias - Genuine Discussion

I'd hazard a guess that it's because when West Coast had less than 23 available players, everything from poor strength and conditioning coaches, lazy players, poor facilities etc were blamed and we were basically told to have a top-up player or two and harden up. Now it happens to a Victorian club and we have to change the game.

Why wasn't it raised last year, why does it take Victorian clubs having an injury crisis for it to be an issue?

Which AFL representative told WCE that they had lazy players who needed to harden up? Or are you talking about supporters being biased? The Collingwood home crowd was cheering for Collingwood and not Adelaide on the weekend - it was outrageous vicbias. Is that the sort of thing we're complaining about now? #vicsupporterbias.

Which is probably why they scheduled west coast, the wooden spooners, to play Collingwood, the premiers, at the ground they aren't as good at. If we were a finals quality team the game would've been played at the G.
Not true at all.

Pies have that FIXture every year, a home game at Marvel against a non-vic team.

WC fixture and getting the Pies at Marvel and Dees in NT in 2015 helped them sneak 2nd on H&A ladder and get undeserved home finals in 2015.

The only times both the home and away teams get on a plane is when the home team has made a financial decision to sell the home game
Yeah exactly, because the AFL forced clubs out of their home grounds and into two big stadiums that are suited to BLOCKBUSTERS.

The teams who are forced to sell home games are the disadvantaged clubs, as they give up hime ground advantage.

The H&A fixture and ladder shows that teams who retain an actual home ground advantage are favoured and consistently dominate the top of the H&A ladder.

It really shouldnt be hard to follow, home ground advantage is real.

AFL policy deliberately reduced it for one select group of teams, the Melbourne based teams.

But the WA whingers continue to sook that it is them as the away team who are supposedly disadvantaged. 🤣🤣

Not true at all.

Pies have that FIXture every year, a home game at Marvel against a non-vic team.

WC fixture and getting the Pies at Marvel and Dees in NT in 2015 helped them sneak 2nd on H&A ladder and get undeserved home finals in 2015.

Yeah exactly, because the AFL forced clubs out of their home grounds and into two big stadiums that are suited to BLOCKBUSTERS.

The teams who are forced to sell home games are the disadvantaged clubs, as they give up hime ground advantage.

The H&A fixture and ladder shows that teams who retain an actual home ground advantage are favoured and consistently dominate the top of the H&A ladder.

It really shouldnt be hard to follow, home ground advantage is real.

AFL policy deliberately reduced it for one select group of teams, the Melbourne based teams.

But the WA whingers continue to sook that it is them as the away team who are supposedly disadvantaged. 🤣🤣
So basically WC only got 2nd in 2015 because we played 13th placed Melbourne in Darwin, to benefit Melbourne financially because they can't fill enough seats at the MCG and beat them by 10 goals and then beat the 12th placed pies at Marvel by more than 5 goals but would've lost if the game was up the road at the MCG? Getting into desperate territory now mate. Given we only had the privilege of playing at the MCG once that season before playing there in the grand final it's a pretty safe bet that both WC and collingwood would have been disappointed the game was scheduled at Marvel instead.

Of course home ground advantage is real, but not travelling vs travelling would be an even greater advantage. Also ironic that we get told there is magically no home ground advantage on grand final day whenever that is brought up. Not only did we miss out on another game at the G that you claim supposedly benefits us, we also travelled the most that season, went to Brisbane, Gold Coast, Tasmania, Darwin, and then went on to finish higher on the ladder and win our first final against the team we eventually had to travel to and play on their home deck in the grand final. Somehow this is all to our benefit according to you, despite what your own coach says.

Put the pipe down champion.

Given we only had the privilege of playing at the MCG once that season before playing there in the grand final it's a pretty safe bet that both WC and collingwood would have been disappointed the game was scheduled at Marvel instead.
WC were horrible at the MCG in the early to mid 2010s...especially against Collingwood.

By avoiding the G during H&A gave you a better chance of a win, and thus improved finishing position.

Of course home ground advantage is real
Funny how WA whingers push that Melbourne based teams supposedly enjoy an away ground "home ground" advantage too.
Not travelling vs travelling would be an even greater advantage.
This is your position, but is there any stats to back it up?

Wins per season based on kms travelled etc

Home ground advantage was greater back in the 20th century then it is currently.

Went on to finish higher on the ladder and win our first final against the team we eventually had to travel to and play on their home deck in the grand final. .
Hawthorn travelled more than WC at the business end of 2015.

The Hawks also were dudded by copping a "home" game at Marvel against a non-vic team who was just as familiar with during 2015 H&A season, which they lost.

Have that game at their MCG home, where they enjoy a home ground advantage, they likely win that and then actually finish as minor premiers.

As said, the biggest issue in the H&A fixture is Melbourne based clubs not getting their home games at home where they should enjoy a home ground advantage.

Compared to SA and WA teams who get ALL home games at home, but then play away games at alternate grounds. This distorts the H&A ladder, and teams that retain a true home ground advantage are over-represented at the top end.

Have a fair H&A fixture in 2015, Hawks finish minor premier.

So, guess we can confirm that Vic clubs with high injury tolls are simply unfit and lazy.

We changed our whole S&C regime and 'lo and behold, low injury list this year.

Collingwood and Richmond should probably take a leaf out of WCE's book and seriously look at their S&C teams and make the appropriate changes.

Kane Cornes was right.

15 to 2 vic premiers in the last 17. Imagine if that was the other way round and the panic! Two more vic premiers over the next couple of seasons will have us “interstate” suckers maybe start asking serious questions. Like a lot of vic posters have said, we interstaters need to start taking action by not going and watch local leagues. Money ultimately talks! I mean all the talk is Sydney this year but they’ll still have to play at the G in the big one. And if they’re playing Collingwood or Melbourne or Carlton I know who I’m tipping. Play a strong taxing year of football to ultimately play on someone else’s home ground, even when finishing top is ridiculous?!

Well, last time there wasn't a Vic premier for 6 years, the precious little darlings demanded a royal commission into the state of Vic footy.

Must've worked, considering they've managed to engineer 15 of the last 17 flags to go to Vic clubs.